DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romanowski et al. (US 2018/0024341) in view of Ikeda et al. (US 2025/0139772).
Regarding claim 1, Romanowski discloses a system for a surgical microscope system (100; 400) (Figs. 1-14), the system comprising one or more processors (212) and one or more storage devices (paras. [0026, 0048]), wherein the system is configured to:
obtain first imaging sensor data of a view on a surgical site (321) from a first optical imaging sensor (103) of a microscope (120; 410) (100) of the surgical microscope system (Fig. 3; paras. [0038-0041]);
obtain second imaging sensor data of the view on the surgical site from a second sensor (348) of the microscope (Fig. 3; paras. [0038-0041]);
determine an extent of one or more anatomical features of the surgical site based on the second imaging sensor data (Figs. 3-4; paras. [0045-0046]).
Romanowski fails to explicitly disclose applying spatially varied noise filtering on the first imaging sensor data based on the extent of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site.
However, Ikeda discloses a system for a surgical microscope system (Figs. 1-30) configured to apply spatially varied noise filtering (NR) on the first imaging sensor data based on the extent of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site (paras. [0066, 0068, 0092]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying spatially varied noise filtering on the first imaging sensor data based on the extent of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site, as in Ikeda, into the system of Romanowski to attain clearer image data.
Regarding claim 2, Romanowski discloses wherein the first imaging sensor data is based on fluorescence imaging (paras. [0038-0039]).
Regarding claim 3, Romanowski discloses wherein the second imaging sensor data is based on reflectance imaging (Fig. 3; paras. [0030, 0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Romanowski discloses wherein the system is configured to determine at least one feature of interest among the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site (paras. [0028, 0033, 0039]).
Ikeda further discloses applying the spatially varied noise filtering based on the extent of the at least one feature of interest (paras. [0066, 0068, 0088, 0092]).
Regarding claim 5, Romanowski discloses wherein the one or more anatomical features are one or more blood vessels, wherein the at least one feature of interest is at least one blood vessel emitting fluorescence emissions (paras. [0022-0023]).
Regarding claim 6, Romanowski discloses wherein the system is configured to determine the at least one feature of interest among the one or more anatomical features based on the first imaging sensor data (para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Romanowski discloses wherein the system is configured to determine the at least one feature of interest among the one or more anatomical features based on a plurality of frames of the first imaging sensor data covering a pre-defined time interval or two or more pre-defined points in time (Fig. 7; paras. [0048, 0051, 0056]).
Regarding claims 8-9, Romanowski fails to explicitly disclose wherein the system is configured to subdivide the first imaging sensor data in a first portion and in a second portion, the first portion being based on the extent of at least a subset of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site, and to apply a first noise filter on the first portion and a different second noise filter on the second portion, and wherein the system is configured to subdivide the first imaging sensor data such, that the first portion comprises the extent of at least the subset of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site and the second portion comprises the remainder of the first imaging sensor data.
However, Ikeda discloses wherein the system is configured to subdivide the first imaging sensor data in a first portion and in a second portion (Figs. 4, 6), the first portion being based on the extent of at least a subset of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site (para. [0113]), and to apply a first noise filter on the first portion and a different second noise filter on the second portion (Figs. 15-16; paras. [0066, 0091, 0131, 0137, 0152-0153]), and
wherein the system is configured to subdivide the first imaging sensor data such, that the first portion comprises the extent of at least the subset of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site and the second portion comprises the remainder of the first imaging sensor data (Figs. 4, 6, 15-16; paras. [0091, 0131]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the system is configured to subdivide the first imaging sensor data in a first portion and in a second portion, the first portion being based on the extent of at least a subset of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site, and to apply a first noise filter on the first portion and a different second noise filter on the second portion, and wherein the system is configured to subdivide the first imaging sensor data such, that the first portion comprises the extent of at least the subset of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site and the second portion comprises the remainder of the first imaging sensor data, as in Ikeda, into the system of Romanowski to improve the result of cell analysis (Ikeda, para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 10, Romanowski discloses applying a pre-defined intensity pattern on the first portion of the first imaging sensor data (Figs. 7-9; paras. [0036, 0059]).
Ikeda further discloses the first noise filter (Figs. 15-16).
Regarding claim 11, Romanowski discloses wherein the pre-defined intensity pattern is configured to apply a uniform intensity distribution on the first portion or on coherent sub-portions of the first portion, or wherein the pre-defined intensity pattern is configured to apply a uniform intensity distribution along a transversal axis of coherent sub-portions of the first portion and to apply an intensity gradient along a longitudinal axis of the coherent sub-portions of the first portion (Figs. 7-9; paras. [0036, 0059]).
