DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
The following is a NON-FINAL Office action upon examination of application number 18/844,516 filed on 09/06/2024. Claims 1-14 are pending in this application, and have been examined on the merits discussed below.
The preliminary amendment filed on 09/06/2024 has been entered, which amends claims 1-3 and 5-12.
Priority
Application 18/844,516 filed 09/06/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/JP2022/012799, International Filing Date: 03/18/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 09/09/2024 and 04/09/2025 have been acknowledged. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
6. The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
7. Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of co-pending Application No. 18/727,137. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application is obvious in view of claim 1 in the listed application.
Claim 1 of the ‘137 application recites “A device installation support apparatus comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: register, for a multifunction pole to be installed or installed, recruitment information for recruiting addition of a device to the multifunction pole; search the recruitment information and extract a multifunction pole into which a device desired to be installed by a user or a module incorporating the device can be incorporated; and present the extracted multifunction pole to the user.” Claim 1 of the instant application recites: “A device usage assistance apparatus comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: register recruitment information comprising information on a device available to a user in a multifunctional pole comprising one or more devices; search the recruitment information and extract, in correspondence with a condition specified by a user, a multifunctional pole comprising a device that meets the condition; and present the extracted multifunctional pole to the user.” Claim 1 of the instant application recites similar steps to those recited in claim 1 of co-pending application ‘137’. Both claim 1 and claim 1 in the 137’ application are directed to a device comprising at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor executing instructions to register recruitment information relating to a multifunctional pole and to search the recruitment information and extract a multifunctional pole based on user-specified condition, and present the extracted multifunctional pole to the user. Although the claims in the instant application refer to “a device usage assistance apparatus” and claims in the 137’ application refer to a “device installation support apparatus,” the structural and functional limitations of the claimed apparatuses are substantially the same. The distinction lies primarily in the intended use or field of application (usage vs. installation), which does not render the claims patentably distinct. In particular, the claims invention in the instant application would have been an obvious variation of the invention claimed in the 137’ application, as it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt the installation support apparatus of the 137’ application for use in assisting device usage. Therefore, the claims are not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
10. Claim 1 recites “A device usage assistance apparatus comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: register recruitment information comprising information on a device available to a user in a multifunctional pole comprising one or more devices; search the recruitment information and extract, in correspondence with a condition specified by a user, a multifunctional pole comprising a device that meets the condition…” The phrases “a device available to a user” and “a device that meets the condition” create ambiguity as to whether they refer to the same “device” as in the preamble or to separate devices, therefore rendering the claim unclear. Independent claim 13 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore determined to indefinite for the reasons provided above. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
11. Claim 8 recites the limitation “the search means,” which lacks antecedent basis and therefore renders the claim indefinite. It is noted that while original claim 1 recited “search means,” the preliminary amendment removed the introduction of “search means”. Appropriate correction is required.
12. Claim 14 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform processing comprising: registering recruitment information comprising information on a device available to a user in a multifunctional pole comprising one or more devices; searching the recruitment information, and extracting, in correspondence with a condition specified by a user, a multifunctional pole comprising a device that meets the condition…” The phrases “a device available to a user” and “a device that meets the condition” create ambiguity as to whether they refer to the same “device” or to separate devices, therefore rendering the claim unclear. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
13. All claims dependent from above rejected claims are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
15. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
16. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The eligibility analysis in support of these findings is provided below, in accordance with MPEP 2106.
With respect to Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry (as explained in MPEP 2106), it is first noted that the method (claims 1-6), system (claims 7-12), device (claim 13), and computer program product (claim 14) are directed to at least one potentially eligible category of subject matter (i.e., machine and process, respectively). Thus, Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility test for claims 1-14 is satisfied.
With respect to Step 2A Prong One, it is next noted that the claims recite abstract ideas that fall into the (1) “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” by setting forth steps for managing interactions between people including by following rules or instructions, as set forth in the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas set forth in MPEP 2106. More specifically, the claim is directed to finding an identifying multifunctional poles that meet user-specified conditions. With respect to independent claim 1, the limitations reciting the abstract idea are indicated in bold below: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: register recruitment information comprising information on a device available to a user in a multifunctional pole comprising one or more devices; search the recruitment information and extract, in correspondence with a condition specified by a user, a multifunctional pole comprising a device that meets the condition; and present the extracted multifunctional pole to the user. These steps encompass organizing human activity by reciting steps for managing interactions between people including by following rules or instructions. The steps cover registering information about what services are available on which poles, searching information based on user input, and presenting the matching multifunctional poles to the user. Therefore, because the limitations above set forth activities falling within the “Certain methods of organizing human activity” abstract idea grouping described in MPEP 2106, the additional elements recited in the claims are further evaluated, individually and in combination, under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B below. Independent claims 13 and 14 recite similar limitations as claim 1 and are therefore determined to recite the same abstract idea as claim 1.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements are: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (claim 1), a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program and a computer (claim 14). These additional elements have been evaluated, but fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they amount to using generic computing elements or computer-executable instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), which merely serves to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h). In addition, these limitations fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. With respect to the “information on a device available to a user in a multifunctional pole,” it is noted that this is only used as data content (something to be searched for). In other words, while the claims recite a device and a multifunctional pole, the focus of the claim is on assisting a user in locating a multifunctional pole that meets certain criteria, not on the device itself or the multifunctional pole. With respect to independent claim 13, it is noted that the claim does not recite additional elements (i.e., claim 13 is a method that recites several disembodied steps). Because a judicial exception is not eligible subject matter, Bilski, 561 U.S. at 601, 95 USPQ2d at 1005-06 (quoting Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. at 309, 206 USPQ at 197 (1980)), if there are no additional claim elements besides the judicial exception, or if the additional claim elements merely recite another judicial exception, that is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See, e.g., RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (“Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract”); Genetic Techs. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (eligibility “cannot be furnished by the unpatentable law of nature (or natural phenomenon or abstract idea) itself.”). For a claim reciting a judicial exception to be eligible, the additional elements (if any) in the claim must “transform the nature of the claim” into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception, Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1981, either at Prong Two or in Step 2B. If there are no additional elements in the claim, then it cannot be eligible.
