DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with immaterial traverse of invention Group II, namely claims 20-22, 24, 32, 41 and 44-46 in the reply filed on 05/21/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant states Group III was intended to encompass 33, 37 and 40 (claims 38-39 were previously cancelled).
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). An applicant's statement that a restriction requirement is "immaterial" is treated as an election without traverse. According to MPEP § 818.01(a), a valid traverse must be complete, specific, and distinctly point out the errors upon which the applicant relies to show why the examiner's restriction requirement is wrong. Merely stating that a restriction is "immaterial" (or providing a broad, generic objection without substantive reasoning) fails to meet this legal threshold.
Applicant argues claim 33 is amended to depend from claim 20. Applicant states claims 37 and 40 depend from claim 33. Applicant argues accordingly, these amendments place claims 33, 37, and 40 in Group II (Response to Requirement of Unity of Invention, page 1, last paragraph).
The argument was found persuasive since applicant has amended claim 33 to depend on claim 33 and amended claim to refer to the cell of claim 20, the claims 33, 37, and 40 from group III is examined together in this office action.
Applicants’ election of sp1, claim 37, actin gene from claim 20, Table 1, CEP from Table 7, SEQ ID NO:1461 from Table 8 and corP (SEQ ID NO:1318) from Table 6 in claim 24 from invention Group II and SEQ ID NO:1 and SEQ ID NO:1318 from invention Group III Table 1 claim 37 and Table 6, claim 33, in reply filed on 05/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicants’ amendment of claim 33, 44-46 has been acknowledged.
Claims 20-22, 24, 32-33, 37, 40-41, 44-46 are pending and the claims along with the elected species of Actin gene, SEQ ID NOs: 1, 1461 and 1318 are examined in this office action.
For following analysis, the reference to page numbers are cited from the substitute specification-clean submitted on 04/25/2025.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code in page 87, paragraph 00136. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 20-21, 24, 33 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 24 line 5, the claim recite the phrase “nucleic exogenous” is missing the term “acid” therefore applicants are advised to recite “nucleic acid exogenous”.
In claims 20-21, 24, 33, the claims recite plurality of element or steps (i.e. (a), (b), (i)…etc.), applicants are advised where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, see 37 CFR 1.75(i).
In claim 20 line 8, the claim recite the phrase “…specific or a plant…”, which is grammatically incorrect, and it is advised to change to “….specific to a plant…..”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefiniteness
Claims 20-22, 24, 32-33, 37, 40-41 and 44-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. All dependent claims are included in these rejections unless they include a limitation that overcomes the deficiencies of the parent claim.
Claims 20, 24, 33, 37 and 41 are indefinite because the recitations of “Table” (i.e. “Table 1”, “Table 6”, “Table 7”, “Table 8”, “Table 9”) fails to set forth the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table “is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant' s convenience.” Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993).
Claim 32 is indefinite in recitation that the nucleic acid exogenous to the non-coding region is “about less than 200 bases in length”, the less than 200 would comprise as low as absence of exogenous nucleic acid. Therefore, it is not clear whether the nucleic acid exogenous to the non-coding region is required component of the claim or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Written Description Requirement
Claims 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Breadth of the Claim
Claim 24 recite any peptide encoded by mRNA sequence at least 80% identical to sequence of Table 8 where applicant has elected SEQ ID NO:1461 which is 276 nucleotide long and would encode 92 amino acid long protein. This produce large genus of proteins.
What is Described in the Specification
Applicant describes the following:
the co-Agroinfection with both the control reporter construct and a construct comprising an amiRNA (SEQ ID NO: 1532) designed to silence the reporter gene (positive control) (page 94, paragraph 00144, Figure 8).
the co-Agroinfection with both the control reporter construct and a construct comprising an amiRNA (SEQ ID NO: 1532) designed to silence the inserted into the intron 2 of the rice ACTIN gene (SEQ ID NO: 278) and soybean ACTIN gene (SEQ ID NO:533) (page 94, paragraph 00144, Figure 8).
the amiRNA inserted into the intron 2 of the actin genes from rice (SEQ ID NO: 1) and soybean (SEQ ID NO: 21) was correctly processed (page 94, paragraph 00144, Figure 8).
mRNA transcribed from the reporter gene were targeted and degraded by the amiRNA inserted into the intron 2 of the actin genes from rice and soybean (page 94, paragraph 00144, Figure 8).
correct, native ACTIN protein encoded by the rice and the soybean actin genes (SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 21, respectively) was produced (page 94, paragraph 00144, Figure 8).