Regarding claim 12, Romanowski fails to explicitly disclose wherein the system is configured to subdivide the first portion into a plurality of coherent sub-portions based on the extent of at least the subset of the one or more anatomical features, and to apply the first noise filter separately on the coherent sub-portions.
However, Ikeda discloses wherein the system is configured to subdivide the first portion into a plurality of coherent sub-portions based on the extent of at least the subset of the one or more anatomical features (Figs. 4, 6), and to apply the first noise filter separately on the coherent sub-portions (Figs. 4, 6, 15-16; paras. [0066, 0091]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the system is configured to subdivide the first portion into a plurality of coherent sub-portions based on the extent of at least the subset of the one or more anatomical features, and to apply the first noise filter separately on the coherent sub-portions, as in Ikeda, into the method of Romanowski to improve the result of cell analysis (Ikeda, para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 13, Romanowski discloses wherein the one or more anatomical features are one or more blood vessels (para. [0022]).
Romanowski fails to explicitly disclose wherein the system is configured to subdivide the first portion into a plurality of coherent sub-portions based on branching points of the one or more blood vessels.
However, Ikeda discloses wherein the system is configured to subdivide the first portion into a plurality of coherent sub-portions based on branching points of the one or more blood vessels (Figs. 4, 6, 15-16; paras. [0066, 0088, 0091]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the system is configured to subdivide the first portion into a plurality of coherent sub-portions based on branching points of the one or more blood vessels, as in Ikeda, into the method of Romanowski to improve the result of cell analysis of a common tissue (Ikeda, paras. [0068, 0088]).
Regarding claim 14, Romanowski discloses applying a spatial low-pass filter on the second portion of the first imaging sensor data (para. [0031]).
Ikeda further discloses the second noise filter (Figs. 15-16).
Regarding claim 15, Romanowski fails to explicitly disclose wherein the system is configured to determine the extent of one or more anatomical features of the surgical site using a machine-learning model being trained to perform image segmentation and/or object detection.
However, Ikeda discloses wherein the system is configured to determine the extent of one or more anatomical features of the surgical site using a machine-learning model being trained to perform image segmentation and/or object detection (paras. [0081, 0100-0101]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the system is configured to determine the extent of one or more anatomical features of the surgical site using a machine-learning model being trained to perform image segmentation and/or object detection, as in Ikeda, into the method of Romanowski to improve the analysis accuracy.
Regarding claim 16, Romanowski discloses wherein the system is configured to determine the extent of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site based on at least one of a characteristic color spectrum and a characteristic shape of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site (paras. [0045, 0048, 0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 17, Romanowski discloses wherein the system is configured to generate a display signal for a display device (115, Figs. 1-3) of the surgical microscope system based on at least the filtered first imaging sensor data (paras. [0035-0036]).
Regarding claim 18, Romanowski discloses wherein the system is configured to generate a composite digital view of the surgical site based on the filtered first imaging sensor data and based on the second imaging sensor data, and to generate the display signal based on the composite digital view (Fig. 3; paras. [0035-0036, 0039]).
Regarding claim 19, Romanowski discloses a method for a surgical microscope system (Figs. 1-14), the method comprising:
obtaining first imaging sensor data of a view on a surgical site (321) from a first optical imaging sensor (103) of a microscope (100) of the surgical microscope system (Fig. 3; paras. [0038-0041]);
obtaining second imaging sensor data of the view on the surgical site from a second sensor (348) of the microscope (Fig. 3; paras. [0038-0041]);
determining an extent of one or more anatomical features of the surgical site based on the second imaging sensor data (Figs. 3-4; paras. [0045-0046]).
Romanowski fails to explicitly disclose applying spatially varied noise filtering on the first imaging sensor data based on the extent of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site.
However, Ikeda discloses a method for a surgical microscope system (Figs. 1-30) configured to apply spatially varied noise filtering (NR) on the first imaging sensor data based on the extent of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site (paras. [0066, 0068, 0092]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying spatially varied noise filtering on the first imaging sensor data based on the extent of the one or more anatomical features of the surgical site, as in Ikeda, into the method of Romanowski to attain clearer image data.
Regarding claim 20, Romanowski discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising a program code that, when the program code is executed on a processor, a computer, or a programmable hardware component, causes the processor, computer, or programmable hardware component to perform the method according to claim 19 (Fig. 1A; paras. [0028, 0066]).
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871