DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-30 have been examined and are pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: CHANNEL STATE REFERENCE INFORMATION REFERENCE SIGNAL MEASUREMENT AND REPORTING USING SPATIAL RECEIVER FILTERS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 10, 21, 25, 26, 30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1)
In regards to claim 1, YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) teaches a user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communication, the UE comprising:
a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory and configured to (“[0202] A program running on an apparatus according to an aspect of the present invention may serve as a program that controls a Central Processing Unit (CPU) and the like to cause a computer to function in such a manner as to realize the functions of the embodiment according to the aspect of the present invention. Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily stored in a volatile memory such as a Random Access Memory (RAM), a non-volatile memory such as a flash memory, a Hard Disk Drive (HDD), or any other storage device system.”):
receive, via a transceiver communicatively coupled to the processor, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration message configuring a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set with a parameter repetition set to on (“[0009] A terminal apparatus according to an aspect of the present invention is a terminal apparatus for communicating with a base station apparatus, the terminal apparatus including: a higher layer processing unit configured to be configured with a channel state information (CSI) report configuration… [0085] The CSI-RS resource set configuration includes a part or all of information indicating a CSI-RS resource set configuration ID, resource repetition, and/or one or more CSI-RS resources. The resource set configuration ID is used to identify the CSI-RS resource set configuration. The resource repetition indicates on/off of resource repetition within the resource set. The resource repetition being on means that the base station apparatus uses a fixed (identical) transmit beam for each of multiple CSI-RS resources in the resource set. In other words, in a case that the resource repetition is on, the terminal apparatus assumes that the base station apparatus uses a fixed (identical) transmit beam for each of multiple CSI-RS resources in the resource set.”);
measure one or more CSI-RS resources of the CSI-RS resource set utilizing a plurality of spatial receiver (Rx) filters (“[0149] The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in a resource configured in accordance with the CSI resource configuration, calculates the CSI or RSRP from the CSI-RS, and reports the CSI or RSRP to the base station apparatus…On the other hand, a preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus can be determined using a CSI-RS resource to which the transmit beam for the base station apparatus is fixed. For example, in a case that the CSI-RS resource configuration includes multiple CSI-RS resource configurations and/or the resource repetition is on, the terminal apparatus can determine a preferable receive beam direction from the CSI-RS received in each different receive beam direction in each CSI-RS resource. Note that the terminal apparatus may report CSI-RSRP after determining the preferable receive beam direction. Note that in a case of including multiple subarrays, the terminal apparatus can select a preferable subarray in determining the preferable receive beam direction. Note that the preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus may be associated with CRI…”); and
transmit, via the transceiver, a CSI report according to the CSI report configuration message, the CSI report comprising signal quality measurement information based on the measuring of the one or more CSI-RS resources (“[0149] The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in a resource configured in accordance with the CSI resource configuration, calculates the CSI or RSRP from the CSI-RS, and reports the CSI or RSRP to the base station apparatus…On the other hand, a preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus can be determined using a CSI-RS resource to which the transmit beam for the base station apparatus is fixed. For example, in a case that the CSI-RS resource configuration includes multiple CSI-RS resource configurations and/or the resource repetition is on, the terminal apparatus can determine a preferable receive beam direction from the CSI-RS received in each different receive beam direction in each CSI-RS resource. Note that the terminal apparatus may report CSI-RSRP after determining the preferable receive beam direction. Note that in a case of including multiple subarrays, the terminal apparatus can select a preferable subarray in determining the preferable receive beam direction. Note that the preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus may be associated with CRI…In a case that the terminal apparatus reports multiple pieces of CRI, the base station apparatus can fix the transmit beam to the CSI-RS resource associated with each piece of CRI, At this time, the terminal apparatus can determine the preferable receive beam direction for each piece of CRI.”)