Accordingly, because the Step 2A Prong One and Prong Two analysis resulted in the conclusion that the claims are directed to an abstract idea, additional analysis under Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry must be conducted in order to determine whether any claim element or combination of elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry, it has been determined that the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (claim 1), a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program and a computer (claim 14). These elements have been considered individually and in combination, but fail to add significantly more to the claims because they amount to using generic computing elements or instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), which merely serves to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Notably, Applicant’s Specification describes generic computing devices that may be used to implement the invention, which cover virtually any computing device under the sun (See, e.g., Spec. at paragraph 0036). Accordingly, the generic computer involvement in performing the claim steps merely serves to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, which does not add significantly more to the claim. See, e.g., Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. 2347, 110 USPQ2d 1976.). With respect to independent claim 13, it is noted that the claim does not recite additional elements (i.e., claim 13 is a method that recites several disembodied steps). Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by independent claim 13 fails to amount to a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea itself
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that, as an ordered combination, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claims 2-12 recite the same abstract idea as recited in the independent claims, and when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One are found to merely recite details that serve to narrow the same abstract idea recited in the independent claims accompanied by the same generic computing elements or software as those addressed above in the discussion of the independent claims, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, or other additional elements that fail to amount to a practical application or add significantly more, as noted above. In particular, dependent claims 2-6 recite “wherein the recruitment information comprises at least one of data, a service, and a computing resource capable of being provided by the device, the condition specified by the user comprises information specifying at least one of data, a service, and a computing resource that the user desires to receive, and extract a device capable of providing at least one of the data, the service, and the computing resource specified by the user as a device that meets the condition,” “wherein the recruitment information comprises a usage fee for at least one of the data, the service, and the computing resource, and present the usage fee to the user,” “wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with a time zone in which at least one of the data, the service, and the computer resource is provided,” “wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with a day of the week on which at least one of the data, the service, and the computer resource is provided,” “wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with a season in which at least one of the data, the service, and the computer resource is provided,” “wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with traffic characteristics at a place where the multifunctional pole is installed,” “wherein the recruitment information further comprises position information of the multifunctional pole, the user designates a condition of a place where the multifunctional pole is installed in the search means, and extract a multifunctional pole which comprises a device meeting the condition and in which the position information meets the condition of the place,” “wherein the user designates a facility as the condition of the place, and extract a multifunctional pole which comprises a device meeting the condition and in which the position information indicates a position within a predetermined range from the designated facility,” “wherein the user designates a route as the condition of the place, and extract a multifunctional pole which comprises a device meeting the condition and in which the position information indicates a position of the designated route,” “wherein the user designates a geographical range as the condition of the place, and extract a multifunctional pole which comprises a device meeting the condition and in which the position information indicates a position within the designated geographical range,” “wherein the user designates traffic characteristics as the condition of the place, and extract a multifunctional pole which comprises a device meeting the condition and in which the position information indicates the designated traffic characteristics” however these limitations are part of the same abstract idea as addressed in the independent claims that falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” abstract idea grouping. Dependent claims recite additional elements of “the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions.” However, when evaluated under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B, these additional elements do not amount to a practical application or significantly more since they merely require generic computing devices (or computer-implemented instructions/code) which as noted in the discussion of the independent claims above is not enough to render the claims as eligible.
The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by the dependent claims fails to amount to a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
For more information, see MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
20. Claims 1-3, 8-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu, Pub. No.: JP 2004-150824 A, [hereinafter Takamatsu], in view of Ma, Pub. No.: CN 113823038 A, [hereinafter Ma].
