DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
As directed by the amendment received on August 12, 2026, claims 1-2, 4-7, and 10-17 have been amended, and claims 3 and 8-9 have been canceled. Accordingly, claims 1-2, 4-7, and 10-19 are currently pending in this application with claims 12, 15, and 17-19 being previously withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed with the written response received on August 12, 2026, have been considered and an action on the merits follows. Any objections and rejections previously put forth in the Office Action dated April 20, 2026, are hereby withdrawn unless specifically noted below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification at least at pages 1 and 17 (i.e., EP3429514B1) is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Each of Figs. 8A-8C improperly show multiple views within a single figure and should be separately labeled or a relationship or order of assembly otherwise be shown. As one example, it is suggested that Applicant show the relationship among the multiple views similar to Fig. 10.
In Fig. 9, it is unclear what reference character or characters are shown on the left side of the figure. For example, is the figure mean to show a reference character “210” having three associated lead lines, three separate reference characters “2”, “1”, and “0” each with an associated lead line, or some other arrangement?
Figs. 20A-20C include reference characters that are of insufficient quality to be clearly and easily discernible and that also do not have associated lead lines. For example, Fig. 20A includes the apparent text “V1, A)” in the bottom left corner of the figure. This and any similar text should be removed.
Figs. 21A-21C include reference characters that are of insufficient quality to be clearly and easily discernible and that also do not have associated lead lines. For example, Fig. 21A includes the apparent text “V2, A)” in the bottom left corner of the figure. This and any similar text should be removed.
Specification – Disclosure
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
“wherein the support element consists of a silicone rubber with a Shore-A hardness in a range of 4 to 10” as recited in claim 5
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At line 4, “one of metatarsals” should read “one metatarsal of the human foot”
At line 7, “metatarsophalangeal joints” should read “metatarsophalangeal joints of the human foot”
At line 9, “which padding is formed” should read “the padding being formed”
At line 11, “the sole area” should read “the sole area of the foot part”
At line 12, “the metatarsophalangeal joints” should read “the metatarsophalangeal joints of the human foot”
Claim 10 is objected to because at lines 4-5, “a contracting force on the midfoot of the human foot which force is greater than a contracting force of” should read “a first contracting force on the midfoot of the human foot that is greater than a second contracting force of”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the support element consists of a silicone rubber with a Shore-A hardness in a range of 4 to 10” at lines 1-3. Although a silicone rubber with a Shore hardness in the range of 4 to 10 was originally disclosed by Applicant in the specification, no particular Shore hardness scale was ever disclosed in the application as originally filed. Applicant appears to argue the inherency of a Shore-A hardness scale by stating that “the skilled person would apply the Shore-A hardness scale when referring to silicone rubber” (See Applicant’s Remarks dated August 12, 2026, page 20). That said, hardness measurement of silicone rubber is not necessarily limited to only a Shore-A hardness scale as evidenced at least by non-patent literature reference Mouldlife Platsil Gel 00 Silicone Rubber which discloses silicone rubber material ranging from Shore 00 to Shore A hardness scales (see attached non-patent literature reference). Therefore, for at least these reasons, the limitation constitutes new matter and should be removed from the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “arranged as an island in the first area” at line 3. It is unclear what structural limitations Applicant is intending to recite in the claims with the limitation. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that Applicant amend the limitation to describe the structural feature that Applicant intends to capture with the limitation. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “wherein a tensile element comprises a first section and a second elastic section along a circumference extending around a foot part” at lines 1-3. It is unclear if the tensile element is meant to be part of the stocking or some other structure. Furthermore, it is unclear if the “foot part” is meant to refer back to the foot part introduced in claim 1 or some additional foot part. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “wherein the foot part further comprises a tensile element, the tensile element comprising a first section and a second elastic section along a circumference extending around the stocking”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 14 further recites the limitation “the second section” at lines 4 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitations instead read “the second elastic section”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 16 (claim 4, as best can be understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPN 1,659,171 to Spafford (hereinafter, “Spafford”).
