Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/06/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LEE et al (USP: 2025/0142440A1).
As per Claim 1 Lee teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory (Paragraph 0077 memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (Paragraph 0077 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104):
receive a conditional reconfiguration comprising at least one set of reconfiguration parameters, wherein each set of reconfiguration parameters of the at least one set of reconfiguration parameters corresponds to each candidate target cell of at least one candidate target cell (Paragraph 0130, 0131, 0137 The UE with one or more candidate target SpCells in the conditional reconfiguration. The UE evaluates the condition of each configured candidate target SpCell. The UE applies the conditional reconfiguration associated with one of the target SpCells which fulfills associated execution condition. The network provides the configuration parameters for the target SpCell in the ConditionalReconfiguration IE);
acquire a system information block (SIB) type of a source cell, wherein the SIB type carries information of a candidate target cell of the at least one candidate target cell (Paragraph 0240, 0241 Broadcast of cell stop time in SIB is applicable to a quasi-earth fixed cell (not to a moving cell). For a quasi-earth fixed cell, the reference location of the cell (serving cell or the neighbor cells) is broadcast in system information); and
perform a handover (HO) to the candidate target cell in response to an execution condition associated with the candidate target cell being fulfilled and the SIB type carries information of the candidate target cell being acquired (Paragraph 0114, 0240 0318, a wireless device may receive, from a network, a Conditional Handover (CHO) configuration including (1) information on candidate cells including a Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) cell, and (2) information on a first time period associated with the NTN cell. Broadcast of cell stop time in SIB is applicable to a quasi-earth fixed cell (not to a moving cell).. For a quasi-earth fixed cell, the reference location of the cell (serving cell or the neighbor cells) is broadcast in system information.).
As per Claim 2 Lee teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to apply a set of reconfiguration parameters of the at least one set of reconfiguration parameters corresponding to the candidate target cell (Paragraph 0057, 0130 a wireless device could efficiently perform the RLF recovery by using a conditional handover (CHO) configuration after the time duration for the CHO. The wireless sensor network based on mobile communication may provide remote monitoring and sensors for parameters such as heart rate and blood pressure. The UE applies the conditional reconfiguration associated with one of the target SpCells which fulfills associated execution condition. The network provides the configuration parameters for the target SpCell in the ConditionalReconfiguration IE.).
As per Claim 3 Lee teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein: the SIB type carries information of the candidate target cell comprises cell-specific parameters of the candidate target cell; and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to apply the cell-specific parameters of the candidate target cell (Paragraph 0125, 0240 Broadcast of cell stop time in SIB is applicable to a quasi-earth fixed cell (not to a moving cell). For a quasi-earth fixed cell, the reference location of the cell (serving cell or the neighbor cells) is broadcast in system information. At RRC connection establishment/re-establishment/handover, one serving cell provides the NAS mobility information, and at RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell provides the security input. This cell is referred to as the primary cell (PCell). The PCell is a cell, operating on the primary frequency, in which the UE either performs the initial connection establishment procedure or initiates the connection re-establishment procedure. Depending on UE capabilities, secondary cells (SCells) can be configured to form together with the PCell a set of serving cells. An SCell is a cell providing additional radio resources on top of special cell (SpCell). ).
As per Claim 4 Lee teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the set of reconfiguration parameters comprises a random access channel (RACH) resource and a UE identity associated with the candidate target cell (Paragraph 0128,0266 In the PHY layer, the uplink transport channels UL-SCH and RACH are mapped to their physical channels PUSCH and PRACH, respectively, and the downlink transport channels DL-SCH, BCH and PCH are mapped to PDSCH, PBCH and PDSCH, respectively. enabling the RN to perform normal contention-based RACH as part of the re-establishment. Upon successful re-establishment, an RN subframe configuration can be configured again using the RN reconfiguration procedure. ).
As per Claim 5 Lee teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive timing information, based on the timing information the SIB type carries information of the candidate target cell is transmitted from the source cell, and the SIB type is acquired based on the timing information (Paragraph 0240, 0269-0272 In case of DAPS handover, the UE continues the detection of radio link failure at the source cell until the successful completion of the random access procedure to the target cell. If RLF is declared in the source cell, the UE: stays in RRC_CONNECTED; stops any data transmission or reception via the source link and releases the source link, but maintains the source RRC configuration; if handover failure is declared at the target cell after source cell RLF was declared. Broadcast of cell stop time in SIB is applicable to a quasi-earth fixed cell (not to a moving cell). [0241] For a quasi-earth fixed cell, the reference location of the cell (serving cell or the neighbor cells) is broadcast in system information).