As per claim 1, Takamatsu teaches a device usage assistance apparatus (paragraphs 0013, 0050) comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions (paragraph 0050, discussing that the central processing unit includes a CPU (central processing unit), a memory…); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (paragraph 0050, discussing that the central processing unit includes a CPU (central processing unit), a memory… the CPU of the central processing unit is configured…) to:
register recruitment information comprising information on a device available to a user in a pole comprising one or more devices (paragraph 0014, discussing inputting location information of a utility pole…and a recording medium for inputting utility pole position information that enables such input; paragraph 0015, discussing storage means storing a plurality of utility pole data including utility pole specification information; paragraph 0026, discussing that the display of the electric pole is selected by the selecting means; paragraph 0028, discussing that data relating to a plurality of electric poles, including electric pole identification information for identifying individual electric poles managed and owned by an electric power company or the like and position information for specifying the installation location of the electric poles is stored in advance or the utility pole data managed by the database is directly read…; paragraphs 0019, 0029);
search the recruitment information and extract, in correspondence with a condition specified by a user, a pole comprising a device that meets the condition (paragraph 0020, discussing using electric pole data including electric pole specifying information capable of specifying each electric pole and position information of the electric pole, and an identifier assigned to the electric pole data according to a predetermined type. A database comprising a computer system capable of extracting and outputting corresponding electric pole data from the electric pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the input identifier…The database includes a search unit that searches the utility pole data stored in the storage unit using the identifier as a key; paragraph 0023, disusing that the database includes an input unit for inputting telephone pole data stored in the storage unit of the database, and a character string of the telephone pole data input via the input unit in a format usable in the database; paragraph 0037: “When searching for each telephone pole data, an identifier such as a classification code assigned according to a predetermined classification is given, and each telephone pole data is stored in the storage means in association with this identifier, whereby the relational database is Have been built.”; paragraph 0039, discussing that the search means enables the utility pole data corresponding to the inputted search condition to be extracted from the utility pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the search execution command input together with the search condition [i.e., a condition specified by the user]);
present the extracted pole to the user (paragraph 0020, discussing output means for calling the utility pole data extracted as a result of the search from the storage means and outputting the called utility pole data…; paragraph 0041, discussing that the utility pole data extracted by the search means is called out from the storage means by the output means and output).
While Takamatsu teaches a pole, Tamakatsu does not explicitly teach a multifunctional pole comprising one or more devices. However, Ma in the analogous art of multifunctional intelligent poles teaches this concept. Ma teaches:
a multifunctional pole comprising one or more devices (Description: “According to one aspect of the present application, there is provided a multifunctional intelligent lamp rod using method, comprising: receiving the link sent by the client, wherein the client is the application installed on the user mobile terminal, the link carries the identification information of the street lamp rod; determining the geographical position where the street lamp rod is located according to the identification information; judging whether the current time is allowed to park the vehicle at the geographic position; under the condition of allowing the vehicle parking, sending command to the street lamp rod, wherein the command is used for starting the charging interface of the street lamp rod, the charging interface is used for connecting the electric vehicle, and charging the electric vehicle through the charging interface.”; Description of pictures: “FIG. 1 is a flow chart of the multifunctional intelligent lamp pole using method according to the embodiment of the invention.”; “Embodiments 1: “the lamp rod comprises a solar panel, a street lamp main body and a hollow base in prismatic table shape, the street lamp main body is welded on the upper end of the base, the base is provided with a charging and discharging mechanism and a remote detection system, the charging and discharging mechanism comprises a junction device, a storage battery, an inverter and a charging joint, the solar panel is distributed on the top of the charging pile and the top of the street lamp around the charging pile; each of the solar panel is connected to the current collector through lead; the current collector is electrically connected with the storage battery; the storage battery is electrically connected with the inverter and the charging joint in turn; the remote monitoring system comprises a charging pile information collecting end, a signal feedback processing module, and a signal sending end, the charging pile information collecting end collects the charging pile position information, charging pile storage battery electric quantity information and charging pile charging time, the signal feedback processing module integrates the signal and sends the signal to the server through the signal sending end.).
Takamatsu is directed towards a utility pole location system. Ma is directed towards multifunctional utility poles. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards managing use of utility poles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takamatsu with Ma because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for management and utilization of utility poles, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (method and system capable of assisting usage of functions provided in a multifunctional pole), and because modifying Takamatsu to include Ma‘s feature for including a multifunctional pole comprising one or more devices, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the efficiency and usefulness of existing urban infrastructure by enabling a single pole to support multiple services and allowing users to identify which multifunctional poles are available for particular services (Ma, Specific implementation examples); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches the device usage assistance apparatus according to claim 1. Takamatsu further teaches wherein the recruitment information comprises at least one of data, a service, and a computing resource capable of being provided by the device (paragraph 0014, discussing inputting location information of a utility pole…and a recording medium for inputting utility pole position information that enables such input; paragraph 0015, discussing storage means storing a plurality of utility pole data including utility pole specification information; paragraph 0028, discussing that data relating to a plurality of electric poles, including electric pole identification information for identifying individual electric poles managed and owned by an electric power company or the like and position information for specifying the installation location of the electric poles is stored in advance or the utility pole data managed by the database is directly read…; paragraph 0029),
the condition specified by the user comprises information specifying at least one of data, a service, and a computing resource that the user desires to receive (paragraph 0020, discussing using electric pole data including electric pole specifying information capable of specifying each electric pole and position information of the electric pole, and an identifier assigned to the electric pole data according to a predetermined type. A database comprising a computer system capable of extracting and outputting corresponding electric pole data from the electric pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the input identifier…The database includes a search unit that searches the utility pole data stored in the storage unit using the identifier as a key; paragraph 0023, disusing that the database includes an input unit for inputting telephone pole data stored in the storage unit of the database, and a character string of the telephone pole data input via the input unit in a format usable in the database; paragraph 0037: “When searching for each telephone pole data, an identifier such as a classification code assigned according to a predetermined classification is given, and each telephone pole data is stored in the storage means 11 in association with this identifier, whereby the relational database is Have been built.”; paragraph 0039, discussing that the search means enables the utility pole data corresponding to the inputted search condition to be extracted from the utility pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the search execution command input together with the search condition), and
the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to extract a device capable of providing at least one of the data, the service, and the computing resource specified by the user as a device that meets the condition (paragraph 0020, discussing a database comprising a computer system capable of extracting and outputting corresponding electric pole data from the electric pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the input identifier…The database includes a search unit that searches the utility pole data stored in the storage unit using the identifier as a key; paragraph 0023, disusing that the database includes an input unit for inputting telephone pole data stored in the storage unit of the database, and a character string of the telephone pole data input via the input unit in a format usable in the database; paragraph 0037: “When searching for each telephone pole data, an identifier such as a classification code assigned according to a predetermined classification is given, and each telephone pole data is stored in the storage means 11 in association with this identifier, whereby the relational database is Have been built.”; paragraph 0039, discussing that the search means enables the utility pole data corresponding to the inputted search condition to be extracted from the utility pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the search execution command input together with the search condition; paragraph 0041, discussing that the utility pole data extracted by the search means is called out from the storage means by the output means and output).
