DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2-13, recitations of “characterized in that” should perhaps read --wherein--.
Regarding claim 6, remove “(12, 12-1, 12-2)”.
Regarding claim 9, insert “to” after “according”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 6-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5-7 of copending Application No. 18/844,051 (reference application), published as US 20250219734 A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claimed systems would have been obvious variations of the inventions defined by the claims of the reference application, for the reasons set forth below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/844,413
(Application claims 1-3 and 6-12)
Co-pending Application 18/844,051 (Reference claims 1-2 and 5-7)
1. “Modulation system configured to control modulation of a signal, the system comprising:”
1. “An interruption system configured to control transmission of an optical signal, the system including”
“an optical modulator configured to receive:”
“a semiconductor optical amplifier configured to receive:”
“an input signal formed by a carrier, and”
“an input optical signal, and”
“a modulation signal,”
“a control signal configured to control the semiconductor optical amplifier”
“a cooling device configured to cool the optical modulator to a temperature greater than or equal to 10 K to cool the optical modulator to a temperature less than or equal to 90 K.”
“the interruption system further comprises a cooling device configured to cool the semiconductor optical amplifier to a temperature greater than or equal to 10 K, and to cool the optical modulator to a temperature less than or equal to 90 K.”
2. “The modulation system according to claim 1, characterized in that the optical modulator is a semiconductor optical amplifier or a reflective semiconductor optical amplifier.”
1. “…a semiconductor optical amplifier configured to receive…”
3. “The modulation system according to claim 2, characterized in that the modulation signal is an electrical signal.”
2. “The interruption system according to claim 1, characterised in that the control signal is an electrical signal.”
6. “The modulation system according to claim 1, characterized in that the cooling device is direct.”
5. “The interruption system according to claim 1, characterised in that the cooling device is direct.”
7. “The modulation system according to claim 1, characterized in that the cooling device is indirect.”
6. “The interruption system according to claim 1, characterised in that the cooling device is indirect.”
8. “The modulation system according to claim 2, characterized in that the cooling device comprises a temperature regulator, the temperature regulator being configured to maintain the semiconductor optical amplifier at a target temperature with a margin of ±500 mK.”
7. “The interruption system according to claim 1, characterised in that the cooling device includes a temperature regulator, the temperature regulator being configured to maintain the semiconductor optical amplifier at a target temperature with a margin a margin less than or equal to 500 mK and greater than or equal to -500 mK.”
Regarding application claim 1, reference claim 1 recites an interruption system configured to control transmission of an optical signal, including a semiconductor optical amplifier configured to receive an input optical signal and a control signal, together with a cooling device. The difference between “modulation” and “interruption” does not render these claimed systems patentably distinct. The reference specification explains that the control signal switches the amplifier between transmitting and interrupted states, thereby changing the optical output power (paragraphs [0014]-[0016] and [0056] of US 20250219734 A1). The semiconductor optical amplifier therefore constitutes an optical modulator, the input optical signal provides the carrier whose amplitude is controlled, and the control signal constitutes a modulation signal. This construction is consistent with the instant specification, which identifies variation of amplifier gain as amplitude modulation (Spec. p. 4, ll. 20-22), describes an input optical signal comprising a carrier whose amplitude may vary (Spec. p. 8, ll. 21-22), and explains that the modulation signal supplies information necessary for modifying the carrier (Spec. p. 9, ll. 11-12). Thus, the claimed transmitting and interrupted states are within the amplitude control encompassed by application claim 1. Further, reference claim 1 uses “the optical modulator” in its upper temperature limitation although its previously recited optical device is the semiconductor optical amplifier. Read in light of reference paragraphs [0061] and [0080], that phrase refers to the semiconductor optical amplifier, which is cooled to a temperature greater than or equal to 10 K and less than or equal to 90 K. The specification is relied upon to construe the invention defined by the reference claim, consistent with MPEP § 804, II.B.1, and is not applied as an independent prior art reference. Accordingly, reference claim 1 recites a particular semiconductor optical amplifier implementation within the scope of application claim 1. Application claim 1 is anticipated by reference claim 1 under nonstatutory double patenting and is not patentably distinct.
Regarding application claims 2-3 and 6-8, reference claims 1-2 and 5-7 recites the same limitations as claims 2-3 and 6-8 of the instant application, and is therefore not patentably distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, line 2 recites “the semiconductor amplifier.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. For the purposes of examination, claim 9 is understood to dependent from claim 2.
