DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the phrase (see claim 1), “a component temperature estimating unit configured to estimate a component temperature, which is a temperature of the electronic component, for each of the plurality of electronic components based on the current value detected or estimated by the current detecting unit and the detected temperature detected by the temperature detection circuit” is unclear as how the current value is estimated by the current detecting unit as estimating the current is not shown (detection of currents via shunt resistances 39A1-39C1, 39A2-39C2 is only shown, see relative fig.2).
Therefore, the claimed subject-matter (current value estimation) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase (see claim 1), “a component temperature estimating unit configured to estimate a component temperature, which is a temperature of the electronic component, for each of the plurality of electronic components based on the current value detected or estimated by the current detecting unit and the detected temperature detected by the temperature detection circuit” is unclear as how the current value is estimated by the current detecting unit (detection of currents via shunt resistances 39A1-39C1, 39A2-39C2 is only shown, see relative fig.2). Closest fig.5 shows current command value calculating unit 50 calculate current commands Iq0, Ido based on current detection 11ad, 11bd, 11cd.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the phrase, “a component temperature estimating unit configured to estimate a component temperature, which is a temperature of the electronic component, for each of the plurality of electronic components based on the current value detected or estimated by the current detecting unit and the detected temperature detected by the temperature detection circuit” is unclear as to a component temperature estimating unit as there are a plurality of component temperature estimating units 61a1-61a3, 61b1-61b3, 61c1-61c3, 61d1-61d3, 61e1-61e2, 61f1-61f2 and 61g are provided in a first reduction coefficient setting unit 60 (see applicant’s relative figs.6, 13) which selectively 64 output a coefficient K1 based on current detection 11ad, 11bd, 11cd and temperature detection SdA1, SdA2 and also not clear as how the current value is estimated by the current detecting unit (detection of currents via shut resistances 39A1-39C1, 39A2-39C2 is only shown, see relative fig.2). Closest fig.5 shows current command value calculating unit 50 calculate current commands Iq0, Ido based on current detection 11ad, 11bd, 11cd.
Dependent claims 2-14 are rejected as they depend from rejected claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 12, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IWAMI et al. (Pub.No.: US 2014/0118866 A1 and IWAMI hereinafter) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0314530 A1 and Zhang hereinafter).
As to claim 1, (Original) A current control apparatus comprising:
a current control circuit including a plurality of electronic components;
a temperature detection circuit having a temperature detecting element disposed in the
vicinity of the current control circuit;
a current detecting unit configured to detect or estimate a current value flowing to each of the plurality of electronic components;
a component temperature estimating unit configured to estimate a component
temperature, which is a temperature of the electronic component, for each of the plurality of electronic components based on the current value detected or estimated by the current detecting unit and the detected temperature detected by the temperature detection circuit;
a reduction coefficient setting unit configured to set a plurality of different reduction
coefficients for a plurality of different component temperatures included in the component temperature estimated for each of the plurality of electronic components;
a selecting unit configured to select any one of the plurality of reduction coefficients; and
a current limiting unit configured to limit output current outputted from the current
control circuit to a load based on the selected reduction coefficient, wherein
the component temperature estimating unit
estimates a power loss generated in the electronic component for each of the plurality of
electronic components, and
estimates the component temperature of any of the plurality of electronic components
based on a sum of a first value obtained by filtering the power loss through a plurality of first low-pass filters connected in parallel with each other or connected in series with each other, and a second value obtained by filtering the detected temperature detected by the temperature detection circuit through a second low-pass filter.
