DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 6/18/2026. Claims 1-17 are pending. Claims 1-3, 7, 9, and 15 have been amended.
The rejection of claim 1 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,553 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claim 1 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,514,424 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The provisional rejection of claim 1 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-37 of copending Application No. 18/723,632 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The provisional rejection of claim 1 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-26 of copending Application No. 18/723,619 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The provisional rejection of claim 1 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 19/204,071 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1, 2, and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2019/0343366) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2014/0069469) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
Claims 9-17 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2014/0069469) in view of Xu (CN 210541428; cited by Applicant). Claim 9 has been amended, and Applicant argues that the combination of references does not meet the amended claim. Applicant specifically argues the combination does not meet the limitations specifying that the first and second bubble generation paths are “partitioned” from the first and second spray paths within the respective blades. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Xu broadly and reasonably discloses the claimed first and second blades (left and right sides of element 2) and first and second bubble generation paths (path including the interior of “first spraying holes” 12) which are partitioned from first and second spray paths (path including the interior of “second spraying holes” 13). Therefore, Choi in view of Xu broadly and reasonably meets the newly claimed limitations.
In response to Applicant’s amendments, new/modified ground(s) of rejection are applied below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2014/0069469) in view of Xu (CN 210541428; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses a dishwasher comprising: a tub (115); a sump disposed under the tub and storing washing water therein (50); a spray arm disposed within the tub and spraying the washing water into the tub (132); a pump supplying the spray arm with the washing water stored in the sump (145); a washing water flow pipe supplying the spray arm with the washing water discharged from the pump (141); and a bubble generator disposed in the spray arm or connection pipe and having a Venturi-tube shape to generate bubbles in the washing water flowing therethrough (70); wherein the spray arm comprises a first and a second blade that sprays the washing water into the tub (Figure 3: see sides of 132), and a hub supplying the washing water to each of the first blade and the second blade (center of 132 and/or 136).
Choi does not expressly disclose the first blade includes a first spray path for spraying washing water into the tub, and a first bubble generation path partitioned from the first spray path and configured to discharge the washing water containing microbubbles to the tub; the second blade includes a second spray path for spraying the washing water into the tub, and a second bubble generation path partitioned from the second spray path and configured to discharge the washing water containing microbubbles to the tub.
Xu discloses a cleaning machine and a spraying arm (1), wherein the spraying arm includes first and second lateral extensions (Figures 2, 3; corresponding to first and second blades), a water storage cavity extending from a center of the arm to the spraying holes (11-13), and nozzles having an internal path and provided to make sprayed water contain entrained bubbles (Figures 2-5: 2, 12; corresponding to a bubble generation path). First spraying holes (12) are provided with a nozzle (2) and spray water flow entrained with bubbles, and second spraying holes (13) are provided as ordinary spraying holes for water (machine translation, page 4).
Because it is known in the art to have a spray arm for generating wash water with bubbles as claimed, and the results of the substitution would be predictable, namely, providing a known structure for a known purpose, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first blade includes a first spray path for spraying washing water into the tub, and a first bubble generation path partitioned from the first spray path and configured to discharge the washing water containing microbubbles to the tub; the second blade includes a second spray path for spraying the washing water into the tub, and a second bubble generation path partitioned from the second spray path and configured to discharge the washing water containing microbubbles to the tub. Note that the first spraying holes (12) broadly and reasonably correspond to the claimed first/second bubble generation paths, and the second spraying holes (13) broadly and reasonably correspond to the claimed first/second spray paths that are partitioned from the first/second bubble generation paths.
