CTNF 18/844,754 CTNF 85472 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Claims 4-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant further elected subspecies IIa, however an election between subspecies IIa and IIb were only required if Applicant elected species II. Since Applicant elected Species III, the claims associated with the subspecies IIa and IIb will also be withdrawn as these claim limitations are not present in the embodiment of elected species III. Specifically, subspecies IIa (claim 5) requires increasing the cooling power according to a change in temperature detected by a tray sensor. Elected species III is based on a difference value between a temperature of liquid supplied to the cell and a temperature of the tray detected by the temperature sensor. The temperature of the tray need not change and may in fact be constant while the temperature of the supply water changes only. Thus claim 5 is directed to a non-elected invention of species II figure 16. Similarly, subspecies IIb (claim 6) requires the cooling power of the cooler is determined based on a temperature detected by a space temperature sensor and not a difference value between a temperature of liquid supplied to the cell and a temperature of the tray detected by the temperature sensor. Thus claim 6 is directed to a non-elected invention of species II figure 16. Further, species I (claim 4) requires the controller is configured to gradually increase the cooling power of the cooler based on an elapse of time and is not based on a difference value between a temperature of liquid supplied to the cell and a temperature of the tray detected by the temperature sensor as required by the elected Species III. Accordingly, claims 4-6 are withdrawn from consideration. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by US2010/0326093 to Watson et al., hereinafter referred to as Watson . In reference to claim 1, Watson discloses the claimed invention including: An ice making device (100) comprising: a tray (120) provided in an ice making chamber (30) and having a cell (133) for generating ice; a cooler (150) configured to provide cold for ice generation in the cell in an ice making process; and a controller (305) configured to control the cooler [0049]. In reference to claim 2, Watson discloses the claimed invention including: the controller is configured to increase a cooling power of the cooler so that an ice making speed increases after supplying the cold to the tray [0053]. In reference to claim 3, Watson discloses the claimed invention including: the controller is configured to gradually increase the cooling power of the cooler [0061]. Increasing the compressor speed rate from low to medium, then medium to high is considered to be a gradual increase since it occurs incrementally. In reference to claim 16, Watson discloses the claimed invention including: An ice making device (100) comprising: a tray (120) having a cell (133) for generating ice and provided in an ice making chamber; a cooler (150) configured to provide cold to the tray for generating the ice in the cell in an ice making process; a temperature sensor (218) for detecting a temperature of the tray (120, see figure 6); and a controller (305) configured to control the cooler [0049] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson in view of KR20150115320 to Shin, hereinafter referred to as Shin, (see English language translation provided herewith) . In reference to claim 17, Watson and Shin disclose the claimed invention. Watson fails to disclose the controller is configured to adjust a cooling power of the cooler based on a difference value between a temperature of liquid supplied to the cell and a temperature of the tray detected by the temperature sensor. Shin directed to the analogous art of ice making, teaches that it is a known method to adjust the cooling power of a refrigeration system for supplying cold to an ice maker based on a difference value between a temperature of liquid supplied to the cell and a temperature of the tray detected by the temperature sensor. See claim 2 (see underlined portion of page 10 of the English language translation) where control to increase the cooling power of the compressor is performed when a water temperature in the water receiver and a temperature difference between the evaporator surface (analogous to the tray temperature) and the water receiver (analogous to the water supply) are within a predetermined reference value. Shin teaches at the underlined portion of page 2 of the English language translation, that when the temperature difference between the water and the evaporator, the more the ice produced between the irrigation tubes had a variation in thickness and transparency. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, to modify Watson by Shin such that, the controller is configured to adjust a cooling power of the cooler based on a difference value between a temperature of liquid supplied to the cell and a temperature of the tray detected by the temperature sensor in order to advantageously reduce the temperature difference between the tray and the water to provide a more uniform thickness and transparency across the entire tray . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 18-20 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CASSEY D BAUER whose telephone number is (571)270-7113. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs: 10AM-8PM (ET). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CASSEY D BAUER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/844,754 Page 2 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/844,754 Page 3 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/844,754 Page 4 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/844,754 Page 5 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/844,754 Page 6 Art Unit: 3763