DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 17 June 2025, 07 July 2025, and 10 November 2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9, 11-13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0180893 by Knowlen et al (Knowlen).
Regarding claim 1, Knowlen discloses a ram accelerator for accelerating a projectile (See at least Title and Figures, clearly illustrated), the ram accelerator comprising: a tube having a projectile bore (103, See Figures, clearly illustrated); and a baffle section (101/201/301/401) operably coupled to a proximal end of the tube (See Figures, clearly illustrated), the baffle section having: an annular baffle wall defining a central bore axially aligned with the projectile bore; and a propellant chamber arranged adjacent to the annular baffle wall, wherein the propellant chamber is configured to enclose a propellant, wherein the propellant is ignited as the projectile passes through the baffle section to start ram acceleration of the projectile (See at least Figures 2A-2F, clearly illustrated and at least Paragraphs 0019-0028).
Regarding claim 2, Knowlen further discloses wherein the baffle section comprises a plurality of baffle members arranged axially in a series, and wherein each of the baffle members includes an annular baffle wall and at least one propellant chamber (See at least Figures 2D-2E, clearly illustrated, and Paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 3, Knowlen further discloses wherein the propellant chamber is a first propellant chamber, and wherein the baffle section further comprises a second propellant chamber separated from the first propellant chamber by a radially inwardly projecting fin (See at least Figures 2D-2E, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 4, Knowlen further discloses wherein the baffle section further comprises a third propellant chamber and a fourth propellant chamber, each of the first, second, third, and fourth propellant chambers being separated from each other by a radially inwardly projecting fin (See at least Figures 2D-2E, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 7, Knowlen further discloses wherein the propellant is ignited by compression of gas by the projectile within the propellant chamber (See at least Paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 9, Knowlen further discloses wherein the central bore is smaller in diameter than the projectile bore (See at least Figures 2D-2E, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 11, Knowlen discloses a method of starting a ram accelerator without an obturator, the method comprising: operably coupling a baffle section to a proximal end of a ram accelerator tube having a projectile bore, the baffle section having: an annular baffle wall defining a central bore axially aligned with the projectile bore; and a propellant chamber arranged adjacent to the annular baffle wall, wherein the propellant chamber is configured to enclose a propellant; filling the propellant chamber with the propellant; launching the projectile into the baffle section; and igniting the propellant in the propellant chamber as the projectile passes through the baffle section to start the ram acceleration of the projectile (Limitations previously addressed, See rejections above, and the operation is disclosed throughout the specification).
Regarding claim 12, Knowlen further discloses wherein the baffle section comprises a plurality of baffle members arranged axially in a series, wherein each of the baffle members includes an annular baffle wall and a propellant chamber, and wherein igniting the propellant in the propellant chamber includes igniting the propellant in each of the propellant chambers of each of the baffle members as the projectile passes through the baffle member (See at least Figure 2E and Paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 13, Knowlen further discloses wherein the propellant chamber is a first propellant chamber, and wherein the baffle section further comprises a second propellant chamber separated from the first propellant chamber by a radially inwardly projecting fin (See at least Figure 2E).
Regarding claim 16, Knowlen further discloses wherein the propellant is ignited by compression of gas by the projectile within the propellant chamber (See at least Paragraph 0005).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knowlen in view of U.S. Patent 7,775,148 issued to McDermott (McDermott).
Regarding claim 5, Knowlen does not disclose an ignition port in the baffle section.
McDermott, a related prior art reference, discloses wherein the baffle section further comprises an ignition port extending through the baffle section and into the propellant chamber (22, See at least Figure 3e, clearly illustrated and Col. 10 Line 56-Col. 11 Line 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of Knowlen with the noted teachings of McDermott. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to utilize the art recognized equivalent structure to ignite the gas mixture including an igniter within the baffle section to ignite the gas mixture with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, McDermott further discloses wherein the propellant is ignited by a spark plug operably positioned within the ignition port (22, See at least Figure 3e, clearly illustrated and Col. 10 Line 56-Col. 11 Line 11).
Regarding claim 14, Knowlen does not disclose an ignition port in the baffle section.
McDermott, a related prior art reference, discloses wherein the baffle section further comprises an ignition port extending through the baffle section and into the propellant chamber (22, See at least Figure 3e, clearly illustrated and Col. 10 Line 56-Col. 11 Line 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of Knowlen with the noted teachings of McDermott. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to utilize the art recognized equivalent structure to ignite the gas mixture including an igniter within the baffle section to ignite the gas mixture with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15, McDermott further discloses wherein igniting the propellant comprises energizing a spark plug operably positioned within the ignition port (22, See at least Figure 3e, clearly illustrated and Col. 10 Line 56-Col. 11 Line 11).
Claim(s) 8, 10, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knowlen in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0330147 by Russell (Russell).
Regarding claim 8, Knowlen does not disclose that the propellant is ignited by a flame carried by the projectile.
Russell, a related prior art reference, discloses wherein the propellant is ignited by a flame carried by the projectile as the projectile passes through the propellant chamber (See at least Paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of Knowlen with the noted teachings of Russell. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to assist or initiate the combustion of the combustible gasses as taught by Russell.
Regarding claim 10, Knowlen does not disclose that the tube comprises a plurality of sections.
Russell, a related prior art reference, discloses wherein the tube comprises a plurality of tube sections operably coupled together (See Figures, clearly illustrated and at least Paragraph 0037-0038).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of Knowlen with the noted teachings of Russell. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to allow for the implementation of different numbers of sections based on the requirements of the particular use case as taught by Russell.
Regarding claim 17, Knowlen does not disclose that the propellant is ignited by a flame carried by the projectile.
Russel, a related prior art reference, discloses wherein the propellant is ignited by a flame carried by the projectile as the projectile passes through the propellant chamber (See at least Paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of Knowlen with the noted teachings of Russell. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to assist or initiate the combustion of the combustible gasses as taught by Russell.
Regarding claim 18, Knowlen does not disclose different propellant with different energies.
Russell, a related prior art reference, discloses wherein the propellant is a first propellant, wherein the method further comprises filling the ram accelerator tube with a second propellant having a different energy than the first propellant (See at least Paragraphs 0037-0041).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of Knowlen with the noted teachings of Russell. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to utilize different propellants to ensure proper function of the assembly and allow for adjustment of the resulting velocity as taught by Russell.
Regarding claim 19, Russell further discloses wherein the second propellant has higher energy than the first propellant (See at least Paragraphs 0037-0041).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 Form for a listing of applicable prior art references.
/Jonathan C Weber/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3641
JONATHAN C. WEBER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3641