The claims received 4/24/2026 are entered. Claims 11 and 15-29 are cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species I in the reply filed on 4/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18844464 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because The cited application includes first and second ice trays producing different types of ice like in instant claim 1. While the cited application does not include a “cooler” in claims 1 and 2 it is well understood in the art of ice making that means for supplying cold are necessary to freeze liquid water into solid ice. It would have been obvious to have provided a “cooler” in order to provided the essential function of freezing to the ice maker.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18844621 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because The cited application includes first and second ice trays producing different types of ice like in instant claim 1. While the cited application does not include a “cooler” in claim 1 it is well understood in the art of ice making that means for supplying cold are necessary to freeze liquid water into solid ice. It would have been obvious to have provided a “cooler” in order to provided the essential function of freezing to the ice maker.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18844907 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because The cited application includes first and second ice trays producing different types of ice like in instant claim 1. While the cited application does not include the phrase “ice maker” or “ice making chamber” in claim 1 there is recited a “storage chamber” in which ice is made and therefor is an ice making chamber.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “the ice making completion time of the second tray is greater than the ice making completion time of the first tray” A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In this instance, claim 9 provides for “greater than a predetermined value” the above quoted language of claim 10 provides for “greater” thus making the predetermined value zero. Claim 10 also recites a predetermined value of 30-80 minutes. Thus provides a broad and narrow range within the same claim. It is also noted that the second alternative on its own fails to further limit claim 9.
Claims depending from a rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun (KR20140061861; machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Yun discloses an ice making device comprising:
an ice maker configured to generate ice and provided in an ice making chamber; and
a cooler configured to supply cold to the ice maker in an ice making process ([0028]);
wherein the ice maker comprises a first tray (46) including a first cell in which first ice is formed, and a second tray (47) including a second cell in which second ice is formed, a type of the first ice being different from a type of the second ice (two shapes shown in figure 1; [0001]).
Regarding claim 2, Yun further discloses the cooler comprises: a first refrigerant pipe configured to cool the first tray (portion of 48 in contact with 46), and a second refrigerant pipe (portion of 48 in contact with 47) configured to cool the second tray, the second refrigerant pipe being connected to the first refrigerant pipe in series, wherein refrigerant sequentially flows through the first refrigerant pipe and the second refrigerant pipe (portions connected by a U shape are in series as shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Yun discloses a liquid supplier (42 and 43/45) that supplies liquid to each of the first tray and the second tray, or supplies liquid to only one of the first and second trays.
Regarding claim 8, Yun discloses when a difference between an ice making completion time in the first tray and an ice making completion time in the second tray is less than a predetermined value, the liquid supplier is controlled to supply the liquid to the first tray and the second tray at the same time ([0023] provides simultaneously supplying both trays with water).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (KR20140061861; machine translation attached) in view of Jeong et al (US 12,345,459)
Regarding claims 3-5, Yun discloses the first and second trays (46 and 47) but is silent concerning relative heat exchange areas, volumes, sum of volumes.
However, a change of shape does not make a product nonobvious where the claimed shape is not of functional significance and accomplishes the same purpose as the prior art shape. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966). It has been generally held that changes in sizes of shapes of known elements are within the level of skill in that art, especially in the absence of unexpected results or criticality. Cf Gardner v. TEC Sys., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (holding that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device).
In this instance a volume of the ice cells corresponds to the size of the ice produced. Larger ice tends to dilute more slowly while smaller ice dilutes more quickly, e.g. when used in drinks. Both effects are desirable depending on the specific use of the ice. It also follows to provide a heat exchange area appropriate for the amount of cooling to be performed, e.g. amount of water frozen. Still further Jeong evidences a dual style ice maker with two different types of ice having differing volumes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Yun with differently sized ice, and differing total volumes of each tray, in order to produce both large and small ice as well as larger amounts of one type over another in order to satisfy a user’s need.
Regarding claim 6, Yun discloses the first tray (46) comprises an opening for discharging the first ice, and a diameter or size of the opening is equal to or greater than a diameter or size of the first cell (the bottom of the cell is open/is an opening). Yun lacks a two part construction of the second tray.
Jeong discloses a first tray (221) and a second tray (211), wherein the second tray comprises a second one tray and a second another tray for the second cell (211a and 211b), and one or more of the second one tray and the second another tray are movable to separate the second ice from the second cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Yun with the two part tray as taught by Jeong in order to make spherical ice.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (KR20140061861; machine translation attached) in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0034570)
Regarding claims 9-10, Yun discloses the ice making device of claim 7 where the liquid supplier is controlled to supply water to only one or both of the ice making trays ([0023]) but is silent concerning a completion time and water supply. Lee discloses a dual ice maker where the ice makers perform continuously until their respective ice bins are full and moreover provides that the rates of ice formation of each ice maker may be different due to their respective size ([0067]) water supply to a non-producing ice maker is ceased ([0068]-[0076]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Yun with simultaneous supply of water when both ice trays have completion times of rates in order to match an ice making rate of both ice trays.
Regarding claim 12, Yun as modified discloses the ice making device of claim 10 but is silent concerning relative transparency of the ice. The examiner takes official notice that clear ice makers are old and well known, particularly including a heater such that a free surface of the ice freezes last. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Yun with a heater for the production of clear ice as clear ice is regarded as desirable to consumers.
Regarding claim 13, Yun further discloses n liquid that has supplied to the second cell (47) is cooled by the second refrigerant pipe to generate the second ice, and liquid supplied to the first cell (46) is cooled by the first refrigerant pipe to generate the first ice.
Regarding claim 14, Yun and Lee further discloses a volume of the first cell is less than a volume of the second cell (as taught by Lee in modification above the cells are of a different volume).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al (US 12,595,949) plural ice tray water supply
Dimijian (US 4,970,877) parallel evaporator for ice maker
Hara (US 4,910,974) spherical ice maker
Olson, Jr. et al (US 2017/0003062) plural evaporator control for ice maker
Kim (US 2012/0111048) dual ice maker water supply
Murak (JP2006105479) dual ice maker
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799