DETAILED ACTION
The applicant filed preliminary amendment in 09/06/2022 and claims 1-9, 11-14, 17 and 21-26 are pending in the application, including independent claims 1, 11, 17 and 21.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-14, 17 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn et al. [hereinafter as Hahn] US 2022/0294570 A1 in view of Kim et al. [hereinafter as Kim] US 2021/0203453 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Hahn discloses wherein a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig.2&16 [0069][0219]-[0222], user equipment UE terminal for wireless communication), the UE comprising:
at least one memory (Fig.2-3 [0066]-[0068 7], a memory 320); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (Fig.2-3 [0066]-[0068 9], a processor 310 coupled with the memory 320 and configured to cause the UE terminal to):
establish a configuration of multiple physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) symbols within a PSFCH period (Fig.16 [0219]-[0222], receive/establish PSFCH configuration information for plurality of PSFCHs e.g., PSFCH #1 and #2 configured with a plurality of symbols within a PSFCH duration i.e., PSFCH period); and
transmit PSFCH information based at least in part on the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period (Fig.2&16 [0220]-[0222], transmit the PSFCH information as ACK/NACK feedback scheme based on the plurality of PSFCHs symbols within the PSFCH period/PSFCH duration in Table 11&12 and Fig.16 [0233]-[0234], sending a PSFCH information e.g., sub-sequences of HARQ responses in feedback resource region based on the plurality of PSFCHs symbols in Table 16 and Fig.11A-B [0160], Fig.12A-B [0174]).
Even though Hahn discloses wherein transmit PSFCH information based at least in part on the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein transmit PSFCH information based at least in part on the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period (Fig.14 [0184]-[0188], transmitting a PSFCH including HARQ feedback information based on 4 or 6 consecutive symbols i.e., multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period/ PSFCH occasion and Fig.12&15 [0164], the PSFCH transmission occasion is configured and instructed to the terminal in a predetermined period e.g., periodically allocated and Fig.12&15 [0166]-[0168], transmitting the PSFCH information including the HARQ feedback information, an operation of repeatedly allocating the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period e.g., PSFCH format and Fig.23 [0226]-[0229]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Hahn to incorporate the teaching of Kim in order to provide for improving the performance of conventional sidelink technology developed on the basis of D2D communications. It would have been beneficial to transmit a PSFCH including HARQ feedback information based on 4 or 6 consecutive symbols i.e., multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period/ PSFCH duration, and the PSFCH transmission occasion is configured and instructed to the terminal in a predetermined period e.g., periodically allocated as taught by Kim to have incorporated in the system of Hahn to provide for improving a high frequency efficiency. (Kim, Fig.1 [0057], Fig.12&15 [0164], Fig.12&15 [0166]-[0168], Fig.14 [0184]-[0188] and Fig.23 [0226]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 2, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses to establish the configuration, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a signaling indicating the configuration of the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period (Fig.3&16 [0066]-[0068][0219]-[0222], the processor 310 is configured to cause the UE terminal to receive a signaling indicating the PSFCH configuration information for plurality of PSFCHs e.g., PSFCH #1 and #2 configured with a plurality of symbols within a PSFCH duration i.e., PSFCH period).
Regarding claim 3, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses to establish the configuration, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the configuration of the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period (Fig.3&16 [0066]-[0068][0219]-[0222], the processor 310 is configured to determine the PSFCH configuration information for plurality of PSFCHs e.g., PSFCH #1 and #2 configured with a plurality of symbols within a PSFCH duration i.e., PSFCH period).
Regarding claim 4, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses to a number of the multiple PSFCH symbols is greater than or equal to one and less than or equal to at least one of a number of symbols per slot, or a number of slots per the PSFCH period (Fig.2&16 [0220]-[0222], sl-PSFCH-Period is set in units of slots e.g., a number of slots per the PSFCH period).
Regarding claim 5, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses at least one of: a number of the multiple PSFCH symbols is greater than or equal to one and less than or equal to a number of symbols per the PSFCH period; or the number of the multiple PSFCH symbols is greater than or equal to two and less than or equal to a number of slots per the PSFCH period (Fig.2&16 [0220]-[0222], a number of the multiple PSFCH symbols is greater than or equal to two and less than or equal to sl-PSFCH-Period set in units of slots e.g., a number of slots per the PSFCH period).
