DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,553. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim and the conflicting claims are directed to substantially similar subject matter, with the instant claim generally being broader in scope than the conflicting claims and having only minor differences in language or minor obvious differences.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,514,424. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim and the conflicting claims are directed to substantially similar subject matter, with the instant claim generally being broader in scope than the conflicting claims and having only minor differences in language or minor obvious differences.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-37 of copending Application No. 18/723,632 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim and the conflicting claims are directed to substantially similar subject matter, with the instant claim generally being broader in scope than the conflicting claims and having only minor differences in language or minor obvious differences.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-26 of copending Application No. 18/723,619 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim and the conflicting claims are directed to substantially similar subject matter, with the instant claim generally being broader in scope than the conflicting claims and having only minor differences in language or minor obvious differences.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 19/204,071 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim and the conflicting claims are directed to substantially similar subject matter, with the instant claim generally being broader in scope than the conflicting claims and having only minor differences in language or minor obvious differences.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the spray arm or connection pipe." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is only a previous recitation of “a spray arm,” so “the spray arm or connection pipe” lacks proper antecedent basis. It is unclear if the limitation should be interpreted as “the spray arm or a connection pipe.”
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the connection pipe." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is a previous recitation of “the spray arm or connection pipe” and “a connection pipe,” and it is unclear if the connection pipes are the same pipe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2019/0343366).
Regarding claims 1-2, and 6, Lee discloses a dishwasher comprising: a tub (24); a sump disposed under the tub and storing washing water therein (26); a spray arm disposed within the tub and spraying the washing water into the tub (42, 44); a pump supplying the spray arm with the washing water stored in the sump (28); a washing water flow pipe supplying the spray arm with the washing water discharged from the pump (54); and a bubble generator disposed in the spray arm or connection pipe and having a Venturi-tube shape to generate bubbles in the washing water flowing therethrough (55, 100); wherein the spray arm comprises: a lower spray arm (42); and an upper spray arm disposed above the lower spray arm (44), wherein the washing water flow pipe extends along a bottom surface and a side surface of the tub to supply the upper spray arm with the washing water discharged from the pump (54), and wherein the bubble generator is disposed to protrude obliquely from a side of the washing water flow pipe (see angled/protruding portions of 100); wherein the washing water flow pipe comprises: an upper washing water flow pipe disposed above the bubble generator (upper part of 54); and a lower washing water flow pipe disposed under the bubble generator (lower part of 54), and wherein a size of a sectional area of a flow path of the upper washing water flow pipe is formed smaller than a size of a sectional area of a flow path of the lower washing water flow pipe (see sizes of lower part of 54 and upper part of 54, such as at element 46; note the regions where the pipes are shown to expand/contract; also note that the claim does not specify the sectional area such that any arbitrary cross-sectional area could be measured).
Claim(s) 1, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2014/0069469).
Regarding claims 1, and 8, Choi discloses a dishwasher comprising: a tub (115); a sump disposed under the tub and storing washing water therein (50); a spray arm disposed within the tub and spraying the washing water into the tub (132); a pump supplying the spray arm with the washing water stored in the sump (145); a washing water flow pipe supplying the spray arm with the washing water discharged from the pump (141); and a bubble generator disposed in the spray arm or connection pipe and having a Venturi-tube shape to generate bubbles in the washing water flowing therethrough (70); wherein the spray arm comprises a first blade formed with a first spray path that sprays the washing water into the tub, a second blade formed with a second spray path that sprays the washing water into the tub (Figure 3: see sides of 132), and a hub supplying the washing water to each of the first blade and the second blade (center of 132 and/or 136), and wherein the bubble generator is disposed on at least one of the first blade and the second blade (70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2014/0069469) in view of Xu (CN 210541428; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claims 9 Choi is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose
wherein the spray arm comprises: a first blade formed with a first spray path for spraying the washing water into the tub, and a first bubble generation path for discharging the washing water containing microbubbles to the tub; a second blade formed with a second spray path for spraying the washing water into the tub, and a second bubble generation path for discharging the washing water containing microbubbles to the tub; and a hub supplying the washing water to each of the first blade and the second blade.
Xu discloses a cleaning machine and a spraying arm (1), wherein the spraying arm includes first and second lateral extensions (Figures 2, 3; corresponding to first and second blades), a water storage cavity extending from a center of the arm to the spraying holes (11-13; corresponding to first and second spray paths and a hub), and nozzles having an internal path and provided to make sprayed water contain entrained bubbles (Figures 2-5: 2; corresponding to a bubble generation path).
Because it is known in the art to have a spray arm for generating wash water with bubbles as claimed, and the results of the substitution would be predictable, namely, providing a known structure for a known purpose, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the spray arm comprises: a first blade formed with a first spray path for spraying the washing water into the tub, and a first bubble generation path for discharging the washing water containing microbubbles to the tub; a second blade formed with a second spray path for spraying the washing water into the tub, and a second bubble generation path for discharging the washing water containing microbubbles to the tub; and a hub supplying the washing water to each of the first blade and the second blade.
