DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot based on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hittel, publication number: US 2018/0288087 in view of Al-Harbi, publication number: US 2012/0180133.
As per claims 1, 9 and 10, Hittel teaches a computer-implemented method of simulating the propagation of malware in a network, the method comprising:
accessing a model of the network, the model comprising a plurality of computer nodes, each computer node of the plurality of computer nodes being connected to at least one edge of a plurality of edges, wherein each edge of the plurality of edges connects a pair of computer nodes of the plurality of computer nodes (network model with nodes and edges, Fig. 6, [0086-0087][0116]);
initiating an outbreak of the malware in the model at a predetermined source computer node of the plurality of computer nodes (Simulation, [0022], user zero, [0026]); and
propagating the malware through the model of the network from the source computer node, the propagation being determined based on a rate of transmission, wherein the rate of transmission is based upon a contact rate for each edge of the plurality of edges (simulation based on connection privileges of nodes connected to an edge, [0103][0107][0045][0094]);
Hittel does not teach wherein the contact rates vary individually for each edge in the network; and
The contact rate for each edge of the plurality of edges is based upon a contact size of network traffic passing between the computer nodes connected by the edge over a predetermined time period, the contact size for an edge comprising a measure of an amount, degree, or timing of the network traffic passing between the computer nodes connected by that particular edge over the predetermined time period.
In an analogous art, Al-Harbi teaches wherein the contact rates vary individually for each edge in the network; and
The contact rate for each edge of the plurality of edges is based upon a contact size of network traffic passing between the computer nodes connected by the edge over a predetermined time period, the contact size for an edge comprising a measure of an amount, degree, or timing of the network traffic passing between the computer nodes connected by that particular edge over the predetermined time period (determining node susceptibility based on network topology and traffic analysis, [0016][0020][0053], analysis being periodic, [0023][0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hittel’s malware simulation system to include susceptibility based classification of nodes as described in Al-Harbi’s risk assessment system for the advantages of prioritizing system resources or actions during a breach.
As per claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the contact rate for each edge of the plurality of edges is based at least upon the amount of data passing along the corresponding edge over the predetermined time period (Al-Harbi: determining node susceptibility based on network topology and traffic analysis, [0016][0020][0053]).
As per claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the contact rate for each edge of the plurality of edges is based at least upon the number of packets of data passing along the corresponding edge over the predetermined time period (Al-Harbi: determining node susceptibility based on network topology and traffic analysis, [0016][0020][0053]).
As per claim 4, the combination teaches wherein the contact rate for each edge of the plurality of edges is based at least upon one or more ports of the computer nodes, the one or more ports being used for the network traffic passing between the computer nodes connected by that edge over a predetermined time period (Al-Harbi: determining node susceptibility based on network topology and traffic analysis, [0016][0020][0053]).
As per claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the contact rate for each edge of the plurality of edges is based at least upon the how recently data has passed along the corresponding edge over the predetermined time period (Al-Harbi: determining node susceptibility based on network topology and traffic analysis, [0016][0020][0053]).
As per claim 6, the combination teaches wherein the rate of transmission for each edge of the plurality of edges is at least partially determined according to a decaying exponential function;
wherein the decaying exponential function is defined by the contact rate being based upon the how recently data has passed along the corresponding edge over the predetermined time period (Al-Harbi: determining node susceptibility based on network topology and traffic analysis, [0016][0020][0053], analysis being periodic, [0023][0025]).
As per claim 7, the combination teaches comprising:
simulating a propagation of the malware through the set of computer systems using a model of the set of computer systems, wherein the simulating comprises the method of claim 1; and
identifying one or more malware protection measures to be deployed to one or more of the set of computer systems based on the simulating (Hittel: security actions, [0154], Al-Harbi: topology, [0016], mitigation, [0021]).
As per claim 8, the combination teaches comprising: deploying the one or more malware protection measures to the one or more computer systems (Hittel: security actions, [0154], Al-Harbi: topology, [0016], mitigation, [0021]).
Claims 11-15 are rejected based on claims 2-6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494