In regards to claim 21, YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) teaches a method of wireless communication operable at a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration message configuring a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set with a parameter repetition set to on (“[0009] A terminal apparatus according to an aspect of the present invention is a terminal apparatus for communicating with a base station apparatus, the terminal apparatus including: a higher layer processing unit configured to be configured with a channel state information (CSI) report configuration… [0085] The CSI-RS resource set configuration includes a part or all of information indicating a CSI-RS resource set configuration ID, resource repetition, and/or one or more CSI-RS resources. The resource set configuration ID is used to identify the CSI-RS resource set configuration. The resource repetition indicates on/off of resource repetition within the resource set. The resource repetition being on means that the base station apparatus uses a fixed (identical) transmit beam for each of multiple CSI-RS resources in the resource set. In other words, in a case that the resource repetition is on, the terminal apparatus assumes that the base station apparatus uses a fixed (identical) transmit beam for each of multiple CSI-RS resources in the resource set.”);
measuring one or more CSI-RS resources of the CSI-RS resource set utilizing a plurality of spatial receiver (Rx) filters, the plurality of spatial Rx filters being either ordered by a radio access network (RAN) or reported by the UE (“[0149] The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in a resource configured in accordance with the CSI resource configuration, calculates the CSI or RSRP from the CSI-RS, and reports the CSI or RSRP to the base station apparatus…On the other hand, a preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus can be determined using a CSI-RS resource to which the transmit beam for the base station apparatus is fixed. For example, in a case that the CSI-RS resource configuration includes multiple CSI-RS resource configurations and/or the resource repetition is on, the terminal apparatus can determine a preferable receive beam direction from the CSI-RS received in each different receive beam direction in each CSI-RS resource. Note that the terminal apparatus may report CSI-RSRP after determining the preferable receive beam direction. Note that in a case of including multiple subarrays, the terminal apparatus can select a preferable subarray in determining the preferable receive beam direction. Note that the preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus may be associated with CRI…”); and
transmitting a CSI report according to the CSI report configuration message, the CSI report comprising signal quality measurement information based on the measuring of the one or more CSI-RS resources (“[0149] The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in a resource configured in accordance with the CSI resource configuration, calculates the CSI or RSRP from the CSI-RS, and reports the CSI or RSRP to the base station apparatus…On the other hand, a preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus can be determined using a CSI-RS resource to which the transmit beam for the base station apparatus is fixed. For example, in a case that the CSI-RS resource configuration includes multiple CSI-RS resource configurations and/or the resource repetition is on, the terminal apparatus can determine a preferable receive beam direction from the CSI-RS received in each different receive beam direction in each CSI-RS resource. Note that the terminal apparatus may report CSI-RSRP after determining the preferable receive beam direction. Note that in a case of including multiple subarrays, the terminal apparatus can select a preferable subarray in determining the preferable receive beam direction. Note that the preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus may be associated with CRI…In a case that the terminal apparatus reports multiple pieces of CRI, the base station apparatus can fix the transmit beam to the CSI-RS resource associated with each piece of CRI, At this time, the terminal apparatus can determine the preferable receive beam direction for each piece of CRI.”)
In regards to claim 5, YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, via the transceiver, a set of CSI-RS resource identifiers (CRIs) associated with the CSI-RS resource set, for identifying the one or more CSI-RS resources of the CSI-RS resource set (See, [YAMADA, Abstract, Par. 9] also see, See where YAMADA recites “[0154] In a case that multiple resource configurations are configured (for example, in a case that the configuration information 3 described above is configured), the CSI configuration information may include information indicating whether the CSI includes one CRI or CRIs for each of the multiple resource configurations. In a case that the CSI includes one CRI, the CSI configuration information may include a resource configuration ID from which the CRI has been calculated. The CSI configuration information allows the base station apparatus to recognize on what assumption the terminal apparatus has calculated the CSI or which resource configuration has high reception quality.”).