Regarding claim 1, Spafford teaches a stocking comprising: a foot part for accommodating a human foot (See Spafford, Figs. 1-3; sock (5) having foot part capable of accommodating a human foot; Examiner notes that the term "part" is very broad and merely means "a portion, division, piece, or segment of a whole" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)), wherein a support element is positioned on a sole area of the foot part in such a way that the support element is positioned at least under one of metatarsals when the stocking is worn on the human foot (See Spafford, Figs. 1-3; pad (12) positioned on sole area of foot part of sock (5); pad (12) is capable of being positioned under hypothetical metatarsals of a hypothetical wearer when sock (5) is worn), wherein the support element has a curvature facing towards an inside of the stocking (See Spafford, Fig. 3; pad (12) has a curvature facing towards the inside of sock (5)), wherein the support element is designed and positioned in such a way that the support element is positioned behind metatarsophalangeal joints when the stocking is worn on the human foot (See Spafford, Figs. 1-3; pad (12) is capable of being positioned behind hypothetical metatarsophalangeal joints of a hypothetical foot when sock (5) is worn), and wherein the stocking has a padding on the sole area, which padding is formed as a one-piece or multi-piece padding (See Spafford, Figs. 1-3; fabric piece (11) in sole area of sock (5) provides at least some amount of padding), wherein at least a part of the padding is formed as forefoot padding, wherein the forefoot padding is arranged at the sole area in such a way that the forefoot padding is positioned under the metatarsophalangeal joints when the stocking is worn on the human foot (See Spafford, Figs. 1-3; at least a frontmost part of fabric piece (11) in sole area of sock (5) is forefoot padding that is capable of being positioned under hypothetical metatarsophalangeal joints of a hypothetical foot when sock (5) is worn).
Regarding claim 4, Spafford (i.e., as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the support element comprises a first area with a first height and a second area with a second height, the second area having a shape and being arranged as an island in the first area or being arranged at an edge of the first area, wherein the second height exceeds the first height by a factor of two (See Spafford, Fig. 3; pad (12) includes first area near edge of pad (12) having a first, near-zero height and a second area at the tallest part of pad (12) having a shape and a second height that exceeds the first height by at least a factor of two; giving importance to the term “or” in the claim, the prior art meets at least one of the listed alternative limitations and, therefore, meets the limitations of the claim; Examiner notes that the term "area" is very broad and merely means "a section, portion, or part". (Defn. No. 3 of "Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition 2014" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)).
Regarding claim 16, Spafford teaches a stocking comprising: a foot part for accommodating a human foot (See Spafford, Figs. 1-3; sock (5) having foot part capable of accommodating a human foot; Examiner notes that the term "part" is very broad and merely means "a portion, division, piece, or segment of a whole" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)), wherein a pad is attached to a sole area of the foot part in a forefoot region of the stocking (See Spafford, Figs. 1-3; pad (12) positioned on and attached to sole area of foot part of sock (5) and extends at least partially into forefoot region of sock (5); Examiner notes that the term "region" is very broad and merely means "any large, indefinite, and continuous part of a surface or space" (Defn. No. 1 of "Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition 2014" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spafford, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of USPN 2,863,231 to Jones (hereinafter, “Jones”).
Regarding claim 2, although Spafford (i.e., as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) teaches a support element, Spafford is silent to wherein the support element is designed and positioned such that second to fourth metatarsals are raised relative to a first metatarsal and a fifth metatarsal when a wearer of the stocking treads on a ground surface.
However, Jones, in a related foot support structure, is directed to a insole having raised support elements for supporting the bottom of a foot of a wearer (See Jones, Figs. 1-7). More specifically, Jones teaches wherein the support element is designed and positioned such that second to fourth metatarsals are raised relative to a first metatarsal and a fifth metatarsal when a wearer of the stocking treads on a ground surface (See Jones, Figs. 1-7; pad (17) is capable of being positioned to raise hypothetical second to fourth metatarsals relative to hypothetical first and fifth metatarsals of a hypothetical wearer’s foot when the hypothetical wearer’s foot treads on a ground surface).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to change the shape of the cushioning support arrangement of Spafford to have the shape of the cushioning support arrangement disclosed by Jones for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to providing targeted support across areas of a wearer’s foot where the weight of the wearer’s body tends to be directed (See Jones, Col. 1, line 66 – Col. 2, line 52 and page 2 , line 70 – Col. 3, line 2).
