The claims received 7/14/2026 are entered. Claims 20-24 are cancelled.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/14/2026. The replacement drawing is directed at figure 4. The examiner cannot find any difference between original figure 4 and replacement figure 4. As the drawing is identical it can contain no new matter and is therefor acceptable.
Specification
The specification amendment was received on 7/14/2026. The amendment corrects several clerical errors and is entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 18-19, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by An et al (US 10,928,114)
Regarding claim 1, An discloses an ice making device comprising:
an ice maker (20) provided in an ice making chamber and configured to generate ice;
a cooler (4:9-12) configured to cool the ice maker;
a liquid supplier (120 and 220) configured to supply liquid to the ice maker in an ice making process; and
a controller (7:59-8:2) configured to control at least one of the cooler or the liquid supplier,
wherein the ice maker comprises a first tray (110) including a first cell and a second tray (210) including a second cell, and
wherein the controller is configured to control a start of an ice making tray of the first tray and the second tray to be delayed from a start of an ice making of another tray of the first and second tray (7:59-8:2; 8:62-9:7; 9:30-38; 9:62-10:3).
Regarding claim 3, An discloses an ice making time of the one tray is less than an ice making time of the other tray (the ice maker is capable of differing ice making times; this feature is not attached to a configuration of the controller).
Regarding claim 18, An discloses when an ice making of the first tray or the second tray is completed, the controller is configured to perform an ice separation process to separate the ice from each of the first tray and the second tray (step T20 of figure 8).
Regarding claim 19, An discloses an ice making device comprising:
an ice maker (20) provided in an ice making chamber and configured to generate ice;
a cooler (4:9-12) configured to cool the ice maker;
a liquid supplier (120 and 220) configured to supply liquid to the ice maker in an ice making process;
a controller configured to control at least one of the cooler or the liquid supplier,
wherein the ice maker comprises a first tray (110) including a first cell, and a second tray (210) including a second cell,
wherein after starting to a supply of a cooling power or starting to a supply of liquid to each of the first tray and the second tray, the controller is configured to control the liquid supplier or the cooler to stop a supply of a cooling power or a supply of liquid of one tray of the first tray and the second tray (10:10-24) before an ice separation process of each of the first and the second tray (the ice makers perform repeatedly thus any operation is before a subsequent ice separation process).
Regarding claim 25, An discloses a refrigerator comprising:
a cabinet (1) having a storage chamber;
a door (13 and 14)that opens and closes the storage chamber;
an ice making chamber provided in the door or the cabinet;
an ice maker (20) provided in the ice making chamber and configured to generate ice;
a cooler (4:9-12) configured to cool the ice maker;
a liquid supplier (120 and 220) configured to supply liquid to the ice maker in an ice making process;
a controller configured to control at least one of the cooler or the liquid supplier,
wherein the ice maker comprises a first tray (110) including a first cell and a second tray (210) including a second cell,
wherein the controller is configured to control a start of an ice making of one tray of the first tray and the second tray to be delayed from a start of an ice making of other tray of the first tray and the second tray (7:59-8:2; 8:62-9:7; 9:30-38; 9:62-10:3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al (US 10,928,114) in view of Hara (US 4,910,974).
Regarding claim 2, An discloses the ice making device of claim 1, but lacks the second tray being of a two tray construction. Hara discloses an ice making device wherein a tray (10) includes one tray (11) to define a portion of a cell and another tray (12) to define another portion of the cell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided An with the two tray construction of Hara in order to provide spherical ice which is regarded as desirable to consumers.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al (US 10,928,114) in view of Jeong et al (US 10,072,885).
Regarding claim 4, An discloses the ice making device of claim 2, but lacks a delay of water supply. Jeong discloses an ice maker wherein a controller is configured to control the liquid supplier so that a liquid supply start time of the one tray is delayed from a liquid supply start time of the other tray in the ice making process (figures 9 and 10 provide a water supply delay). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided An with the water supply delay to the ice trays as taught by Jeong in order to enhance the clarity of the ice (11:24-12:8).
Claim(s) 3, 9-11, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al (US 10,928,114).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, An discloses the two ice trays produce ice of different sizes and shapes (7:38-47) but is silent concerning liquid water supply rate or time. However it follows that an ice tray requiring more or less water (due to size or shape of the ice) will require a different supply rate or time of water than another tray. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided An with differing supply rates or times in order to provide each tray with an appropriate amount of water and prevent overfill/spilling and underfill conditions. This further follows in regard to claim 3 that the ice making time of one tray differs from another.
Regarding claim 11, An discloses the ice making processes are performed repeatedly unless an ice full condition is detected (10:10-24) but is silent concerning a number of supply times. However it follows in the condition that one ice lever detects a full condition and the other is not that the number of water supply steps differ. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided that the controller controls the number of water supply time to one tray to be more than the other in order to produce more of a particular ice size/shape that is more popular to the user.
Regarding claims 3, 15, and 16, An discloses the two ice trays produce ice of different sizes and shapes (7:38-47) but is silent concerning relative cooling power or time. However it follows that an ice tray requiring more or less water (due to size or shape of the ice) will require a differing cooling power or time than another tray. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided An with differing supply rates or times in order to provide each tray with an appropriate amount of cooling to fully freeze and to prevent undercooling. This further follows in regard to claim 3 that the ice making time of one tray differs from another.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, An discloses the ice making processes are performed repeatedly unless an ice full condition is detected (10:10-24) but is silent concerning a number of cooling times. However it follows in the condition that one ice lever detects a full condition and the other is not that the number of cooling supply steps differ. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided that the controller controls the number of cooling supply times to one tray to be more than the other in order to produce more of a particular ice size/shape that is more popular to the user. This further follows in regard to claim 3 that the ice making time of one tray differs from another.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al (US 10,928,114) in view of Olson, Jr. et al (US 2017/0003062).
Regarding claim 12, An discloses he ice making device of claim 2, but lacks a cooling power delay. Olson discloses an ice maker having a plurality of ice making evaporators which are controlled such that a timing of a supply of a cooling power to the one tray is delayed from a timing of a supply of a cooling power to the other tray ([0015], [0034]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided An with the time delay as taught by Olson in order to manage the load ([0014]).
Regarding claim 13, An and Olson further disclose the controller is configured to control the cooler so that a supply of a cooling power to the one tray starts when a first reference time elapses after the supply of the cooling power to the other tray starts (An as modified by Olson discloses the sequence as discussed in Olson [0033]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 14, An further discloses the controller is configured to control the cooler so that the supply of the cooling power to the one tray and the other tray stops when a second reference time elapses after the supply of the cooling power to the one tray starts (step T20 of figure 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is directed to the controller configuration to control the liquid supplier such that a liquid supply to one tray starts when a first reference time elapses after a liquid supply to the other tray starts. There is no teaching within An or suggestion from the prior art to supply this feature to An within the context of the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant summarizes portions of the An reference and then purports at page 18 that An fails to teach the limitations of claim 1. However as cited above An discusses the delay of ice making operations of the first and second tray relative to each other. Moreover applicant has not defined what the start of an ice making operation is. The ice making operation is a cyclically repeating operation. No particular point in the process is more valid as a start than any other point. The examiner pauses here to note that the clear and positively recited time elapse at claim 5 relative to the liquid supply was indicated as allowable.
In regard to arguments directed at claim 19, as pointed out by applicant the citation in the rejection is to column 10 which describes full ice detection. In a full detection condition the ice making operation, and thus liquid supply, is stopped.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yun (KR2015-0061861) multi-tray ice maker.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799