DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“Medicament” is misspelled in paragraph [0012].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “medicament” is misspelled in line 1 of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
With respect to Claim 1, the claim recites the following phrases that positively recite the fetus of parts thereof as part of the system:
Line 1: “a system providing a medicament to a fetus”
Lines 9-12:” wherein the fetus has an umbilical cord comprising a vein, a first artery, and a second artery; wherein the umbilical cord of the fetus is connected to the second fluid circuit using a plurality of cannulae comprising a first cannula to a vein of the umbilical cord, attaching a second cannula to a first artery of the umbilical cord, attaching a third cannula to a second artery of the umbilical cord”
Lines 13-17: “wherein at least one of the cannulae is in fluid connection with the fetus's circulatory system and the umbilical cord is connected to the oxygenator such that deoxygenated blood is delivered from the fetus to the oxygenator, and oxygenated blood is delivered from the oxygenator to the fetus”
The examiner recommends amending these clauses to use “configured to” language (i.e. “a system configured to provide a medicament to a fetus,” etc.)
Claims 2-9 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flake (US 2019/0380900).
With respect to Claim 1, Flake teaches a system providing a medicament to a fetus (see Abstract; paragraphs [0073]-[0074], [0079], [0097], [0099], [0115], and especially [0125]; figures 5-6, 27, 31), comprising:
a chamber 100 having an interior space 102 configured to enclose the fetus 2;
a first fluid circuit 300 that delivers sterile fluid to the chamber, the first fluid circuit including a source 304 of a liquid 302, a pump 312 configured to move the fluid from the source to the chamber and deliver the fluid from the chamber to a reservoir 306 (paragraphs 0097-0099]);
a second fluid system 400 including an oxygenator 60 configured to transfer oxygen to the fetus (Figure 31; paragraphs [0115-0118]);
wherein the fetus has an umbilical cord 4 including two arteries and one vein;
wherein the umbilical cord of the fetus is connected to a plurality of cannulae 140 comprising: a first cannula attached to the vein of the umbilical cord, a second cannula attached to a first artery of the umbilical cord, and a third cannula attached to a second artery of the umbilical cord, and the one or more of the first, second, and third cannulae are connected to an oxygenation circuit, which includes the oxygenator paragraphs [0073]-[0074], [0079], [0097], [0099], [0115], and [0125]; figures 5-6, 11, 27, 31);
wherein each of the cannulae is in fluid connection with the circulatory system of the fetus, and the umbilical cord is connected to the oxygenator by the cannulae such that deoxygenated blood is delivered from the fetus to the oxygenator, and oxygenated blood is delivered from the oxygenator to the fetus (paragraphs [0073]-[0074], [0079], [0097], [0099], [0115], especially [0125]; figures 5-6, 27, 31); and
wherein the second fluid circuit may include one or more ports (442) which may be used to inject or infuse medicine or nutrition directly into the blood (see claim 32 of the PGPub; paragraphs [0073]-[0074], [0079], [0097], [0099], [0115], and especially [0125]; figures 5-6, 27, 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Flake (US 2019/0380900).
With respect to Claim 8, Flake teaches the system of claim 1, wherein medicament is introduced through a port 442. Figure 31 indicates ports 442 as being disposed both upstream and/or downstream of the oxygenator 60 (Figure 31; Paragraph [0125]).
In the event that Applicant does not clearly envisage this interpretation, the examiner notes that there is a finite number of predictable solutions for the location of the medicament port(s) (either upstream of the oxygenator or downstream of the dialyzer), each with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to try modifying Flake’s system to have the medicament port disposed downstream of the oxygenator, because doing so would be one of a limited number of possible locations for said port, and one of ordinary skill I the art would have arrived at a downstream configuration through routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 2-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flake (US 2019/0380900) in view of Flake (“A Supportive Physiologic Environment for the Extreme Premature Infant: Improving Life Outside the Womb”; Journal of Pediatric Surgery, 02-2022, Vol. 57, No. 2, pp. 167-171; provided by applicant in an IDS; hereinafter referred to as Journal of Pediatric Surgery).
With respect to Claims 2 and 3, Flake teaches the system of Claim 1, but does not specifically teach that the medicament is at least one of stem cells and modified genes. However, Journal of Pediatric Surgery teaches a similar extracorporeal, extrauterine system for newborn development, the system having a sterile fluid environment, an oxygenator circuit, and an umbilical/vascular interface (the “EXTEND system”; see Abstract and entire disclosure), wherein the system provides means for single or repeated administration of stem cells, gene vectors, or pharmacologic agents to the patient (see Figure 1 and the “Potential Clinical Applications of EXTEND” section). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Flake’s system for providing medicaments to a fetus to provide stem cells and/or gene therapy via modified genes, as suggested by Journal of Pediatric Surgery, in order to provide means for supplying the premature infant with stem cell therapy and/or gene therapy, and because these therapies are known in the art.
With respect to Claims 4-7 and 9, Flake and Journal of Pediatric Surgery reasonably suggest the system of Claim 2, but are silent as to the specific types of stem cells or genes administered. However, the examiner takes official notice that all of the treatments required in Claims 3-7 and 9 are extraordinarily well known in the field of stem cell and gene therapy. Specifically, therapy using allogenic stem cells, autologous stem cells, tolerogenic stem cells, genetically modified autologous stem cells, and modified genes are all well known in the arts of stem cell and gene therapies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to further modify the system of Flake and Journal of Pediatric Surgery to provide one or more of allogenic stem cells, autologous stem cells, tolerogenic stem cells, genetically modified autologous stem cells, and modified genes as the applied medicament, because these treatments are all well-known types of stem cell therapy and gene therapy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sitzmann (US 2007/0010005), Fassihi (US 2019/0209408), Fassihi (US 2017/0128322), Flake (US 2016/0022524), and Matsubara (US 2013/0274543) teach a neonatal support system comprising an oxygenator.
Heidaran (US 2013/0259845) teaches treatment of premature birth complications using stem cells.
/PHILIP R WIEST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781