DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Engel et al (USP20150061170). Engel et al teach the claimed process as evidenced at paragraphs 0005,0009,0013,0022,0031,0052, 0055-0056, and 0058-65; and figs 1-2.
1. A method of controlling a three-dimensional (3D) printer for construction through a configuration in which the 3D printer for construction linearly extrudes and prints a fluid printing matter [[20]], including concrete or mortar, from a nozzle [[11]] that moves (Engel et al: para. 0005; fig 1; fused deposition modeling, which by definition including extruding a melted printed matter), a controller [[10]] controls the 3D printer for construction (Engel et al: para. 0052; fig 1; control unit 30 including a controller 32), a scanner [[30]] detects surface information of a subject comprising spatial coordinates (Engel et al: para. 0013 and 0055-0056; fig 1; probe 24 scans the printed layer using 2D or 3D scanners for spatial or 3D coordinates), and a computer [[40]] is connected to the controller [[10]] to transmit command information [[19]] to the controller [[10]] and is connected to the scanner [[30]] to receive the surface information transmitted from the scanner [[30]] and process the received surface information (Engel et al: para. 0052; fig 1; CPUs/computers are used to receive the real layer definitions/characteristics from the probe), the method comprising:
an actual measurement operation S10 of detecting, by the scanner [[30]] of which a position is specified in advance to generate the spatial coordinates, the actually measured surface information [[39]] of the printing matter [[20]] printed from the 3D printer for construction and transmitting the detected actually measured surface information [[39]] to the computer [[40]], wherein the actually measured surface information [[39]] comprises the spatial coordinates (Engel et al: para. 0009 and 0058-0065; fig 2; layer definitions including spatial/3D coordinates are determined from the probes and then feed to the CPUs/computers, which has the desired layer characteristics);
a comparison operation S20 of comparing, by the computer [[40]], the transmitted actually measured surface information [[39]] of the printing matter [[20]] with planned surface information [[49]] of a planned structure to calculate a printing error (Engel et al: para. 0009 and 0058-0065; fig 2; real layer definitions including spatial/3D coordinates are compared to the desired layer characteristics to determine any deviation);
a correction operation S31 of, when the printing error exceeds a tolerance, correcting, by the computer [[40]], the command information [[19]] such that the printing error is compensated for by one or more of the following options:, [[and]] (1) deflecting a movement path of the nozzle [[11]] in the command information, (2) decreasing a movement speed of the nozzle [[11]] in the command information, and (3) adjusting the mixing ratio of the fluid material supplied to the nozzle in the command information [[19]] (Engel et al: para. 0009 and 0058-0065; fig 2; if there is a deviation between the real layer definitions including spatial/3D coordinates and the desired layer characteristics, modifications to the printing are made, such as velocity or trajectory); and
a command operation S32 of transmitting, by the computer [[40]], the corrected command information [[19]] to the controller [[10]] (Engel et al: para. 0009 and 0058-0065; fig 2; if there is a deviation between the real layer definitions including spatial/3D coordinates and the desired layer characteristics, modifications by computers to the printing are made, such as velocity or trajectory).
Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Engel et al do no teach the claimed correction operation S31 step because the AM technology of Engel et al would not involve adjusting the “mixing ratio” of the claimed correction operation S31 step. This argument is misplaced since the claimed printing matter is not explicitly limited to only concrete or mortar; and the claimed correction operation S31 step does not explicitly require the adjustment of the ”mixing ratio.” The adjustment of the “mixing ratio” is one of three options recited in the claimed correction operation S31 step.
Applicant argues Engel et al do not teach real-time correction of the quality of the current layer since Engel et al teach correcting subsequent layers based on the errors of the previous measured layer. This argument is misplaced since the instant claimed invention is not explicitly limited to “real-time correction.” The instant claimed invention is broad enough to include the measuring/correcting method of Engel et al. There is no mention in the instant claim of when the measurements and comparisons are made relative to the portion or fraction of the printed line/layer.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach 3D printing processes including a quality check during printing: USP2019/0054700; CN108381916; CN115256950; and DE 102012022435.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744