DETAILED ACTION
NOTICE OF PRE-AIA OR AIA STATUS
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06 September 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the Examiner herein.
CLAIM STATUS
Claims 1-11 were originally filed.
Claims 1-11 are canceled.
Claims 12-22 are new.
Claims 12-22 are currently pending and have been examined herein.
INITIAL REMARKS
Applicant is reminded that in order to be entitled to reconsideration or further examination, the Applicant or patent owner must reply to the Office action. The reply by the Applicant or patent owner must be reduced to a writing which distinctly and specifically points out the supposed errors in the examiner' s action and must reply to every ground of objection and rejection in the prior Office action. The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. If the reply is with respect to an application, a request may be made that objections or requirements as to form not necessary to further consideration of the claims, be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. The Applicant's or patent owner's reply must appear throughout to be a bona fide attempt to advance the application or the reexamination proceeding to final action. A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section.
Should the Applicant believe that a telephone conference would expedite the prosecution of the instant application, Applicant is invited to call the Examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph1:
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an evaluation unit” in claim 19.
amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Willemin et al., US20140230525 (“WILLEMIN”).
Re claim 12, WILLEMIN discloses a method for leak testing a housing, wherein the housing has an at internal volume that is at least partially air-filled [0009], the method comprising:
changing an internal pressure in the internal volume of the housing [0041];
determining a first internal pressure and a first temperature [0041];
determining a second internal pressure and a second temperature [0041];
determining whether an absolute value of a difference between the second internal pressure and the first internal pressure, accounting for a difference between the first and second temperatures, is above a threshold value [0030-0034], [0012], [claim 15]; and
outputting a signal representing whether or not the absolute value of the different between the second internal pressure and the first internal pressure is above the threshold value [0030-0034], [0012], [claim 15]
Re claim 13, WILLEMIN discloses the method of claim 12, as shown above. WILLEMIN further discloses wherein the internal pressure is changed by changing the internal volume by a differential volume [0041]
Re claim 14, WILLEMIN discloses the method of claim 12, as shown above. WILLEMIN further discloses wherein internal pressure and temperature are repeatedly measured to determine the absolute value of a pressure difference [0030-0034]
Re claim 16, WILLEMIN discloses the method of claim 12, as shown above. WILLEMIN further wherein the first and the second temperature are an internal temperature inside the housing, are an external temperature outside the housing, or are a temperature of the housing [0030-0034]
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over WILLEMIN in view of Fayer, US20190076213 (“FAYER”).
Re claim 15, WILLEMIN discloses the method of claim 12, as shown above.
WILLEMIN fails to explicitly disclose wherein the housing is a housing of a foot switch, wherein the changing of the internal volume is performed by actuating a button or a pedal of the foot switch
However, FAYER, in the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches a foot switch with a housing, wherein the foot switch changes an internal volume of the housing by actuating a button or a pedal of the foot switch [0011-0012]
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant invention, to modify WILLEMIN to include the particular foot switch embodiment of FAYER. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide automatic leak detection means using inexpensive materials (see at least WILLEMIN [0011]). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provided that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, FAYER merely teaches that a pneumatic foot switch was old and well-known. Since both WILLEMIN and FAYER disclose similar features, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Re claim 18, WILLEMIN discloses the method of claim 12, as shown above.
WILLEMIN fails to explicitly disclose wherein the method is performed responsive to a connection or change of a power source of the foot switch
However, FAYER, in the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches a foot switch with a housing, wherein the foot switch changes an internal volume of the housing by actuating a button or a pedal of the foot switch [0011-0012]
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant invention, to modify WILLEMIN to include the particular foot switch embodiment of FAYER. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide automatic leak detection means using inexpensive materials (see at least WILLEMIN [0011]). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provided that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, FAYER merely teaches that a pneumatic foot switch was old and well-known. Since both WILLEMIN and FAYER disclose similar features, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Re claim 19, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 15. Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 15.
Re claim 20, WILLEMIN/FAYER discloses the foot switch of claim 19, as shown above.
WILLEMIN fails to explicitly disclose a calotte with an inner volume that is pneumatically coupled to the inner volume of the housing or is part of the inner volume of the housing, wherein the calotte is deformable when the at least one button or the pedal is actuated
However, FAYER, in the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches a foot switch with a housing and a calotte with an inner volume that is pneumatically coupled to the inner volume of the housing or is part of the inner volume of the housing, wherein the calotte is deformable when the at least one button or the pedal is actuated [0011-0012]
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant invention, to modify WILLEMIN to include the particular foot switch embodiment of FAYER. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide automatic leak detection means using inexpensive materials (see at least WILLEMIN [0011]). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provided that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, FAYER merely teaches that a pneumatic foot switch was old and well-known. Since both WILLEMIN and FAYER disclose similar features, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over WILLEMIN in view of Goldstein et al., US20220061767 (“GOLDSTEIN”).
Re claim 17, WILLEMIN discloses the method of claim 12, as shown above.
WILLEMIN fails to explicitly disclose determining a humidity value inside the housing; and outputting a signal that is dependent on the determined humidity value
However, GOLDSTEIN, in the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches a foot switch with an integrated humidity sensor to determine the humidity inside a chamber [0117], [0126-0127]
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant invention, to modify WILLEMIN to include the particular humidity sensor of GOLDSTEIN. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide automatic leak detection means using inexpensive materials (see at least WILLEMIN [0011]). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provided that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, GOLDSTEIN merely teaches that a foot switch with an integrated humidity sensor was old and well-known. Since both WILLEMIN and GOLDSTEIN disclose similar features, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over WILLEMIN/FAYER in view of GOLDSTEIN.
Re claim 21, WILLEMIN/FAYER renders obvious the foot switch of claim 19, as shown above.
WILLEMIN fails to explicitly disclose a humidity sensor configured to detect a humidity value inside the housing
However, GOLDSTEIN, in the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches a foot switch with an integrated humidity sensor to determine the humidity inside a chamber [0117], [0126-0127]
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant invention, to modify WILLEMIN to include the particular humidity sensor of GOLDSTEIN. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide automatic leak detection means using inexpensive materials (see at least WILLEMIN [0011]). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provided that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, GOLDSTEIN merely teaches that a foot switch with an integrated humidity sensor was old and well-known. Since both WILLEMIN and GOLDSTEIN disclose similar features, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Re claim 22, WILLEMIN/FAYER/GOLDSTEIN renders obvious the foot switch of claim 21, as shown above.
WILLEMIN further discloses wherein at least two of the at least one pressure sensor, the temperature sensor, and the humidity sensor are a single integrated component [0026]
CONCLUSION
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Peter Macchiarolo can be reached on 571-272-2375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Respectfully,
/Thomas M Hammond III/Primary Examiner, GAU 2855
1 MPEP § 2181, subsection I