DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McKibben et al. (USPub 2021/0155224).
With respect to claim 1, McKibben et al. disclose an air tank (1010A) on a vehicle comprising: at least one air module disposed on the vehicle, the at least one air module comprising a cradle (lower accessory frame 1010; [0029]) and an air tank (1010A), the air tank being connected with the cradle [0129]; the at least one air module comprises a first air module disposed adjacent an edge of a wheel well and a hood on the vehicle (see Figs 1 and 1B in combination: The lower accessory frame is arranged between the wheels and covered by the hood).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKibben et al.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, McKibben et al. disclose the claimed invention discussed above but do not disclose wherein the at least one air module further comprises a second air module disposed adjacent an edge of a wheel well and a hood on the vehicle and opposite the first air module. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have a second air module on the opposite side of the vehicle and spaced apart, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, and one having ordinary skill would have found it obvious to add a tank depending on the air storage capacity required and within the space available within the lower accessory frame, or separate side-by-side frames could be used.
Claims 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKibben et al. in view of Sutton et al. (USPub 2003/0151222)
With respect to claims 4 and 5, McKibben et al. disclose the claimed invention discussed above as well as two rails (43A) and a cross member (Figs 1A and 1C) but do not disclose a second air module disposed adjacent the rails and the cross member. Sutton et al., however, disclose a similar truck structure having adjacent rails (210) with an air tank (34A) disposed adjacent via a cradle (Fig 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to modify the invention of McKibben et al. in view of the teachings of Sutton et al. to try using a second air module anywhere along the rails such as by a cross member or at offset ends depending where space is available and how much air storage capacity is required, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
DREW BROWN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DREW J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617