DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to the application filed 09/06/2024. Claims 16-23 are pending and presented for examination. The preliminary amendment filed 09/06/2024 is acknowledged and entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0261275 to WANG (hereafter Wang) in view of US 2024/0365428 to FU et al. (hereafter Fu).
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for a discontinuous reception (DRX) operation (see Wang, Fig 6), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), a radio resource control (RRC) message (see Wang, ¶ 0103: the time value and the configuration of DRX cycle may be indicated by the same RRC information) for configuring one or more DRX configurations including at least a first DRX configuration that indicates parameters for an integer DRX cycle (see Wang, ¶ 0046: the network device 120 may transmit a configuration of DRX cycle to the terminal device 110; ¶ 0051: In another aspect, a length of DRX cycle may be configured as an integer value; ¶ 0093: the configuration may indicate at least one of the following: a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle, and a slot offset for DRX cycle. The length of DRX cycle is an integer value. The integer value may refer to integer number of time units; ¶ 0130: the DRX configuration may indicate a length of DRX cycle and a start offset pattern for the set of starting times. The length of DRX cycle is an integer value; ¶ 0138: the DRX configuration may indicate a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle and a slot offset of DRX cycle. In some embodiments, the length of DRX cycle may be an integer value; ¶ 0150: the terminal device 110 receives, from the network device 120, a configuration of DRX cycle);
determining whether the one or more DRX configurations include a second DRX configuration that indicates parameters for a non-integer DRX cycle (see Wang, ¶ 0051: In one aspect, a length of DRX cycle may be configured as a non-integer value; ¶ 0055: The length of DRX cycle is a non-integer value (also referred to as a nominal DRX cycle length herein). The non-integer value may refer to non-integer number of time units; ¶ 0138: In some embodiments, the length of DRX cycle may be a non-integer value; ¶ 0150: In some embodiments, the configuration may indicate a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle and a slot offset for DRX cycle. In these embodiments, the length of DRX cycle is a non-integer value);
determining whether to apply the parameters for the integer DRX cycle or the parameters for the non-integer DRX cycle based one whether the one or more DRX configurations include the second DRX configuration or not (see Wang, ¶ 0051: In one aspect, a length of DRX cycle may be configured as a non-integer value. In another aspect, a length of DRX cycle may be configured as an integer value; ¶ 0138: Embodiment 7 may be applied in case of an integer DRX cycle length, and also may be applied in case of a non-integer DRX cycle length; ¶ 0122: the DRX cycle pattern may comprise K1 integer numbers and K1 may be an integer number larger than 1. In some embodiments, the DRX cycle pattern may be (34, 33, 33), (17, 17, 16), (12, 11, 11, 11, 11, 11, 11, 11, 11) or (9, 8, 8); ¶ 0160: the terminal device 110 receives, from the network device 120, a configuration of DRX cycle. In some embodiments, the configuration may indicate a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle and a slot offset for DRX cycle. In these embodiments, the length of DRX cycle is a non-integer value; ¶ 0161: he terminal device 110 determines, at least based on the configuration of DRX cycle, a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles, the set of starting times being non-uniform. In some embodiments, the configuration may indicate a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle and a slot offset for DRX cycle, the length being an integer value);
starting, based on the parameters for the integer DRX cycle, a DRX timer in a case that the one or more DRX configurations do not include the second DRX configuration (see Wang, ¶ 0196: receive, from a network device, a configuration of DRX cycle; determine a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles at least based on the configuration of DRX cycle and a SFN period, wherein the SFN period comprises multiple consecutive SFNs; ¶ 0202: a terminal device comprises circuitry configured to: receive, from a network device, a configuration of DRX cycle; determine, at least based on the configuration of DRX cycle, a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles, the set of starting times being non-uniform); and
starting, based on the parameters for the non-integer DRX cycle, the DRX timer in a case that the one or more DRX configurations include the second DRX configuration (see Wang, ¶ 0196: receive, from a network device, a configuration of DRX cycle; determine a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles at least based on the configuration of DRX cycle and a SFN period, wherein the SFN period comprises multiple consecutive SFNs; ¶ 0202: a terminal device comprises circuitry configured to: receive, from a network device, a configuration of DRX cycle; determine, at least based on the configuration of DRX cycle, a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles, the set of starting times being non-uniform).
Wang discloses sets of DRX configuration for indicating integer DRX cycle and non-integer DRX cycle which is interpreted as first DRX configuration and second DRX configuration.