Regarding claim 6, Spafford (i.e., as applied to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein a length of the sole area is defined from a first end configured for accommodating toes of the human foot to a second end configured for accommodating a heel of the human foot, wherein a width of the sole area is defined perpendicular to the length and parallel to the sole area (See Spafford, Figs. 1-3; sole area of sock (5) includes first end and second capable of accommodating hypothetical toes and a hypothetical heel of a hypothetical wearer, respectively, the sole area having a width and length as claimed).
That said, Spafford is silent to wherein the support element is centered with respect to the width and aligned with respect to the length to a position at a distance of 2/5 of the length from the first end and 3/5 of the length from the second end.
However, Jones, in a related foot support structure, is directed to a insole having raised support elements for supporting the bottom of a foot of a wearer (See Jones, Figs. 1-7). More specifically, Jones teaches wherein the support element is centered with respect to the width and aligned with respect to the length to a position at a distance of 2/5 of the length from the first end and 3/5 of the length from the second end (See annotated Fig. 3 of Jones below; pad (17) is centered in a width direction and aligned in a length direction to a position 2/5 of the length from the toe end and 3/5 of the length from the heel end).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Jones
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to change the shape and relative dimensions of the cushioning support arrangement of Spafford to have the shape and relative dimensions of the cushioning support arrangement disclosed by Jones for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to providing targeted support across areas of a wearer’s foot where the weight of the wearer’s body tends to be directed (See Jones, Col. 1, line 66 – Col. 2, line 52 and page 2 , line 70 – Col. 3, line 2).
Regarding claim 7, Spafford (i.e., as applied to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein the support element has a teardrop shape when viewed perpendicular to the sole area, wherein the teardrop shape is oriented such that a tapering area of the teardrop shape faces towards a heel of the human foot when the stocking is worn on the human foot.
However, Jones, in a related foot support structure, is directed to a insole having raised support elements for supporting the bottom of a foot of a wearer (See Jones, Figs. 1-7). More specifically, Jones teaches wherein the support element has a teardrop shape when viewed perpendicular to the sole area, wherein the teardrop shape is oriented such that a tapering area of the teardrop shape faces towards a heel of the human foot when the stocking is worn on the human foot (See Jones, Fig. 3; pad (17) has a teardrop shape that tapers toward a heel end of the footwear when viewed perpendicular to the top surface, i.e., Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to change the shape of the cushioning support arrangement of Spafford to have the shape of the cushioning support arrangement disclosed by Jones for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to providing targeted support across areas of a wearer’s foot where the weight of the wearer’s body tends to be directed (See Jones, Col. 1, line 66 – Col. 2, line 52 and page 2 , line 70 – Col. 3, line 2).
Claim 5, as best can be understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spafford, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2011/0232129 to Roberts et al. (hereinafter, “Roberts”).
Regarding claim 5, Spafford (i.e., as applied to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein the support element consists of a silicone rubber with a Shore-A hardness in a range of 4 to 10.
However, Roberts, in a related foot supporting pad art, is directed to a foot pad positionable under a ball region of a wearer’s foot (See Roberts, Figs. 1-4; abstract). More specifically, Roberts teaches wherein the support element consists of a silicone rubber with a Shore-A hardness in a range of 4 to 10 (See Roberts, Fig. 1; pad (1) may be formed of a silicone rubber having a Shore A hardness of about 7; [0067]-[0068]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to form the support element of Spafford from the silicone rubber material having the hardness value disclosed by Roberts for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a pad with sufficient cushioning for high comfort and protection that can sustain long and repeated use (See Roberts, [0011]-[0013], [0067]-[0068]).
Claims 10-11 and 13-14 (claim 14, as best can be understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spafford, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0346185 to Bushby (hereinafter, “Bushby”).
Regarding claim 10, Spafford (i.e., as applied to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein the foot part of the stocking comprises a tensile element which is arranged on the foot part or incorporated into the foot part such that the tensile element is configured to extend around a midfoot of the human foot and is configured to exert a contracting force on the midfoot of the human foot which force is greater than a contracting force of a remaining portion of the foot part when the stocking is worn on the human foot.