As per claim 3, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches the device usage assistance apparatus according to claim 2. Although not explicitly taught by Takamatsu, Ma in the analogous art of multi-functional intelligent poles teaches wherein the recruitment information comprises a usage fee for at least one of the data, the service, and the computing resource, and the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to present the usage fee to the user (Description: “Further, the method further comprises: generating the bill of charging according to the charging time and the charging electric quantity” “after locking the street lamp rod of the charging, starting timing, if receiving the unlocking request from the client end within a predetermined time, cancelling the locking of the street lamp rod. generating bill according to the predetermined time, and sending the bill to the client.” “generating the bill of charging according to the charging time and the charging electric quantity; and sending the bill to the application. so as to charge the parking fee and charging fee, which is good for managing.”).
Takamatsu is directed towards a utility pole location system. Ma is directed towards multifunctional utility poles. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards managing use of utility poles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takamatsu with Ma because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for management and utilization of utility poles, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (method and system capable of assisting usage of functions provided in a multifunctional pole), and because modifying Takamatsu to include Ma‘s feature for including wherein the recruitment information comprises a usage fee for at least one of the data, the service, and the computing resource, and the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to present the usage fee to the user, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the efficiency and usefulness of existing urban infrastructure by enabling a single pole to support multiple services and allowing users to identify which multifunctional poles are available for particular services (Ma, Specific implementation examples); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 8, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches the device usage assistance apparatus according to claim 1. Takamatsu further teaches wherein the recruitment information further comprises position information of the multifunctional pole (paragraph 0014, discussing inputting location information of a utility pole…and a recording medium for inputting utility pole position information that enables such input; paragraph 0015, discussing storage means storing a plurality of utility pole data including utility pole specification information; paragraph 0028, discussing that data relating to a plurality of electric poles, including electric pole identification information for identifying individual electric poles managed and owned by an electric power company or the like and position information for specifying the installation location of the electric poles is stored in advance (the recording medium in the present embodiment) or the utility pole data managed by the database is directly read…; paragraph 0029);
the user designates a condition of a place where the multifunctional pole is installed in the search means (paragraph 0020, discussing using electric pole data including electric pole specifying information capable of specifying each electric pole and position information of the electric pole, and an identifier assigned to the electric pole data according to a predetermined type. A database comprising a computer system capable of extracting and outputting corresponding electric pole data from the electric pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the input identifier…; paragraph 0037, discussing that power pole data is at least data necessary for specifying the position of each power pole, for example, position information such as XY coordinates and latitude/longitude of a Japanese plane rectangular coordinate system for indicating the position where the power pole is provided; paragraph 0039, discussing that the search means enables the utility pole data corresponding to the inputted search condition to be extracted from the utility pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the search execution command input together with the search condition), and
the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to extract a multifunctional pole which comprises a device meeting the condition and in which the position information meets the condition of the place (paragraph 0020, discussing a database comprising a computer system capable of extracting and outputting corresponding electric pole data from the electric pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the input identifier…The database includes a search unit that searches the utility pole data stored in the storage unit using the identifier as a key; paragraph 0024, discussing that when the utility pole position information in the utility pole data stored in the storage means of the database is XY coordinates, the output means of the database outputs the XY coordinates to the latitude and longitude coordinates available in the navigation system; paragraph 0039, discussing that the search means enables the utility pole data corresponding to the inputted search condition to be extracted from the utility pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the search execution command input together with the search condition; paragraph 0041, discussing that the utility pole data extracted by the search means is called out from the storage means by the output means and output).