However, Fu discloses a first DRX configuration that indicates parameters for an integer DRX cycle and a second DRX configuration that indicates parameter for a non-integer DRX cycle (see Fu, ¶ 0059: The indication information indicates one or more of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations corresponding to the parameter configuration with the non-integer cycle. Illustratively, the non-integer cycle is 6.67 ms; ¶ 0060: the plurality of sets of DRX configurations include type information of each of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations. The type information includes an integer cycle type or a non-integer cycle type. For example, a first set of DRX configurations is in the integer cycle type, and a second set of DRX configurations is in the non-integer cycle type; ¶ 0111; ¶ 0179).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Fu and incorporate it into the system of Wang to support extended reality (XR) services (see Fu, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 17, Wang in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 16, wherein:
the parameters for the non-integer DRX cycle are associated with a frame per second (FPS) of data traffic that is received by the UE (see Wang, ¶ 0047: the XR frame packets comprise XR video stream with 60 FPS), and
the parameters for the non-integer DRX cycle are indicated by decimal forms or fractional forms (see Wang, ¶ 0059: The indication information indicates one or more of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations corresponding to the parameter configuration with the non-integer cycle. Illustratively, the non-integer cycle is 6.67 ms; ¶ 0060: an example configuration with a positive non-integer DRX cycle length according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, p=1000/60 ms).
Regarding claim 18, Wang in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 16, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the second DRX configuration is configured for a DRX group.
However, Fu discloses wherein the second DRX configuration is configured for a DRX group (see Fu, ¶ 0055: A scenario where the specific DRX configuration is used for a DRX group or an index of a DRX configuration; ¶ 0067: the plurality of sets of DRX configurations belong to a same DRX group. That is, the plurality of sets of DRX configurations are based on the DRX group configurations (per DRX group configuration); ¶ 0068: the plurality of sets of DRX configurations belong to different DRX groups. That is, the plurality of sets of DRX configurations are in different DRX groups).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Fu and incorporate it into the system of Wang to support extended reality (XR) services (see Fu, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 19, Wang in view of Fu discloses the method of claim 16, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein: the one or more DRX configurations includes a third DRX configuration, and the third DRX configuration indicates parameters for a second non-integer DRX cycle .
However, Fu discloses wherein: the one or more DRX configurations includes a third DRX configuration, and the third DRX configuration indicates parameters for a second non-integer DRX cycle (see Fu, ¶ 0039: The specific DRX configuration is also referred to as a first DRX configuration, a DRX configuration with a non-integer cycle, or a DRX configuration of the XR service, and the name of the specific DRX configuration is not limited in the embodiments; ¶ 0063: the terminal receives four sets of DRX configurations: DRX-config, DRX-config-secondarygroup, DRX-config-XR-FR1, and DRX-config-XR-FR2. The DRX-config and DRX-config-secondarygroup correspond to the DRX configurations with the integer cycle, and the DRX-config-XR-FR1 and DRX-config-XR-FR2 correspond to the DRX configurations with the non-integer cycle).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Fu and incorporate it into the system of Wang to support extended reality (XR) services (see Fu, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 16. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 16.
Regarding claim 21, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 17. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 17.
Regarding claim 22, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 18. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 18.
Regarding claim 23, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 19. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0051778 to LEE et al. discloses a user equipment (UE) may receive an indication of a configuration for a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle periodicity, the indication including a selection of a non-integer number for the DRX cycle periodicity. The UE may receive one or more communications based at least in part on the configuration for the DRX cycle periodicity.
US 2024/0215107 to FU et al. discloses the first configuration information is used to indicate one DRX configuration. A value of at least one parameter in the one DRX configuration is a non-integer numerical value. In the above solution, since the values of the parameters in the DRX configuration are non-integer values, the starting time of the DRX ON time, the ending time of the DRX ON time, the starting time of the DRX OFF time, the ending time of the DRX OFF time, the duration of the DRX related timer, and the starting time of the DRX related timer and the time domain unit in the time domain are not aligned, where the slot unit may be, for example, a subframe, a slot or a symbol.
US 2022/0361281 to PARIS et al. discloses the current DRX configuration protocol only allows for a single configuration for a DRX cycle. As such, this may result in an inefficient configuration of the DRX cycle that does not fit the data stream traffic for a UE. More specifically, the UE active period and inactivity period may be based on large data bursts, such as data bursts due to I-frames. As such, smaller data bursts, such as data bursts due to P-frames and/or B-frames, which are typically smaller and more frequent than I-frame transmissions, would result in a loss in energy for the UE. Furthermore, the data stream may have a non-integer periodicity of data bursts due to how the data bursts are generated, for example, and thus the integer periodicity of DRX cycle configuration and the non-integer periodicity of the data stream may result in a lag between the active period of the DRX cycle and the data stream periodicity. In some embodiments, the indication of the burst pattern is received during a DRX configuration, such as by using a RRC message.
US 2020/0389933 to Ang et al. discloses DRX cycle durations may be configured based on a rational number that is used to determine the DRX cycle durations. In such cases, instead of supporting only integer millisecond DRX cycle durations, a DRX configuration may support non-integer millisecond DRX cycle durations as a rational number.
/RASHEED GIDADO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464