DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, and 9-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chae et al. (US 2021/0105055 A1). Regarding claims 1, 9, 13, Chae et al. discloses a method, comprising: transmitting, by a processor of an apparatus, a user equipment (UE) capability parameter related to a maximum supportable time span of a channel state information (CSI) reporting window for the apparatus (Para 254 teaches “a Rx UE may determine sidelink CSI reporting window size and/or upper limit and/or a lower limit based on channel variation (or coherence time, or (maximum) doppler frequency, etc.), UE (absolute/relative to Tx UE) speed, packet priority, and/or a target latency requirement.”; and receiving, by the processor, a time span of a CSI reporting window configured according to the UE capability parameter Para 254 teaches “ RX UE may determine a sidelink CSI reporting window based on a target latency requirement or priority of a packet received from the Tx UE, and then apply an offset that further reduces the sidelink CSI reporting window according to mobility. The offset according to mobility may be configured by a base station or a Tx UE”). Regarding claims 2, 14, Chae et al. discloses a method, further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, a movement parameter for configuring the time span of the CSI reporting window ( Para 254 teaches “a Rx UE may determine sidelink CSI reporting window size and/or upper limit and/or a lower limit based on channel variation (or coherence time, or (maximum) doppler frequency, etc.), UE (absolute/relative to Tx UE) speed, packet priority, and/or a target latency requirement. The Rx UE may more accurately know how fast the wireless channel changes than the Tx UE. Therefore, the Rx UE may determine the sidelink CSI reporting window based on the channel variation measured by the Rx UE. In this case, the upper bound and/or the lower bound of the sidelink CSI reporting window may be determined differently according to the priority and/or target latency requirement and/or mobility (absolute or relative speed) and this bound may be configured by the base station or preconfigured”). Regarding claims 3, 15, Chae et al. discloses a method, wherein the movement parameter includes a velocity, a Doppler shift or a Doppler spread ( Para 254 teaches “a Rx UE may determine sidelink CSI reporting window size and/or upper limit and/or a lower limit based on channel variation (or coherence time, or (maximum) doppler frequency, etc.), UE (absolute/relative to Tx UE) speed, packet priority, and/or a target latency requirement. The Rx UE may more accurately know how fast the wireless channel changes than the Tx UE. Therefore, the Rx UE may determine the sidelink CSI reporting window based on the channel variation measured by the Rx UE. In this case, the upper bound and/or the lower bound of the sidelink CSI reporting window may be determined differently according to the priority and/or target latency requirement and/or mobility (absolute or relative speed) and this bound may be configured by the base station or preconfigured”). Regarding claims 4, 10, 16, Chae et al. discloses a method, further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, a parameter related to a reduced time span of a CSI reporting window, wherein the reduced time span of the CSI reporting window is less than the configured time span of CSI reporting window; and transmitting, by the processor, at least one CSI report for the reduced time span of CSI reporting window. ( Para 254 teaches “a Rx UE may determine sidelink CSI reporting window size and/or upper limit and/or a lower limit based on channel variation (or coherence time, or (maximum) doppler frequency, etc.), UE (absolute/relative to Tx UE) speed, packet priority, and/or a target latency requirement. The Rx UE may more accurately know how fast the wireless channel changes than the Tx UE. Therefore, the Rx UE may determine the sidelink CSI reporting window based on the channel variation measured by the Rx UE. In this case, the upper bound and/or the lower bound of the sidelink CSI reporting window may be determined differently according to the priority and/or target latency requirement and/or mobility (absolute or relative speed) and this bound may be configured by the base station or preconfigured”). Regarding claims 5, 11, 17, Chae et al. discloses a method, further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, another UE capability parameter indicating whether a size of subperiod less than a time gap of CSI measurement instance is supported ( Para 254 teaches “For example, a RX UE may determine a sidelink CSI reporting window based on a target latency requirement or priority of a packet received from the Tx UE, and then apply an offset that further reduces the sidelink CSI reporting window according to mobility”). Regarding claims 6, 18, Chae et al. discloses a method, further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, another UE capability parameter indicating whether a size of subperiod less than a time gap of CSI measurement instance is supported ( Para 254 teaches “For example, a RX UE may determine a sidelink CSI reporting window based on a target latency requirement or priority of a packet received from the Tx UE, and then apply an offset that further reduces the sidelink CSI reporting window according to mobility”). Regarding claims 7, 12, 19, Chae et al. discloses a method, further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, another UE capability parameter indicating a maximum tolerable time gap of two available CSI measurement instances (Para 151 teaches of “For periodic CSI reporting, the UE may be configured with a timing and/or periodicity of a plurality of CSI reports”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (US 2021/0105055 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 2016/0134351 A1) Regarding claims 8, 20, Chae et al. discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1 above. Chae et al. does not discloses a method, further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, a CSI fallback indicator indicating a CSI reporting mode. However Choi et al. discloses a method, further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, a CSI fallback indicator indicating a CSI reporting mode (Para 147-150 teaches of CSI Fallback request message). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of o using a CSI Fallback message of Choi et al. with the system of Chae et al. in order to provide a system for allowing user equipment’s (UEs) with dual connectivity to classify a cell group and to transmit channel state information (CSI) feedback through a representative cell to effectively transmit CSI feedback in a heterogeneous cell deployment.
Conclusion
/AJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467