Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites “further comprising an optical sensor disposed with respect to the drivetrain.” Claim 18, upon which claim 19 depends recites “an optical sensor disposed with respect to the drivetrain”. It is unclear if the “optical sensor” in claim 19 is the same as the “optical sensor” in claim 18 or another “optical sensor”. Based on the specification at para [0074] of the published application (US 2025/0177641), it appears that there is only one optical sensor. Therefore, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 19 recites “The medication delivery device of claim 18, further comprising an optical sensor disposed with respect to the drivetrain.” Claim 18, upon with claim 19 depends also recites “an optical sensor disposed with respect to the drivetrain” in line 5. It appears that claim 19 recites a substantial duplicate of claim features already recited in claim 18, and therefore does not further limit claim 18.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is: “pump drive mechanism” in claims 1 and 16.
The term “pump drive mechanism” contains the nonce term “mechanism” followed by functional language “for driving medication through the device”, and the terms pump or drive do not recite any other specific structure to perform the function. The pump drive mechanism is interpreted as a plunger driven by a leadscrew as stated in the instant specification at paras [0017] and [0061], Fig. 3 of the published application (US 2025/0177641).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al, US 2012/0078170 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a medication delivery device (pump assembly 200, Figs. 1-40) comprising: a base plate (500, para [0221], Figs. 1 and 15) engaging a cover (202, Fig. 1, para [0255]) to form an interior (paras [0221]-[0222]; [0255]), the interior including: a pump drive mechanism (252) for driving medication through the device (para [0255]); a drivetrain (362, 360, Figs. 19, 23, para [0287]) engaged to the pump drive mechanism; a magnetic encoder (396) including an encoder hub (Fig. 19) mechanically coupled to the drivetrain, the encoder hub including a magnet (405); and a sensor (403) that measures a magnetic field from the magnet to determine a rotational position of the drivetrain (para [0340]).
Regarding claim 2, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 1, wherein the medication delivery device includes one of a patch pump, an infusion pump and an automated insulin delivery device (paras [0221]-[0223]).
Regarding claim 3, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 1, wherein the pump drive mechanism includes a plunger (350) driven by a leadscrew (360, Fig. 23, para [0291]).
Regarding claim 4, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 3, wherein the drivetrain includes a drive gear (gears 362); the drivetrain engages a drive nut (364, Fig. 23, para [0291]); and the drive nut is a final rotating component that engages the leadscrew (para [0291]).
Regarding claim 5, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 4, wherein the drive gear (362) is aligned to the sensor (encoder/sensor, Fig. 18, paras [0338]-[0340]).
Regarding claim 6, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 4, wherein the encoder hub is coupled to the drive gear to measure the rotational position (paras [0338]-[0340]).
Regarding claim 7, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 1, wherein the magnet includes a plurality of magnets evenly spaced around the encoder hub (405g, Fig. 40G, para [0340]).
Regarding claim 8, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 7, wherein a polarity of the plurality of magnets facing away from a center axis of a drive gear remains constant (Figs. 40G-I, para [0340]).
Regarding claim 9, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 7, wherein a polarity of the plurality of magnets facing away from a center axis of a drive gear alternates in series with respect to the drive gear (Figs. 40G-I, para [0340]).
Regarding claim 10, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 1, wherein the magnet is axially polarized (Figs. 40G-I, para [0340]).
Regarding claim 11, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 1, wherein the magnet is radially polarized (Figs. 40G-I, para [0340]).
Regarding claim 12, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 1, wherein the magnet includes a single multi-pole magnet with a plurality of magnet arms equally spaced (Figs. 40G-I, para [0340]).
Regarding claim 16, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 1, wherein the sensor includes one of a magnetic Hall Effect sensor and a magnetic resistance sensor (para [0340]).
Regarding claim 17, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 1, wherein the magnetic encoder includes a ring magnet having one or more magnetized sections (Figs. 40G-I, para [0340]).
Regarding claims 18-19, Smith discloses a medication delivery device (pump assembly 200, Figs. 1-40) comprising: a base plate (500, para [0221], Figs. 1 and 15) engaging a cover (202, Fig. 1, para [0255]) to form an interior (paras [0221]-[0222]; [0255]), the interior including: a pump drive mechanism (252) for driving medication through the device (paras [0221]-[0222]; [0255]); a drivetrain (362, 360, Figs. 19, 23, para [0287]) engaged to the pump drive mechanism; and an optical sensor (399, Fig. 40A, para [0339]) disposed with respect to the drivetrain; wherein the optical sensor measures a rotational position of the drivetrain (para [0339]).
Regarding claim 20, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 19, wherein the optical sensor includes an emitter that emits light including a laser light and a receiver that receives the light (397 and 399, Fig. 40A).
Regarding claim 21, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 20, wherein the optical sensor includes optical fan blades (401, Fig. 40A) that are configured between an emitter and a receiver to split or block the light; and the optical sensor is configured to detect when the light is split or blocked (para [0339]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith.
Regarding claims 13-15, Smith discloses the medication delivery device of claim 1, wherein the pump assembly 236 including the sensor 403 can be mounted on a circuit board (para [0343]), but is silent as to the sensor is mounted on a top surface of a circuit board, or the sensor is mounted on a bottom surface of a circuit board, or wherein the sensor is aligned vertically with an axis of rotation of the drive gear.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the sensor on either the top or bottom surface of the circuit board or align vertically with an axis of rotation of the drive gear, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C). Alternatively, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to locate the sensor on either the top or bottom surface of the circuit board or align vertically with an axis of rotation of the drive gear, since applicant has not disclosed that the location of the sensor solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the sensor on any portion of the circuit board and/or aligned vertically with an axis of rotation of the drive gear.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/KATRINA M STRANSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700