Regarding claim 7, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission (Fig.2&16 [0218], the processor is configured to cause the UE terminal to receive a sidelink data e.g., physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission and Fig.2&5-6 [0083], Fig.2&7 [0102]); and transmit the PSFCH information as acknowledgement (ACK) or negative-acknowledgement (NACK) feedback responsive to the received PSSCH transmission (Fig.2&16 [0221]-[0222], transmit the PSFCH information as ACK/NACK feedback scheme responsive to the received sidelink data e.g., PSSCH and Fig.11A-B [0160], Fig.12A-B [0174], Fig.16 [0232]-[0234]).
Regarding claim 8, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses the configuration of the multiple PSFCH symbols maps an increasing PSFCH symbol index to a slot index in a decreasing order in the PSFCH period (Fig.2&16 [0220]-[0222], the configuration of the multiple PSFCH symbols/the PSFCH configuration information on the HARQ feedback scheme is mapping information between the HARQ feedback scheme and the resource pool for an increasing PSFCH symbol index to a slot index in a decreasing order in the PSFCH period and Fig.14 [0211]).
Regarding claim 9, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses the configuration of the multiple PSFCH symbols maps an increasing PSFCH symbol index to a PSFCH symbol of the multiple PSFCH symbols in a decreasing order in the PSFCH period (Fig.2&16 [0220]-[0222], the configuration of the multiple PSFCH symbols/the PSFCH configuration information on the HARQ feedback scheme is mapping information between the HARQ feedback scheme and the resource pool for an increasing PSFCH symbol index to a PSFCH symbol of the multiple PSFCH symbols in a decreasing order in the PSFCH period and Fig.14 [0211]).
Additionally, Kim discloses a first PSFCH symbol of the multiple PSFCH symbols is located at least at one of symbol twelve as a second-to-last symbol of a slot that comprises fourteen symbols, or a last slot of the PSFCH period (Fig.12 [0164]-[0165], a first PSFCH symbol of the multiple PSFCH symbols is located at a last slot of the PSFCH period and Fig.23 [0230]).
Regarding claim 11, Hahn discloses wherein a base station (BS) for wireless
communication (Fig.2&16 [0069][0219]-[0222], base station for wireless communication), the BS comprising:
at least one memory (Fig.2-3 [0066]-[0068], a memory 320); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the BS to (Fig.2-3 [0066]-[0068], a processor 310 coupled with the memory 320 and configured to cause the BS to):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a signaling indicating a configuration of multiple physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) symbols within a PSFCH period (Fig.16 [0219]-[0222], transmitting to the UE terminal, a signaling indicating a PSFCH configuration information for plurality of PSFCHs e.g., PSFCH #1 and #2 configured with a plurality of symbols within a PSFCH duration i.e., PSFCH period); and
receive PSFCH information based at least in part on the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period (Fig.2&16 [0220]-[0222], receive the PSFCH information as ACK/NACK feedback scheme based on the plurality of PSFCHs symbols within the PSFCH period/PSFCH duration in Table 11&12 and Fig.16 [0233]-[0234], obtaining a PSFCH information e.g., sub-sequences of HARQ responses in feedback resource region based on the plurality of PSFCHs symbols within the PSFCH period/PSFCH duration in Table 16 and Fig.11A-B [0160], Fig.12A-B [0174]).
Even though Hahn discloses wherein receive PSFCH information based at least in part on the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein receive PSFCH information based at least in part on the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period (Fig.14 [0184]-[0188], receiving a PSFCH including HARQ feedback information based on 4 or 6 consecutive symbols i.e., multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period/ PSFCH occasion and Fig.12&15 [0164], the PSFCH transmission occasion is configured and instructed to the terminal in a predetermined period e.g., periodically allocated and Fig.12&15 [0166]-[0168], receiving the PSFCH information including the HARQ feedback information, an operation of repeatedly allocating the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period e.g., PSFCH format and Fig.23 [0226]-[0229]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Hahn to incorporate the teaching of Kim in order to provide for improving the performance of conventional sidelink technology developed on the basis of D2D communications. It would have been beneficial to receive a PSFCH including HARQ feedback information based on 4 or 6 consecutive symbols i.e., multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period/ PSFCH duration, and the PSFCH transmission occasion is configured and instructed to the terminal in a predetermined period e.g., periodically allocated as taught by Kim to have incorporated in the system of Hahn to provide for improving a high frequency efficiency. (Kim, Fig.1 [0057], Fig.12&15 [0164], Fig.12&15 [0166]-[0168], Fig.14 [0184]-[0188] and Fig.23 [0226]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 12, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses to a number of the multiple PSFCH symbols is greater than or equal to one and less than or equal to at least one of a number of symbols per slot, or a number of slots per the PSFCH period (Fig.2&16 [0220]-[0222], sl-PSFCH-Period is set in units of slots e.g., a number of slots per the PSFCH period).
