DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 09/09/2024 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 1-20 and 22-28 have been amended. Claims 1-28 are currently pending in the instant application.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/FR2023/050297 (filed on 03/06/2023). Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Bolivia, Argentina, and France on 03/10/2022 and 10/26/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 09/06/2024 and 03/06/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy accompanies this Office Action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-9, and 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-9, and 11-13 of copending Application No. 19/344,289 (reference application, as filed on 09/29/2025). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application discloses a composition and device containing all the claimed components within the claimed proportions of the instant application. The reference application anticipates the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0314784 A1 (hereinafter Lecocq).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 7-9, Lecocq discloses a crystalline solid material and a method for preparing the crystalline solid material having a formula (LiCl)x·2Al(OH)3·nH2O wherein n is between 0.01 and 10, x is between 0.4 and 1 (See Abstract; [0001] and [0002]). The crystalline solid material of Lecocq has a formula, i.e., (LiCl)x·2Al(OH)3·nH2O, that meets the claimed lithiated bayerite crystallite as described by the Applicant (See page 7, lines 6-10, of the present Specification). The crystalline solid material of Lecocq comprises at least elements Li, Cl, Al, O and H. In one embodiment, Lecocq discloses a paste (a product) comprises of the crystalline solid material and water (See [0234]). The crystalline solid material having Al=23 wt%, Li=3 wt%, and Cl=15.1 wt% (See [0239]). Lecocq discloses that the crystallites is between 0.5-15 nm (See [0064]), which is overlaps the claimed crystallite mean size of 10-25 nm.
Lecocq failed to discloses a product having a combined aluminum hydroxide and boehmite content of 10% or less as recited in claim 1.
However, Lecocq discloses a reaction mixture of boehmite precipitate and lithium chloride in the presence of water to form a suspension of (LiCl)x·2Al(OH)3·nH2O, then filtered, washed, and dried (See [0069], [0072] and [0073]). The filtration and washing steps would remove any unreacted or extra boehmite to yield a product with a boehmite content of 10% or less as claimed. Lecocq discloses that the Boehmite is a poorly crystalline (See [0022] and [0178]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to limit the Boehmite content in order to reduce the amount of poorly crystalline in the solid crystalline material of Lecocq and improve lithium adsorption capacity and adsorption kinetics.
Regarding claim 2, Lecocq discloses that the crystalline solid material having Al=23 wt%, Li=3 wt%, and Cl=15.1 wt% (See [0239]) and elements other than Li, Cl, Al, O and H (See [0119], e.g., Na, K, and Rb to name a few).
Regarding claims 3 and 5-6, Lecocq exemplify a product containing 35.5g of paste (solid crystalline material) with 4.7g of water (See [0234]). This would yield a water content of about 11.7%, which is within the claimed range of 1-95% of water.
Regarding claims 11-27, the instant method claims are directly or indirectly depended from product claim 1 and are deemed as product-by-process claims that are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure limited by the steps. Therefore, the patentability of the product does not depend on its method of production and the claimed steps were not given patentable weight. It is noted that a method limitation incorporated into a product claim does not patentably distinguish the product because what is given patentable consideration is the product itself and not the manner in which the product was made. Therefore, the patentability of a product is independent of how it was made. As a result, the process steps of a product-by-process claim do not impart any significant property or structure to the claimed end product and, if there is any difference, the difference would have been minor and obvious. Determination of patentability of a product-by-process claim is based on the scope of the product itself. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product by process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed Cir. 1985) and MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 28, Lecocq discloses a lithium extraction device comprising the solid crystalline material (See claim).
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KHANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761