As per claim 9, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches the device usage assistance apparatus according to claim 8. Takamatsu further teaches wherein the user designates a facility as the condition of the place (paragraph 0020, discussing using electric pole data including electric pole specifying information capable of specifying each electric pole and position information of the electric pole, and an identifier assigned to the electric pole data according to a predetermined type. A database comprising a computer system capable of extracting and outputting corresponding electric pole data from the electric pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the input identifier…; paragraph 0021, discussing that the identifier may be given to each installation area of the telephone pole divided into a predetermined range; paragraph 0037, discussing that power pole data is at least data necessary for specifying the position of each power pole, for example, position information such as XY coordinates and latitude/longitude of a Japanese plane rectangular coordinate system for indicating the position where the power pole is provided; paragraph 0039, discussing that the search means enables the utility pole data corresponding to the inputted search condition to be extracted from the utility pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the search execution command input together with the search condition; paragraph 0062, discussing that the printer prints various information such as a map and a facility guide output via the communication interface), and
the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to extract a multifunctional pole which comprises a device meeting the condition and in which the position information indicates a position within a predetermined range from the designated facility (paragraph 0021, discussing that the identifier may be given to each installation area of the telephone pole divided into a predetermined range; paragraph 0020, discussing a database comprising a computer system capable of extracting and outputting corresponding electric pole data from the electric pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the input identifier…The database includes a search unit that searches the utility pole data stored in the storage unit using the identifier as a key; paragraph 0024, discussing that when the utility pole position information in the utility pole data stored in the storage means of the database is XY coordinates, the output means of the database outputs the XY coordinates to the latitude and longitude coordinates available in the navigation system; paragraph 0039, discussing that the search means enables the utility pole data corresponding to the inputted search condition to be extracted from the utility pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the search execution command input together with the search condition; paragraph 0041, discussing that the utility pole data extracted by the search means is called out from the storage means by the output means and output; claim 7: “wherein the identifier is provided for each installation area of the utility pole divided into a predetermined range.”).
As per claim 10, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches the device usage assistance apparatus according to claim 8. Takamatsu further teaches wherein the user designates a route as the condition of the place (paragraph 0019, discussing that the recording medium used in the utility pole position navigation system can read the display medium for displaying images, input means for inputting various commands, and the recording medium. The reading unit controls the respective units in accordance with a control program stored in advance, and displays an image on the display for searching and guiding a route to the input destination according to the input destination; paragraph 0020, discussing guiding a route to the input destination on the display; paragraph 0079, discussing that when the position information of the pole data is acquired as the destination information, the navigation system that has acquired the destination information determines the destination, i.e., the pole, from the current position detected by the position detection device. A known navigation operation is performed to search for a route from the current location to the destination and to guide the route from the current position to the destination), and
the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to extract a multifunctional pole which comprises a device meeting the condition and in which the position information indicates a position of the designated route (paragraph 0020, discussing a database comprising a computer system capable of extracting and outputting corresponding electric pole data from the electric pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the input identifier…The database includes a search unit that searches the utility pole data stored in the storage unit using the identifier as a key; paragraph 0024, discussing that when the utility pole position information in the utility pole data stored in the storage means of the database is XY coordinates, the output means of the database outputs the XY coordinates to the latitude and longitude coordinates available in the navigation system; paragraph 0039, discussing that the search means enables the utility pole data corresponding to the inputted search condition to be extracted from the utility pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the search execution command input together with the search condition; paragraph 0041, discussing that the utility pole data extracted by the search means is called out from the storage means by the output means and output; paragraph 0052, discussing that the memory stores various processing programs executed by the CPU, for example, programs required for information display control, and various parameters, display graphic data necessary for route guidance and map display, and guidance information; paragraph 0079, discussing that when the position information of the pole data is acquired as the destination information, the navigation system that has acquired the destination information determines the destination, i.e., the pole, from the current position detected by the position detection device. A known navigation operation is performed to search for a route from the current location to the destination and to guide the route from the current position to the destination).
As per claim 11, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches the device usage assistance apparatus according to claim 8. Takamatsu further teaches wherein the user designates a geographical range as the condition of the place (paragraph 0002, discussing that in many cases, it is necessary to dispatch workers to the installation location of a utility pole that is managed or owned by a power company or the like…; paragraph 0021, discussing that the identifier may be given to each installation area of the telephone pole divided into a predetermined range; paragraph 0037, discussing that power pole data is at least data necessary for specifying the position of each power pole, for example, position information such as XY coordinates and latitude/longitude of a Japanese plane rectangular coordinate system for indicating the position where the power pole is provided; paragraph 0039, discussing that the search means enables the utility pole data corresponding to the inputted search condition to be extracted from the utility pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the search execution command input together with the search condition; paragraph 0062, discussing that the printer prints various information such as a map and a facility guide output via the communication interface), and
the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to extract a multifunctional pole which comprises a device meeting the condition and in which the position information indicates a position within the designated geographical range (paragraph 0002, discussing that in many cases, it is necessary to dispatch workers to the installation location of a utility pole that is managed or owned by a power company or the like…; paragraph 0003, discussing that if the dispatched worker is unfamiliar with the geography around the site, this worker searches this map by searching for the location of the telephone pole as the destination on a commercially available map, for example; paragraph 0021, discussing that the identifier may be given to each installation area of the telephone pole divided into a predetermined range; paragraph 0020, discussing a database comprising a computer system capable of extracting and outputting corresponding electric pole data from the electric pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the input identifier…The database includes a search unit that searches the utility pole data stored in the storage unit using the identifier as a key; paragraph 0024, discussing that when the utility pole position information in the utility pole data stored in the storage means of the database is XY coordinates, the output means of the database outputs the XY coordinates to the latitude and longitude coordinates available in the navigation system; paragraph 0039, discussing that the search means enables the utility pole data corresponding to the inputted search condition to be extracted from the utility pole data stored in the storage means in accordance with the search execution command input together with the search condition; paragraph 0041, discussing that the utility pole data extracted by the search means is called out from the storage means by the output means and output; claim 7: “wherein the identifier is provided for each installation area of the utility pole divided into a predetermined range.”).