In regards to claim 25, YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: receiving a set of CSI-RS resource identifiers (CRIs) associated with the CSI-RS resource set, for identifying the one or more CSI-RS resources of the CSI-RS resource set(See, [YAMADA, Abstract, Par. 9] also see, See where YAMADA recites “[0154] In a case that multiple resource configurations are configured (for example, in a case that the configuration information 3 described above is configured), the CSI configuration information may include information indicating whether the CSI includes one CRI or CRIs for each of the multiple resource configurations. In a case that the CSI includes one CRI, the CSI configuration information may include a resource configuration ID from which the CRI has been calculated. The CSI configuration information allows the base station apparatus to recognize on what assumption the terminal apparatus has calculated the CSI or which resource configuration has high reception quality.”).
In regards to claim 6, YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: select the one or more CSI-RS resources of the CSI-RS resource set for reporting the signal quality measurement information (See where it recites, “[0149]…On the other hand, a preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus can be determined using a CSI-RS resource to which the transmit beam for the base station apparatus is fixed. For example, in a case that the CSI-RS resource configuration includes multiple CSI-RS resource configurations and/or the resource repetition is on, the terminal apparatus can determine a preferable receive beam direction from the CSI-RS received in each different receive beam direction in each CSI-RS resource. Note that the terminal apparatus may report CSI-RSRP after determining the preferable receive beam direction…”).
In regards to claim 26, YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: selecting the one or more CSI-RS resources of the CSI-RS resource set for reporting the signal quality measurement information (See where it recites, “[0149]…On the other hand, a preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus can be determined using a CSI-RS resource to which the transmit beam for the base station apparatus is fixed. For example, in a case that the CSI-RS resource configuration includes multiple CSI-RS resource configurations and/or the resource repetition is on, the terminal apparatus can determine a preferable receive beam direction from the CSI-RS received in each different receive beam direction in each CSI-RS resource. Note that the terminal apparatus may report CSI-RSRP after determining the preferable receive beam direction…”).
In regards to claim 10, YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the signal quality measurement information comprises at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINR) (“[0149] The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in a resource configured in accordance with the CSI resource configuration, calculates the CSI or RSRP from the CSI-RS, and reports the CSI or RSRP to the base station apparatus…On the other hand, a preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus can be determined using a CSI-RS resource to which the transmit beam for the base station apparatus is fixed. For example, in a case that the CSI-RS resource configuration includes multiple CSI-RS resource configurations and/or the resource repetition is on, the terminal apparatus can determine a preferable receive beam direction from the CSI-RS received in each different receive beam direction in each CSI-RS resource. Note that the terminal apparatus may report CSI-RSRP after determining the preferable receive beam direction. Note that in a case of including multiple subarrays, the terminal apparatus can select a preferable subarray in determining the preferable receive beam direction. Note that the preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus may be associated with CRI…”).
In regards to claim 30, YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the signal quality measurement information comprises at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINR) (“[0149] The terminal apparatus receives the CSI-RS in a resource configured in accordance with the CSI resource configuration, calculates the CSI or RSRP from the CSI-RS, and reports the CSI or RSRP to the base station apparatus…On the other hand, a preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus can be determined using a CSI-RS resource to which the transmit beam for the base station apparatus is fixed. For example, in a case that the CSI-RS resource configuration includes multiple CSI-RS resource configurations and/or the resource repetition is on, the terminal apparatus can determine a preferable receive beam direction from the CSI-RS received in each different receive beam direction in each CSI-RS resource. Note that the terminal apparatus may report CSI-RSRP after determining the preferable receive beam direction. Note that in a case of including multiple subarrays, the terminal apparatus can select a preferable subarray in determining the preferable receive beam direction. Note that the preferable receive beam direction of the terminal apparatus may be associated with CRI…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 27, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) in view of AHMED SALEM (“US 12004146 B2”)
In regards to claim 7, YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein the CSI report configuration message comprises a plurality of sub-groups of the CSI-RS resources in the CSI-RS resource set, wherein the one or more CSI-RS resources correspond to a selected sub-group of the plurality of sub-groups (See where it recites, “[0149]…To avoid this problem, for example, the base station apparatus groups the multiple CSI-RS resources configured, and determines the CRI by using the same subarray within the group. By using different subarrays among the groups, the base station apparatus can recognize multiple pieces of CR I that can be configured with the same timing. Note that a group of CSI-RS resources may include CSI-RS resources configured with the CSI resource configuration or the CSI-RS resource set configuration.”), and
The resource management feature of YAMADA differs from that of claim 7, in that YAMADA is silent on wherein the CSI report further comprises a sub-group identifier for identifying the selected sub-group. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of sub-groups of CSI resources.
