DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to claims 1 - 14 filed in this application Inamdar et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 18/844938, (Filed September 6, 2024) claiming priority to PCTCN2022140889 (12/22/2022) claiming priority to IN202211012113 (3/7/2022).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 9/9/2024, 9/11/2025, and 3/18/2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. The references listed therein have been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. §103
Claim 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bade et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0059054 (Published May 16, 2002, filed June 1, 2001) in view of Koltachev et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0366007 (Published December 11, 2014, filed June 6, 2013) (“Koltachev”).
Claims 1, 13, and 14
With respect to claims 1, 13, and 14 Bade teaches the invention as claimed including a method implemented by a development machine for evaluating an embedded project to be run on an embedded board, the method comprising the steps of:
receiving a trigger command from a user, the trigger command being used to obtain a manifest file provided by a developer of the embedded project; based on the manifest file, dynamically generating an interactive web interface of a [web application] and displaying the interactive web interface to the user; obtaining at least a project file to be written by using the web application, wherein the project file to be written is stored on a remote server and comprises at least a pre- built image file of the embedded project; and writing the image file into a firmware storage area of the embedded board connected to the development machine, so as to run the embedded project on the embedded board for evaluation. {An IDE provided via a web application interface may obtain a manifest for an embedded application project file, from a server, and may be provided a link to instruct the project file be written as an image file to an embedded board for a particular type of CPU. Bade at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 – 0024; id. at ¶ 0105-0106, 0134, 0156.}
However, Bade doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation:
web application {Koltachev does teach this limitation. Koltachev teaches that using a web based IDE for embedded programming, as taught in Bade, may include where a web application IDE utilizes links for content access and that offsets may be used by manifests for specifying locations. Koltachev at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0020, 0048, 0075.
Bade and Koltachev are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of software development, and both are trying to solve the problem of how to provide a web based IDE.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a web based IDE, as taught in Bade with where the IDE is a web application, as taught in Koltachev. Bade teaches that a web application may be used with an IDE functionality. Id. at ¶ 0075. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine a web based IDE, as taught in Bade with where IDE is a web application, as taught in Koltachev, for the purpose of using a particular type of web based IDE implementation.}
Claim 2
With respect to claim 2 Bade and Koltachev teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the step of, based on the manifest file, dynamically generating an interactive web interface of a [web application] and displaying the interactive web interface to the user comprises: obtaining a pre-built manifest file from the remote server; rendering a webpage based on the manifest file to obtain the interactive web interface, and displaying the interactive web interface to the user. {An IDE provided via a web application interface may obtain a manifest for an embedded application project file, from a server, and may be provided a link to instruct the project file be written as an image file to an embedded board for a particular type of CPU. Bade at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 – 0024; id. at ¶ 0134.}
web application {A web application IDE utilizes links for content access and that offsets may be used by manifests for specifying locations. Koltachev at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0020, 0048, 0075.}
Claim 3
With respect to claim 3 Bade and Koltachev teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the step of obtaining at least a project file to be written by using a [web application] comprises: obtaining, from the manifest file, a path where the project file to be written is stored on the remote server; and obtaining the project file to be written based on the path by means of the [web application.] {An IDE provided via a web application interface may obtain a manifest for an embedded application project file, from a server, and may be provided a link to instruct the project file be written as an image file to an embedded board for a particular type of CPU. Bade at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 – 0024; id. at ¶ 0134; id. at ¶ 0170 (path to project file).}
web application {A web application IDE utilizes links for content access and that offsets may be used by manifests for specifying locations. Koltachev at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0020, 0048, 0075.}
Claim 4
With respect to claim 4 Bade and Koltachev teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the method further comprises: displaying a pre-established [link] on the interactive web interface based on the data in the manifest file. {An IDE provided via a web application interface may obtain a manifest for an embedded application project file, from a server, and may be provided a link to instruct the project file be written as an image file to an embedded board for a particular type of CPU. Bade at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 – 0024; id. at ¶ 0134.}
link {A web application IDE utilizes links for content access and that offsets may be used by manifests for specifying locations. Koltachev at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0020, 0048, 0075.}
Claim 5
