DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group II in the reply filed on 8/31/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bialek et al. (WO 2014/095180).
Regarding claim 4, Bialek (‘180) teaches a method of forming a pea starch particle product, comprising: (a) drying a pea starch product to form a powder (See Abs., p. 5, ll. 7-13, p. 10, ll. 3-36, p. 11, l. 4.); (b) mixing the powder with water, producing a mixture (See p. 10, l. 34 to p. 11, l. 8.); (c) extruding the mixture thru an extruder producing an extrudate (See p. 10, l. 34 to p. 11, l. 8.); and (d) grinding the extrudate producing the pea starch particle product (See p. 10, l. 34 to p. 11, l. 8.).
Regarding claim 5, Bialek (‘180) teaches wherein the pea starch is not treated to any chemical or enzyme reaction (See p. 8, l. 35 to p. 9, l. 1.).
Regarding claim 6, Bialek (‘180) teaches wherein the powder comprises at least about 4% by weight fiber (See p. 8, l. 35 to p. 9, l. 2, 1-40%.).
Regarding claim 7, Bialek (‘180) teaches wherein the powder has been subjected to milling prior to the extruding (See p. 5, ll. 6-13.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bialek et al. (WO 2014/095180).
Regarding claims 8-11, Bialek (‘180) teaches the product discussed above, however, fails to expressly disclose the type of extruder, operating temperature and screw speed.
Applicant does not set forth any non-obvious unexpected results for selecting any particular type of extruder the operating temperature and speed.
It would have been foreseeable and obvious prior to the earliest effective filing date to select any known extruder known in the art and the operating parameters thereof, including those set forth in the claims, that are effective for extruding pea materials.
The selection of extruders and operating conditions thereof would have been within the skill set of a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/BRENT T O'HERN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793
September 1, 2026