AHMED SALEM (“US 12004146 B2”) for example teaches an identifier, CSI resource group index, for identifying a selected sub-group (See [Column, 9, Line(s) 44 - 50] “(71) In some embodiments, different CSI-RS resource groups may be updated with different periodicities. This can be achieved, for example, when the update message inside MAC-CE or DCI contains the CSI-RS resource group index which needs to be updated. Or, if inside RRC configuration, different group of resources may be assigned different update periodicities.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of AHMED SALEM it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI resource subgrouping feature of YAMADA, by using an index to identify a selected subgroup as similarly seen in AHEMD SALEM, to thus arrive at claim 7, in order to take advantage of the utilizing of identifier/index for the benefit of distinguishing between different CSI resource subgroups.
In regards to claim 27, YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) teaches the method of claim 26, wherein the CSI report configuration message comprises a plurality of sub-groups of the CSI-RS resources in the CSI-RS resource set, wherein the one or more CSI-RS resources correspond to a selected sub-group of the plurality of sub-groups (See where it recites, “[0149]…To avoid this problem, for example, the base station apparatus groups the multiple CSI-RS resources configured, and determines the CRI by using the same subarray within the group. By using different subarrays among the groups, the base station apparatus can recognize multiple pieces of CR I that can be configured with the same timing. Note that a group of CSI-RS resources may include CSI-RS resources configured with the CSI resource configuration or the CSI-RS resource set configuration.”), and
The resource management feature of YAMADA differs from that of claim 27, in that YAMADA is silent on wherein the CSI report further comprises a sub-group identifier for identifying the selected sub-group. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of sub-groups of CSI resources.
AHMED SALEM (“US 12004146 B2”) for example teaches an identifier, CSI resource group index, for identifying a selected sub-group (See [Column, 9, Line(s) 44 - 50] “(71) In some embodiments, different CSI-RS resource groups may be updated with different periodicities. This can be achieved, for example, when the update message inside MAC-CE or DCI contains the CSI-RS resource group index which needs to be updated. Or, if inside RRC configuration, different group of resources may be assigned different update periodicities.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of AHMED SALEM it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI resource subgrouping feature of YAMADA, by using an index to identify a selected subgroup as similarly seen in AHEMD SALEM, to thus arrive at claim 27, in order to take advantage of the utilizing of identifier/index for the benefit of distinguishing between different CSI resource subgroups.
Claim(s) 8-9, 28-29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) in view of MATSUMURA (US 20220150745 A1).
In regards to claim 8, YAMADA is silent on the UE of claim 1, wherein the CSI report configuration message comprises a quantity of signal qualities for the UE to report in the signal quality measurement information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving CSI reports.
MATSUMURA (US 20220150745 A1) teaches a feature where a configuration message comprises a quantity of signal qualities for a UE to report as signal quality measurement information and transmitting UE capability information indicating a maximum quantity of signal qualities that a UE is capable of reporting as signal quality measurement information (“[0031] The UE may be notified of information relating to CSI reporting (which may be referred to as “CSI reporting configuration information”) by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling (for example, downlink control information (DCI)), or a combination thereof. The CSI reporting configuration information may be configured by using an RRC information element “CSI-ReportConfig,” for example… [0043] The CSI reporting configuration information (CSI-ReportConfig) may contain a “report quantity” (which may be represented as an RRC parameter “reportQuantity”) being information of a parameter to be reported. The report quantity is defined by the type of ASN. 1 object: “choice.” Thus, one of parameters (cri-RSRP, ssb-Index-RSRP, and so on) defined as report quantities is configured… [0131] The UE capability information may contain the value of the numbers of L1-SINRs to be reported (for example, the maximum number of L1-SINRs to be reported). The UE may not assume reporting L1-SINRs in the number more than the value (may not expect that reporting L1-SINRs in the number more than the value is configured).”)
