DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election of Group l: Claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 2/06/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 16- 21 drawn to the non-elected group are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Selby of record (US20090129050A1).
Regarding claim 1, Selby teaches a method of performing zone ablation on a painted polymer substrate of a vehicle panel (ABS) comprising the steps of: providing a polymer substrate (20) having an appearance side and a painted side (paint layer 22); providing a sacrificial material layer on the painted side of the polymer substrate (24 on layer 22); providing at least one base paint layer onto the sacrificial material layer (26); providing a laser for selectively emitting an ablation light (28) onto an ablation zone on the painted side of the polymer substrate, and operating the laser to emit the ablation light onto the ablation zone and remove the at least one paint layer (26) and a portion of the sacrificial material layer (24) to form one or a plurality of micro-apertures (18), wherein the sacrificial material layer protects the polymer substrate (fig.4, P0014-21).
Regarding claim 11, Selby teaches a graphic design is formed in the ablation zone once the step of operating the laser is completed (P0017, ABS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selby of record (US20090129050A1) as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Selby teaches wherein the at least one base paint layer has a color (claim 15, P0024) but is silent to the wattage value, pulse and wavelength of ablation light. However, these values would be optimized based on the color of the layer and it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 13, Selby is silent to the sacrificial material layer being at least 9 microns in thickness however this is a cause effective variable that can be optimized for a desired effect. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Claims 2, 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selby of record (US20090129050A1) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Guillem (US20210387570A1).
Regarding claim 2, Selby teaches a substrate (17, P0016) but is silent to the material of the substrate.
Guillem, in the same field of endeavor, decorative objects, teaches the polymer substrate is polycarbonate (P0016).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen polycarbonate as the material of the substrate for its transparency as taught by Guillem (P0016) and further as the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding claim 12, Guillem teaches providing a layer of hard coat material to the appearance side of the polymer substrate (P0019).
Regarding claims 14-15, Selby is not specific to the base paint layer being between about 12 to about 15 microns in thickness or between about 22 to about 28 microns in thickness teaches the base paint layer is between about 12 to about 15 microns in thickness.
Guillem teaches “in one exemplary implementation, the substrate thickness is approximately 2-3 millimeters, the base coat thickness is approximately 20 microns, and the opaque and metallic-looking layer combined thickness is approximately 40-150 nanometers” (P0021). This is close to the ranges of claims 14 and 15. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775,227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claims 3, 5-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selby of record (US20090129050A1) and as applied to claim 1, further in view of Vidal (US20210039137A1).
Regarding claim 3, Guillem teaches a white layer 44 on the substrate but is silent to the sacrificial material layer is a transparent paint layer that protects the polymer substrate from damage from the ablation light.
Vidal, in the same field of endeavor, decorative objects, teaches the sacrificial material layer is a transparent paint layer that protects the polymer substrate from damage from the ablation light (P0042, P0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a sacrificial material layer that is a transparent paint layer for the purpose of protecting the transparent part from ultraviolet radiation in the regions of the pattern that have been etched as taught by Vidal (P0042).
Regarding claim 5, Selby teaches applying an accent paint layer onto the painted side and ablation zone of the polymer substrate (P0024, colored layers).
Regarding claim 6, Selby teaches applying a primer layer to the painted side and the ablation zone of the polymer substrate prior to the step of operating the laser, wherein the primer layer enhances the adherence of the accent paint layer (fig.6, white layer 44).
Regarding claim 8, Selby teaches the accent paint layer is one of black or opaque (claim 6).
Regarding claim 9, Selby teaches the accent paint layer is a colored paint (P0024).
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selby of record (US20090129050A1) and Vidal (US20210039137A1) as applied to claim 5, further in view of Guillem (US20210387570A1).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Selby teaches a primer layer (Vidal fig.2, 8) but is silent to its thickness.
Guillem teaches the primer layer 120 (P0020) is approximately 20 microns which is close to the claimed value of less than or equal to 15 microns in thickness.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775,227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Regarding claim 10, Modified Selby teaches accent paint layers but is silent to the specific thickness.
Guillem teaches the accent paint layer is between 40-150 nm (P0021). Although Guillem doesn’t teach the layer is about 25 to about 30 microns in thickness, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that the layer could be any desired thickness to achieve a corresponding decorative effect. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
/ERICA HARTSELL FUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1741