(As to claim 1, IWAMI teaches a current control apparatus [power steering control device] (supply motor current, see fig.1, (para’s [0002], [0004], [0008] [0008])) comprising:
a current control circuit [control unit 10] (fig.1, para’s [0022], [0029] thru [0038]) including a plurality of electronic components [Switching elements FETs T1-T6]/ Capacitors C1-C3];
a temperature detection circuit 16 (fig.1, par. [0029]) having a temperature detecting element [thermistor] (see para. [0093]) disposed in the vicinity (driving section 12, fig.1) of the current control circuit 10;
a current detecting unit [shunt resistors Ru, Rv, Rw] (fig.1, para. [0026]) configured to detect or calculate a current value [Sin] flowing to each of the plurality of electronic components [Switching elements T1-T6];
a component temperature estimating/calculating unit [CPU 11]) (fig.1, para’s [0040]-[0041]) configured to estimate [calculate] a component temperatureT1 (see temperature calculating equations 1-9, para’s [0042] thru [0060], figs.2-3), which is a temperature of the electronic component [Fets T1-T6], for each of the plurality of electronic components [T1-T6] (fig.1) based on the current value detected or estimated (via CPU 11) by the current detecting unit (via shunt resistors [Ru, Rv, Rw], fig.1) and the detected temperature detected by the temperature detection circuit 16;
a reduction (decreasing) coefficient setting unit (see fig.4/5/6/7, para. [0069]) configured to set a plurality of different reduction coefficients L1/L2 (A1-0, A2-0 see fig.4, para’s [0063], [0064], [0065], [0066], [0067]-[0069]) for a plurality of different component temperatures included in the component temperature estimated/calculated (via CPU 11, figs.1, 2 & 3, para’s [0061]-[0062]) for each of the plurality of electronic components [FETs T1-T6];
a selecting unit (via Over-heat protection coefficient calculating section, see figs.4/5/6/7) configured to select any one of the plurality of reduction/decreasing coefficients L1(A1-0)/L2 [A2-0] in low current region B1-C1 or decreasing negative coefficients in high current region > C1, see fig.4, para’s [0065], [0083]/fig.5, para. [0087]/fig.6, para. [0095]); and a current limiting unit [CPU 11] (fig.1) configured to limit output current outputted from the current control circuit 10 to a load [motor 3] based on the selected reduction coefficient L1, L2 (to calculate coefficient La), via section 25, see fig.4, para’s [0066], [0067], [0068], [0069], [0070]/fig.6, para. [0095]).
IWAMI do not mention the component temperature estimating unit estimates a power loss generated in the electronic component for each of the plurality of electronic components, and
estimates the component temperature of any of the plurality of electronic components based on a sum of a first value obtained by filtering the power loss through a plurality of first low-pass filters connected in parallel with each other or connected in series with each other, and a second value obtained by filtering the detected temperature detected by the temperature detection circuit through a second low-pass filter.
ZHANG teaches (figs.1-8, para’s [0033] thru [0042]) the controller 10 (figs.1-3) includes a component temperature estimating unit 120 (figs.3-5B) estimates a power loss Pps/Pdiode (fig.5B) generated in the electronic component [switch PS1/Ps2] (fig.2B) for each of the plurality of electronic components (switches in the inverter module 11, fig.1), and
estimates the component temperature Tj_PS/Tj_D (via component temperature estimating unit 120, see fig.5B) of any of the plurality of electronic components [Switches, diodes] based on a sum of a first value obtained by filtering (via LPF, fig.5B) the power loss Pps/Pdiode through a plurality of first low-pass filters [LPF 340, 342] connected in parallel with each other (see fig.5B) or
and a second value obtained (temperature Tcool (provided to temperature estimation section 120, see fig.5A) added via 350/354, see para’s [0035],[0039] [0040], [0041], [0042]) by the detected temperature detected by the temperature sensors 19 (fig.1, para. [0028], Thermistors circuit T1, see fig.2B, para’s [0032]) using a relative second low-pass filter [LPF 344/LPF346 connected in parallel and output combined via adder 354 to obtain the filtered temperature estimation value Tj_D, see fig.5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the component temperature estimating unit estimates a power loss generated in the electronic component for each of the plurality of electronic components, and estimates the component temperature of any of the plurality of electronic components based on a sum of a first value obtained by filtering the power loss through a plurality of first low-pass filters connected in parallel with each other or, and a second value obtained by filtering the detected temperature detected by the temperature detection circuit through a second low-pass filter of Zhang in the system of IWAMI because for detecting and isolating faults within power inverter modules (see Zhang, para’s [0002], [0004]).
As to claim 10, (Original) The current control apparatus according to claim 1, characterized in that the current control circuit is an inverter circuit, the any of the electronic components is a smoothing capacitor that connects a positive wire and a negative wire of the inverter circuit.
(As to claim 10, IWAMI teaches a current control apparatus [power steering control device] (supply motor current, see fig.1, (para’s [0002], [0004], [0008] [0008])), wherein
the current control circuit [control unit 10] (fig.1, para’s [0022], [0029] thru [0038]) have an inverter drive circuit 12, the electronic components is a smoothing capacitor C1/C2/C3 (fig.1, para. [0022]) that connects a positive wire and a negative wire [Ground] of the inverter circuit 12).
As to claim 12, (Original) The current control apparatus according to claim 10, characterized in that the any of the electronic components is the smoothing capacitor.
(As to claim 12, IWAMI teaches a current control apparatus [power steering control device] (supply motor current, see fig.1, (para’s [0002], [0004], [0008] [0008])), wherein
the drive section 12 has the electronic components, which is a noise-prevention capacitors C1/C2/C3 (fig.1, see para. [0022]).
As to claim 13, (Currently Amended) A motor control apparatus characterized in that current supplied to an electric motor as a load is controlled by the current control apparatus according to claim 1.