Claims 10-11 are considered to be met by the combination of Choi, in view of Xu, as applied above and which results in: wherein the hub comprises: a supply path through which the washing water flows upward (Choi: 141; Xu: center of 11); a 1-1 branch path connecting the supply path and the first spray path (Xu: lateral extension of 11); and a 1-2 branch path connecting the supply path and the second spray path (Xu: lateral extension of 11), wherein the 1-1 branch path is formed in a direction parallel to the first spray path, and wherein the 1-2 branch path is formed in a direction parallel to the second spray path (Xu: see portions of 11 close to the center and portions of 11 close to the outer side of the arm); wherein the 1-1 branch path is formed with a larger sectional area than the first spray path, and the 1-1 branch path has a shape in which the sectional area thereof decreases from the supply path to the first spray path, and wherein the 1-2 branch path is formed with a larger sectional area than the second spray path, and the 1-2 branch path has a shape in which the sectional area thereof decreases from the supply path to the second spray path (Xu: see portions of 11 close to the center and portions of 11 close to the outer side of the arm, and note the tapering shape of 11 towards the distal ends)
Claims 12-13 are considered to be met by the combination of Choi, in view of Xu, as applied above and which results in: wherein the hub comprises: a 2-1 branch path connecting the supply path and the first bubble generation path (Xu: Figure 5: branching portion below element 22); and a 2-2 branch path connecting the supply path and the second bubble generation path (Xu: Figure 5: branching portion below element 22; note Figures 2 and 3 show plural elements 2 on opposite sides of the arm), wherein the 2-1 branch path is disposed at an angle with the first bubble generation path, and wherein the 2-2 branch path is disposed at an angle with the second bubble generation path (Xu: note that the angle could be zero degrees);
wherein the sectional area of each of the 2-1 branch path and the 2-2 branch path is formed smaller than the sectional area of the 1-1 branch path or the 1-2 branch path (Xu: Figure 5: branching portion below element 22 compared to 11; note that any arbitrary cross-sectional area could be measured).
Claims 14-15 are considered to be met by the combination of Choi, in view of Xu, as applied above and which results in: wherein the first spray path disposed in the first blade is located at a rear of the first bubble generator on the basis of a rotating direction of the spray arm, and wherein the second spray path disposed in the second blade is located at a rear of the second bubble generator on the basis of the rotating direction of the spray arm (Xu: note that the spray path portion of 11 is located at the front and rear of the spray arm);
wherein each of the first bubble generation path and the second bubble generation path comprises therein a connecting path connected to the supply path (Xu: interior of 22), a buffer chamber connected to the connecting path and having a path sectional area expanded or reduced (Xu: 1251), an air inlet path which is connected to the buffer chamber and through which outside air is sucked in (Xu: 21), and a discharge path connected to the air inlet path and discharging washing water in which microbubbles are created (Xu: outlet of 125).
Claims 16-17 are considered to be met by the combination of Choi, in view of Xu, as applied above and which results in: wherein the buffer chamber comprises an expansion part in which a sectional area of a flow path is expanded (Xu: transition between interior of 22 and beginning of 1251), a maintenance part in which the sectional area of the flow path is maintained (Xu: constant diameter portion immediately after 1251), and a reduction part in which the sectional area of the flow path is reduced (Xu: 1251), wherein an inlet connected to the connecting path (Xu: end of interior of 22) and an outlet connected to the air inlet path (Xu: end of 21) are formed in the buffer chamber, and wherein central positions of the inlet and the outlet formed in the buffer chamber are formed differently from each other (Xu: interior of 22 and 21 are offset); wherein the air inlet path is connected at a side thereof to an air path, and wherein the air path allows outside air to flow in through a suction hole formed in a lower surface of the spray arm (Xu: see 15, 52).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose, or render obvious, the dishwasher as defined by the combination of claims 1-3; or the dishwasher as defined by the combination of claims 1 and 7. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Lee (US 2019/0343366), to further include wherein the bubble generator comprises: a connection pipe branching from the washing water flow pipe; a buffer chamber pipe extending from the connection pipe and forming a buffer chamber therein; a discharge pipe extending from the buffer chamber pipe and discharging the washing water that contains bubbles; and an air inlet pipe disposed between the buffer chamber pipe and the discharge pipe, and having an air path through which outside air is introduced, and wherein the air inlet pipe is disposed on a downstream end of the buffer chamber, and has a structure extending downward. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Lee (US 2019/0343366), to further include wherein the spray arm comprises a top spray arm that sprays the washing water downward from an upper end of a washing space defined by the tub, and an upper spray arm that is disposed under the top spray arm and sprays the washing water into the washing space, wherein the washing water flow pipe comprises: a first washing water flow pipe sending the washing water supplied from the pump to the upper spray arm; and a second washing water flow pipe sending the washing water supplied from the pump to the top spray arm, and wherein the bubble generator comprises: a first bubble generator disposed on a side of the first washing water flow pipe; and a second bubble generator disposed on a side of the second washing water flow pipe.
Conclusion
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711