Difference Between What was Described and What is Claimed
Applicant has not described any peptide encoded by mRNA sequence at least 80% identical to sequence of Table 8 where applicant has elected SEQ ID NO:1461 which is 276 nucleotide long and would encode 92 amino acid long protein (claim 24).
Analysis
The purpose of the written description is to ensure that the inventor had possession at the time the invention was made, of the specific subject claimed. For a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim.
Applicant has not described a peptide that binds to a peptide encoded by an mRNA sequence at least 80% identical to SEQ ID NO:1461 (elected from Table 8). The SEQ ID NO: 1461 which is a C-TERMINALLY ENCODED PEPTIDE (CEP) (page 59, Table 7) is 276 nucleotide long and would encode 92 amino acid long protein (claim 24). A variant of SEQ ID NO:1461 having at least 80% identity would have 9 amino acids (AA) changes (i.e., substitutions, deletions, insertions, or additions) relative to SEQ ID NO: 1461, and this encompasses a genus of nucleic acid sequence that includes at least ~49 different molecules. For this reason, the genus of nucleic acid molecules having at least 80% identity to SEQ ID NO: 8 is a very large genus of molecules.
Furthermore, the state of the art at the time of the instant invention was that although the skilled artisan would appreciate the peptide binding to peptide encoded by SEQ ID NO: 1461, one would not be able to readily predict the function of protein which has at least 80% identity to SEQ ID NOs: 1461 and it is impossible to predict such a broad sequence variation will have any required function. For example, Guo et al. (Published Year: 2004, Journal: Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Vol. 101(25), pages: 9205-9210) teaches that while proteins are fairly tolerant to mutations resulting in single amino acid changes, increasing the number of substitutions additively increases the probability that the protein will be inactivated (page 9209, right. col., paragraph 2).
Given the large structural variable associated with these embodiments, the claims read on an extremely broad and highly diverse structures that would need to bind to peptide encoded by the inserted nucleic acid. Thus, in view of the analysis presented above, a skilled artisan would appreciate that the claims are directed to extremely broad and highly diverging genus of sequence variants that are required to bind to the peptide encoded by nucleic acid and need to have use.
Given the large size and structural diversity associated with the claimed genus, Applicant’s disclosure is not representative of the claimed genus as a whole. This point is particularly relevant because, as discussed above, the prior art speaks to the disconnection between the structure of the broadly claimed variants in any plants and its function.
Thus, based on the analysis above, Applicant has not met either of the two elements of the written description requirement as set forth in the court's decision in Eli Lilly. As a result, it is not clear that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus at the time this application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
In following analysis the recitation of “recombinant” in claims 20 and 40 are interpreted as the product made of method of recombination by joining genetic materials. The claims are interpreted as “product by process claim”. Following analysis based on the In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) which states “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” Thus, a product-by-process claim may be properly rejectable over prior art teaching the same product produced by a different process, if the process of making the product fails to distinguish the two products. In instant claim the product of the cell of claims 20 and 40 would require a plant with a genomic structure that would have an insertion of any number of nucleic acid in a non-coding region of the gene. Since there is no limit of how many nucleic acid long is the insert and claim 32 also does not specifically limits the number, the recitation “exogenous” does not provide specific structure of the nucleic acid insert it would mean any combination of “G, C, A, and T”.
Rejection over Actin gene of Arabidopsis
Claims 20-22, 24, 32-33, 37, 40-41 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention are directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention are directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims are drawn to a recombinant nucleic acid comprising a coding region and a non-coding region wherein non-coding region comprises an exogenous nucleic acid, wherein the coding region is coding region of a gene, and the gene is, (i) is actin and (ii) accounts for 1-20% gene expression in the cell, (iii) transcribed from a constitutive promoter or (iv) two or more combination of (i) to (iii).
