DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 17-22 and 24-36 are pending.
Claims 17, 22, 24, and 29-30 are currently amended.
Claims 30-36 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 17-22 and 24-29 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Indefiniteness
Claims 17-29 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Items a) and b) of claim 17 recite, “obtaining the gDNA sequence of the translation initiation sequence (TIS) of a gene of interest encoding the protein or interest of the species,” and “b) comparing the gDNA sequence of the TIS of said gene with relative frequency of each nucleotide in one or more positions of the TIS in said species or highly similar species.”
These steps are both largely mental steps so it is unclear how they are intended to limit the claims. For example, if a person of ordinary skill in the art is working in a species that has a completely sequenced genome and thus know that the TIS for every gene is available in the database, is that enough to meet the limitation of the TIS being “obtained?” Or does the sequence of the TIS need to be saved to a computer? What if the sequence is accessed in a web browser, is that sufficient for it to be considered, “obtained?” If the browser window is closed, is the TIS sequence no longer “obtained?”
The idea of “comparing” sequences has the same issues. Unless you are able to read minds, it is impossible to determine whether someone has “compared” two sequences. Thus, it is unclear how this step could actually limit the claim. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claims 18-29 are also rejected for depending from an indefinite claim and failing to recite additional limitations that would render the claims definite.
Response to Arguments - Indefiniteness
Applicant's arguments filed 24 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant urges that “obtaining” and “comparing” in the context of the Specification are not purely mental steps but concrete steps that a PHOSITA would understand. They point to pages 9 and 24-29 of the Specification for relevant passage.
This argument is not persuasive, because it is not clear if purely mental processes are excluded from the claims. Item a) on page 9 is screen captured below. The highlight passage states, “Said sequence can be obtained by obtaining genomic sequence information of the gene of interest, e.g. from a database or by sequence said gene.” The shorthand of the phrase exempli gratia (e.g.) means “for example”, which suggests that other methods “obtaining” the sequence are also included in meaning of “obtaining” in the context of the instant application. The application fails to clarify what else is included in said meaning. As such, the metes and bounds of the claims still cannot be determined.
Regarding the word “comparing,” this too remains unclear. The claims do not preclude the purely mental process of “comparing” from being within the scope of the claims. This still means that mind reading is required to determine whether someone infringed the claim. Additionally, the screen capture of item b) on page 10 of the specification states, “Comparing the gDNA sequence of the TIS of said gene with relative frequency of each nucleotide in in(sic) one or more positions of the TIS, preferably in each position of the TIS in said species…” The use of the word “preferably” here alone renders the meaning of “comparing” indefinite. How should the phrase following “preferably” be weighted? It is different than stating that is required, but it is also different than stating that it is required. Thus, the meaning of the word remains in a forever undefined space. As such, the metes and bounds of the claims still cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-21, 24-25, and 27-28 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Xu et al 2021 (Microbial Cell Factories 20:148, p.1-11) as evidenced by Hamilton et al 1987 (Nucleic Acids Research 15:8, p. 3581-3593).
Xu et al disclose altering the endogenous yeast (a type of fungus) HMG1 translation initiation sequence (Kozak). This was achieved by using a programmable Cas9 nuclease to make a target DSB in the region 5’ of the HMG1 gene to facilitate homologous recombination between the provided correcting template comprising the modified yeast HMG1 translation initiation sequence with the native chromosome. Four different variant translation initiation sequences (Kozak) were introduced into the HMG1 site (K0/540/536/528 whose sequences can be seen in Figure 3B, positions -9 to -1). Increased presence of the protein was measured presence of squalene which is the downstream product of the HMG-CoA reductase in yeast (thus measuring squalene is a measurement of in vivo HMG-CoA reductase activity (Figure 4). In the Background, Xu et al state the consensus Kozak sequence from yeast as was determined Hamilton et al in 1987. The changes in variants K0/540/536/528 comprise alterations of relative frequency at positions both increasing and decreasing from the relative frequency greater than 2.5% as determined by Hamilton et al. Accordingly, claims 17-21, 24-25, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Xu et al as evidenced by Hamilton et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al 2021 (Microbial Cell Factories 20:148, p.1-11) as evidenced by Hamilton et al 1987 (Nucleic Acids Research 15:8, p. 3581-3593).
Claim 26 is drawn to the method of claim 25, wherein the consensus matrix is obtained by analyzing TISs of more than 100 genes of the organism of interest.
Xu et al teach all the limitations of claim 25. Hamilton et al stated that their consensus matrix was obtained from analysis of 96 genes.
Xu et al do not teach wherein the consensus matrix is obtained by analyzing TISs of more than 100 genes of the organism of interest.
At the time of filing, it would have been prima facie obvious to generate a consensus matrix from yeast using a larger number of genes that 100 genes. When Hamilton et al published their work, the amount of sequence information from any organism was quite limited. By 1996, the entire yeast genome was known. Given the computing power and sequence information available in yeast, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to expand upon the work of Hamilton et al and create a yeast TIS using all the TISs in the genome. A comprehensive TIS would have allowed a person of ordinary skill to better understand the frequencies of TISs such that alterations could be made from a more informed perspective. As such, claim 26 is rejected as being obvious over Xu et al as evidenced by Hamilton et al.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al 2021 (Microbial Cell Factories 20:148, p.1-11) as evidenced by Hamilton et al 1987 (Nucleic Acids Research 15:8, p. 3581-3593) and further in view of Lewis et al 2010 (Phytochemistry 71: p. 1988-1998).
