DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tyers (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0206496).
Regarding claim 1, Tyers teaches an information processing device comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions (Paragraph 0121 As shown in FIGS. 12A and 12B, a computing device 1200 includes a central processing unit 1221, and a main memory unit 1222.) to: acquire measurement data generated by a measurement device provided on a ship (Paragraph 0037 In yet another embodiment of the programmable automatic docking system 10, the set of port side transducers 40P comprise a pair of distance sensing transducers 41P and 42P located on the port fore side of the marine vessel 60, and a pair of distance sensing transducers 44P and 45P located on the port aft side of the marine vessel 60, wherein each port side transducers 41P, 42P, 44P and 45P detects and transmits a set of distance and velocity information relating to the distance between the port side of the marine vessel 60 and an external object 70; in one embodiment, the external object 70, includes, but is not limited to a dock, another marine vessel, or other similar structure.); and perform a process for displaying information relating to a relative positional relationship between the ship and a berthing area on a display device based on the measurement data, the berthing area being an area where the ship should be positioned when the ship is berthed to a berthing place (Paragraph 0087 The system 1000 includes a touch screen control monitor 1007. The touch screen control monitor 1007 may be in communication with the central processing unit 1003, receiving, for example, data from the optical feed for display to a user. The touch screen control monitor 1007 may include a touch capacitive screen allowing a user to interact with a graphical user interface displayed by the touch screen control monitor 1007 by touching a screen of the touch screen control monitor 1007. The touch screen monitor 1007 may display an overlay of the geometries of an environment surrounding the marine vessel, the overlay generated from data received over the optical feed from the vision system by using optical ranging photography with a day or night all-weather infrared vision system as well as the high precision inertial measurement units (IMUs) and global positioning system (GPS) unit to initiate a variety of automatic functions over various distances through a central processing unit (CPU) 1003 designed to execute selected automatic functions in response to acquired data.).
Regarding claim 2, Tyers teaches the system of claim 1 as set forth above. Tyers further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire a position of at least one marker serving as a mark for the berthing area, based on the measurement data, wherein the processor performs the process for displaying information relating to the relative positional relationship between the ship and the berthing area determined based on the at least one marker on the display device (Paragraph 0037 Additionally, the lateral port side position transducer 43P establishes a lateral position from the port side of the marine vessel 60 in relation to a precise lateral reference point on the port external object 70.).
Regarding claim 3, Tyers teaches the system of claim 2 as set forth above. Tyers further teaches wherein the processor performs a process for displaying information relating to a distance from a bow of the ship to a front end of the berthing area (Paragraph 0047 Upon activation of the bow distance, velocity and position transducer 46, real-time distance and velocity information is detected and wirelessly transmitting to the programmable processor control unit 30 distance and velocity information of the bow 69 of the marine vessel 60 in relation to an external object 70 (i.e. an environment such as a marina, another marine vessel or rocks etc.).), and information relating to a distance from a stern of the ship to a rear end of the berthing area on the display device (Paragraph 0049 When operating in slip reverse direction, a stern distance, velocity and position transducer 47 is engaged.).
Regarding claim 4, Tyers teaches the system of claim 3 as set forth above. Tyers further teaches wherein the processor further performs a process for displaying information relating to a distance from the ship to a side surface of a quay of the berthing place on the display device (Paragraph 0037 In yet another embodiment of the programmable automatic docking system 10, the set of port side transducers 40P comprise a pair of distance sensing transducers 41P and 42P located on the port fore side of the marine vessel 60, and a pair of distance sensing transducers 44P and 45P located on the port aft side of the marine vessel 60, wherein each port side transducers 41P, 42P, 44P and 45P detects and transmits a set of distance and velocity information relating to the distance between the port side of the marine vessel 60 and an external object 70; in one embodiment, the external object 70, includes, but is not limited to a dock, another marine vessel, or other similar structure.).
Regarding claim 5, Tyers teaches the system of claim 2 as set forth above. Tyers further teaches wherein the processor performs a process for displaying information relating to speed at which the ship moves in a quay direction of the berthing area and information relating to speed at which the ship moves in a front and rear direction of the berthing area on the display device (Paragraph 0047 Upon activation of the bow distance, velocity and position transducer 46, real-time distance and velocity information is detected and wirelessly transmitting to the programmable processor control unit 30 distance and velocity information of the bow 69 of the marine vessel 60 in relation to an external object 70 (i.e. an environment such as a marina, another marine vessel or rocks etc.).).
Regarding claim 6, Tyers teaches the system of claim 5 as set forth above. Tyers further teaches wherein the processor further performs a process for displaying information relating to movement speed of the ship on the display device, the movement speed being calculated by combining the speed at which the ship moves in the quay direction of the berthing area and the speed at which the ship moves in the front and rear direction of the berthing area (Paragraph 0079 Photographic and infrared system capabilities may continuously map the areas surrounding a marine vessel and transmit in real time ( or near real time), distance, velocity and visual information between the marine vessel and the surrounding areas to the central processing unit 1003 for use in automatically maneuvering the marine vessel for placement in a final targeted location (e.g., alongside an external object such as a dock 1004) and in maintaining that position automatically.).
Regarding claim 7, Tyers teaches the system of claim 2 as set forth above. Tyers further teaches wherein the processor performs a process for displaying information relating to an angle indicating a direction of the ship with respect to a side surface of the quay at the berthing place on the display device (Paragraph 0107 In one embodiment, to detect the location of the marine vessel 1001, the central processing unit 1003 receives GPS position and a scan of an area surrounding the marine vessel 1001 (e.g., from the photographic vision system 1002 and 1008); the central processing unit 1003 calculates a travel distance and angle to an obstacle (e.g., the closest obstacle) and generates a mapping of desired parking location relative to marine vessel 1 location (x-position, y-position, relative angle).).
