DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 14, and 16-21 are pending in this Office Action.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 14, and 16-19 are amended.
Claims 20 and 21 are new.
Claims 3, 8, 10-13, and 15 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/31/2025 has been entered.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation of claims 12 and 13 is withdrawn because claims 12 and 13 were cancelled.
The U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 4, 12, 13, and 16 is withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendments.
The claim objections to claims 6, 12, and 18 are withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims 1, 9, and 20 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Zhu does not disclose the video distribution scenario that includes the business scenario and the distribution region.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the video distribution scenario including both of a business scenario and a distribution region) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, the claim recites “the video distribution scenario comprises at least one of a business scenario and a distribution region”. The Examiner notes “a business scenario” is a very broad terminology encompassing many scenarios. Zhu teaches a business scenario, such as using online video playback or downloading video offline (par. 41, 44, 55, 58, 62, and 66). Therefore, Zhu teaches at least one of a business scenario and a distribution region.
Applicant further argues Zhu does not disclose determining a transcoding format as part of determining the transcoding mode.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhu teaches the method of transcoding the video includes transcoding into a video with a particular resolution, bit rate and playback format (par. 28, 43-44, 51, 53, 55, 57, 59, and 65-66). These paragraphs demonstrate determining a transcoding format as part of determining the transcoding mode.
Applicant further makes an allegation that Zhu does not disclose a transcoding strategy for performing transcoding on the video.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Prior to this allegation, Applicant admitted on page 14 of the remarks that Zhu teaches “transcoding in parallel” based on “the resource assessment results and the resource occupancy status”, which amounts to a transcoding strategy for performing transcoding on the video. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is rendered moot. Further, Zhu clearly teaches other transcoding strategies. For example, whether to use a method of transcoding while transmitting or a method of transcoding first and then transmitting, or determining how many transcoding nodes to use for transcoding simultaneously (par. 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9, 14, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN 101945278) (Of Record) in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0368231).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 20 Zhu teaches: A video transcoding method, an electronic device, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium [Video adaptive transcoding method and a server 20 (par. 2 and 60, Fig. 3)], comprising:
determining a video transcoding mode of a video based on a correspondence relationship between a video transcoding strategy and a video distribution scenario of the video [determining the optimal video resource and transcoding method for a video to be distributed to the user based on a scenario including transcoding requirements, such as resolution, bit rate and playback format, network bandwidth between the user end and the server end, the playback software used by the user end, the video mode used by the user, user priority, resources required, resource occupancy. This is based on a correspondence relationship, such as using a parallel transcoding strategy that corresponds to the required computing resources, storage resources, time resources, and network resources (par. 49-58). Correspondence between the playback resolution, playback software, network bandwidth of the user terminal and the resolution, bit rate and playback format required for transcoding (par. 43-44 and 65-66)],
wherein the video transcoding mode comprises a transcoding format for the video [the method of transcoding the video includes transcoding into a video with a particular resolution, bit rate and playback format (par. 28, 43-44, 51, 53, 55, 57, 59, and 65-66)] and
obtaining a transcoded video file corresponding to the video by performing a transcoding operation on the video based on the video transcoding mode, so as to generate a playback video for playback based on the transcoded video file in response to detecting a video playback request [transcoding the video according to the selected optimal video resource and transcoding method and sending the transcoded video to the user terminal for playback according to the user request (par. 30, 40, 58-62, and 78)],
wherein the video distribution scenario comprises at least one of a business scenario and a distribution region [a business scenario, such as using online video playback or downloading video offline (par. 41, 44, 55, 58, 62, and 66)],
the video transcoding strategy comprising at least one of a static transcoding strategy, a dynamic transcoding strategy, a remaining resource scheduling strategy, and a real-time transcoding strategy, and wherein the static transcoding strategy refers to triggering transcoding based on video playback information of an associated distributed video of the video, and the dynamic transcoding strategy refers to triggering transcoding based on video playback information of a scenario distributed video in a business scenario that the video belongs to [the strategy may include a static strategy, such as one that selects a video whose resolution, bit rate, and playback format are consistent with the transcoding requirements (par. 54), dynamic strategy, such as one that evaluates computing resources, storage resources, time resources, and network resources for transcoding (par. 53), a remaining resource scheduling strategy, such as one that evaluates the computing resource usage (such as CPU usage), storage resource usage (such as memory usage) and network resource usage (such as network bandwidth usage) (par. 52), or a real-time transcoding strategy, such as one that transcodes the video in the least time possible (par. 53 and 55)].
Zhu does not explicitly disclose: storing the transcoded video file.
Kim teaches: storing the transcoded video file [the processor 130 may store the transcoded video data in the at least one storage 110 (par. 42 and 59, Fig. 1-3)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhu and Kim before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video transcoding method of Zhu by incorporating storing the transcoded video file as disclosed by Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the transcoded video to the user in response to a request, without needing to further transcode the video (Kim – par. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Zhu and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 2, 14, and 21, Zhu and Kim teach the video transcoding method of claim 1; Zhu further teaches: determining the video transcoding mode of the video based on the correspondence relationship between the video transcoding strategy and the video distribution scenario of the video comprises: determining a cost-associated parameter associated with the video distribution scenario, and determining the video transcoding mode based on the cost-associated parameter [determining an amount of resources associated with the scenario, such as computing resources, storage resources, time resources, and network resources, and selecting optimal video resources and transcoding method based on evaluating the amount of resources (par. 51-58)].
