DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 6/18/2026. The objections to the specification have been withdrawn. The 35 USC 112 rejections have been withdrawn. Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-14, 1617, 19-22, 24-25 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a sub liquid supplier” in claim 1.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: “a sub liquid supplier” corresponds to supply pipes and nozzles as described in paragraphs 0317-0325 and fig. 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a sub liquid supplier configured to supply the liquid to the cell, wherein the liquid sprayed from the sub liquid supplier is supplied to the cell through the supporter opening and the opening of the other tray” but it is unclear how the supplied liquid from the sub liquid supplier is sprayed from the sub liquid supplier through the supporter opening and the opening of the other tray. Clarity is advised.
Claims 2-5 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 16, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being ant by Lee et al (US 20210318048).
Regarding claim 1, in view of indefiniteness, Lee teaches an ice making device (200) comprising: a one tray (380) that defines a portion of a cell (320a) that is a space in which liquid is phase-changed into ice by cold (paragraph 0179); an other tray (320), other than the one tray, that defines another portion of the cell (fig. 18) and arranged to be in contact with the one tray during an ice making process (figs. 18-20) and to be spaced apart from the second one tray during an ice separation process (figs. 18-20), including an opening (324) formed at one side of the other tray through which the liquid passes (water, paragraph 0220-221); a supporter (300) configured to support the other tray and including a supporter opening (annotated fig. below) in communication with the opening of the other tray and a sub liquid supplier (240) configured to supply liquid to the cell (paragraph 0178) wherein the liquid sprayed from the sub liquid supplier is supplied to the cell through the supporter opening and the opening of the other tray (understood water would pass through both openings as annotated below to the interior of 320a).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the supporter includes a supporter body configured to form a receiving portion for receiving the other tray (fig. 11 and 18 illustrates 300 as a supporter body that receives 320).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the supporter opening is formed in the supporter body (annotated fig. above).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the supporter includes an opening wall extending from a periphery of the supporter opening (fig. 11 and annotated fig. above illustrates an opening wall extending from the annotated opening in 300).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 7 including the sub liquid supplier is coupled to the supporter (figs. 3-4, 18-20). See rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches the sub liquid supplier comprises a liquid supply hole (opening in 240) that supplies the liquid, and wherein the liquid supply hole is arranged to be aligned with an opening (figs. 18-20) formed at one side of the other tray (figs. 18-20).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the supporter further comprises a supporter opening (opening in 240) aligned with the liquid supply hole (figs. 18-20) and the opening (figs.18-20).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 16. See rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 7 wherein the sub liquid supplier comprises a liquid supply hole (upper opening 240) that supplies the liquid and an outlet opening (lower opening 240) through which the liquid supplied to the cell is discharged (figs. 18-20). See rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, Lee teaches the outlet opening is located at one side of the liquid supply hole (figs. 6, 18-20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3, 11-14, 17, 19-20, 24-25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 3, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Lee et al (US 20210318048). The prior art of record teaches the sub liquid supplier comprises a liquid supply hole that supplies the liquid in contrast to the claimed features of a position of the liquid supply hole during the ice making process is different from a position of the liquid supply hole during the ice separation process
Regarding claim 11, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Lee et al (US 20210318048). The prior art of record teaches wherein the supporter comprises a hinge body that provides a center of rotation (figs. 18-20) in contrast to the claimed features of a liquid supply tube is connected to the sub liquid supplier to guide liquid to the sub liquid supplier, and the hinge body comprises an extending rib.
Regarding claim 12, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Lee et al (US 20210318048). The prior art of record teaches the sub liquid supplier comprises an inlet pipe (understood a pipe would supply to 240) in contrast to the claimed features of a common pipe connected to the inlet pipe, and supply pipes extended from the common pipe, wherein a number of supply pipes is equal to a number of cells.
Regarding claim 14, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Lee et al (WO 2020071764). The prior art of record teaches a pusher (540) provided spaced apart from the second another tray (fig. 20) by a predetermined distance (space between 540 and 211), wherein while the second another tray (211) moves in a first direction (figs. 22a-c) during the ice separation process in contrast to the claimed features of a pusher provided spaced apart from the second another tray by a predetermined distance, wherein while the second another tray moves in a first direction during the ice separation process, the supply pipe is moved in a direction closer to the pusher, or the pusher is configured to provide a path along which at least one of the supply pipes moves during the ice separation process.
Regarding claim 17, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Lee et al (US 20210318048). The prior art of record teaches the other tray comprises an opening (324) and having a liquid supply hole (upper opening of 240) aligned with the opening through which the liquid passes (figs. 18-20) in contrast to the claimed features of wherein the sub liquid supplier comprises an inlet pipe, and a distribution pipe connected to the inlet pipe.
Regarding claim 24, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Lee et al (US 20210318048). The prior art of record teaches a heater (290) configured to supply heat to the cell during the ice separation process in contrast to the claimed features of the sub liquid supplier is configured to support the heater.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763