Claim 13 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 1, as discussed above. Further, as per claim 13, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches a device usage assistance method (Takamatsu, paragraph 0039, discussing a search method; paragraph 0046, discussing a method of inputting the converted utility pole data output from the database).
Claim 14 recites substantially similar limitations that stand rejected via the art citations and rationale applied to claim 1, as discussed above. Further, as per claim 14, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform processing (Takamatsu, paragraph 0050, discussing that the central processing unit includes a CPU (central processing unit), a memory… the CPU of the central processing unit is configured…; paragraphs 0046, 0057).
21. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu in view of Ma, in further view of Sato, Pub. No.: US 2012/0271737 A1, [hereinafter Sato].
As per claim 4, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches the device usage assistance apparatus according to claim 3. Although not explicitly taught by Takamatsu, Ma in the analogous art of intelligent multifunctional poles teaches wherein the usage fee varies (Description: “Further, the method further comprises: generating the bill of charging according to the charging time and the charging electric quantity” “after locking the street lamp rod of the charging, starting timing, if receiving the unlocking request from the client end within a predetermined time, cancelling the locking of the street lamp rod. generating bill according to the predetermined time, and sending the bill to the client.” “generating the bill of charging according to the charging time and the charging electric quantity; and sending the bill to the application. so as to charge the parking fee and charging fee, which is good for managing.”).
Takamatsu is directed towards a utility pole location system. Ma is directed towards multifunctional utility poles. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards managing use of utility poles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takamatsu with Ma because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for management and utilization of utility poles, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (method and system capable of assisting usage of functions provided in a multifunctional pole), and because modifying Takamatsu to include Ma‘s feature for including wherein the usage fee varies, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the efficiency and usefulness of existing urban infrastructure by enabling a single pole to support multiple services and allowing users to identify which multifunctional poles are available for particular services (Ma, Specific implementation examples); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The Takamatsu-Ma combination does not explicitly teach wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with a time zone in which at least one of the data, the service, and the computer resource is provided. However, Sato in the analogous art of resource management systems teaches this concept. Sato teaches:
wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with a time zone in which at least one of the data, the service, and the computer resource is provided (paragraph 0006, discussing that the display unit may display the facility list that list up a facility, for which the usage fee for a time zone corresponding to current time is within the budget range, out of the searched facilities searched by the facility search unit is indicated with emphasis; paragraph 0056, discussing that the control circuit 11 selects a usage fee for a time zone that corresponds to the time measured out of the usage fee 23 for a time zone of breakfast (6:00 a.m. to 11 a.m.), usage fee 24 for a time zone of lunch (12:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.), and usage fee 25 for a time zone of dinner (5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.) in the facility data, and reads out the usage fee for the facility concerned from the facility data; paragraph 0028).
The Takamatsu-Ma combination describes features related to managing utilization of poles. Sato is directed towards facility usage management. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards managing resource usage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Takamatsu-Ma combination with Sato because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for management and utilization of resources, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (method and system capable of assisting usage of functions provided in a multifunctional pole), and because modifying the Takamatsu-Ma combination to include Sato‘s feature for including wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with a time zone in which at least one of the data, the service, and the computer resource is provided, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of displaying searched facilities with emphasis being laid on a facility whose usage fee complies with a user's desired budget (Sato, paragraph 0010); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
22. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu in view of Ma, in further view of Lee, Pub. No.: US 2021/0366017 A1, [hereinafter Lee].
As per claim 5, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches the device usage assistance apparatus according to claim 3. Although not explicitly taught by Takamatsu, Ma in the analogous art of intelligent multifunctional poles teaches wherein the usage fee varies (Description: “Further, the method further comprises: generating the bill of charging according to the charging time and the charging electric quantity” “after locking the street lamp rod of the charging, starting timing, if receiving the unlocking request from the client end within a predetermined time, cancelling the locking of the street lamp rod. generating bill according to the predetermined time, and sending the bill to the client.” “generating the bill of charging according to the charging time and the charging electric quantity; and sending the bill to the application. so as to charge the parking fee and charging fee, which is good for managing.”).
