DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 - 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wunderlich et al. (European Patent Application Publication No. EP 2206931 A2) in view of Torii et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 9,790,979 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Wunderlich discloses a screw, comprising a shank (1) which has a tip end (2) and a rear end (3) (Figure 1; paragraph [0025]); a concrete thread (8) disposed on the shank (1) (Figure 1; paragraph [0027]); and a timber thread (7) disposed on the shank (1) (Figure 1; paragraph [0026]); wherein the concrete thread (8) and the timber thread (7) are helically aligned with one another and wherein the concrete thread (8) reaches further to the tip end (2) than the timber thread (7) (Figure 1); wherein the timber thread (7) has an engagement zone (6) which includes at least one turn of the timber thread (7) (Figure 1; paragraph [0026]).
Wunderlich discloses the claimed invention except for wherein in the engagement zone (6) the timber thread (7) becomes wider with decreasing distance from the rear end (3).
Torii is directed to a screw. Torii specifically discloses wherein in the engagement zone the thread becomes wider with decreasing distance from the rear end (See Fig. 4; column 2, line 65 – column 3, line 4; column 3, line 65 – column 4, line 5; thread 62 is closer to the rear end than thread 60, and thread 62 is wider than thread 60).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to modify Wunderlich wherein in the engagement zone the thread becomes wider with decreasing distance from the rear end as taught by Torii, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to a screw. As disclosed by Torii, it is well known for a screw to include an engagement zone in which the thread becomes wider with decreasing distance from the rear end. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wunderlich wherein in the engagement zone the thread becomes wider with decreasing distance from the rear end as taught by Torii, as such a modification would prevent loosening of the screw after installation.
Regarding claim 8, Wunderlich as modified by Torii further discloses wherein in the engagement zone the timber thread gradually becomes wider with decreasing distance from the rear end (See Fig. 4; column 2, line 65 – column 3, line 4 of Torii).
Regarding claim 9, Torii further discloses wherein the timber thread has a timber thread trailing flank which faces the rear end and wherein a pitch of the timber thread trailing flank is generally constant in the engagement zone (Figure 4; column 3, line 65 – column 4, line 5).
Regarding claim 10, Wunderlich further discloses wherein the pitch of the timber thread trailing flank is generally the same as a pitch of the concrete thread (paragraphs [0008], [0009], [0021] and [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Wunderlich further discloses an internal drive head (5) connected to the shank (1) (Figures 1 and 2; paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 12, Wunderlich in view of Torii fails to disclose wherein a ratio of an outer thread diameter of the concrete thread to a pitch of the concrete thread is between 1 and 2 at least in a region of the concrete thread. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a ratio of an outer thread diameter of the concrete thread to a pitch of the concrete thread to be between 1 and 2 at least in a region of the concrete thread, since it has been held that "where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device" Gardner V TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the system of Wunderlich would not operate differently with the claimed relationship between the ratio of an outer thread diameter of the concrete thread to a pitch of the concrete thread. Further, applicant places no criticality on the claimed relationship of the ratio of an outer thread diameter of the concrete thread to a pitch of the concrete thread. In fact, the subject specification discloses that with regard to a ratio of an outer thread diameter of the concrete thread to a pitch of the concrete thread is between 1 and 2 at least in a region of the concrete thread, “[t]hese are typical dimensions for concrete tapping threads” (page 3, lines 14 – 17). Accordingly, it would be obvious for a ratio of an outer thread diameter of the concrete thread to a pitch of the concrete thread to be between 1 and 2 at least in a region of the concrete thread.
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614