The claims received 9/6/2024 are entered. Claim 21 is cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses means or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the means or generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“a liquid supply assembly” (at claims 12 and 13) includes the generic/nonce term “assembly” coupled with the function of “liquid supply”. A return to the specification provides a liquid supplier (found at claim 1). Therefor the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 5 recites the first and second trays are arranged in a vertical direction. There is no figure that shows the trays in a vertical direction, all figures show the trays arranged horizontally.
Claim 8 recites the first and second cells overlap in the vertical direction. There is no figure that shows the ice cells in a stacked arrangement.
Claim 9 recites “one end of the first cell is positioned lower than one end of the second cell and another end of the first cell is positioned higher than another end of the second cell.” All figures show the trays arranged horizontally.
Claim 11 recites that both the first and second tray comprise first and another tray. No figure shows two part trays for the first and second tray. Moreover no figure shows relative heights of the coupling contact portions.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18844678 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the feature of different types of ice appears in dependent claim 2 of the cited app.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of copending Application No. 18844450 in view of Yun (KR20140061861). Claim 19 of the cited app includes all features of instant claim 1 except that the ice of the first and second trays are of different types. Yun discloses different types of ice. It follows to provide different types of ice in order to increase utility to a user.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 1844464 in view of Yun (KR20140061861). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the feature of different types of ice appears in dependent claim 2 of the cited app. Further while the cited application does not recite a liquid supplier, Yun discloses a liquid supply. It follows to provide a liquid supplier to an ice maker in order to allow it to function automatically.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 1844552 in view of Yun (KR20140061861). While the cited application does not recite a liquid supplier, Yun discloses a liquid supply. It follows to provide a liquid supplier to an ice maker in order to allow it to function automatically.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “a liquid supply assembly” which lacks clear antecedent basis to the liquid supplier of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun (KR20140061861)
Regarding claim 1, Yun discloses an ice making device comprising:
an ice maker (40) configured to generate ice and provided in an ice making chamber; and
a liquid supplier (42) configured to supply liquid to the ice maker in an ice making process,
wherein the ice maker comprises a first tray (47) including a first cell in which first ice is formed, and a second tray (46) including a second cell in which second ice of a different type from the first ice is formed.
Regarding claim 2, Yun discloses the first ice and the second ice are different from each other in one or more of transparency, size, and shape (different shapes shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Yun discloses the first tray and the second tray are arranged in a horizontal direction or in a vertical direction (the trays are three dimensional objects and include arrangement in both directions).
Regarding claim 6, Yun discloses in a state in which the first tray is connected to the second tray, the first and second trays are disposed in the ice making chamber (both ice making trays are within the ice making chamber as shown in figure 1, as shown in figure 2 the trays are connected by at least the evaporator structure, moreover the trays are connected as they are mounted within the same space as part of the same assembly).
Regarding claim 7, Yun discloses the first tray and the second tray (47 and 46) are disposed in the ice making chamber while being spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction or in a vertical direction (shown in figure 1 the trays are spaced apart in the horizontal direction).
Regarding claim 8, Yun discloses at least a portion of the first cell overlaps the second cell in a horizontal direction or in a vertical direction (said cells overlap in the horizontal direction as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Yun discloses a heat exchanger (48) configured to cool the ice maker, and wherein the heat exchanger comprises a first refrigerant pipe configured to cool the first tray, and a second refrigerant pipe configured to cool the second tray (two pipes shown with U-shaped connection, each connected to an ice tray).
Regarding claim 18, Yun discloses at least a portion of an inlet pipe of the first refrigerant pipe and a discharge pipe of the second refrigerant pipe are arranged in a vertical direction or in a horizontal direction (the pipes are three dimensional structures and include arrangement in the vertical and horizontal directions).
Regarding claim 19, Yun discloses at least a portion of an inlet pipe of the first refrigerant pipe overlaps a discharge pipe of the second refrigerant pipe in a vertical direction or a horizontal direction or is arranged in parallel with a discharge pipe of the second refrigerant pipe (the refrigerant pipes are parallel and overlap in the horizontal direction as shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 20, Yun discloses a first storage space for storing the first ice, and a second storage space for storing the second ice and partitioned from the first storage space (spaces 50 are partitioned as shown in figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (KR20140061861).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Yun discloses the first tray (47) comprises a plurality of first cells, and the second tray (46) comprises a plurality of second cells, but does not explicitly state relative volumes.