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Zhu and Kim teach the video transcoding method of claim 1; Zhu further teaches: the video transcoding mode is the remaining resource scheduling strategy [a remaining resource scheduling strategy, such as one that evaluates the computing resource usage (such as CPU usage), storage resource usage (such as memory usage) and network resource usage (such as network bandwidth usage) (par. 52)], and
obtaining the transcoded video file corresponding to the video by performing the transcoding operation on the video based on the video transcoding mode comprises: determining a transcoding priority of the video [determining the transcoding type of the video based on priority (par. 44 and 55)]
determining a transcoding time of the video based on a resource quota and the transcoding priority [determining the time required to transcode the video, such as the least amount of time, based on resources, such as the resource usage of a transcoding node, and the priority (par. 51-55 and 77)] and
obtaining the transcoded video file corresponding to the video by performing the transcoding operation on the video at the transcoding time [transcoding the video according to the selected optimal video resource and transcoding method at the required amount of time (par. 58-59, and 77-78)].
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Zhu and Kim teach the video transcoding method of claim 1; Zhu further teaches: the video transcoding mode is the real-time transcoding strategy, and obtaining the transcoded video file corresponding to the video by performing the transcoding operation on the video based on the video transcoding mode comprises: determining, in response to a detected video playback request, a playback video parameter associated with the video playback request; and obtaining the transcoded video file by transcoding the video based on the playback video parameter [receiving a video request from a user and obtaining configuration information, such as the playback resolution of the user end, the network bandwidth between the user end and the server end, the playback software used by the user end, the video mode used by the user and the user priority (par. 40). Determining the transcoding type based on the configuration information, such as that transcoding speed should be given priority to transcode the video in the least time, and then transcoding according to the transcoding type (par. 44-45, 55, and 58)].
Claims 4-5 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN 101945278) (Of Record) in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0368231) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0204804).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Zhu and Kim teach the video transcoding method of claim 1; Zhu and Kim further teach: the video transcoding mode is the static transcoding strategy [Zhu - the strategy may include a static strategy, such as one that selects a video whose resolution, bit rate, and playback format are consistent with the transcoding requirements (par. 54). Kim - determining that the streaming data associated with the video data is available on the at least one storage 110, the processor 130 may stream the transcoded video data stored in the at least one storage 110 (par. 42 and 59, Fig. 1-3)].
Zhu and Kim do not explicitly disclose: obtaining the transcoded video file corresponding to the video by performing the transcoding operation on the video based on the video transcoding mode comprises: obtaining the video playback information of the associated distributed video of the video as a static strategy reference parameter; determining a static predicted popularity indicator of the video based on the static strategy reference parameter; and in a case that the static predicted popularity indicator is higher than a set static popularity threshold, obtaining the transcoded video file corresponding to the video by performing the transcoding operation on the video.
Chen teaches: obtaining the transcoded video file corresponding to the video by performing the transcoding operation on the video based on the video transcoding mode comprises: obtaining the video playback information of the associated distributed video of the video as a static strategy reference parameter [reencoding the media content comprises obtaining the number of downloads or streams that the uploader has for previously uploaded media contents (par. 98)]
determining a static predicted popularity indicator of the video based on the static strategy reference parameter [determine a predicted popularity of the media content based on any number of factors, such as the number of downloads or streams (par. 98)] and
in a case that the static predicted popularity indicator is higher than a set static popularity threshold, obtaining the transcoded video file corresponding to the video by performing the transcoding operation on the video [determining to reencode the media content, such as to a lower quality, if the media content is predicted to be popular including the use of a threshold (par. 80, 82, 97-98, and 101)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhu, Kim, and Chen before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video transcoding method of Zhu and Kim by incorporating the teaching of Chen regarding transcoding based on predicted popularity. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the storage and bandwidth requirements associated with delivering more popular media contents (Chen – par. 82). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Zhu and Kim with Chen to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Zhu and Kim teach the video transcoding method of claim 1; Zhu further teaches: the video transcoding mode is the dynamic transcoding strategy [the strategy may include a dynamic strategy, such as one that evaluates computing resources, storage resources, time resources, and network resources for transcoding (par. 53)].
Zhu and Kim do not explicitly disclose: obtaining the transcoded video file corresponding to the video by performing the transcoding operation on the video based on the video transcoding mode comprises: determining, within a set time period, the video playback information of the scenario distributed video in the business scenario that the video belongs to as a dynamic strategy reference parameter; determining a dynamic predicted popularity indicator of the video based on the dynamic strategy reference parameter; and in a case that the dynamic predicted popularity indicator is higher than a set dynamic popularity threshold, obtaining the transcoded video file corresponding to the video by performing the transcoding operation on the video.
Chen teaches: obtaining the transcoded video file corresponding to the video by performing the transcoding operation on the video based on the video transcoding mode comprises: determining, within a set time period, the video playback information of the scenario distributed video in the business scenario that the video belongs to as a dynamic strategy reference parameter [reencoding the media content comprises determining, for a time period from upload until now, the number of downloads or streams that the uploader has for a previously uploaded media content. The media content is part of the same business scenario of downloading or streaming media content (par. 82 and 98)]
determining a dynamic predicted popularity indicator of the video based on the dynamic strategy reference parameter [determine a predicted popularity of the media content based on any number of factors, such as the number of downloads or streams (par. 98)] and
in a case that the dynamic predicted popularity indicator is higher than a set dynamic popularity threshold, obtaining the transcoded video file corresponding to the video by performing the transcoding operation on the video [determining to reencode the media content, such as to a lower quality, if the media content is predicted to be popular including the use of a threshold (par. 80, 82, 97-98, and 101)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhu, Kim, and Chen before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video transcoding method of Zhu and Kim by incorporating the teaching of Chen regarding transcoding based on predicted popularity. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the storage and bandwidth requirements associated with delivering more popular media contents (Chen – par. 82). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Zhu and Kim with Chen to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER BOYD/Examiner, Art Unit 2424
/BENJAMIN R BRUCKART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2424