Regarding claim 13, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses at least one of: a number of the multiple PSFCH symbols is greater than or equal to one and less than or equal to a number of symbols per the PSFCH period; or the number of the multiple PSFCH symbols is greater than or equal to two and less than or equal to a number of slots per the PSFCH period (Fig.2&16 [0220]-[0222], a number of the multiple PSFCH symbols is greater than or equal to two and less than or equal to sl-PSFCH-Period set in units of slots e.g., a number of slots per the PSFCH period).
Regarding claim 14, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses the at least one processor is configured to cause the BS to transmit a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission (Fig.2&16 [0218], the processor is configured to cause the BS base station to transmit a sidelink data e.g., physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission and Fig.2&5-6 [0083], Fig.2&7 [0102]); and receive the PSFCH information as acknowledgement (ACK) or negative-acknowledgement (NACK) feedback responsive to the PSSCH transmission (Fig.2&16 [0221]-[0222], receive the PSFCH information as ACK/NACK feedback scheme responsive to the sidelink data e.g., PSSCH and Fig.11A-B [0160], Fig.12A-B [0174], Fig.16 [0232]-[0234]).
Regarding claim 17, Hahn discloses wherein a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.2&16 [0069][0219]-[0222], a method performed by a user equipment UE), the method comprising:
establishing a configuration of multiple physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) symbols within a PSFCH period (Fig.16 [0219]-[0222], receive/establish PSFCH configuration information for plurality of PSFCHs e.g., PSFCH #1 and #2 configured with a plurality of symbols within a PSFCH duration i.e., PSFCH period); and
transmitting PSFCH information based at least in part on the multiple PSFCH
symbols within the PSFCH period (Fig.2&16 [0220]-[0222], transmit the PSFCH information as ACK/NACK feedback scheme based on the plurality of PSFCHs symbols within the PSFCH period/PSFCH duration in Table 11&12 and Fig.16 [0233]-[0234], transmitting a PSFCH information e.g., sub-sequences of HARQ responses in feedback resource region based on the plurality of PSFCHs symbols in Table 16 and Fig.11A-B [0160], Fig.12A-B [0174]).
Even though Hahn discloses wherein transmitting PSFCH information based at least in part on the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein transmitting PSFCH information based at least in part on the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period (Fig.14 [0184]-[0188], transmitting a PSFCH including HARQ feedback information based on 4 or 6 consecutive symbols i.e., multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period/ PSFCH occasion and Fig.12&15 [0164], the PSFCH transmission occasion is configured and instructed to the terminal in a predetermined period e.g., periodically allocated and Fig.12&15 [0166]-[0168], transmitting the PSFCH information including the HARQ feedback information, an operation of repeatedly allocating the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period e.g., PSFCH format and Fig.23 [0226]-[0229]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Hahn to incorporate the teaching of Kim in order to provide for improving the performance of conventional sidelink technology developed on the basis of D2D communications. It would have been beneficial to transmit a PSFCH including HARQ feedback information based on 4 or 6 consecutive symbols i.e., multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period/ PSFCH duration, and the PSFCH transmission occasion is configured and instructed to the terminal in a predetermined period e.g., periodically allocated as taught by Kim to have incorporated in the system of Hahn to provide for improving a high frequency efficiency. (Kim, Fig.1 [0057], Fig.12&15 [0164], Fig.12&15 [0166]-[0168], Fig.14 [0184]-[0188] and Fig.23 [0226]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 21, Hahn discloses wherein a processor for wireless communication (Fig.2-3 [0066]-[0068], a processor 310 for wireless communication), comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to (Fig.2-3 [0066]-[0068], the processor 310/controller coupled with a memory 320 and configured to cause the processor to):
establish a configuration of multiple physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) symbols within a PSFCH period (Fig.16 [0219]-[0222], receive/establish PSFCH configuration information for plurality of PSFCHs e.g., PSFCH #1 and #2 configured with a plurality of symbols within a PSFCH duration i.e., PSFCH period); and
transmit PSFCH information based at least in part on the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period (Fig.2&16 [0220]-[0222], transmit the PSFCH information as ACK/NACK feedback scheme based on the plurality of PSFCHs symbols within the PSFCH period/PSFCH duration in Table 11&12 and Fig.16 [0233]-[0234], sending a PSFCH information e.g., sub-sequences of HARQ responses in feedback resource region based on the plurality of PSFCHs symbols in Table 16 and Fig.11A-B [0160], Fig.12A-B [0174]).
