DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 06 September 2024.
Claims 9-14 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06 September 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a reception unit”, “a control unit” and “a transmission unit” in claims 9-12. The specification discloses control unit140, control unit 240, and the like, may be implemented by the processor 1001, paragraph 182. The transmitting/receiving antenna, the amplifier unit, the transmitting/receiving unit, the transmission line interface, and the like, may be implemented by the communication device 1004. The transmitting/receiving unit may be physically or logically divided into a transmitting unit and a receiving unit, paragraph 186.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Farag et al. (US Publication 2023/0232429).
With respect to claims 9, 13 and 14, Farag teaches A terminal comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive, from a network, configuration information related to a time resource of a positioning reference signal (PRS) in a resource pool used for transmission of both the PRS and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a device-to-device direct communication; (signaling are provided for a network configuration of SL resources to be used for SL positioning reference signal and reporting of SL positioning measurements. In the present disclosure, followings are provided: the network to (1) configure SL resources for the transmission of positioning reference signals on the SL interface (PC5 interface), (2) configuration of SL resources for reporting SL positioning measurements on the SL interface (PC5 interface). The network configures the SL resources to a first UE, paragraph 117. the SCI is transmitted e.g., on PSCCH and/or PSSCH in the same slot as the SL positioning reference signal, paragraph 238)
a control unit configured to identify symbols used for transmitting the PRS from the resource pool, based on the configuration information; (The resources used for the SCI and the corresponding SL positioning reference signal are time division multiplexed, paragraph 247) and
a transmission unit configured to transmit user data to another terminal by using resource elements that are not in the identified symbols in the resource pool. (the RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling and/or L1 control signaling (e.g., SCI) informing a SL UE receiving or transmitting the SL positioning reference signal about the SL positioning reference signal configuration is transmitted or received in the same resource pool as the SL positioning reference signal, paragraph 234)
With respect to claim 11, Farag teaches wherein the transmission unit transmits SCI indicating transmission of the PRS via a PSCCH. (the SCI is transmitted e.g., on PSCCH and/or PSSCH in the same slot as the SL positioning reference signal, paragraph 238)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Farag et al. (US Publication 2023/0232429) in view of Ren et al. (US Publication 2023/0048608).
With respect to claim 10, Farag doesn’t teach wherein the control unit performs control of not transmitting the PRS in symbols used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), a DM-RS, and an SL CSI-RS
Ren teaches wherein the control unit performs control of not transmitting the PRS in symbols used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), (when the resources occupied by the S-PRS collide with the resource occupied by at least one physical channel of the PSCCH, the PSFCH and the PSBCH, the S-PRS is not transmitted on the collided resource, paragraph 64) a DM-RS, and an SL CSI-RS. (when the resource occupied by the S-PRS collides with the resource occupied by at least one of the SL DMRS, the SL CSI-RS and the SL PT-RS, the S-PRS is not transmitted on the collided resource, paragraph 65)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Farag with performs control of not transmitting the PRS in symbols used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) as taught by Ren. The motivation for combining Farag and Ren is to be able to reduce number of resources collisions.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Farag et al. (US Publication 2023/0232429) in view of Manolakos et al. (US Publication 2025/0048393).
With respect to claim 12, Farag doesn’t teach wherein the SCI is an SCI format 1-A, and the transmission of the PRS is indicated by "11" in a 2nd stage SCI format field in the SCI format 1-A.
Manolakos teaches wherein the SCI is an SCI format 1-A, and the transmission of the PRS is indicated by "11" in a 2nd stage SCI format field in the SCI format 1-A. (The second stage SCI format information of the SCI format 1-A may include 2 bits. In some implementations, a first value (such as “00”) may indicate a second stage SCI format of SCI format 2-A, a second value (such as “01”) may indicate a second stage SCI format of SCI format 2-B, a third value (such as “10”) may be reserved or indicate an SCI format, and a fourth value (such as “11”) may be reserved or indicate an SCI format, paragraph 80. the SCI-1 may indicate the SCI-2 having a format associated with or for SL-PRS scheduling using the second stage sidelink control information format field, paragraph 97)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Farag with the SCI is an SCI format 1-A, and the transmission of the PRS is indicated by "11" in a 2nd stage SCI format field in the SCI format 1-A as taught by Manolakos. The motivation for combining Farag and Manolakos is to be able to have higher capability, higher data rate, higher bandwidth.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shin et al. (US Publication 2024/0414741) discloses a transmission/reception signal time difference of the first terminal on the basis of the second sidelink positioning signal; and measuring terminal positioning on the basis of the transmission/reception signal time difference of the first terminal and the transmission/reception signal time difference of the second terminal, wherein the first sidelink positioning signal can include a first sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS), and the second sidelink positioning signal can include a second S-PRS.
Zhang et al. (US Publication 2024/0334455) discloses a terminal device transmits or receives a first positioning reference signal PRS and first control information on a sidelink, where the first control information indicates the first PRS.
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475