DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is an initial office action in response to communication(s) filed on September 6, 2024.
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 6, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cok (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0292431 A1).
With regard to claim 1, the claim is drawn to a method of printing (see Cok, i.e. in fig. 1, 7-9, para. 2 and etc., disclose the printing apparatus 10) comprising the steps of:
transporting an object toward a print system (see Cok, i.e. in para. 37 and etc., disclose that stock fed into the printer for printing);
storing a plurality of blocks of print commands in an ordered sequence in a first queue (see Cok, i.e. in fig. 8, para. 35 and etc., disclose “electronic order”, and “…The first stock (e.g. on the top of the printer tray stack) is scanned in step 205 and matched to an electronic order (not necessarily the first electronic order in a queue representing the order in which the electronic orders were received) in step 210. The first stock and electronic order can be printed in step 215…”);
receiving a first identifier encoded in indicia on the object (see Cok, i.e. in para. 33, discloses that “…The electronic orders can include unique customer data such as digital images and a selection of pre-printed stock on which the digital image(s) are to be printed. An electronic customer order is matched to the tray stock information describing the available pre-printed stock in step 120. One of the stock information is matched with one of the plurality of different electronic orders to form a match in step 120. Print instructions for the match are produced and the customer data corresponding to the match is printed onto the common side of the matching pre-printed stock in step 125”);
selecting an oldest block of print commands from the stored plurality of blocks, wherein the oldest block of commands is associated with a second identifier (and further in Cok, i.e. para. 36, discloses that “[0036] In another preferred embodiment of the present invention, a pre-printed stock can be matched to a specific electronic order, for example the first electronic order in a queue representing the order in which the electronic orders were received. In this embodiment, the controller will examine each of the pre-printed stocks until a match is found. Referring to FIG. 9, the pre-printed stock is loaded into a printer tray in step 300. The pre-printed stock in a printer tray can include a variety of different stocks. All of the pre-printed stocks to be matched are scanned in step 305 and a match to the first electronic order found in step 310. The pre-printed stock and first electronic order can be printed in step 315. At the same time, before, or after the first electronic order and matched pre-printed stock are printed, a second electronic order (e.g. the second electronic order in the queue) can be matched to a pre-printed stock in step 320. The second match can be printed in step 325 after the first match is printed in step 315. The process can continue until either the pre-printed stock is exhausted or the electronic orders are completed.”); and
determining whether the first identifier is associated with a second identifier and, if so, operating the print system to printing content specified by the selected block of print commands on the object, otherwise storing the oldest block in a second queue (see Cok, i.e. in fig. 8, para. 35 and etc., disclose that “[0035] In another preferred embodiment of the present invention, an electronic order can be matched to a specific pre-printed stock, for example the first pre-printed stock on the top of a printer tray. In this embodiment, the controller will examine each of the pending electronic customer orders until a match with the specific pre-printed stock is found. Referring to FIG. 8, the pre-printed stock is loaded into a printer tray in step 200. The pre-printed stock in a printer tray can include a variety of different stocks. The first stock (e.g. on the top of the printer tray stack) is scanned in step 205 and matched to an electronic order (not necessarily the first electronic order in a queue representing the order in which the electronic orders were received) in step 210. The first stock and electronic order can be printed in step 215. At the same time, before, or after the first pre-printed stock and matched electronic order are printed, a second stock (e.g. the second pre-printed stock in the printer tray stack) can be scanned and identified in step 220 and then matched to an electronic order in step 225. Once the first pre-printed stock and electronic order print is complete (step 215), the second pre-printed stock and electronic order can be printed in step 230. The process can continue until either the pre-printed stock is exhausted or the electronic orders are completed…”).
With regard to claim 7, the claim is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the first identifier is associated with information regarding the box including one or more of contents, shipping information, weight, dimensions, and recipient (see Cok, i.e. in para. 7-8, 23, 26-27 and etc., disclose that “a scannable bar code pattern printed on a sheet of printer media or on a sheet attached to such media. The bar code is then read by a bar code scanner to identify the media and corresponding customer variable information can then be printed on the stock media”, and “an improved apparatus for printing variable customer information on to a variety of different pre-printed stocks”).
With regard to claim 8, the claim is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the print system comprises at least one drop on demand ink jet head (see Cok, i.e. in para. 7, 27 and etc., disclose that “However, as intended by embodiments of the present invention, a great variety of pre-printed stocks are available, for example including different shapes, colors, pre-printed inks, and pre-printed messages. In some embodiments of the present invention, the variety of pre-printed stocks is too diverse to be loaded by each stock type into the stock printer trays of a printer or local network of printers…”).