Thus based upon the teachings of MATSUMURA it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI Reporting feature of YAMADA, such that the CSI report configuration message comprises a quantify of signal quantities for the UE to report in the signal quality measurement information as similarly seen in YAMADA to thus arrive at claim 8, in order to provide a benefit of an efficient and flexible, signal quality measurement.
In regards to claim 28, YAMADA is silent on the method of claim 21, wherein the CSI report configuration message comprises a quantity of signal qualities for the UE to report in the signal quality measurement information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving CSI reports.
MATSUMURA (US 20220150745 A1) teaches a feature where a configuration message comprises a quantity of signal qualities for a UE to report as signal quality measurement information and transmitting UE capability information indicating a maximum quantity of signal qualities that a UE is capable of reporting as signal quality measurement information (“[0031] The UE may be notified of information relating to CSI reporting (which may be referred to as “CSI reporting configuration information”) by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling (for example, downlink control information (DCI)), or a combination thereof. The CSI reporting configuration information may be configured by using an RRC information element “CSI-ReportConfig,” for example… [0043] The CSI reporting configuration information (CSI-ReportConfig) may contain a “report quantity” (which may be represented as an RRC parameter “reportQuantity”) being information of a parameter to be reported. The report quantity is defined by the type of ASN. 1 object: “choice.” Thus, one of parameters (cri-RSRP, ssb-Index-RSRP, and so on) defined as report quantities is configured… [0131] The UE capability information may contain the value of the numbers of L1-SINRs to be reported (for example, the maximum number of L1-SINRs to be reported). The UE may not assume reporting L1-SINRs in the number more than the value (may not expect that reporting L1-SINRs in the number more than the value is configured).”)
Thus based upon the teachings of MATSUMURA it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI Reporting feature of YAMADA, such that the CSI report configuration message comprises a quantify of signal quantities for the UE to report in the signal quality measurement information as similarly seen in YAMADA to thus arrive at claim 28, in order to provide a benefit of an efficient and flexible, signal quality measurement.
In regards to claim 29, YAMADA in view of MATSUMURA suggest the method of claim 28, further comprising: transmitting UE capability information for indicating a maximum quantity of signal qualities that the UE is capable of reporting in the signal quality measurement information. YAMADA is silent on the UE of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, UE capability information for indicating a maximum quantity of signal qualities that the UE is capable of reporting in the signal quality measurement information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving CSI reports.
MATSUMURA (US 20220150745 A1) teaches a feature where a configuration message comprises a quantity of signal qualities for a UE to report as signal quality measurement information and transmitting UE capability information indicating a maximum quantity of signal qualities that a UE is capable of reporting as signal quality measurement information (“[0031] The UE may be notified of information relating to CSI reporting (which may be referred to as “CSI reporting configuration information”) by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling (for example, downlink control information (DCI)), or a combination thereof. The CSI reporting configuration information may be configured by using an RRC information element “CSI-ReportConfig,” for example… [0043] The CSI reporting configuration information (CSI-ReportConfig) may contain a “report quantity” (which may be represented as an RRC parameter “reportQuantity”) being information of a parameter to be reported. The report quantity is defined by the type of ASN. 1 object: “choice.” Thus, one of parameters (cri-RSRP, ssb-Index-RSRP, and so on) defined as report quantities is configured… [0131] The UE capability information may contain the value of the numbers of L1-SINRs to be reported (for example, the maximum number of L1-SINRs to be reported). The UE may not assume reporting L1-SINRs in the number more than the value (may not expect that reporting L1-SINRs in the number more than the value is configured).”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of MATSUMURA it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI Reporting feature of YAMADA, such that the processor is further configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, UE capability information for indicating a maximum quantity of signal qualities that the UE is capable of reporting in the signal quality measurement information, as similarly seen in YAMADA, to thus arrive at claim 29, in order to provide a benefit of an efficient and flexible, signal quality measurement.