Regarding claims 20, 32, 40-41, An et al. (Published: 1996, Journal: The Plant Journal 10(1): 107-121) discloses ancient actin gene family of Arabidopsis historically evolved in nature as ACT2 and ACT8 which are constitutively expressed on Arabidopsis plant, account for more than 80% actin mRNA in most Arabidopsis organs (page107, Abstract). The alignment of ACT2 and ACT8 5’ flanking sequence showed many regions having insertion which are exogenous to each other (see Figure 2 below).
Regarding claims 21 and 37, the non-coding region is 5’ non-coding region located adjacent to actin gene (see figure 2 below).
Regarding 22, An et al. discloses ACT2 and ACT8 mRNAs are constitutively expressed in the Arabidopsis plant (page109, left last paragraph and 110 right first paragraph), since the ACT2 and ACT8 actin proteins are conserved over long evolutionary periods and re required for cell division in vegetative tissues (page117, right first paragraph), therefore they would translate to a protein endogenous to the Arabidopsis plant cell.
Regarding claims 24 and 33, since the requirement of claim is only encoding a ribonucleic acid that binds to the recited diverse nucleic acids of steps (i) to (ix), furthermore the binding specifically does not limit the claim to any change in functions and only require some level of binding in sequence level, it would merely mean a RNA molecule pairs up with the DNA of the gene for any number of bases. The figure 2 showed many nucleic acid that would encode RNA and would bind at least pair of bases to the diverse DNA sequence recited in (i) to (ix). Therefore, the recited cell of Arabidopsis would have the genomic structure required by the claim.
Regarding claim 46, An et al. discloses seed of the Arabidopsis plant (page 113, last paragraph, page 117, right paragraph 2).
Therefore, the recited cell is a naturally existing cell.
Thus, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more.
Rejection over Polyubiquitin gene of Hevea brasiliensis
Claims 20-22, 24, 32-33, 37, 40-41 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention are directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention are directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claims 20, 32, 40-41, the claim 20 step (iv) recite “(iv) two or more combination of (i) to (iii)” which would comprise expression of the gene 1-20% and transcribed from constitutive promoter (ii) and (iii). Therefore, the actin gene does not require the limitation and it could be any gene.
Xin et al. (Published: 2022, Journal: Forests 13, 952, pages 1-12 https://doi.org/10.3390/f13060952) discloses HbUBI10.1 and HbUBI10.3 promoter elements respectively harbor two and one G-box motifs and GATA-motif appeared one and two times in the HbUBI10.2 and HbUBI10.3 promoter sequences, respectively (page 5, first paragraph, see Figure 2 below). Xin et al. discloses HbUBI10.1 and HbUBI10.2 in Hevea plants are expressed constitutively in diverse Hevea tissues (page 6, first paragraph).
Therefore, the HbUBI gene constitute at least a nucleic acid in its intron (i.e. in their promoter) compared to each of the HbUBI gene.
Regarding claims 21 and 37, the non-coding region is 5’ non-coding region located adjacent to the gene (see figure 2 above).
Regarding 22, Xin et al. discloses the expression of HbUBI10.1 and HbUBI10.2 in Hevea plants by mining transcriptome (i.e. mRNAs) which are constitutively expressed in the Hevea plants (page 6, first paragraph). Xin et al. discloses genes HbUBI10.1, HbUBI10.2 and HbUBI10.3 in Hevea, which respectively encode six, six and five repeats of ubiquitin monomers, having an identical amino acid sequence to AtUBQ10 except for one amino acid difference in the first monomer of HbUBI10.1 and HbUBI10.2 (Figures S1 and S2) (page 9, first paragraph).
Regarding claims 24 and 33, since the requirement of claim is only encoding a ribonucleic acid that binds to the recited diverse nucleic acids of steps (i) to (ix), furthermore the binding specifically does not limit the claim to any change in functions and only require some level of binding in sequence level, it would merely mean a RNA molecule pairs up with the DNA of the gene for any number of bases. The figure 2 showed many nucleic acid that would encode RNA and would bind at least pair of bases to the diverse DNA sequence recited in (i) to (ix). Therefore, the recited cell of Hevea would have the genomic structure required by the claim.