Claim 10 is rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Borri (“Measurement of the ultrafast gain recovery in InGaAs/GaAs quantum dots: beyond a mean-field description,” published 2010)1.
Regarding claim 1, Borri discloses a modulation system configured to control modulation of a signal (p. 1, § II, “gain coefficient ... was controlled by the injection current”), the system comprising:
an optical modulator (p. 1, § II, “ridge waveguide structure” and “amplifier”; Fig. 1, semiconductor optical amplifier, with its active region further detailed by the enlarged “InGaAs QDs” region) configured to receive:
an input signal formed by a carrier (p. 2, § II, pulses having “an optical center frequency in resonance with the GS transition energy” are divided to form a “probe,” which is “coupled into the transverse electric waveguide mode”), and
a modulation signal (p. 1, § II, “controlled by the injection current”),
a cooling device configured to cool the optical modulator to a temperature greater than or equal to 10 K and to cool the optical modulator to a temperature less than or equal to 90 K. (p. 1, § II, device temperature “was adjusted between 15 and 300 K” using a cryostat having a cold finger; Fig. 1 caption, “at 40 mA injection current at 15 K”).
Regarding claim 2, Borri discloses the modulation system of claim 1, and further discloses: characterized in that the optical modulator is a semiconductor optical amplifier or a reflective semiconductor optical amplifier (p. 1, § II, “ridge waveguide structure” containing semiconductor quantum dot layers and “gain coefficient ... of the amplifier”; Fig. 1, same semiconductor optical amplifier with its active region labeled “InGaAs QDs”).
Regarding claim 3, Borri discloses the modulation system of claim 2, and further discloses: characterized in that the modulation signal is an electrical signal (Fig. 1 caption, “40 mA injection current at 15 K”).
Claims 1-4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kao (“Amplifiers of free-space terahertz radiation,” published 2017)2.
Regarding claim 1, Kao discloses a modulation system configured to control modulation of a signal (p. 716, “QCL material gain changes with the amplifier bias”; Fig. 4(a), amplifier receiving seed radiation, as further characterized by the gain measurements in Fig. 5(a)), the system comprising:
an optical modulator (p. 713, “Each active element only amplifies part of the total input signal”; Fig. 4(a), one constituent QCL element within “Amplifier”) configured to receive:
an input signal formed by a carrier (p. 715, “single frequency emission” of the source laser supplies the carrier, and “seed radiation is sent to the amplifier”; Fig. 4(a), beam from “Source” to “Amplifier”), and
a modulation signal (p. 715, “current is provided to each element through a network of metal contacts”; p. 716, “QCL material gain changes with the amplifier bias”),
a cooling device configured to cool the optical modulator to a temperature greater than or equal to 10 K and to cool the optical modulator to a temperature less than or equal to 90 K. (p. 715, “the amplifier mounted inside” the CryoMech refrigerator; p. 716, “while the amplifier is DC biased at 16 K”).
Regarding claim 2, Kao discloses the modulation system of claim 1, and further discloses: characterized in that the optical modulator is a semiconductor optical amplifier or a reflective semiconductor optical amplifier. (p. 713, OCIS codes, “Semiconductor optical amplifiers”).
Regarding claim 3, Kao discloses the modulation system of claim 2, and further discloses: characterized in that the modulation signal is an electrical signal (p. 715, “current is provided to each element through a network of metal contacts”; p. 716, “QCL material gain changes with the amplifier bias”).
Regarding claim 4, Kao discloses the modulation system of claim 1, and further discloses: characterized in that the optical modulator is a modulator configured to receive a laser signal. (p. 715, “DFB THz QCL acts as the excitation ‘seed’” and “seed radiation is sent to the amplifier”; Fig. 4(a), laser radiation from “Source” received by the same constituent element within “Amplifier”).
Regarding claim 11, Kao discloses the modulation system of claim 4, and further discloses: characterized in that the modulation system comprises a plurality of semiconductor optical amplifiers or a plurality of reflective semiconductor optical amplifiers (p. 715, “∼120 identical” DFB laser elements; Fig. 4(a), “Amplifier” contains the selected element and the other constituent amplifier elements).