In regards to claim 9 YAMADA in view of MATSUMURA suggest the UE of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, UE capability information for indicating a maximum quantity of signal qualities that the UE is capable of reporting in the signal quality measurement information. YAMADA is silent on the UE of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, UE capability information for indicating a maximum quantity of signal qualities that the UE is capable of reporting in the signal quality measurement information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving CSI reports.
MATSUMURA (US 20220150745 A1) teaches a feature where a configuration message comprises a quantity of signal qualities for a UE to report as signal quality measurement information and transmitting UE capability information indicating a maximum quantity of signal qualities that a UE is capable of reporting as signal quality measurement information (“[0031] The UE may be notified of information relating to CSI reporting (which may be referred to as “CSI reporting configuration information”) by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling (for example, downlink control information (DCI)), or a combination thereof. The CSI reporting configuration information may be configured by using an RRC information element “CSI-ReportConfig,” for example… [0043] The CSI reporting configuration information (CSI-ReportConfig) may contain a “report quantity” (which may be represented as an RRC parameter “reportQuantity”) being information of a parameter to be reported. The report quantity is defined by the type of ASN. 1 object: “choice.” Thus, one of parameters (cri-RSRP, ssb-Index-RSRP, and so on) defined as report quantities is configured… [0131] The UE capability information may contain the value of the numbers of L1-SINRs to be reported (for example, the maximum number of L1-SINRs to be reported). The UE may not assume reporting L1-SINRs in the number more than the value (may not expect that reporting L1-SINRs in the number more than the value is configured).”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of MATSUMURA it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI Reporting feature of YAMADA, such that the processor is further configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, UE capability information for indicating a maximum quantity of signal qualities that the UE is capable of reporting in the signal quality measurement information, as similarly seen in YAMADA, to thus arrive at claim 9, in order to provide a benefit of an efficient and flexible, signal quality measurement.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMADA (US 20210175937 A1) in view of BAI (US 20220322072 A1).
In regards to claim 11, YAMADA is silent on the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, UE capability information for indicating that the UE supports reporting the signal quality measurement information in association with the one or more CSI-RS resources when the parameter repetition is set to on.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving CSI resource management. BAI (US 20220322072 A1) teaches a feature for transmitting UE capability information, where the UE capability information indicates that the UE supports reporting signal quality measurement information with one or more resources when a parameter repetition is set to on (“[0112] Referring to FIGS. 4-5, in some designs, the indication of the UE capability indicates whether the UE supports as a respective QCL source RS type: [0113] channel state information RS (CSI-RS) for beam management (BM), including periodic RS, semi-persistent CSI RS, aperiodic CSI RS, and CSI RS with RRC parameter repetition ‘ON’ for UE side beam refinement; [0114] CSI-RS for non-BM (e.g., one or more of CSI-RS for tracking, CSI-RS for CSI acquisition, CSI-RS for interference management, CSI-RS for mobility, or a combination thereof), [0115] sounding reference signal (SRS) resource or resource set for BM; [0116] SRS or SRS resource set for non-BM (e.g., antenna switching, codebook-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), non-codebook-based PUSCH, or a combination thereof), [0117] SSB for BM or non-BM, or [0118] an RS for positioning (RS-P) (e.g., DL-PRS, UL-SRS-P, SL-PRS, etc.), [0119] or a combination thereof.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of BAI (US 20220322072 A1) it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI Reporting feature of YAMADA, such that the processor is further configured to transmit, via the transceiver, UE capability information for indicating that the UE supports reporting the signal quality measurement information in association with the one or more CSI-RS resources when the parameter repetition is set to on, as similarly seen in BAI to thus arrive at claim 11, in order to provide a benefit of an efficient and flexible, signal quality measurement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 12-20 are allowed.
Claim(s) 2-4 and 22-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476