DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 09/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al., JP 2020-033029 in view of Nakagawa et al., US 2011/0235883.
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a method of printing (content providing system 10 includes a printing device 1, paragraph 11) comprising the steps of:
receiving a plurality of blocks (recommended page creation instruction to the individual access address and the recommended page address set in the individual page information along with address information and variable information as described in paragraphs 43 and 45) of print commands (based on page address and address information, the address information print data for printing the address information is generated to set the address information print data in the individual page information, paragraph 39);
receiving an identifier encoded in indicia on an object (reading unit 62 of the printing device 6 reads the barcode of the order ID printed on the cover sheet affixed to the package 7, paragraph 44);
selecting a block of print commands from the plurality of blocks of print commands in accordance with the identifier (print data transmission unit 45 converts the individual access address acquired from the individual page information into a two-dimensional barcode, and generates the address information print data and further, the print data transmitting unit 45 generates or selects variable information. For example, the variable information is information obtained from the customer information specified by the customer ID, information obtained from the order information specified by the customer ID. The print data transmitting unit 45 transmits the address information print data and the print data of the variable information to the printing apparatus 6 as individual print data in accordance with barcode which was read by reading unit 62 of the order ID printed on the cover sheet affixed to the package 7. The printing unit 64 prints the address information (two-dimensional barcode) on the package 7 using the address information print data received from the content providing device 4 corresponding to the order ID such that the package 7 in which the product is packed is delivered from the distribution base to the customer's address paragraphs 44-45);
generating a first image (2D barcode) in accordance with the selected block of print commands (print data transmission unit 45 converts the individual access address acquired from the individual page information into a two-dimensional barcode, and generates the address information print data, paragraph 45); selecting a template in accordance with the selected block (block information including recommendation page information contains content data embedded in it as a template, paragraph 34 and creation of recommended page information is generated by setting the selected content data in the selected template of the recommended page, paragraph 46);
generating a second image (variable information is further generated) in accordance with the selected template (print data transmission unit 45 further generates customer variable information according to customer ID for which the recommendation page is created among the customer information which is stored according to embedded content area in the template, paragraphs 45-46),
wherein a portion of second image comprises the first image (two-dimensional barcode 71 indicating an address for individual access is laser-printed on the base layer 70 along with the variable information 72 including residence/address area is also printed on the base layer 70. Note that the two-dimensional barcode 71 and the variable information 72 may be printed at one place as one figure, paragraphs 29, 45);
and operating a print system to print the second image on the object (print data transmitting unit 45 transmits the address information print data and the print data of the variable information to the printing apparatus 6, and the printing unit 64 of the printing device 6 laser-prints address information and variable information on the underlying layer formed on the package 7 using the individual print data received from the content providing device 4 (step S215), paragraph 45).
Ito fails to explicitly disclose selecting a template from a plurality of templates in accordance with a template identifier in selected data.
However, Nakagawa teaches selecting a template from a plurality of templates (template selector 91 of the template processing unit 9 selects the template to be used from among the plurality of templates, paragraph 70) in accordance with a template identifier in selected data (template is selected in accordance with template identifiers such as user ID, gender, age (just as one of the variables in Ito reference) included in selected block of image data for generating the model, paragraphs 68-70).
Ito and Nakagawa are combinable as both are in the same art of endeavor dealing with performing image processing along with selecting/populating template image data based on pre-defined criterion.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Nakagawa for the benefit of efficiently providing customized options to the operator to be able to select the appropriate template based on user’s information as specified effectively as taught by Nakagawa at paragraph 69.
Regarding claim 2, Combination of Ito with Nakagawa further teaches wherein generating the second image further includes selecting a third image, wherein the second image further comprises the third image (Ito, variable information may further include customer’s residence area, age, gender, or the current date and time, month or season, etc., s additional second and/or third image information, which can also be changed according to the customer, the time (month or season) and selected information is further included and printed as part of variable information, paragraphs 29, 45).
Regarding claim 3, Combination of Ito with Nakagawa further teaches wherein the first image is generated in accordance with a recipient of the object (Ito, two-dimensional barcode 71 is generated based on an address for individual who is the recipient of package such as print data transmission unit 45 converts the individual access address acquired from the individual page information into a two-dimensional barcode, and generates the address information print data and the package 7 in which the product is packed is delivered from the distribution base to the customer's address, paragraphs 29, 45).