Regarding claim 12, Kao discloses the modulation system of claim 11, and further discloses: characterized in that the same cooling device is configured to cool at least two semiconductor optical amplifiers (p. 715, “∼120 identical” DFB laser elements constitute “the amplifier mounted inside” the CryoMech refrigerator; p. 716, “while the amplifier is DC biased at 16 K”).
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murtz (“Extended-cavity grating-tuned operation of mid-infrared InAsSb diode lasers,” published 1998)3.
Regarding claim 1, Murtz discloses a modulation system configured to control modulation of a signal (p. 279, § 2, Col. 2:15-19, “a triangular current modulation was applied to the diode laser” and “optical power vs. laser current”; Fig. 2, optical power response to applied current), the system comprising:
an optical modulator (Fig. 1, “TDL,” corresponding to diode laser 2; p. 279, § 1, Col. 1:50-52, “experiments have been performed with laser 2”; Fig. 2, optical power response supporting optical modulation function) configured to receive:
an input signal formed by a carrier (p. 279, § 2, Col. 2:10-15, “partly transmitting reflector (nominal reflectance 80%)” and “optical feedback on the laser threshold current”; Fig. 2, caption, “diode laser 2” receiving “optical feedback from an external 80% reflector”), and
a modulation signal (p. 279, § 2, Col. 2:15-17, “a triangular current modulation was applied to the diode laser”),
a cooling device configured to cool the optical modulator to a temperature greater than or equal to 10 K and to cool the optical modulator to a temperature less than or equal to 90 K (Fig. 1, cryostat assembly comprising “LN₂ DEWAR” and its thermal connection to the mounting platform of the diode; p. 279, § 1, Col. 1:6-8, achieved temperature “generally in the 80 K range”).
Regarding claim 4, Murtz discloses the modulation system of claim 1, and further discloses: the optical modulator is a modulator configured to receive a laser signal (Fig. 2, caption, “diode laser 2” receiving “optical feedback from an external 80% reflector”).
Regarding claim 5, Murtz discloses the modulation system of claim 4, and further discloses: the modulator configured to receive a laser signal is a laser diode (Fig. 2, caption, “diode laser 2” receiving “optical feedback from an external 80% reflector”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borri in view of Van Der Linden (“A compact and versatile dynamic flow cryostat for photon science,” published 2016)4.
Regarding claim 6, Borri discloses the modulation system according to claim 1, however does not disclose: wherein the cooling device is direct. Van Der Linden teaches the limitation in p. 3, § I, “sample is directly cooled”; p. 5, § II.A.2, coolant “is guided to pass by the sample”; Fig. 1(f), the inner chamber, as further detailed in Fig. 3, the coolant flow at sample position (k). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Borri with the teachings of van der Linden with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve thermal coupling and sample cooling, thereby yielding a system with more effective cryogenic thermal management (van der Linden, p. 2, § I, “more efficient sample cooling can be obtained”; p. 2, abstract, “Very efficient sample cooling is achieved”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borri in view of Srinivasan (US 20080089367 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Borri discloses the modulation system according to claim 1, however does not disclose: wherein the cooling device is indirect. Srinivasan teaches the limitation in ¶ 48, “thermally conductive pathway between the sample and the cold finger is provided by copper braids that connect the top sample mount to the cold finger”; Fig. 4, thermal braids 403 and sample mount 431. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Borri and implement the thermal connection between the amplifier and cold finger using the copper braids and sample mount as taught by Srinivasan, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a conductive path that brings the semiconductor device to the required cryogenic temperature (Srinivasan, ¶ 48).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borri in view of Nagendran (“On the design and implementation of a novel impedance chamber based variable temperature regulator at liquid helium temperatures,” published 2010)5.
Regarding claim 8, Borri discloses the modulation system according to claim 2, however does not disclose: wherein the cooling device comprises a temperature regulator, the temperature regulator being configured to maintain the semiconductor optical amplifier at a target temperature with a margin of ±500 mK. Nagendran teaches: wherein the cooling device includes a temperature regulator (p. 3, § IV, “a cryogenic temperature controller”; p. 2, § II, “A thermometer is also mounted in the same OFHC copper block to sense and control the sample temperature”; Fig. 1, the temperature controller connected through Loop1 to thermometer and heater 3, as further detailed in Fig. 2, thermometer 16 and heater 6), the temperature regulator being configured to maintain the semiconductor optical amplifier at a target temperature with a margin less than or equal to 500 mK and greater than or equal to -500 mK (p. 5, § IV, “the temperature of the sample region can be maintained constant to any desired temperature” and “temperature stability better than ±2 mK” between 4.2 to 100 K). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Borri with the teachings of Nagendran with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce temperature fluctuations that can alter the optical response of the amplifier, thereby yielding a system with more stable and reproducible optical signal control (Nagendran, p. 1, § I; p. 5, § IV; Fig. 5).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borri in view of Aw (“Dynamic Range Studied of a Monolithic 2x2 Quantum Dot Switch,” published 2007)6.