However a change of shape does not make a product nonobvious where the claimed shape is not of functional significance and accomplishes the same purpose as the prior art shape. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966). It has been generally held that changes in sizes of shapes of known elements are within the level of skill in that art, especially in the absence of unexpected results or criticality. Cf Gardner v. TEC Sys., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (holding that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device).
In this instance a volume of the ice cells corresponds to the size of the produced ice. Larger ice tends to dilute more slowly while smaller ice cools and dilutes more quickly. Both effects are desirable to a user depending on the specific use of the ice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have provided Yun with differently sized ice, and differing total volumes of each tray, in order to produce both large and small ice as well as larger amounts of one type over another in order to satisfy a user’s needs.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (KR20140061861) in view of Lee et al (US 11,747,068).
Regarding claim 9, Yun discloses the ice making device of claim 5, but lacks one cell being higher or lower than another. Lee discloses a plurality of ice cells having some ends positioned higher/lower than others to allow for different ice sizes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have enlarged or diminished one cell relative to another in order to produce ice pieces of differing sizes and also to provide one cell higher/lower than other.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (KR20140061861) in view of Hara (US 4,910,974).
Regarding claim 10, Yun discloses the ice making device of claim 5, but lacks the upper and lower tray arrangement as claimed. Hara discloses a tray comprises an upper tray (11) that defines a one cell which is a portion of the ice making cell, and a lower tray (12) that defines an another cell which is another portion of the ice making cell and rotatable with respect to the upper tray based on a rotation center (16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Yun with the two part ice tray of Hara in order to produce spherical ice. Further when providing Yun the ice tray of Hara where the ice trays are arranged in a horizontal manner the second cells is positioned between the rotation center and the first cell, where the rotation center is positioned to the outside.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (KR20140061861) in view of Denigan, III et al (US 2018/0335238).
Regarding claim 11, Yun discloses the ice making device of claim 5, but lacks the first and second ice trays being two part trays.
Denigan discloses a first one tray that defines a first one cell which is a portion of the first cell, and a first another tray that defines a first another cell which is another portion of the first cell and coupled to the first one tray, wherein the second tray comprises: a second one tray that defines a second one cell which is a portion of the second cell, and a second another tray that defines a second another cell which is another portion of the second cell (Denigan shows at least 9 two part trays in figure 1, figures 4-6 show multi-part construction), wherein a coupling portion of the first one tray and the first another tray is positioned lower than a contact portion of the second one tray and the second another tray in the ice making process (figure 1 shows the trays at differing heights including coupling and contact portions therefor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Yun with the plural two part trays at different heights in order to increase the amount of ice production (multiple trays) and provide for spherical ice.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (KR20140061861) in view of Olson, Jr. et al (US 2017/0003062).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Yun discloses the ice making device of claim 1, including a liquid supplier and a heat exchanger but lacks the liquid supply assembly being higher than the ice making cells and heat exchanger. Olson discloses an ice making device including a liquid supply assembly (7) configured to supply liquid during a liquid supply process, wherein the liquid supply assembly is positioned higher than the ice making cells and heat exchanger (205). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Yun with ice maker arrangement of Olson in order to provide high capacity ice production.
Regarding claim 15, Yun discloses the ice making device of claim 14, wherein the first refrigerant pipe comprises a first cooling pipe in contact with the first tray, and a second cooling pipe in contact with the first tray (shown in figure 2). Yun lacks the cooling pipes being at different heights. Olson discloses an ice maker having a plurality of trays, each having a plurality of cooling pipes at different heights (shown in figure 8 the evaporators 205 have a plurality of cooling pipes at different heights). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Yun with ice maker arrangement of Olson in order to provide high capacity ice production.
Regarding claim 16, Yun and Olson further disclose the first refrigerant pipe (205a of Olson) comprises a first inlet pipe, and a first bent pipe bent and extending from the first inlet pipe, and wherein the first cooling pipe is connected to the first bent pipe and the second cooling pipe (e.g. bottom most pipe of 205b of Olson) is disposed lower than the first cooling pipe.
Regarding claim 17, Yun and Olson further disclose the second refrigerant pipe comprises a third cooling pipe in contact with the second tray, and wherein the third cooling pipe is disposed higher than the first cooling pipe and the second cooling pipe (as shown in figure 8 each evaporator has cooling pipes at different heights where one pipe may be selected that is higher/lower than other).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong et al (US 12,345,459) dual type ice maker.
Dimijian (US 4,959,966) spray type ice maker and evaporator arrangement.
Peltier (US 2,478,312) horizontal, vertical, and angled relative positioning of ice trays.
Schiller et al (US 11,920,845) evaporator arrangement relative to ice tray.
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799