Even though Hahn discloses wherein transmit PSFCH information based at least in part on the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein transmit PSFCH information based at least in part on the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period (Fig.14 [0184]-[0188], transmitting a PSFCH including HARQ feedback information based on 4 or 6 consecutive symbols i.e., multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period/ PSFCH occasion and Fig.12&15 [0164], the PSFCH transmission occasion is configured and instructed to the terminal in a predetermined period e.g., periodically allocated and Fig.12&15 [0166]-[0168], transmitting the PSFCH information including the HARQ feedback information, an operation of repeatedly allocating the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period e.g., PSFCH format and Fig.23 [0226]-[0229]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Hahn to incorporate the teaching of Kim in order to provide for improving the performance of conventional sidelink technology developed on the basis of D2D communications. It would have been beneficial to transmit a PSFCH including HARQ feedback information based on 4 or 6 consecutive symbols i.e., multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period/ PSFCH duration, and the PSFCH transmission occasion is configured and instructed to the terminal in a predetermined period e.g., periodically allocated as taught by Kim to have incorporated in the system of Hahn to provide for improving a high frequency efficiency. (Kim, Fig.1 [0057], Fig.12&15 [0164], Fig.12&15 [0166]-[0168], Fig.14 [0184]-[0188] and Fig.23 [0226]-[0229]).
Regarding claim 22, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 21 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses to establish the configuration, the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to receive a signaling indicating the
configuration of the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period (Fig.3&16 [0066]-[0068][0219]-[0222], the processor 310 is configured to cause the UE terminal to receive a signaling indicating the PSFCH configuration information for plurality of PSFCHs e.g., PSFCH #1 and #2 configured with a plurality of symbols within a PSFCH duration i.e., PSFCH period).
Regarding claim 23, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 21 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses to establish the configuration, the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to determine the configuration of the multiple PSFCH symbols within the PSFCH period (Fig.3&16 [0066]-[0068][0219]-[0222], the processor 310 is configured to determine the PSFCH configuration information for plurality of PSFCHs e.g., PSFCH #1 and #2 configured with a plurality of symbols within a PSFCH duration i.e., PSFCH period).
Regarding claim 24, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 21 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses to a number of the multiple PSFCH symbols is greater than or equal to one and less than or equal to at least one of a number of symbols per slot, or a number of slots per the PSFCH period (Fig.2&16 [0220]-[0222], sl-PSFCH-Period is set in units of slots e.g., a number of slots per the PSFCH period).
Regarding claim 25, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 21 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses at least one of: a number of the multiple PSFCH symbols is greater than or equal to one and less than or equal to a number of symbols per the PSFCH period; or the number of the multiple PSFCH symbols is greater than or equal to two and less than or equal to a number of slots per the PSFCH period (Fig.2&16 [0220]-[0222], a number of the multiple PSFCH symbols is greater than or equal to two and less than or equal to sl-PSFCH-Period set in units of slots e.g., a number of slots per the PSFCH period).
Regarding claim 26, Hahn and Kim disclose all the elements of claim 21 as stated above wherein Hahn further discloses at least one controller is configured to cause the processor: receive a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission (Fig.2&16 [0218], the controller is configured to cause the processor to receive a sidelink data e.g., physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission and Fig.2&5-6 [0083], Fig.2&7 [0102]); and transmit the PSFCH information as acknowledgement (ACK) or negative-acknowledgement (NACK) feedback responsive to the received PSSCH transmission (Fig.2&16 [0221]-[0222], transmit the PSFCH information as ACK/NACK feedback scheme responsive to the received sidelink data e.g., PSSCH and Fig.11A-B [0160], Fig.12A-B [0174], Fig.16 [0232]-[0234]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0201654 A1) teaches NR SL PSFCH Transmission and Monitoring.
Yang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0142591 A1) teaches PSFCH Coverage Extension.
Elshafie et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0224900 A1) teaches Techniques for Enhanced Sidelink Feedback Transmission.
Ko et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0254702 A1) teaches Method and Apparatus for Transmitting or Receiving SL PRS.
Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0102142 A1) teaches Sidelink HARQ Feddback Transmission Method and Device Thereof.
Ye et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 12245223 B2) teaches Sidelink Physical Layer Priority based Procedures.
Guo et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 12302290 B2) teaches Communication Method and Communication Apparatus.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414