Regarding claim 9, Borri discloses the modulation system according to [claim 2] (see analysis under 112(b)), however does not disclose: characterized in that the semiconductor optical amplifier is mounted on an integrated circuit. Aw teaches the limitation in Fig. 1(b), SOA gate section 4 mounted in a monolithic circuit; pp. 1-2, § 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Borri with the teachings of Aw, since applying a known technique to improve similar semiconductor optical amplifiers in the same way would have yielded predictable results (KSR Rationale C). The difference is the use of a known monolithic integration technique, and an artisan skilled in optical amplifier systems would have recognized that incorporating the semiconductor optical amplifier into a photonic circuit with integrated optical routing components, as taught by Aw, would confer the advantage of reduced spatial requirements, thereby yielding a compact system providing amplification and signal routing on a common chip (Aw, pp. 1-2, § 2). This update applies a known integration technique to a comparable semiconductor optical amplifier and would have been pursued by the skilled artisan with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Borri in view of Aw teaches the modulation system of claim 9, and further teaches: characterized in that the integrated component is a photonic integrated component (Aw, Fig. 1(b), SOA gate section 4 in monolithic photonic circuit).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borri in view of Hamie (“Theoretical investigations of quantum-dot semiconductor optical amplifier enabled intensity modulation of adaptively modulated optical OFDM signals in IMDD PON systems,” published 2011)7.
Regarding claim 13, Borri discloses the modulation system according to claim 1, however does not disclose: characterized in that the modulation signal has a bandwidth greater than or equal to 0.01 GHz and less than or equal to 100 GHz. Hamie teaches the limitation in p. 25702, § 2.4, “signal bandwidth of 6.25GHz in the positive frequency bins” describing the electrical modulation signal applied to the amplifier of Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Borri with the teachings of Hamie with a reasonable expectation of success in order to encode more information per unit of bandwidth using the disclosed 6.25 GHz modulation signal, thereby yielding an amplifier system with greater capacity to carry communication traffic (Hamié, p. 25698, § 1, “high spectral efficiency”; p. 25705, § 3.2, Eq. (10), relating total information throughput to the combined rates of individual subcarriers).
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include: Abedi (“Sub-Nanosecond Phase Recovery in Quantum-Dot Semiconductor Optical Amplifiers,” published 2013)8 which discloses optically pumped quantum dot semiconductor optical amplifiers at 77 K.
/ZHENGQING QI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
1 Borri et al. “Measurement of the ultrafast gain recovery in InGaAs/GaAs quantum dots: beyond a mean-field description.” Physical Review B-Condensed Matter and Materials Physics 82, no. 11 (2010): 115326.
2 Kao et al. “Amplifiers of free-space terahertz radiation.” Optica 4, no. 7 (2017): 713-716.
3 Murtz et al. “Extended-cavity grating-tuned operation of mid-infrared InAsSb diode lasers,” Applied Physics B, vol. 66, pp. 277-281 (1998).
4 Van Der Linden et al. “A compact and versatile dynamic flow cryostat for photon science.” Review of Scientific Instruments 87, no. 11 (2016).
5 Nagendran et al. “On the design and implementation of a novel impedance chamber based variable temperature regulator at liquid helium temperatures.” Review of Scientific Instruments 81, no. 4 (2010).
6 Aw et al. “Dynamic Range Studied of a Monolithic 2x2 Quantum Dot Switch.” In Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics, p. CTuII2. Optica Publishing Group, 2007.
7 Hamie et al. “Theoretical investigations of quantum-dot semiconductor optical amplifier enabled intensity modulation of adaptively modulated optical OFDM signals in IMDD PON systems.” Optics Express, 19(25), 25696-25711, published 2011.
8 Abedi et al. "Sub-Nanosecond Phase Recovery in Quantum-Dot Semiconductor Optical Amplifiers." ACTA PHYSICA POLONICA A, Vol. 123, No. 2, (2013):407-410.