Regarding claim 46, Hevea plant produces the seed which would have the genomic structure recited in claim (page 113, last paragraph, page 117, right paragraph 2).
Therefore, the recited cell is a naturally existing cell.
Thus, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In following analysis for rejection using An et al. and Xin et al. arts, see below, the recitation of “recombinant” in claims 20 and 40 are interpreted as the product made of method of recombination by joining genetic materials. The claims are interpreted as “product by process claim”. Following analysis based on the In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) which states “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” Thus, a product-by-process claim may be properly rejectable over prior art teaching the same product produced by a different process, if the process of making the product fails to distinguish the two products. In instant claim the product of the cell of claims 20 and 40 would require a plant with a genomic structure that would have an insertion of any number of nucleic acid in a non-coding region of the gene. Since there is no limit of how many nucleic acid long is the insert and claim 32 also does not specifically limits the number, the recitation “exogenous” does not provide specific structure of the nucleic acid insert it would mean any combination of “G, C, A and T”.
Anticipated by An et al.
Claims 20-22, 24, 32-33, 37, 40-41 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by An et al. (Published: 1996, Journal: The Plant Journal 10(1): 107-121).
Claims are drawn to a recombinant nucleic acid comprising a coding region and a non-coding region wherein non-coding region comprises an exogenous nucleic acid, wherein the coding region is coding region of a gene, and the gene is, (i) is actin and (ii) accounts for 1-20% gene expression in the cell, (iii) transcribed from a constitutive promoter or (iv) two or more combination of (i) to (iii).
Regarding claims 20, 32 and 40-41, An et al. discloses ancient actin gene family of Arabidopsis historically evolved in nature as ACT2 and ACT8 which are constitutively expressed on Arabidopsis plant, account for more than 80% actin mRNA in most Arabidopsis organs (page107, Abstract). The alignment of ACT2 and ACT8 5’ flanking sequence showed many regions having insertion which are exogenous to each other (see Figure 2 below).
Regarding claims 21 and 37, the non-coding region is 5’ non-coding region located adjacent to actin gene (see figure 2 below).
Regarding 22, An et al. discloses ACT2 and ACT8 mRNAs are constitutively expressed in the Arabidopsis plant (page109, left last paragraph and 110 right first paragraph), since the ACT2 and ACT8 actin proteins are conserved over long evolutionary periods and re required for cell division in vegetative tissues (page117, right first paragraph), therefore they would translate to a protein endogenous to the Arabidopsis plant cell.
Regarding claims 24 and 33, since the requirement of claim is only encoding a ribonucleic acid that binds to the recited diverse nucleic acids of steps (i) to (ix), furthermore the binding specifically does not limit the claim to any change in functions and only require some level of binding in sequence level, it would merely mean a RNA molecule pairs up with the DNA of the gene for any number of bases. The figure 2 showed many nucleic acid that would encode RNA and would bind at least pair of bases to the diverse DNA sequence recited in (i) to (ix). Therefore, the recited cell of Arabidopsis would have the genomic structure required by the claim.
Regarding claim 46, An et al. discloses seed of the Arabidopsis plant (page 113, last paragraph, page 117, right paragraph 2).
Therefore An et al. anticipates the claims.
Anticipated by Xin et al.
Claims 20-22, 24, 32-33, 37, 40-41 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Xin et al. (Published: 2022, Journal: Forests 13, 952, pages 1-12 https://doi.org/10.3390/f13060952).
Regarding claims 20, 32 and 40-41, the claim 20 step (iv) recite “(iv) two or more combination of (i) to (iii)” which would comprise expression of the gene 1-20% and transcribed from constitutive promoter (ii) and (iii). Therefore, the actin gene is not a required limitation, and it could be any gene.
Xin et al. discloses HbUBI10.1 and HbUBI10.3 promoter elements respectively harbor two and one G-box motifs and GATA-motif appeared one and two times in the HbUBI10.2 and HbUBI10.3 promoter sequences, respectively (page 5, first paragraph, see Figure 2 below). Xin et al. discloses HbUBI10.1 and HbUBI10.2 in Hevea plants are expressed constitutively in diverse Hevea tissues (page 6, first paragraph).
