DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to communication: response to preliminary amendment filed on 09/06/2024.
Claims 16-30 are currently pending in this application.
The IDS filed on 09/06/2024 and 10/22/2025 have been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
As per claims 27, the claim is directed toward a system. However, the applicant’s specification does not restrict that the system require hardware. Thus, the system can be interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation to be pure software and thus non-statutory.
As per claim 28, the claim is directed toward a computer program. Computer programs are pure software and are not patentable as they do not land in one of the four statutory categories.
As per claims 29, the claim is directed toward a computer-readable data carrier. It is well known in the art that such mediums may be directed toward carrier signals and waves, which are directed toward non-statutory subject matter. The applicant’s specification states that the data carrier may be embodied in a medium such as an electric signal, radio frequency carrier wave, or optical carrier wave. The applicants may overcome this rejection by limiting the mediums in the specification to non-transitory computer readable mediums, or may amend the claims limiting the subject matter toward non-transitory computer readable mediums.
Claim 30 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 29 above, as the claim is directed toward a data carrier signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-22 and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barua et al. US Patent No. 9,900,324 (Barua), in view of Lo et al. US Patent Applciation Publication 2022/0108025 (Lo), and further in view of Santos et al. US Patent Application Publication 2018/0027009 (Santos)
As per claim 1, Barua teaches a computer-implemented security method comprising: generating a plurality of partial clones of a malware file, each partial clone reflecting a different aspect of the malware file (col. 5 lines 47-60 and throughout with rewriting malware for a plurality of paths; malware is duplicated for each path); causing trial deployment on a software-defined network SDN (col. 5 lines 47 to col. 6 line 8 with running cloned software on multiple paths in a virtual environment such as a sandbox; see also Figure 1; see further Figure 3 with multiple virtualized environments in a sandbox); causing each of the plurality of partial clones to be run on a respective host (col. 5 lines 47 to col. 6 line 8; see also Figure 1; see also Figure 3); causing traffic resulting from running of the plurality of partial clones on their respective hosts to be routed over the SDN, via one or more network elements on which the one or more services are deployed (See Figure 1 and Figure 3 with multiple virtualized environments within the sandbox and analyzing the results); causing performance of each of the services with respect to each of the plurality of partial clones (see claim 1 and throughout with running malware with mtuliple paths and monitoring execution of the clones).
Although Barua teaches monitoring clones of malware, Barua does not explicitly teach deploying security services to each of the clones and performing the security services with respect to the clones. However, deploying security services in response to malware and performing security services with respect to the malware is well known in the art. For example, see Lo (abstract, claim 1, paragraph 53-55, 101 and throughout with running remediation actions and testing for efficacy of the remediation actions)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Barua with Lo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to create more security by testing whether a remediation action truly works (paragraph 24).
Although the Barua combination teaches testing remediation actions, the combination does not explicitly teach causing operational deployment of a selected one or more of the one or more security services on a network, in dependence on the one or more pluralityes of security service performance measures. This would have been obvious, if not inherent, as Lo is directed toward validating whether a remediation actually works. As seen in paragraph 24 of Lo, Lo teaches that “validation system can be configured to validate that the remediation actions that are to be performed … actually works.” Thus, it is implied that the tested validation will be deployed based on its effectiveness. However, for a more explicit teaching, see Santos (see abstract, with deploying tested security fixes). Santos further teaches the utilizing the system in an SDN environment (paragraph 62).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the Barua combination with Santos. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to adequately address vulnerabilities and exploits (paragraph 4 of Santos).
As per claim 17, the Barua combination teaches wherein the step of generating the plurality of partial clones comprises generating two or more partial clones which each reflect a different aspect of the malware file selected from the following aspects: one or more destinations the malware file directs connection to; port behavior of the malware file; traffic behavior of the malware file; binary signature of tohe malware file; and privilege escalation behavior of the malware file (obvious over Barua; see col. 5 lines 50-60 and col. 8 lines 44-67 with cloning paths/destinations).
As per claim 18, the Barua combination teaches wherein the step of generating the plurality of partial clones comprises generating those partial clones to be modified to prevent harm; and the step of causing operational deployment of the selected one or more of the one or more security services on a network comprises causing operational deployment of the selected one or more of the one or more security services on the SDN (obvious over Barua; see col. 5 liens 50-60 and col. 8 lines 44-67 to generate partial clones to examine malware to prevent harm from malware; see throughout Santos with deployment of tested security fixes; also see abstract with utilizing clones to be modified to prevent harm).