(As to claim 13, IWAMI teaches a current control apparatus [power steering control device] (supply motor current, see fig.1, (para’s [0002], [0004], [0008], [0021], [0024])), wherein a motor control device 10 (fig.1) characterized in that current supplied to an electric motor 3 as a load).
As to claim 14, (Original) An electric power steering apparatus comprising: the motor control apparatus according to claim 13, and an electric motor controlled by the motor control apparatus, characterized in that a steering assist force is applied to a steering system of a vehicle by the electric motor.
(As to claim 14, IWAMI teaches a current control apparatus [power steering control device] (supply motor current, see fig.1, (para’s [0002], [0004], [0008] [0009])), comprising: the motor control device 10 according to claim 13, and an electric motor 3 controlled by the motor control device 10, characterized in that a steering assist force is applied to a steering system of a vehicle by the electric motor 3 (see para. [0023]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IWAMI et al. (Pub.No.: US 2014/0118866 A1) and Zhang et al. (US 2023/0314530 A1) and in view of Long et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0231891 A1 and Long hereinafter).
As to claim 6, (Original) The current control apparatus according to claim 1, characterized in that at least one of the plurality of first low-pass filters is a second-order or higher low-pass filter.
(As to claim 6, IWAMI AND Zhang do not mention a second-order Low-pass filter.
Long teaches (figs 1A-2A, para. [0124]) a second-order Low-pass filter 215 used in a motor control device 100.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second-order Low-pass filter of Long in the combination system of IWAMI and Zhang because to reduce noise and improve drive system stability (see Long, para. [0009], [0124]).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 2, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior arts, prior art of record, IWAMI et al., Pub.No.: US 2014/0118866 A1 and Zhang et al. US 2023/0314530 A1) in combination, fails to teach the plurality of first low-pass filters are connected in parallel with each other, the plurality of electronic components and the temperature detecting element are mounted on the same circuit board, and a surface of a first component, which is the any of the plurality of electronic components, opposite from the circuit board side and a surface of the temperature detecting element or a second component other than the first component out of the plurality of electronic components, opposite from the circuit board side, are thermally coupled to an identical heat sink.
As to claim 3, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior arts, prior art of record, IWAMI et al., Pub.No.: US 2014/0118866 A1 and Zhang et al. US 2023/0314530 A1) in combination, fails to teach the plurality of first low-pass filters are connected in series with each other, the any of the electronic components is mounted on a first side of the circuit board, and a second side of the circuit board, opposite from the first side, is thermally coupled to a heat sink.
As to claim 4, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior arts, prior art of record, IWAMI et al., Pub.No.: US 2014/0118866 A1 and Zhang et al. US 2023/0314530 A1) in combination, fails to teach the component temperature estimating unit acquires the first value by filtering the result of the multiplication of the power loss with the predetermined gain through the plurality of first low- pass filters.
Claim 5 depend on allowable claim 4.
As to claim 7, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior arts, prior art of record, IWAMI et al., Pub.No.: US 2014/0118866 A1 and Zhang et al. US 2023/0314530 A1) in combination, fails to teach the plurality of first low-pass filters are connected in series with each other, the component temperature estimating unit estimates the component temperature of other electronic components other than the any of the plurality of electronic components based on a sum of a third value obtained by filtering the power loss through a plurality of second low-pass filters connected in parallel with each other and a second value obtained by filtering the detected temperature detected by the temperature detection circuit through the second low-pass filter.
Claim 8 depend on allowable claim 7.
As to claim 9, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior arts, prior art of record, IWAMI et al., Pub.No.: US 2014/0118866 A1 and Zhang et al. US 2023/0314530 A1) in combination, fails to teach the component temperature estimating unit estimates the component temperature for each of the plurality of electronic components based on a sum of a first value obtained by filtering the power loss through a plurality of first low-pass filters connected in parallel-series or series-parallel with each other and a second value obtained by filtering the detected temperature detected by the temperature detection circuit through the second low-pass filter.
As to claim 11, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior arts, prior art of record, IWAMI et al., Pub.No.: US 2014/0118866 A1 and Zhang et al. US 2023/0314530 A1) in combination, fails to teach the component temperature estimating unit estimates a power loss generated in the smoothing capacitor based on a magnitude of phase current of the inverter circuit.
However formal requirements outstanding (see Objection to drawings and specification and 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection of claims 1-14) needs to be corrected and clarified in response to this office action.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Takatsuka et al. (US Pub.No.: US 2002/0179363 A1) teaches (figs.1-34, abstract, para. [0001]) electric power steering system (fig.1), wherein current limiting unit 105 applies current limiting based on coefficient setting via coefficient setting unit 108 in response to temperature calculation 112 based on sensing temperature via temperature sensor 75 and motor current detection 78, 107 (figs.2-20) for preventing overheating (para. [0003]).
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2837