With respect to claim 5 Bade and Koltachev teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the manifest file further comprises constraints information, which is used to specify which type of chip and/or embedded board the embedded project supports. {An IDE provided via a web application interface may obtain a manifest for an embedded application project file, from a server, and may be provided a link to instruct the project file be written as an image file to an embedded board for a particular type of CPU. Bade at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 – 0024; id. at ¶ 0134.}
Claim 6
With respect to claim 6 Bade and Koltachev teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein after the step of displaying the interactive web interface to the user, the method further comprises: receiving the type of chip and/or embedded board to be used as an input by the user through the interactive web interface; and determining whether the type of chip and/or embedded board to be used is a type supported by the embedded project, and if so, executing an operation of writing the image file into the firmware storage area of the embedded board. {An IDE provided via a web application interface may obtain a manifest for an embedded application project file, from a server, and may be provided a link to instruct the project file be written as an image file to an embedded board for a particular type of CPU. Bade at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 – 0024; id. at ¶¶ 0105, 0137 (CPU attributes and type); id. at ¶ 0134.}
Claim 7
With respect to claim 7 Bade and Koltachev teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the manifest file further comprises an [offset,] and based on the [offset,] the image file is written to a designated location of the firmware storage area. {An IDE provided via a web application interface may obtain a manifest for an embedded application project file, from a server, and may be provided a link to instruct the project file be written as an image file to an embedded board for a particular type of CPU. Bade at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 – 0024; id. at ¶ 0134; id. at ¶¶ 0149, 0151, and 0156 (address start and end).}
offset {A web application IDE utilizes links for content access and that offsets may be used by manifests for specifying locations. Koltachev at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0020, 0048, 0075.}
Claim 8
With respect to claim 8 Bade and Koltachev teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein after the step of displaying the interactive web interface to the user, the method further comprises: receiving input information by the user through the interactive web interface, and transmitting the input information to the embedded project running on the embedded board. {An IDE provided via a web application interface may obtain a manifest for an embedded application project file, from a server, and may be provided a link to instruct the project file be written as an image file to an embedded board for a particular type of CPU. Bade at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 – 0024; id. at ¶ 0134.}
Claim 9
With respect to claim 9 Bade and Koltachev teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein after the step of displaying the interactive web interface to the user, the method further comprises: providing a link in the interactive web interface to download a phone application required to evaluate the embedded project. {An IDE provided via a web application interface may obtain a manifest for an embedded application project file, from a server, and may be provided a link to instruct the project file be written as an image file to an embedded board for a particular type of CPU. Bade at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 – 0024; id. at ¶ 0134; id. at ¶ 0005, 0102, 0103, and 0183 (mobile phone).}
Link {A web application IDE utilizes links for content access and that offsets may be used by manifests for specifying locations. Koltachev at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0020, 0048, 0075.}
Claim 10
With respect to claim 10 Bade and Koltachev teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the project file to be written is an embedded project file stored in an open-source repository or any file storage accessible over web. {An IDE provided via a web application interface may obtain a manifest for an embedded application project file, from a server, and may be provided a link to instruct the project file be written as an image file to an embedded board for a particular type of CPU. Bade at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 – 0024; id. at ¶ 0134.}
Claim 11
With respect to claim 11 Bade and Koltachev teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the trigger command is clicking on a pre-established link. {An IDE provided via a web application interface may obtain a manifest for an embedded application project file, from a server, and may be provided a link to instruct the project file be written as an image file to an embedded board for a particular type of CPU. Bade at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 – 0024; id. at ¶ 0134.}
link {A web application IDE utilizes links for content access and that offsets may be used by manifests for specifying locations. Koltachev at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0020, 0048, 0075.}
Claim 12
With respect to claim 12 Bade and Koltachev teaches the invention as claimed including:
wherein the web application is a JavaScript application, which communicates with the embedded board through a web- serial interface. {An IDE provided via a web application interface may obtain a manifest for an embedded application project file, from a server, and may be provided a link to instruct the project file be written as an image file to an embedded board for a particular type of CPU. Bade at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0021 – 0024; id. at ¶ 0134; Koltachev at ¶ 0072 (serial).}
Conclusion
//T.H./ June 27, 2026
Examiner, Art Unit 2199
/LEWIS A BULLOCK JR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2199