Therefore, the HbUBI gene constitute at least a nucleic acid in its intron (i.e. in their promoter) compared to each of the HbUBI gene.
Regarding claims 21 and 37, the non-coding region is 5’ non-coding region located adjacent to the gene (see figure 2 above).
Regarding 22, Xin et al. discloses the expression of HbUBI10.1 and HbUBI10.2 in Hevea plants by mining transcriptome (i.e. mRNAs) which are constitutively expressed in the Hevea plants (page 6, first paragraph). Xin et al. discloses genes HbUBI10.1, HbUBI10.2 and HbUBI10.3 in Hevea, which respectively encode six, six and five repeats of ubiquitin monomers, having an identical amino acid sequence to AtUBQ10 except for one amino acid difference in the first monomer of HbUBI10.1 and HbUBI10.2 (Figures S1 and S2) (page 9, first paragraph).
Regarding claims 24 and 33, since the requirement of claim is only encoding a ribonucleic acid that binds to the recited diverse nucleic acids of steps (i) to (ix), furthermore the binding specifically does not limit the claim to any change in functions and only require some level of binding in sequence level, it would merely mean a RNA molecule pairs up with the DNA of the gene for any number of bases. The figure 2 showed many nucleic acid that would encode RNA and would bind at least pair of bases to the diverse DNA sequence recited in (i) to (ix). Therefore, the recited cell of Hevea would have the genomic structure required by the claim.
Regarding claim 46, Hevea plant produces the seed which would have the genomic structure recited in claim (page 113, last paragraph, page 117, right paragraph 2).
Therefore Xin et al. anticipates the claim.
Anticipated by Miura et al.
Claims 20-22, 24, 32-33 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Miura et al. (Published: 2016, Journal: Scientific Reports, 5:12799, DOI: 10.1038/srep12799, pages 1-11) or Miura et al.(2) (WIPO International Pub. Date: WO 2016/196887 A1, Pub. Date: 12/08/2016) (for following analysis the page numbers are cited from Scientific report paper), and further evidenced by Sathyamurthy et al. (Published: 1997, Journal: DNA Cell Biol. 16(4):401-12. doi: 10.1089/dna.1997.16.401).
Regarding claims 20, 40, Miura et al. discloses a mouse cell comprising an artificial microRNA (amiRNA) sequences inserted in the endogenous eukaryotic translation elongation factor 2 (eEF-2) gene intron 1 (page 1, abstract).
Miura et al. discloses eEF-2 is expressed in high levels ubiquitously and consistently both during developmental and adult stages (page 2, last paragraph).
Furthermore, Satyamurthi et al. showed the evidence that the promoter of eEF-2 of mouse act as constitutive promoter (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 21, Miura et al. disclosed insertion is intron 1 of eEF2 gene (i.e. between first and second exon) (see supplementary Figure S1 below).
Regarding claim 22, Miura et al. discloses eEF2 gene is endogenous to mouse cell (page 1, Abstract) that would translate to protein.
Regarding claim 24 and 33, Miura et al. discloses amiRNA (i.e. insert) encodes a RNA which targets a eGFP gene and its expression which is a target nucleic acid exogenous to the mouse cell (i.e. step iv). Miura et al. also showed the targeted insertion of amiRNA also knockdown another endogenous gene OtX2 which is involved in (page 4, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 32, Figure S1 below showed the targeted insertion is 562bp.
Therefore Miura et al. anticipates the claim.
Anticipated by Zhong et al.
Claims 20-22, 24, 32-33 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhong et al. (Published: 2021, Journal: eLife 10:e64911. DOI: https://doi.org/10.7554/eLife.64911).
Regarding claims 20, 37 and 40, Zhong et al. discloses a CRISPR mediated insertion in first intron of human actin beta (ACTB) wherein the donor module includes an exon encoding mEGFP and peptide linkers (page 4, first paragraph) (see Figure 1 below).