As per Claim 6 Lee teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive location information and initiate acquisition of the SIB type based on the location information (Paragraph 0229, 0245 Location assisted cell reselection, with the distance between UE and the reference location of the cell (serving cell and/or neighbor cell) taken into account, is supported for quasi-earth fixed cell, if UE has valid location information, which means location acquisition will not be triggered at UE side only for location assisted cell reselection. Key parameters of orbital mechanics of all commercial satellites are publicly available from multiple sources. This information is called ephemeris, which is used by astronomers to describe the location and orbital behaviour of stars and any other astronomic bodies. ).
As per Claim 7 Lee teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to send an on-demand system information (SI) request for the SIB type, and the SIB type carries information of the candidate target cell is acquired in response to sending the on-demand SI request for the SIB type (Paragraph 0240, 0241 Broadcast of cell stop time in SIB is applicable to a quasi-earth fixed cell (not to a moving cell). For a quasi-earth fixed cell, the reference location of the cell (serving cell or the neighbor cells) is broadcast in system information. ).
As per Claim 8 Lee teaches the UE of claim 7, wherein: the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a measurement and report configuration comprising at least one SI request triggering condition; the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform a measurement according to the measurement and reporting configuration; and the on-demand SI request for the SIB type is sent in response to a corresponding SI request triggering condition of the at least one SI request triggering condition being met based on the measurement (Paragraph 0240-0242 Broadcast of cell stop time in SIB is applicable to a quasi-earth fixed cell (not to a moving cell). For a quasi-earth fixed cell, the reference location of the cell (serving cell or the neighbor cells) is broadcast in system information. For a quasi-earth fixed cell, UE should start measurements on neighbor cells before the serving cell stops covering the current area. ).
As per Claim 9 Lee teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive a cell-specific measurement and reporting configuration in a system information (SI) message, wherein the cell-specific measurement and reporting configuration is applicable in response to a user equipment (UE) being in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state; and perform a measurement according to the cell-specific measurement and reporting configuration (Paragraph 0243, 0244, 0348 For a the measurement results, the UE may perform a CHO evaluation of the cell. The CHO evaluation may be a conditional reconfiguration evaluation as specified abovequasi-earth fixed cell, the broadcast “timing information on when a cell is going to stop serving the area” refers to the time when a cell stops covering the current area. For a quasi-earth fixed cell, specify that UE should start measurements on neighbor cells before the broadcast stop time of the serving cell, i.e. the time when the serving cell stops covering the current area, and the exact time to start measurements is up to UE implementation ).
As per Claim 10 Lee teaches the UE of claim 9, wherein the cell-specific measurement and reporting configuration comprises an indication of a set of non-terrestrial (NTN) network cells (Paragraph 0174, 0184 Wireless link between NTN Gateway and satellite, time during which the RAN is available for the targeted communication. Unavailable communication for shorter period than [Y] ms shall not be counted. The RAN may contain several access network components among which an NTN to achieve multi-connectivity or link aggregation.).
As per Claim 11 Lee teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive a first indication of a set of synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) in an SSB burst set, wherein the set of SSBs is transmitted by a network entity; receive a second indication of a subset of SSBs selected from the set of SSBs; and receive a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying the SIB type carries information of the candidate target cell, and the PDSCH is quasi-co-located with one SSB of the subset of SSBs (Paragraph 0128, 0239 the reference location of the cell (serving cell or the neighbor cells) is broadcast in system information. RACH are mapped to their physical channels PUSCH and PRACH, respectively, and the downlink transport channels DL-SCH, BCH and PCH are mapped to PDSCH, PBCH and PDSCH, respectively. In the PHY layer, uplink control information (UCI) is mapped to PUCCH, and downlink control information (DCI) is mapped to PDCCH. A MAC PDU related to UL-SCH is transmitted by a UE via a PUSCH based on an UL grant, and a MAC PDU related to DL-SCH is transmitted by a BS via a PDSCH based on a DL assignment. ).
Claims 12-20 are a Base station and a terminal claims corresponding to the methods claims 1-11 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-11. Claims 12-20 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-11.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See form 892).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ASAD NAWAZ can be reached on (571) 272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463