Regarding claim 4, Combination of Ito with Nakagawa further teaches wherein a first block of print commands and a second block of print commands comprise the plurality of blocks of print commands, the template is specified by both the first block of print commands and the second block of print commands, and the third image is selected in accordance with the recipient of the object (Ito, both recipient/customer address information containing two-dimensional barcode 71 and customized customer information containing variable information 72 comprise plurality of customizable print commands and the template to embed all this information is generated so that fixed content data is displayed, wherein, variable information may further include customer’s residence area, age, gender (as additional second and/or third image information) which is selected to be included and printed as part of variable information based on an address for individual who is the recipient of package such as print data transmission unit 45 converts the individual access address acquired from the individual page information to generate the specific address information print data along with variable information which is selected according to customer’s desired and finally the package 7 in which the product is packed is delivered from the distribution base to the customer's address including the variable information, paragraphs 29, 34, 45).
Regarding claim 5, Combination of Ito with Nakagawa further teaches wherein at least a portion of third image overlays the first image (Ito, variable information 72 may further include customer’s residence area, age, gender, or the current date and time, month or season, etc., as additional second and/or third image information which can also be changed according to the customer, the time, wherein, two-dimensional barcode 71 indicating an address for individual access is laser-printed on the base layer 70 along with the variable information 72 including residence/address area is also printed on the base layer 70. Note that the two-dimensional barcode 71 and the variable information 72 may be printed at one place as one figure, paragraphs 29, 45).
Regarding claim 8, Combination of Ito with Nakagawa further teaches wherein receiving the identifier further includes the step of conveying the object past a sensor that reads the identifier (Ito, see paragraphs 27-28, 44, reading unit 62 reads a two-dimensional barcode (identifier) of the order ID printed on the cover sheet affixed to the package 7. The notification unit 63 notifies the content providing apparatus 4 of the barcode read from the cover sheet by the reading unit 62. The printing unit 64 prints the address information (two-dimensional barcode) on the package 7 using the address information print data received from the content providing device 4 corresponding to the order ID notified by the notification unit 63).
Regarding claim 9, Combination of Ito with Nakagawa further teaches wherein a barcode or a QR code encodes the identifier (Ito, see paragraphs 28, 44, reading unit 62 reads a two-dimensional barcode of the order ID printed on the cover sheet affixed to the package 7 and the printing unit 64 prints the address information (two-dimensional barcode) on the package 7 using the address information print data corresponding to the notified order ID based on read encoded barcode).
Regarding claim 10, Combination of Ito with Nakagawa further teaches wherein printing the second image includes conveying the object past a print system (Ito, when individual information is to be printed on a package such as cardboard, it is necessary to print customer-specific information on each package at high speed such as laser printing, where package is conveyed past a laser print system such that printing apparatus 6 irradiates the underlayer with laser light at high speed, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 11, Ito discloses a system for printing (content providing system 10 includes a printing device 1, paragraph 11) comprising:
a sensor (reading unit 62, paragraph 28) that senses an identifier encoded in indicia on an object (reading unit 62 of the printing device 6 reads the barcode of the order ID printed on the cover sheet affixed to the package 7, paragraph 44);
a block selector (address registration unit 44 with print data transmission unit 45) that receives a plurality of blocks (recommended page creation instruction to the individual access address and the recommended page address set in the individual page information along with address information and variable information as described in paragraphs 43 and 45) of print commands (based on page address and address information, the address information print data for printing the address information is generated to set the address information print data in the individual page information, paragraph 39)
and selects a block of print commands from the plurality of blocks of print commands in accordance with the identifier (print data transmission unit 45 converts the individual access address acquired from the individual page information into a two-dimensional barcode, and generates the address information print data and further, the print data transmitting unit 45 generates or selects variable information. For example, the variable information is information obtained from the customer information specified by the customer ID, information obtained from the order information specified by the customer ID. The print data transmitting unit 45 transmits the address information print data and the print data of the variable information to the printing apparatus 6 as individual print data in accordance with barcode which was read by reading unit 62 of the order ID printed on the cover sheet affixed to the package 7. The printing unit 64 prints the address information (two-dimensional barcode) on the package 7 using the address information print data received from the content providing device 4 corresponding to the order ID such that the package 7 in which the product is packed is delivered from the distribution base to the customer's address paragraphs 44-45),
and selects a template in accordance with the selected block (block information including recommendation page information contains content data embedded in it as a template, paragraph 34 and creation of recommended page information is generated by setting the selected content data in the selected template of the recommended page, paragraph 46);
a label generator (print data transmission unit 45) that generates a first image (2D barcode) in accordance with the selected block of print commands (print data transmission unit 45 converts the individual access address acquired from the individual page information into a two-dimensional barcode, and generates the address information print data, paragraph 45);
a template processor (print data transmission unit 45) that generates a second image (variable information is further generated) in accordance with the selected template (print data transmission unit 45 further generates customer variable information according to customer ID for which the recommendation page is created among the customer information which is stored according to embedded content area in the template, paragraphs 45-46),
wherein a portion of second image comprises the first image (two-dimensional barcode 71 indicating an address for individual access is laser-printed on the base layer 70 along with the variable information 72 including residence/address area is also printed on the base layer 70. Note that the two-dimensional barcode 71 and the variable information 72 may be printed at one place as one figure, paragraphs 29, 45);
and a print controller that operates a print system (printing unit 64 of the printing device 6) to print the second image on the object (print data transmitting unit 45 transmits the address information print data and the print data of the variable information to the printing apparatus 6, and the printing unit 64 of the printing device 6 laser-prints address information and variable information on the underlying layer formed on the package 7 using the individual print data received from the content providing device 4 (step S215), paragraph 45).