Regarding claim 21, The first intron should have been present between first and second exon.
Regarding claim 22, human actin beta (ACTB) is endogenous gene for human cell. Zhong et al. teaches the gene encodes mRNA (see Figure 2 supplements)
Regarding claim 32, the gene encodes mEGFP and peptide wherein the size of exon-intron junctions, ~100 bp of intronic sequence and ~10 bp of adjacent exonic sequence (page4, first paragraph). Applicants’ recitation of about 10 to about 700 bases length would have been within the limit of the claim 32.
Regarding claims 24 and 33, to encode a peptide the insert would encode rna to translate to peptide and it would bind any of at least one nucleic acid (steps i-iv). The claim does not limit size of the RNA, instead it would have any level of binding to diverse nucleic acid from step (i)-(viii) without any function.
Therefore Zhong et al. anticipates the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Obvious over Miura et al. (2) in view of Niu et al.
Claims 20, 41 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (2) (WIPO International Pub. Date: WO 2016/196887 Al, Pub. Date: 12/08/2016), and further in view of Niu et al. (Published: 2006, Journal: Nature Biotech. 24(11): 1420-1428), and further in view of An et al.
Claims are drawn to a recombinant nucleic acid comprising a coding region and a non-coding region wherein non-coding region comprises an exogenous nucleic acid, wherein the coding region is coding region of a gene, and the gene is, (i) is actin and (ii) accounts for 1-20% gene expression in the cell, (iii) transcribed from a constitutive promoter or (iv) two or more combination of (i) to (iii). Claims are further drawn wherein the cell is a plant cell and the plant is resistant to a disease and it has more efficient nutrient acquisition.
Regarding claims 20 and 41, Miura et al. (2) teaches a mouse cell comprising an artificial microRNA (amiRNA) sequences inserted in the endogenous eukaryotic translation elongation factor 2 (eEF-2) gene intron 1 (page 39, paragraph 0084, Figure 5).
Miura et al. (2) teaches eEF-2 is expressed in high levels ubiquitously and consistently both during developmental and adult stages (page 38, paragraph 0083).
Furthermore, Satyamurthi et al. showed the evidence that the promoter of eEF-2 of mouse act as constitutive promoter (see Abstract).
Miura et al. (2) teaches intronic miRNAs are co-expressed along with the host genes and the presence of miRNA in an intron does not seem to affect the expression of the host gene and numerous intronic sites I the genome serve choices for targeted insertion of amiRNA sequences (pages 36-37, paragraph 0078).
Miura et al. (2) teaches mRNA targets GFP leading to knockdown of eFGP expression (page39, paragraph 0084) and also targets endogenous Otx2 gene leading to knockdown of the gene showing embryo having reduction in head, eye and body size of mouse (page 40, paragraph 0086).
Regarding claim 44, Miura et al. (2) teaches their composition and method can be used to knock-in, knock-out or alter expression of target gene in plants (page 11, paragraph 0043, page 23, paragraphs 0083-0084) and engineered organism would be plant (page 34, paragraph 00124).
Miura et al. (2) teaches, preferably the DNA construct encoding mRNA is inserted into an eukaryotic cell genome into an evolutionarily non-conserved region of the intron since such non-conserved regions are less likely to contain regulatory sequences and may be determined by comparing the intronic sequences among related species (page 32, paragraph 0019).
Miura et al. (2) does not disclose the plant comprising the recombinant nucleic acid would have increased disease resistance.
Niu et al. teaches expression of amiRNA targeting mRNA sequences encoding two gene silencing suppressors, P69 of turnip yellow mosaic virus (TYMV) and HC-Pro of turnip mosaic virus (TuMV) confers TYMB and TuMV resistance in Arabidopsis (page1420, Abstract).