Takamatsu is directed towards a utility pole location system. Ma is directed towards multifunctional utility poles. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards managing use of utility poles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takamatsu with Ma because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for management and utilization of utility poles, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (method and system capable of assisting usage of functions provided in a multifunctional pole), and because modifying Takamatsu to include Ma‘s feature for including wherein the usage fee varies, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the efficiency and usefulness of existing urban infrastructure by enabling a single pole to support multiple services and allowing users to identify which multifunctional poles are available for particular services (Ma, Specific implementation examples); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The Takamatsu-Ma combination does not explicitly teach wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with a day of the week on which at least one of the data, the service, and the computer resource is provided. However, Lee in the analogous art of service management systems teaches this concept. Lee teaches:
wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with a day of the week on which at least one of the data, the service, and the computer resource is provided (paragraph 0027, discussing that the price comparison service providing server may be a server which provides a web page, an App page, a program, or an application of a big data-based price comparison service using time-series analysis and price prediction. The price comparison service providing server may be a server which collects price fluctuation factor parameters such as a date, a region, whether it is a peak season, a day of the week, or seasons and a price through at least one price comparison site or web crawling to build big data; paragraph 0036, discussing that at least one price fluctuation factor parameter includes a day of the week, a season, a region…).
The Takamatsu-Ma combination describes features related to managing utilization of poles. Lee is directed toward a big data-based price comparison system and method. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards managing resource usage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Takamatsu-Ma combination with Lee because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for management and utilization of resources, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (method and system capable of assisting usage of functions provided in a multifunctional pole), and because modifying the Takamatsu-Ma combination to include Lee‘s feature for including wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with a day of the week on which at least one of the data, the service, and the computer resource is provided, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of providing efficiently clean smart price comparison data (Lee, paragraph 0070); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 6, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches the device usage assistance apparatus according to claim 3. Although not explicitly taught by Takamatsu, Ma in the analogous art of intelligent multifunctional poles teaches wherein the usage fee varies (Description: “Further, the method further comprises: generating the bill of charging according to the charging time and the charging electric quantity” “after locking the street lamp rod of the charging, starting timing, if receiving the unlocking request from the client end within a predetermined time, cancelling the locking of the street lamp rod. generating bill according to the predetermined time, and sending the bill to the client.” “generating the bill of charging according to the charging time and the charging electric quantity; and sending the bill to the application. so as to charge the parking fee and charging fee, which is good for managing.”).
Takamatsu is directed towards a utility pole location system. Ma is directed towards multifunctional utility poles. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards managing use of utility poles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takamatsu with Ma because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for management and utilization of utility poles, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (method and system capable of assisting usage of functions provided in a multifunctional pole), and because modifying Takamatsu to include Ma‘s feature for including wherein the usage fee varies, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the efficiency and usefulness of existing urban infrastructure by enabling a single pole to support multiple services and allowing users to identify which multifunctional poles are available for particular services (Ma, Specific implementation examples); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The Takamatsu-Ma combination does not explicitly teach wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with a season in which at least one of the data, the service, and the computer resource is provided. However, Lee in the analogous art of service management systems teaches this concept. Lee teaches:
wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with a season in which at least one of the data, the service, and the computer resource is provided (paragraph 0027, discussing that the price comparison service providing server may be a server which provides a web page, an App page, a program, or an application of a big data-based price comparison service using time-series analysis and price prediction. The price comparison service providing server may be a server which collects price fluctuation factor parameters such as a date, a region, whether it is a peak season, a day of the week, or seasons and a price through at least one price comparison site or web crawling to build big data; paragraph 0036).
The Takamatsu-Ma combination describes features related to managing utilization of poles. Lee is directed toward a big data-based price comparison system and method. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards managing resource usage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Takamatsu-Ma combination with Lee because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for management and utilization of resources, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (method and system capable of assisting usage of functions provided in a multifunctional pole), and because modifying the Takamatsu-Ma combination to include Lee‘s feature for including wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with a season in which at least one of the data, the service, and the computer resource is provided, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of providing efficiently clean smart price comparison data (Lee, paragraph 0070); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
23. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu in view of Ma, in further view of Ornstein et al., Pub. No.: US 2019/0043083 A1, [hereinafter Ornstein].
As per claim 7, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches the device usage assistance apparatus according to claim 3. Although not explicitly taught by Takamatsu, Ma in the analogous art of intelligent multifunctional poles teaches wherein the usage fee varies at a place where the multifunctional pole is installed (Description: “Further, the method further comprises: generating the bill of charging according to the charging time and the charging electric quantity” “after locking the street lamp rod of the charging, starting timing, if receiving the unlocking request from the client end within a predetermined time, cancelling the locking of the street lamp rod. generating bill according to the predetermined time, and sending the bill to the client.” “generating the bill of charging according to the charging time and the charging electric quantity; and sending the bill to the application. so as to charge the parking fee and charging fee, which is good for managing.”).