With regard to claim 9, the claim is drawn to a system for printing (see Cok, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 2 and etc., disclose the printing apparatus 10) comprising:
a conveying system that transports an object toward a print system (see Cok, i.e. in para. 37 and etc., disclose that stock fed into the printer for printing);
a control system having a first queue and a second queue, wherein the first queue has a plurality of blocks of print commands stored therein in an ordered sequence (see Cok, i.e. in fig. 8, para. 35 and etc., disclose “electronic order”, and “…The first stock (e.g. on the top of the printer tray stack) is scanned in step 205 and matched to an electronic order (not necessarily the first electronic order in a queue representing the order in which the electronic orders were received) in step 210. The first stock and electronic order can be printed in step 215…”; and further in para. 36, discloses that “[0036] In another preferred embodiment of the present invention, a pre-printed stock can be matched to a specific electronic order, for example the first electronic order in a queue representing the order in which the electronic orders were received. In this embodiment, the controller will examine each of the pre-printed stocks until a match is found. Referring to FIG. 9, the pre-printed stock is loaded into a printer tray in step 300. The pre-printed stock in a printer tray can include a variety of different stocks. All of the pre-printed stocks to be matched are scanned in step 305 and a match to the first electronic order found in step 310. The pre-printed stock and first electronic order can be printed in step 315. At the same time, before, or after the first electronic order and matched pre-printed stock are printed, a second electronic order (e.g. the second electronic order in the queue) can be matched to a pre-printed stock in step 320. The second match can be printed in step 325 after the first match is printed in step 315. The process can continue until either the pre-printed stock is exhausted or the electronic orders are completed.”);
a sensor that reads a first identifier encoded in indicia on the object (see Cok, i.e. in fig. 8, para. 35 and etc., disclose in step 205, scan the first stock; also, in para. 9, 10 and etc., disclose the scanner);
an image generator that selects an oldest block of print commands from the stored plurality of blocks, wherein the oldest block of commands is associated with a second identifier (see Cok, i.e. fig. 8, in para. 35 and etc., disclose that “[0035] In another preferred embodiment of the present invention, an electronic order can be matched to a specific pre-printed stock, for example the first pre-printed stock on the top of a printer tray. In this embodiment, the controller will examine each of the pending electronic customer orders until a match with the specific pre-printed stock is found. Referring to FIG. 8, the pre-printed stock is loaded into a printer tray in step 200. The pre-printed stock in a printer tray can include a variety of different stocks. The first stock (e.g. on the top of the printer tray stack) is scanned in step 205 and matched to an electronic order (not necessarily the first electronic order in a queue representing the order in which the electronic orders were received) in step 210.”); and
a print controller (see Cok, i.e. in para. 9 and etc., discloses that “… a controller receives the tray stock information and the electronic customer orders for matching the tray stock information to the electronic customer orders to produce a match, and for producing print instructions for the match…”);
wherein the image generator determines whether the first identifier is associated with a second identifier and, if so, causes the print controller to print content specified by the selected block of print commands on the object, otherwise stores the oldest block in the second queue (see Cok, i.e. in fig. 8, para. 35 and etc., disclose that “[0035] In another preferred embodiment of the present invention, an electronic order can be matched to a specific pre-printed stock, for example the first pre-printed stock on the top of a printer tray. In this embodiment, the controller will examine each of the pending electronic customer orders until a match with the specific pre-printed stock is found. Referring to FIG. 8, the pre-printed stock is loaded into a printer tray in step 200. The pre-printed stock in a printer tray can include a variety of different stocks. The first stock (e.g. on the top of the printer tray stack) is scanned in step 205 and matched to an electronic order (not necessarily the first electronic order in a queue representing the order in which the electronic orders were received) in step 210. The first stock and electronic order can be printed in step 215. At the same time, before, or after the first pre-printed stock and matched electronic order are printed, a second stock (e.g. the second pre-printed stock in the printer tray stack) can be scanned and identified in step 220 and then matched to an electronic order in step 225. Once the first pre-printed stock and electronic order print is complete (step 215), the second pre-printed stock and electronic order can be printed in step 230. The process can continue until either the pre-printed stock is exhausted or the electronic orders are completed…”).
With regard to claim 15, the claim is drawn to the system of claim 9, wherein the first identifier is associated with information regarding the box including one or more of contents, shipping information, weight, dimensions, and recipient (see Cok, i.e. in para. 7-8, 23, 26-27 and etc., disclose that “a scannable bar code pattern printed on a sheet of printer media or on a sheet attached to such media. The bar code is then read by a bar code scanner to identify the media and corresponding customer variable information can then be printed on the stock media”, and “an improved apparatus for printing variable customer information on to a variety of different pre-printed stocks”).
With regard to claim 16, the claim is drawn to the system of claim 9, wherein the print system comprises at least one drop on demand ink jet head (see Cok, i.e. in para. 7, 27 and etc., disclose that “However, as intended by embodiments of the present invention, a great variety of pre-printed stocks are available, for example including different shapes, colors, pre-printed inks, and pre-printed messages. In some embodiments of the present invention, the variety of pre-printed stocks is too diverse to be loaded by each stock type into the stock printer trays of a printer or local network of printers…”).
Allowable Subject Matter
With regard to Claims 2-6 and 10-14, claims are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the corresponding rejections and/or objection (if any) set forth in the Office Action above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 2, the closest prior arts of record, Cok, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “… the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of blocks of print commands comprises a first plurality of blocks of print commands, further including determining that the first identifier is not associated with the second identifier and in response determining if any of a second plurality of blocks of print commands stored in the second queue is associated with the first identifier”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by Cok.
With regard to claims 3-6, the claims are depending directly or indirectly from the independent Claim 2, each encompasses the required limitations recited in the independent claim discussed above.
With regard to claim 10, the closest prior arts of record, Cok, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “… the system of claim 9, wherein the plurality of blocks of print commands comprises a first plurality of blocks of print commands, wherein the image generator determines that the first identifier is not associated with the second identifier and in response determines if any of a second plurality of blocks of print commands stored in the second queue is associated with the first identifier”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by Cok.
Therefore, claims 2-6 and 10-14 are objected to.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cok et al. (U.S. Pat/Pub No. 200) disclose an invention relates to a printing apparatus for variable pre-printed stock, comprising storage for customer data, pre-printed stocks having a decorative printed area and an open area on a common side of the pre-printed stock. Printer trays hold one of the pre-printed stocks; a scanner scans the pre-printed stocks to produce tray stock information that identifies the pre-printed stocks (see para. 9 and etc.; however, lacks in explicitly disclose the first and second queues as claimed).
The Art Unit (or Workgroup) location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2681.
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681