DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,313,817. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following.
Application No. 18/844,711
US Patent No. 12,313,817
1. An optical laminate in which
a transparent substrate,
a hard coat layer,
an optically functional layer, and
an antifouling layer are sequentially stacked, wherein the hard coat layer includes fillers, wherein the hard coat layer has a thickness of greater than 1.0 μm and less than 3.0 μm, and wherein a 10-point mean roughness Rz of a surface of the optical laminate is equal to or greater than 19 nm and equal to or less than 100 nm.
Note: the pending claim merely shifts the hard coat thickness to a slightly thinner, adjacent range while keeping the same optical laminate structure, same filler-containing hard coat, and same Rz range. The difference between just below 3 μm and 3 μm or more appears to be a routine optimization of layer thickness to balance scratch resistance and bendability. Pending claim 1’s upper end is less than 3 μm, and the issued patent starts at 3 μm or more. That is a very close boundary, not a fundamentally different laminate architecture.
1. An optical laminate comprising:
a transparent base material;
a hard coat layer;
an optical function layer; and
an anti-fouling layer, which are laminated in that order,
wherein the hard coat layer contains a filler, wherein the hard coat layer has a thickness of 3 μm or more and 25 μm or less,
wherein a 10-point average roughness Rz of a surface of the optical laminate is 19 nm or more and 100 nm or less, and
wherein an apparent average particle diameter of an aggregate of the filler, which is obtained by measuring the surface of the optical laminate with an atomic force microscope, is 150 nm or more and 2200 nm or less.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. US 2022/0317339 in view of Takami WO 2019107036 (citation is provided from the attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ono teaches an optical laminate (see Fig. 1: 10) in which a transparent substrate (1), a hard coat layer (2), an optically functional layer (4), and an antifouling layer (5) are sequentially stacked (see Fig. 1, para 0011 and 0024), wherein the hard coat layer includes fillers (see para 0033), wherein the hard coat layer has a thickness of greater than 1.0 μm and less than 3.0 μm (see para 0011 and 0052: teaches hard coat layer thickness of 3 μm or more and 25 μm), and
wherein a 10-point mean roughness Rz of a surface of the optical laminate is equal to or greater than 19 nm and equal to or less than 100 nm (see para 0086: “The 10-point average roughness Rz of the uppermost surface of the optical laminate 10 is 19 nm or more and 100 nm or less and preferably 40 nm or more and 100 nm or less”).
Ono does not teach wherein the hard coat layer has a thickness of greater than 1.0 μm and less than 3.0 μm.
In the same field of endeavor, Takami teaches a hard coat film and optical laminate in which a hard coat layer is provided on a film substrate and an inorganic thin film is provided on the hard coat layer (see para 0001 and 0006). Takami further teaches that the hard coat layer contains a binder resin and an inorganic filler, and that the hard coat layer thickness is preferably about 1 to 10 μm, including 1 μm or more and more preferably 2 μm or more (see para 0007, 0020 and 0036). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Ono’s hard coat layer thickness to a thickness greater than 1 μm and less than 3 μm, as taught by Takami, because selecting a thickness within the Takami’s disclosed preferred range would have been a routine optimization of a known result-effective variable to obtain suitable surface irregularities, adhesion and film strength.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ono teaches the optical laminate according to claim 1, and Ono further teaches wherein an apparent mean particle size of an aggregate of the fillers which is obtained by measuring the surface of the optical laminate using an atomic force microscope is equal to or greater than 150 nm and equal to or less than 2200 nm (see para 0088).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ono teaches the optical laminate according to claim 1, and Ono further teaches wherein an apparent mean particle size of an aggregate of the fillers which is obtained by measuring a surface of the hard coat layer using an atomic force microscope is equal to or greater than 110 nm and equal to or less than 1600 nm (see para 0042 and 0043).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ono teaches the optical laminate according to claim 1, and Ono further teaches wherein the optically functional layer includes at least a low-refractive-index layer (see para 0061).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ono teaches the optical laminate according to claim 1, and Ono further teaches wherein the optically functional layer comprises a low-refractive-index layer and a high-refractive-index layer which are alternately stacked (see Fig. 1 and para 0059).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ono teaches the optical laminate according to claim 1, and Ono further teaches wherein a value of a water contact angle after 2000 cycles of a steel-wool sliding test is equal to or greater than 80% of the value of the water contact angle before the steel-wool sliding test (see para 0016, 0089).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ono teaches the optical laminate according to claim 1, and Ono further teaches wherein the antifouling layer includes a fluorine-based compound (see para 0070, 0071).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ono teaches an article comprising the optical laminate according to claim 1 (see para 0002 of Ono).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ono teaches an image display device, comprising: a screen; and the optical laminate according to claim 1 that is formed on a surface of the screen (see para 0019 of Ono).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono and Tamaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobayashi US 2022/0357485.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ono teaches the optical laminate according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein a minimum value of a diameter of a mandrel at the time of bending in which no crack is generated is equal to or less than 7 mm when the optical laminate is bent by 180° such that the antifouling layer faces inward using a bending test machine based on JIS K5600-5-1.
Kobayashi expressly teaches that the antireflection film preferably passes a bending test by cylindrical mandrel method according to JIS K5600-5-1 with a mandrel diameter of 7 mm or less, more preferably 6 mm or less (see para 0037). Kobayashi further teaches that, in flexibility test, samples without crack in the test using mandrel diameters of 6 mm or less were evaluated as good (see para 0089). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the optical laminate of Ono as modified by Tamaki with the claimed bending test standard as taught by Kobayashi because selecting layer thickness and materials to prevent cracking at a mandrel diameter 7 mm or less would have been an obvious design modification to provide bendability/flexibility for foldable display use.
Conclusion
/EPHREM Z MEBRAHTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872