Claims 10-11 are considered to be met by the combination of Choi, in view of Xu, as applied above and which results in: wherein the hub comprises: a supply path through which the washing water flows upward (Choi: 141; Xu: center of 11); a 1-1 branch path connecting the supply path and the first spray path (Xu: lateral extension of 11); and a 1-2 branch path connecting the supply path and the second spray path (Xu: lateral extension of 11), wherein the 1-1 branch path is formed in a direction parallel to the first spray path, and wherein the 1-2 branch path is formed in a direction parallel to the second spray path (Xu: see internal portions of 11 that are parallel to internal portions of the spray paths in elements 13); wherein the 1-1 branch path is formed with a larger sectional area than the first spray path, and the 1-1 branch path has a shape in which the sectional area thereof decreases from the supply path to the first spray path, and wherein the 1-2 branch path is formed with a larger sectional area than the second spray path, and the 1-2 branch path has a shape in which the sectional area thereof decreases from the supply path to the second spray path (Xu: see portions of 11 that are wider than the interior of the first/second spray paths in elements 13; also see the tapering shape of 11 towards the distal ends)
Claims 14-15 are considered to be met by the combination of Choi, in view of Xu, as applied above and which results in: wherein the first spray path disposed in the first blade is located at a rear of the first bubble generator on the basis of a rotating direction of the spray arm, and wherein the second spray path disposed in the second blade is located at a rear of the second bubble generator on the basis of the rotating direction of the spray arm (Xu: elements 13 are located at the front and rear of the spray arm); wherein the hub includes a supply path (Choi: interior of 136; Xu: center of 11) and each of the first bubble generation path and the second bubble generation path comprises therein a connecting path connected to the supply path (Xu: interior of 22), a buffer chamber connected to the connecting path and having a path sectional area expanded or reduced (Xu: 1251), an air inlet path which is connected to the buffer chamber and through which outside air is sucked in (Xu: 21), and a discharge path connected to the air inlet path and discharging washing water in which microbubbles are created (Xu: outlet of 125).
Claims 16-17 are considered to be met by the combination of Choi, in view of Xu, as applied above and which results in: wherein the buffer chamber comprises an expansion part in which a sectional area of a flow path is expanded (Xu: transition between interior of 22 and beginning of 1251), a maintenance part in which the sectional area of the flow path is maintained (Xu: constant diameter portion immediately after 1251), and a reduction part in which the sectional area of the flow path is reduced (Xu: 1251), wherein an inlet connected to the connecting path (Xu: end of interior of 22) and an outlet connected to the air inlet path (Xu: end of 21) are formed in the buffer chamber, and wherein central positions of the inlet and the outlet formed in the buffer chamber are formed differently from each other (Xu: interior of 22 and 21 are offset); wherein the air inlet path is connected at a side thereof to an air path, and wherein the air path allows outside air to flow in through a suction hole formed in a lower surface of the spray arm (Xu: see 15, 52).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose, or render obvious, the dishwasher as defined by claims 1, 7, or the combination of claims 9, 10 and 12. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Lee (US 2019/0343366), to further include wherein the bubble generator comprises: a connection pipe branching from the washing water flow pipe; a buffer chamber pipe extending from the connection pipe and forming a buffer chamber therein; a discharge pipe extending from the buffer chamber pipe and discharging the washing water that contains bubbles; and an air inlet pipe disposed between the buffer chamber pipe and the discharge pipe, and having an air path through which outside air is introduced. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Lee (US 2019/0343366), to further include wherein the spray arm comprises a top spray arm that sprays the washing water downward from an upper end of a washing space defined by the tub, and an upper spray arm that is disposed under the top spray arm and sprays the washing water into the washing space, wherein the washing water flow pipe comprises: a first washing water flow pipe sending the washing water supplied from the pump to the upper spray arm; and a second washing water flow pipe sending the washing water supplied from the pump to the top spray arm, and wherein the bubble generator comprises: a first bubble generator disposed on a side of the first washing water flow pipe; and a second bubble generator disposed on a side of the second washing water flow pipe. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Choi et al. (US 2014/0069469) in view of Xu (CN 210541428; cited by Applicant), to further include a 2-1 branch path connecting the supply path and the first bubble generation path; and a 2-2 branch path connecting the supply path and the second bubble generation path, wherein the 2-1 branch path is disposed at an angle with the first bubble generation path, and wherein the 2-2 branch path is disposed at an angle with the second bubble generation path.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711