An et al. teaches ancient actin gene family of Arabidopsis historically evolved in nature as ACT2 and ACT8 which are constitutively expressed on Arabidopsis plant, account for more than 80% actin mRNA in most Arabidopsis organs (page107, Abstract). The alignment of ACT2 and ACT8 5’ flanking sequence showed many regions having insertion which are exogenous to each other (see Figure 2 above) and comprise non conserved regions.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a skilled in the art before the effective date of filling of the invention to simple substitution of the amiRNA targeting mRNA sequences encoding two gene silencing suppressors, P69 of turnip yellow mosaic virus (TYMV) and HC-Pro of turnip mosaic virus (TuMV) in a Arabidopsis plant ACT gene introns as taught by Miura et al. (2) and An et al. in place of eEF-2 gene targeting Otx2 gene of the mouse leading to the Arabidopsis plant with the recombinant nucleic acid comprising an insert in non-coding region of an ACT gene which would have constitutive promoter and the amiRNA silencing as taught by Niu et al. would increase the disease resistance in the Arabidopsis plant.
Obvious over Miura et al. (2) in view of Liang et al.
Claims 20, 41 and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (2) (WIPO International Pub. Date: WO 2016/196887 Al, Pub. Date: 12/08/2016), and further in view of Liang et al. (Published: 2012, Journal: PLoS ONE 7(11): e48951. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0048951), and further in view of An et al.
Regarding claims 20 and 41, Miura et al. (2) teaches a mouse cell comprising an artificial microRNA (amiRNA) sequences inserted in the endogenous eukaryotic translation elongation factor 2 (eEF-2) gene (page 39, paragraph 0084, Figure 5).
Miura et al. (2) teaches eEF-2 is expressed in high levels ubiquitously and consistently both during developmental and adult stages (page 38, paragraph 0083).
Furthermore, Satyamurthi et al. showed the evidence that the promoter of eEF-2 of mouse act as constitutive promoter (see Abstract).
Miura et al. (2) teaches intronic miRNAs are co-expressed along with the host genes and the presence of miRNA in an intron does not seem to affect the expression of the host gene and numerous intronic sites I the genome serve choices for targeted insertion of amiRNA sequences (pages 36-37, paragraph 0078).
Miura et al. (2) teaches mRNA targets GFP leading to knockdown of eFGP expressions (page39, paragraph 0084) and also targets endogenous Otx2 gene leading to knockdown of the gene showing embryo having reduction in head, eye and body size of mouse (page 40, paragraph 0086).
Regarding claim 45, Miura et al. (2) teaches, preferably the DNA construct encoding mRNA is inserted into a eukaryotic cell genome into an evolutionarily non-conserved region of the intron since such non-conserved regions are less likely to contain regulatory sequences and may be determined by comparing the intronic sequences among related species (page 32, paragraph 0019).
Miura et al. (2) teaches their composition and method can be used to knock-in, knock-out or alter expression of target gene in plants (page 11, paragraph 0043, page 23, paragraphs 0083-0084) and engineered organism would be plant (page 34, paragraph 00124).
An et al. teaches ancient actin gene family of Arabidopsis historically evolved in nature as ACT2 and ACT8 which are constitutively expressed on Arabidopsis plant, account for more than 80% actin mRNA in most Arabidopsis organs (page107, Abstract). The alignment of ACT2 and ACT8 5’ flanking sequence showed many regions having insertion which are exogenous to each other (see Figure 2 above) and comprise non conserved regions.
Miura et al. (2) does not disclose the plant comprising the recombinant nucleic acid would have more efficient nutrient acquisition.
Liang et al. teaches more lateral roots were found in 35S::miR160a plants (i.e. efficient nutrient acquisition) than WT (wild-type) Arabidopsis plants by down regulating ARF16 and ARF17 (page 8, right paragraph 2, Figure 5, see Figure below).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a skilled in the art before the effective date of filling of the invention to simple substitution of the amiRNA targeting mRNA sequences encoding ARF18 and ARF17 genes in a Arabidopsis plant ACT gene non coding region as taught by Miura et al (2) and An et al. in place of eEF-2 gene targeting Otx2 gene of the mouse leading to the Arabidopsis plant with the recombinant nucleic acid comprising an insert in intronic region of an ACT gene which would have constitutive promoter and the amiRNA silencing as taught by Liang et al. would increase nutrient acquisition in the Arabidopsis plant.
Summary
No claims are allowed.
Examiner’s Contact Information
/SANTOSH SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/DAVID H KRUSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663