DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19, 23-25, 29, 31-33, 35-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Damnjanovic et al. (Patent No. 12177863).
- With respect to claims 19, 33,37, Damnjanovic teaches a method performed by a first user device coordinating with one or more other user devices to facilitate communications with a wireless communication network, the method comprising: pairing with a second user device to establish a pairing link for sharing resources used in communication with the wireless communication network (e.g. Fig. 2 shows UEs 115 paring; see par. 55); receiving, from the wireless communication network, configuration parameters for communicating with the wireless communication network using one or more frequencies; transmitting the configuration parameters to the second user device via the pairing link (e.g. block 1210 in Fig. 12 discloses “receiving, from the base station based on the identification of the relay UE, a first control signal indicating a sidelink relay communication link for communicating messages between the first UE and the base station via the relay UE”); receiving an activation message from the wireless communication network (e.g. block 1215 in fig. 12); and in response to receiving the activation message, transmitting, to the second user device via the pairing link, an activation signal that indicates to the second user device to start communicating with the wireless communication network using the one or more frequencies in accordance with the configuration parameters (e.g. block 1215, 1220 in Fig. 12).
- With respect to claim 23, Damnjanovic teaches wherein the receiving the activation message includes the receiving the configuration parameters (par. 196 discloses the activation message receives via the control signal).
- With respect to claims 24, 35, Damnjanovic teaches wherein the one or more frequencies include a first one or more frequencies and a second one or more frequencies, and wherein the method further comprises: connecting to the wireless communication network using the first one or more frequencies, which are different from the second one or more frequencies; and communicating with the wireless communication network using the first one or more frequencies while the second user device communicates with the wireless communication network using the second one or more frequencies (e.g. Fig. 2 shows the communication link 205a-b to different users therefore inherently to understand the link 205a-b are different frequency).
- With respect to claim 25, Damnjanovic teaches wherein the communicating with the wireless communication network using the first one or more frequencies includes communicating bidirectionally with the wireless communication network using the first one or more frequencies (e.g. Fig. 2 shows the bidirectionally communication).
- With respect to claim 29, Damnjanovic teaches wherein: the communicating with the wireless communication network using the first one or more frequencies includes communicating with a first radio access network, RAN, node; and the configuration parameters indicate communicating via a second RAN node when using the second one or more frequencies (e.g. Fig. 1 shows network nodes with difference frequencies).
- With respect to claims 31-32, 36, Damnjanovic teaches further comprising: transmitting first user device capability information to the second user device via the pairing link; and receiving second user device capability information from the second user device via the pairing link (e.g. step 1205 discloses the UE identified as relay which consider as the capability of the UE for relay between the first UE and base station).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovic in view of Bangolae et al. (Patent No. 10904933).
-With respect to claim 22, Damnjanovic teaches fails to teach the pairing with the second user device occurs after the receiving the configuration parameters. Bangolae teaches the communication between UE after receiving the configuration (see Fig. 6-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the method of pairing after receiving the configuration parameters for UE to act as a relay and transmit a discovery message to other UE to establish D2D communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-21, 26-28,30, 34 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471