Claim 22 is drawn to the method of claim 17 wherein variants are identified via a screening process comprising the steps set forth in the claim that requires creating pools and sub-pools of candidate organisms and having fractions of the candidate organisms available for potential multiplication of organism of each identified genotype. This initially appears complex but is seen as intuitive after briefly considering the steps. It essentially says to after you generate a pool of random organism to screen for having a mutation that you are looking for, keep enough of the organism alive that you can go back to once you have identified which organism or lineage of organism has the sought after mutation.
Xu et al teach all the limitations of claim 17.
Xu et al do not teach the screening process for variants comprising the steps set forth in the claim that requires creating pools and sub-pools of candidate organisms and having fractions of the candidate organisms available for potential multiplication of organism of each identified genotype.
Lewis et al teach such a method when they were attempting to isolate mutant alleles of tobacco genes of interest (p. 1990-1991). They first mutagenized a large population of tobacco seeds (M0 generation) and grew the mutagenized seeds to maturity to produce M1 generation of seed. A subset of M1 seed was grown and DNA was isolate from these plants, and the loci of interest were sequenced to identify individuals having SNPs in regions of interest. Lewis et al were then able to go back to other M1 seeds from the same M0 parent, such that they would be able to access plants having the SNPs for additional research and/or breeding steps.
At the time of filing, it would have been prima facie obvious to screen a population of candidate organism to identify individuals having alleles of interest using a scheme that allows to return to a pool of seeds, cells, or living tissue such more living individuals having the identified allele of interest can be generated. Such methos have been known and practiced in the art. One such example is the one taught by Lewis. Accordingly, claim 22 is rejected as being obvious over Xu et al as evidenced by Hamilton et al and further in view of Lewis et al 2010.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § 102 and 103
The basis of the traversal is the same for rejections under both 35 USC § 102 and 103 as they are focused on alleged deficiencies of Xu et al. Thus, the arguments will be addressed together.
Applicant's arguments filed 24 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant urges that Xu does not start from “comparing” the TIS of the gene with the relative frequency of each nucleotide in one or more positions of the TIS. They generate a library of modified TISs based of the yeast consensus sequence of Hamilton as a staring point.
This argument is not persuasive, because the manner in which the step of “comparing” is supposed to limit the claim is completely unclear (see indefiniteness rejection above). Moreover, they changed the sequence of the TIS of the HMG1 gene intentionally which was based on the consensus of Hamilton. In doing so, they compared the TIS of the HMG1 gene with the consensus. In doing so, sequences were obtained and comparisons were made. The instant Specification discusses extensively about generating a consensus matrix and comparing the consensus matrix to the gene of interest. This is exactly what Xu et al necessarily did.
Applicant urges that Xu regulates HMG1 by replacing a larger endogenous regulatory regio with a synthetic promoter via homologous recombination. Thus, they do not disclose making substitutions in the TIS of the HMG1 gene.
This argument is not persuasive, because in the process of changing the expression control region of the endogenous at least one substitution of the TIS of an endogenous gene was made. There is nothing in the claim that precludes other changes from being made.
Comment on State of the Prior Art
The idea of changing a translation initiation sequence to alter the level of a protein within a cell has been understood for nearly thirty years. Kozak’s paper in Cell demonstrated that point mutations with the region surrounding the start ATG codon can greatly affect the amount of protein produced by a eukaryotic gene (Kozak 1986 (Cell 44: p. 283-292)). This work differs from the instant case being that the experiments were all done using transfected DNA constructs and not endogenous. In addition to the cited prior art Xu et al, Ambrosini et al 2021 (“Reprogramming translation for gene therapy,” Progress in Molecular Biology and Translational Science 182: p. 439-476) review work done targeting the native TIS (Kozak) sequence on several different genes to change protein expression levels (both increase and decrease). Several of the studies cited by them are closely related to the instantly claimed subject matter.
The question that remains is the notion of determining which mutations to make by determining nucleobase frequencies of each site in the TIS with an organism or group of related organisms. Agarwal et al 2009 (Plant Cell Reports 28: p. 1791-1798) did just that. In efforts to optimize protein expression of a recombinant human proteinase inhibitor in tomato, they analyzed the Kozak sequence of highly expressed dicot genes to create a consensus matrix to help them determine which point mutations in the Kozak sequence would be most likely to increase the level recombinant protein produced (Table 1). Additionally, several large-scale bioinformatic studies have investigated variability of TISs across species (Hernandez et al 2019 (Trends in Biochemical Sciences 44:12, p. 1009-1021) and Gupta et al 2016 (Journal of Theoretical Biology 404: p. 303-311)).
This art remains cited here in hopes that Applicant will consider it when making claim amendments in hopes moving prosecution forward. This section had been included as a courtesy to Applicant. Unfortunately, Applicant did not make meaningful amendments in response to the non-final rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MATTHEW R KEOGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663