Ito fails to explicitly disclose selecting a template from a plurality of templates in accordance with a template identifier in selected data.
However, Nakagawa teaches selecting a template from a plurality of templates (template selector 91 of the template processing unit 9 selects the template to be used from among the plurality of templates, paragraph 70) in accordance with a template identifier in selected data (template is selected in accordance with template identifiers such as user ID, gender, age (just as one of the variables in Ito reference) included in selected block of image data for generating the model, paragraphs 68-70).
Ito and Nakagawa are combinable as both are in the same art of endeavor dealing with performing image processing along with selecting/populating template image data based on pre-defined criterion.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Nakagawa for the benefit of efficiently providing customized options to the operator to be able to select the appropriate template based on user’s information as specified effectively as taught by Nakagawa at paragraph 69.
Regarding claim 12, it recites similar features as claim 2 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 13, it recites similar features as claim 3 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14, it recites similar features as claim 4 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, it recites similar features as claim 5 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, it recites similar features as claim 8 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, it recites similar features as claim 9 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, it recites similar features as claim 10 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al., JP 2020-033029 in view of Nakagawa et al., US 2011/0235883 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Ludwig et al., US 2006/0279769.
Regarding claim 6, Combination of Ito with Nakagawa fails to further teach wherein the template identifier is specified in a comment string of the print commands.
However, Ludwig teaches wherein the template identifier is specified in a comment string of the print commands (a template identifier identifying a one of a plurality of document image templates into which the data elements of the content message populate. In which case, the print command object creates the print command file by populating the data fields of the document image template belonging to template identifier with comment strings of print commands, paragraph 28).
Ito and Nakagawa are combinable with Ludwig as all are in the same art of endeavor dealing with performing image processing along with selecting/populating template image data.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ito and Nakagawa to incorporate the teachings of Ludwig for the benefit of efficiently generating a document at a print system under the control of a client comprising a document image template and a print command object as taught by Ludwig at paragraph 22.
Regarding claim 16, it recites similar features as claim 6 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al., JP 2020-033029 in view of Nakagawa et al., US 2011/0235883 further in view of Ludwig et al., US 2006/0279769 as applied in claim 6 above and further in view of Berarducci et al., US 2015/0153982.
Regarding claim 7, Combination of Ito with Nakagawa and Ludwig fails to further teach wherein the print commands are developed in accordance with the Zebra Printing Language.
However, Berarducci teaches wherein the print commands are developed in accordance with the Zebra Printing Language (apparatus may be a printer and the device information message comprises a printer command. The printer command may be encoded in a printer control language. The printer control language may be Zebra Programming Language, paragraph 11).
Ito, Nakagawa and Ludwig are combinable with Berarducci as all are in the same art of endeavor dealing with performing image processing with executing commands.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ito, Nakagawa and Ludwig to incorporate the teachings of Berarducci for the benefit of efficiently managing and sharing access to data among a plurality of disparate devices as taught by Berarducci at paragraph 2.
Regarding claim 17, it recites similar features as claim 7 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sibthorpe, US 2015/0148210.
Aylward et al., US 2012/0279409.
Isowa, US 2007/0248394.
Ohira, US 2006/0060099.
/PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683