Takamatsu is directed towards a utility pole location system. Ma is directed towards multifunctional utility poles. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards managing use of utility poles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takamatsu with Ma because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for management and utilization of utility poles, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (method and system capable of assisting usage of functions provided in a multifunctional pole), and because modifying Takamatsu to include Ma‘s feature for including wherein the usage fee varies at a place where the multifunctional pole is installed, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of improving the efficiency and usefulness of existing urban infrastructure by enabling a single pole to support multiple services and allowing users to identify which multifunctional poles are available for particular services (Ma, Specific implementation examples); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
The Takamatsu-Ma combination does not explicitly teach wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with traffic characteristics at a place. However, Ornstein in the analogous art of service management systems teaches this concept. Ornstein teaches:
wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with traffic characteristics at a place (paragraph 0007, discussing that the dynamic data engine may generate the dynamic pricing data which includes a plurality of prices for reserving parking spaces at a plurality of parking systems. The dynamic data engine may process date, time, price, utilization, weather, competitive data, foot traffic, number of guests, and scheduled events to generate the dynamic pricing data; paragraph 0009, discussing that the dynamic pricing data includes a plurality of prices for reserving parking spaces at the at least one parking systems. In another aspect, the dynamic data engine generates the dynamic pricing data based on at least one of a date, time, price, utilization, weather, competitive data, foot traffic, number of guests, and scheduled events; paragraphs 0037, 0062).
The Takamatsu-Ma combination describes features related to managing utilization of poles. Ornstein is directed toward a system and method for efficiently managing parking systems. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards managing resource usage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Takamatsu-Ma combination with Ornstein because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for management and utilization of resources, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (method and system capable of assisting usage of functions provided in a multifunctional pole), and because modifying the Takamatsu-Ma combination to include Ornstein’s feature for including wherein the usage fee varies in correspondence with traffic characteristics at a place, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of generating efficient utilization rates due to varying demand (Ornstein, paragraph 0004); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
24. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu in view of Ma, in further view of Wang, Pub. No.: CN 110956799 A, [hereinafter Wang].
As per claim 12, the Takamatsu-Ma combination teaches the device usage assistance apparatus according to claim 8. Although not explicitly taught by the Takamatsu-Ma combination, Wang in the analogous art of information management systems teaches wherein the user designates traffic characteristics as the condition of the place (abstract, discussing obtaining the congestion indication… congestion indication information is used to indicate a traffic environment of traffic lights; “the indication information may be in the form of code or identifier represents whether there is fault by traffic light. For example, code A1 may represent normal traffic lamp display, code A2 can identify traffic light cannot be displayed normally. and the traffic signal machine can also be the identity identifier of itself to the first server, so that the server quickly determine the actual position of the traffic signal machine sends the indication message to the first server.”), and
the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to extract a multifunctional pole which comprises a device meeting the condition and in which the position information indicates the designated traffic characteristics (“the first server capable of sending an inquiry request to the second server, the inquiry request for inquiring the traffic condition of traffic light traffic environment and/or the traffic signal machine, the query request carries the indicating current traffic environment the geographical position information; The geographic location of the traffic light, geographic location of the traffic signal machine, number of traffic signal machine, number of the traffic lamp and so on. Thus, the second server can be used in a database of its own, and determines traffic condition where the traffic environment is currently located, then transmits to the first server a query response, the query response indicates that the traffic condition of current traffic environment where, in the query response comprises congestion indication information, congestion indication information may indicate whether there is congestion of current traffic environment, specifically can be distinguished by code or identifier in the form of the type of congestion indication information. For example, the mark is a congestion state, the identifier b is non-congestion state.”; “according to the current time and the preset rule, determining the phase information of the traffic light meets the non-congestion status, to ensure the normal operation of the traffic”).
The Takamatsu-Ma combination describes features related to managing utilization of poles. Wang is directed toward an information processing method and device. Therefore they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards managing resources. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Takamatsu-Ma combination with Wang because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for management and utilization of resources, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (method and system capable of assisting usage of functions provided in a multifunctional pole), and because modifying the Takamatsu-Ma combination to include Wang’s features for including wherein the user designates traffic characteristics as the condition of the place, and the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to extract a multifunctional pole which comprises a device meeting the condition and in which the position information indicates the designated traffic characteristics, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of allowing users to obtain accurate real-time time information associated with the multifunctional pole (Wang, summary of the invention); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al., Pub. No.: US 2016/0286627 A1 - describes methods and apparatus for information management and control of outdoor lighting networks.
Poel et al., Patent No.: US 9,766,079 B1 – describes a method and system for locating resources and communicating within an enterprise.
Zhai et al., Pub. No.: US 2014/0117852 A1 – describes an adaptive controlled outdoor lighting system. Further describes that one or more sensors may be incorporated into outdoor light poles and may provide sensor information to the system using any suitable communication method.
Li Tak et al., Pub. No.: AU 2020/151564 A1 – describes a smart pole function expansion system.
Hanson et al., Pub. No.: US 2020/0083527 A1 – describes a system that includes a plurality of charging stations which includes magnetic inductive charging, magnetic resonance charging, direct current hard wire, or radio frequency charging battery charging capabilities. In an aspect, the system can include a wayfinding system which includes providing charging station location directions to users based on expected travel time to the charging stations, cost of charging station calculations, location within a building, fastest route to the plurality of charging stations, and preferred charging station location based on type of battery charge desired.
Wang, Yaqian, et al. "Research and Application of DC Multi-functional Information Pole." IOP Conference Series: Earth and Environmental Science. Vol. 768. No. 1. IOP Publishing, 2021 – describes that with the development of smart cities and 5G-infrastructure, road lighting is changing from the traditional single lighting mode to intelligent multi-functional integration mode which build an urban data Internet based on the underlying information collection of the IoT.
/Darlene Garcia-Guerra/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625