As per claim 19, the Barua combination teaches wherein the step of causing trial deployment of the one or more security services on the SDN comprises causing trial deployment of the one or more security services on a dedicated isolated testing SDN; and the step of casusing operation deployment of the selected one or more of the one or more security services on the network comprises casuing operational deployment of the selected one or more of the one or more security services on a network distinct from the SDN (see throughout Lo, such as in paragraph 24-25 and throughout with testing remediations in isolated environments; remediation actions are then deployed accordingly; also see Santos).
As per claim 20, the Barua combination teaches wherein the step of causing trial deployment of the one or more security services ont eh SDN comprises causing to or more trial deployments of the one or more security services on the SDN, each of these two or more trial deployments comprising the one or more security services deployed on a respective SDN path ain a respective configuration; the step of causing traffic, resulting from running of the plurality of partial clones on their respective hsots, to be routed voer the SDN comprises causing that traffic to be routed along each respective SDN path with the security services deployed in each respective configuration; the step of causing performance of each of the one or more security services with respect to each of the plurality of partial cloens to be monitored is further performed to produce a respective plurality of trial deployment performance measures for each of the two or more trial deployments; and the step of causing operation deployment of a selected one or more of the one or more security services on the network is performed further in dependence on the two or more pluralities of trial deployment performance measures (see rejection of claim 16; see throughout Lo were a plurality of remediation actions are taken to determine which ones are effective; see paragraph 42; See throughout Barua such as in col. 8 line 64 to col. 9 line 5 wherein each iteration is performed in its own sandbox/micro-sandbox)
As per claim 21, the Barua combination teaches causing each of the one or more security services to be assigned to a respective one of a plurality of security service type categories; wherein the step of causing operational deployment of a selected one or more of the one or more security services on a network is performed such that a respective security service of the one or more security services from each security service type category is selected for operational deployment, in dependence on the one or more pluralities of security service performance measures (Santos paragraphs 72-73 and throughout)
As per claim 22, the Barua combination teaches wherein the step of causing the two or more trial deployments of the one or more security services on the SDN comprises causing, for each of the two or more trial deployments, selection of a respective security service of the one or more security services from each security service type category for use in that trial deployment (Santos paragraphs 72-73).
As per claim 25, the Barua combination teaches generating the plurality of partial cloens comprises both: generating one or more partial cones which each mimic a different aspect of the malware file; and generating one or more partial clones which each reflect a different modified version of an aspect of the malware file (Barua col. 5 lines 50-67; also see col. 8 lines 44-64 with cloning malware with different paths).
As per claim 26, the Barua combination teaches generating a further plurality of partial clones of each of one or more further malware files, each of each further plurality of partial clones reflecting a different aspect of the further malware file from which it is derived; causing each of each further plurality of partial clones on their respective hosts to be routed over the SDN, via the one or more network elements on which the one or more security services are deployed; and causing performance of each of the one or more security services with respect to each of each further plurality of partial clones to be monitored to produce a respective further plurality of security service performance measures for each of the one or more security services; wherein: the step of causing operational deployment of the selected one or more of the one or more security services is performed further in dependence on the one or more further puluralities of security service performance measures (see rejection of claim 1 above; see Baura col. 5 line 50-60 with creating multiple clones based on different paths; see col. 6 lines 7-15 with repeating the phases with other branches and paths from other branches).
Claim 27 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 26 above.
Claim 28 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 26 above.
Claim 29 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 26 above.
Claim 30 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 26 above.
Claim(s) 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Barua combination as applied above, and further in view of Nalluri et al. US Patent Application Publication 2022/0269817 (Nalluri)
As per claim 23, it would have been obvious over the Barua combination wherein the step of causing performance of each of the one or more security services with respect to each of the plurality of partial clones to be monitored is to produce a respective plurality of security service performance measures for each of the one or more security services which comprise scores with respect to ability to protect each of two or more assets (obvious over Santos; see paragraphs 72-73 with utilizing threat levels; see also paragraph 56 with use of scores; see paragraph 64 wherein the remediation must be appropriate to mitigate the particular threat; see also paragraph 70 with threat mitigation policy applied based on threat level; see also paragraph 80). However, for a more explicit teaching on efficacy scores, see Nalluri (see paragraphs 113, 116, and throughout with efficacy scores of remediation actions)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the Barua combination with Nalluri. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to cerate more security to protect assets (paragraphs 2-3 of Nalluri).
As per claim 24, it would have been obvious over the Barua combination wherein the step of causing operational deployment of a selected one or more of the one or more security services on a network is performed such that a respective security service of the one or more security services from each security service type category is selected for operational deployment in dependence on a weighted sum of each security service’s scores with respect to the ability to protect each of the two or more assets, weights used in the weighted sums being configurable (Nalluri paragraph 77-78 with weights to different protector vectors; multiple weights may be used for each vector; see paragraph 82 with different weight values being assigned; see throughout Santos of deploying remediations after they are verified).
Conclusion
/JASON K GEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495