However, Bushby, in a related supportive footwear art, is directed to a strap support system for supporting a wearer’s foot, the system being wearable with a sock (See Bushby, Figs. 15-18; abstract; [0126]). More specifically, Bushby teaches wherein the foot part of the stocking comprises a tensile element which is arranged on the foot part or incorporated into the foot part such that the tensile element is configured to extend around a midfoot of the human foot and is configured to exert a contracting force on the midfoot of the human foot which force is greater than a contracting force of a remaining portion of the foot part when the stocking is worn on the human foot (See Bushby, Figs. 15-18; strap system is formed of a stretch resistant material positionable on a foot part of a sock and capable of extending around a hypothetical midfoot and exerting a contracting force on the hypothetical midfoot greater than that of the sock; [0088]-[0089], [0112], [0126]; giving importance to the term “or” in the claim, the prior art meets at least one of the listed alternative limitations and, therefore, meets the limitations of the claim).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the tensile support strap system disclosed by Bushby inside the sock of Spafford for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing anatomical support to a bottom of a wearer’s sole, arch, and plantar fascia for treating and/or preventing injury (See Bushby, [0019]-[0021], [0112]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified stocking of Spafford (i.e., Spafford in view of Bushby as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 10 above) further teaches wherein the tensile element comprises band-shaped sections which converge in a cross shape in the sole area or which run parallel in the sole area or which converge in a cross shape in a region configured to correspond to an instep of the human foot (See Bushby, Figs. 15-18; strap system includes band-shaped sections which converge in a cross shape in the sole area; giving importance to the term “or” in the claim, the prior art meets at least one of the listed alternative limitations and, therefore, meets the limitations of the claim).
Regarding claim 13, the modified stocking of Spafford (i.e., Spafford in view of Bushby as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 10 above) further teaches wherein the tensile element is topologically doubly connected (See Bushby, Figs. 15-18; strap system is topologically doubly connected as defined by Applicant, i.e. forming a circular ring, inasmuch as the tensile element of Applicant’s invention).
Regarding claim 14, the modified stocking of Spafford (i.e., Spafford in view of Bushby as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein a tensile element comprises a first section and a second elastic section along a circumference extending around a foot part, the second section having less extensibility than a remaining portion of the foot part, and wherein the first and the second section together form a closed ring
However, Bushby, in a related supportive footwear art, is directed to a strap support system for supporting a wearer’s foot, the system being wearable with a sock (See Bushby, Figs. 15-18; abstract; [0126]). More specifically, Bushby teaches wherein a tensile element comprises a first section and a second elastic section along a circumference extending around a foot part, the second section having less extensibility than a remaining portion of the foot part, and wherein the first and the second section together form a closed ring (See Bushby, Figs. 15-18; strap system includes first and second ends (582, 586) formed of a stretch resistant material having at least some amount of elasticity inside of the modified stocking, the first and second ends (582, 586) form a closed ring with sole portion (502); Examiner notes that the term "section" is very broad and merely means "one of several components; a piece" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the tensile support strap system disclosed by Bushby inside the sock of Spafford for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing anatomical support to a bottom of a wearer’s sole, arch, and plantar fascia for treating and/or preventing injury (See Bushby, [0019]-[0021], [0112]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s apparent argument that fabric piece (11) of Spafford cannot have the role of the forefoot padding, as the fabric piece (11) has the function to hold the pads (12) inside the pocket (9) at its correct position in relation to the foot, and that the fabric piece (11) cannot at the same time be positioned behind and under the metatarsophalangeal joints when the stocking is worn, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the current grounds of rejection above, the fabric piece (11) of Spafford is positioned in a sole area of sock (5) and capable of providing at least some amount of padding. Although the fabric piece does form a pocket for holding pad (12), at least a frontmost part of the fabric piece also extends and tapers down to a forefoot portion where the frontmost part of the fabric piece is capable of being positioned at least partially under hypothetical metatarsophalangeal joints of a hypothetical foot when the sock is worn by a hypothetical wearer. Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments focus on the hypothetical anatomy of a hypothetical wearer (i.e., positioning of metatarsophalangeal joints) which can vary from wearer to wearer.
Examiner notes that Applicant’s remaining arguments rely upon the arguments directed to the alleged deficiencies of Spafford or are addressed in the current grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R MARCHEWKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3732