Regarding claim 9, Tyers teaches the system of claim 2 as set forth above. Tyers further teaches wherein the processor performs a process for displaying information relating to a route for guiding the ship from a current position to a predetermined berthing position within the berthing area, on the display device, as information relating to the ship moving within or around the berthing area (Paragraph 0107 In one embodiment, to detect the location of the marine vessel 1001, the central processing unit 1003 receives GPS position and a scan of an area surrounding the marine vessel 1001 (e.g., from the photographic vision system 1002 and 1008); the central processing unit 1003 calculates a travel distance and angle to an obstacle (e.g., the closest obstacle) and generates a mapping of desired parking location relative to marine vessel 1 location (x-position, y-position, relative angle).).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the claims are commensurate in scope with claim 1 with the exception that claim 12 is directed to a method and claim 13 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program. Therefore, the same prior art can be applied to claims 12 and 13 as was applied to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyers in view of Glaeser (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0072059).
Regarding claim 8, Tyers teaches the system of claim 2 as set forth above. However, Tyers does not teach wherein the processor performs a process for displaying information relating to a predicted position and a predicted attitude of the ship from a present time to a time when a predetermined time has elapsed, on the display device, as information relating to the ship moving in the berthing area.
Glaeser, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a system for displaying positional information regarding a marine vessel to assist with docking. The system predicts a future position of the ship based on its current position and conditions (Paragraph 0038 The computer 9 "knows" a model of the ship 5, so that it can predict the reactions of the ship on interventions on the control and drive systems of the ship in an ideal aquatic environment (particularly without currents).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Tyers with the teachings of Glaeser which teaches predicting a future position of the ship based on its current position and conditions in order to estimate the winds and currents by comparing the predicted future position with an actual future position (See Glaeser Paragraph 0038 The computer 9 can permanently compare these predicted reactions with the actual reactions of the ship based on the data collected by the GPS receivers 6 and 7 and check at the same time whether the deviating reactions can be explained by wind loads, ascertainable based on the data provided by an anemometer 13 connected on the entrance to the computer 9, that affect the ship 5. The computer 9 then attributes the reactions of the ship that thus cannot be explained to water currents, whose strength and direction is thus ascertainable. This detection of water currents can generally be performed permanently, in particular on time before a special maneuver of the ship 5, so that the influence of currents can be taken into account beforehand when performing an automatic computer-supported maneuver.).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyers in view of Park (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0357655).
Regarding claim 10, Tyers teaches the system of claim 1 as set forth above. However, Tyers does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to extract a minimum value of lengths of perpendiculars formed from contour points of the ship to a straight line along the side surface of the quay of the berthing place, and calculate a shortest distance from a hull of the ship to the quay of the berthing place; and determine the contour point for which the shortest distance is calculated, to be a proximate portion corresponding to a portion of the hull of the ship closest to the quay of the berthing place, wherein the processor performs a process for displaying information relating to the shortest distance and the proximate portion on the display device.
Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a system for displaying positional information regarding a marine vessel to assist with docking. The system calculates a shortest distance between the hull of the marine vessel and a quay wall (Paragraph 0149 The location/movement information of the object may be estimated based on an area or a point. As an example, the distance between a vessel and a quay wall may be estimated by calculating the distance between one point of the vessel and one point of the quay wall or may be estimated by calculating the shortest distance between one point of the vessel and the quay wall.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Tyers with the teachings of Park which teaches calculating a shortest distance between the hull of the marine vessel and a quay wall in order to assist with maneuvering the vessel when close to the quay (See Park Paragraph 0145 The location/movement information of the object may be used upon the sailing of the vessel. For example, by detecting another vessel or an obstacle near the vessel, warning of a collision using a distance to the vessel or obstacle, a velocity of the vessel or obstacle, etc., or recommending or creating a route, it is possible to assist or guide the safe sailing of the vessel. Alternatively, autonomous sailing may be performed based on such information.).
Regarding claim 11, Tyers teaches the system of claim 1 as set forth above. However, Tyers does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to extract a minimum value of distances from the contour points of the ship to the measurement data representing an object other than the quay of the berthing place, and calculate a shortest distance from a hull of the ship to the object; and determine the contour point for which the shortest distance is calculated, as a proximate portion corresponding to a portion of the hull of the ship closest to the object, wherein the processor performs a process for displaying information relating to the shortest distance and the proximate portion on the display device.
Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a system for displaying positional information regarding a marine vessel to assist with docking. The system calculates a shortest distance between the hull of the marine vessel and another vessel (Paragraph 0149 As another example, the gap between vessels may be estimated by calculating the distance between one point of the first vessel and one point of the second vessel. One point of the vessel may correspond to one point of the vessel in contact with the sea or to the bow or stern of the vessel, but not limited thereto.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Tyers with the teachings of Park which teaches calculating a shortest distance between the hull of the marine vessel and another vessel in order to assist with maneuvering the vessel when close to other vessels (See Park Paragraph 0145 The location/movement information of the object may be used upon the sailing of the vessel. For example, by detecting another vessel or an obstacle near the vessel, warning of a collision using a distance to the vessel or obstacle, a velocity of the vessel or obstacle, etc., or recommending or creating a route, it is possible to assist or guide the safe sailing of the vessel. Alternatively, autonomous sailing may be performed based on such information.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of the record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant’s disclosure.
Hansford – U.S. Patent 3,754,247
Ishii – U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0070407
Marano – U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0193904
Miyamoto – U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0158564
Schmid – U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0094665
Stephenson – U.S. Patent 8,978,259
Tyers – U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0080044
Tyers – U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0297104
/PATRICK DANIEL MOHL/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666