DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sershon et al. (US 2021/0212348 A1; July 15, 2021).
Regarding claim 12, Sershon discloses a fermented dairy product analogue ([0022], [0024]) comprising hydrophilic liquid (e.g. water, [0010], [0024]), at least one non-dairy ingredient comprising beta-glucans that is a plant ingredient ([0021]), and ascorbic acid ([0107]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sershon et al. (US 2021/0212348 A1; July 15, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Sershon discloses a method for preparing a fermented dairy analogue comprising:
Providing an edible suspension comprising a hydrophilic liquid, e.g. water, and at least one non-dairy ingredient, wherein the non-dairy ingredient comprises beta-glucans and is a plant ingredient ([0021]-[0024], [0113]),
Adding ascorbic acid as additional ingredient ([0107], [0113]),
Homogenizing the edible suspension ([0114]),
Heat-treating the edible suspension ([0024], [0115]),
Inoculating the homogenized and heat-treated edible suspension with a starter culture ([0024], [0117]),
Fermenting the inoculated edible suspension until reaching a pH of less than about 4.6 to obtain a fermented dairy analogue ([0024], [0118]), which falls within the claimed pH range of less than 5.0.
The examiner notes that ascorbic acid is listed under additional ingredients as a non-mineral nutritional supplement ([0101]-[0107]), which can be added to the edible suspension before homogenizing ([0113] as “additional ingredients”), but is not specifically added in the claimed process. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add ascorbic acid to the edible suspension as one of the additional ingredients depending on the desired nutritional supplementation.
Regarding claim 2, Sershon teaches that the non-dairy ingredient comprises at least about 3-5% by weight beta glucan ([0048]), thus falling within the claimed range of at least 0.5 wt%.
Regarding claims 3-5, Sershon teaches that the non-dairy ingredient is a cereal flour originated from oat ([0048]).
Regarding claim 6, Sershon teaches that the edible suspension comprises about 1% to about 15% by weight oat flour ([0063]-[0066]), or the non-dairy ingredient, thus falling within the claimed range of 1-15%.
Regarding claim 7, Sershon further teaches that the ascorbic acid can be present in an amount from 0.1 to 2% by weight ([0107]-[0108]), thus falling within the claimed range of at least 0.01 wt%.
Regarding claims 8-10, Sershon teaches that the edible suspension comprising the ascorbic acid can further include at least one plant protein ingredient that is different from the non-dairy ingredient, wherein the plant protein is a pea protein isolate ([0016]).
Regarding claim 11, as stated above with respect to claim 1, Sershon teaches adding ascorbic acid as an additiona ingredient. Sershon teaches that the ingredients are mixed for a time suitable to hydrate the whole grain ingredient and to thoroughly blend all the ingredients to form a final mixture, wherein the time is about 30 minutes ([0113]). Therefore, Sershon teaches that the ascorbic acid is added at least 20 minutes before the heat treatment as the ingredients are mixed together for 30 minutes.
Regarding claim 14, Sershon discloses a method for preparing a fermented dairy analogue comprising adding ascorbic acid as additional ingredient to an edible suspension before fermentation with a starter culture([0107], [0113]), wherein the edible suspension comprises a hydrophilic liquid, e.g. water, and at least one non-dairy ingredient, wherein the non-dairy ingredient comprises beta-glucans and is a plant ingredient ([0021]-[0024], [0113]),
The examiner notes that ascorbic acid is listed under additional ingredients as a non-mineral nutritional supplement ([0101]-[0107]), which can be added to the edible suspension before fermentation ([0113] as “additional ingredients”), but is not specifically added in the claimed process. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add ascorbic acid to the edible suspension as one of the additional ingredients depending on the desired nutritional supplementation.
With respect to the method reducing the adhesiveness of a fermented dairy product analogue, Sershon fails to specifically teach such property, however, as Sershon teaches a fermented dairy product comprising the same ingredients as claimed, including the addition of ascorbic acid, the method would necessarily and inherently reduce the adhesiveness of the fermented dairy product.
As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.
Regarding claim 16, as stated above, Sershon fails to specifically teach measuring adhesiveness, however, it would have been obvious to measure it by any known means in the art using desired parameters. It would have been obvious to vary the parameters for measuring the adhesiveness depending on the type of measurement desired. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791