Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 74, 76-78, 80, 89-93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue et al. (US 20250168918) in view of Agiwal et al. (US 20220095409).
Regarding claims 74 and 91, Yue discloses:
A method for small data transmission (SDT) in a power saving state, performed by a user equipment (UE) in a network, the method comprising: ([0060] In a first embodiment, it is assumed that the UE is in RRC non-CONNECTED state and is configured with SDT)
receiving a SDT configuration in a radio resource control (RRC) signaling; ([0012] A SDT configuration (e.g. CG based SDT (CG-SDT) configuration) has been configured to the UE when the UE is released to RRC_INACTIVE state.)
receiving a downlink (DL) signaling including a mobile terminated (MT) indication in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or paging occasion in the power saving state; ([0058] In the following description, “paging for MT-SDT” means a message or an indication for the upcoming DL-triggered small data transmission; [0061] The paging for MT-SDT received by the UE can be contained in a message. The message can be a paging message, a short message, a short messages indicator, or a new broadcast message or a new RRC message or a new message on Uu interface; [0057] All of the embodiments apply to a terminal device (e.g. UE) in RRC non-CONNECTED state.)
and upon reception of the MT indication, receiving DL small data on an associated radio resource based on the SDT configuration without RRC state transition ([0059] The base station (e.g. gNB) (which can also be referred to as BS, network device, network node, etc) may transmit the paging for MT-SDT to the UE when downlink (DL) data arrives at the gNB … When the paging for MT-SDT is received by a UE in RRC non-CONNECTED (e.g. RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE) state, the UE is expected to receive the data as SDT without transiting to RRC_CONNECTED state.), wherein the DL small data are received based on a MT-SDT procedure using random access (RA)- based procedure or configured grant (CG)-based procedure as a baseline. ([0065] The paging for MT-SDT includes at least one of the following indications: [0067] (2) A responding indication, to indicate the procedure that can be used for responding to the paging for MT-SDT. In a first example, the responding indication can indicate that UE shall respond with which one of an RA-SDT, an CG-SDT and a legacy RACH procedure.)
However, Yue does not teach:
monitoring a downlink (DL) signaling including a mobile terminated (MT) indication in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or paging occasion in the power saving state
Agiwal teaches:
monitoring a downlink (DL) signaling including a mobile terminated (MT) indication in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or paging occasion in the power saving state ([0065] In RRC_INACTIVE,… The UE monitors Short Messages transmitted with P-RNTI over DCI, monitors a Paging channel for CN paging using 5G-S-TMSI and RAN paging using full I-RNTI; [0218] Note that the UE is still in RRC_INACTIVE state. The UE monitors PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI in RRC_INACTIVE until SDT is terminated, i.e., until receiving RRCRelease or MAC CE/DCI explicitly terminating SDT or expiry of timer or termination indication in Msg4 or reception of RRCResume or reception of RRCReject or reception of RRCSetup in operation 470.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yue with the teachings of Agiwal, to
include monitoring a downlink (DL) signaling including a mobile terminated (MT) indication in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or paging occasion in the power saving state. The motivation would have been to provide a communication method and a system for converging a fifth generation (5G) communication system for supporting higher data rates beyond a fourth generation (4G) and to monitoring control channel for small data transmission (SDT) in wireless communication system (Agiwal ¶ [0002] & [0008]).
Regarding claim 92, Yue discloses: A user equipment (UE), comprising a memory and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to call and run program instructions stored in a memory to execute the method of claim 74. ([0028] In one embodiment, a terminal device that supports an Radio Resource Control (RRC) non-CONNECTED state with a network device comprises a processor; and a transceiver coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to receive, via the transceiver, a message for Mobile Terminating (MT) Small Data Transmission (SDT) from the network device …)
Regarding claim 93, Yue discloses: A base station (BS), comprising a memory and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to call and run program instructions stored in a memory to execute the method of claim 91. ([0032] In one embodiment, a network device comprises a processor; and a transceiver coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to transmit, via the transceiver, a message for Mobile Terminating (MT) Small Data Transmission (SDT) to a terminal device in an Radio Resource Control (RRC) non-CONNECTED state…)
Regarding claim 76, Yue does not disclose:
wherein the DL signaling is downlink control information (DCI), which comprises scheduling information for the DL small data.
However, Agiwal discloses:
wherein the DL signaling is downlink control information (DCI), which comprises scheduling information for the DL small data. ([0040] In the fifth generation wireless communication system (or NR), Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) is used to schedule downlink (DL) transmissions, where the Downlink Control Information (DCI) on PDCCH)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yue with the teachings of Agiwal, to
include the DL signaling is downlink control information (DCI), which comprises scheduling information for the DL small data. The motivation would have been to provide a communication method and a system for converging a fifth generation (5G) communication system for supporting higher data rates beyond a fourth generation (4G) and to monitoring control channel for small data transmission (SDT) in wireless communication system (Agiwal ¶ [0002] & [0008]).
Regarding claim 77, Yue discloses:
wherein the DCI comprises a short message in which the MT indication is embedded. ([0061] The paging for MT-SDT received by the UE can be contained in a message. The message can be a paging message, a short message … [0063] Short Messages can be transmitted on PDCCH using P-RNTI with or without associated Paging message using Short Message field in DCI format 1_0.)
Regarding claim 78, Yue does not disclose:
wherein the MT indication is implemented via paging and included in a paging record field of a paging message, which is indicated by an inactive-radio network temporary identifier (I-RNTI).
However, Agiwal discloses:
wherein the MT indication is implemented via paging and included in a paging record field of a paging message, which is indicated by an inactive-radio network temporary identifier (I-RNTI). ([0065] In RRC_INACTIVE … The UE monitors Short Messages transmitted with P-RNTI over DCI, monitors a Paging channel for CN paging using 5G-S-TMSI and RAN paging using full I-RNTI)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yue with the teachings of Agiwal, to
include the MT indication is implemented via paging and included in a paging record field of a paging message, which is indicated by an inactive-radio network temporary identifier (I-RNTI). The motivation would have been to provide a communication method and a system for converging a fifth generation (5G) communication system for supporting higher data rates beyond a fourth generation (4G) and to monitoring control channel for small data transmission (SDT) in wireless communication system (Agiwal ¶ [0002] & [0008]).
Regarding claim 80, Yue discloses:
wherein the SDT configuration comprises an information element (IE) which configures MT-SDT information, and the MT-SDT information comprises at least one of a priority rule or a threshold for the DL small data. ([0065] The paging for MT-SDT includes at least one of the following indications: [0068] (3) A DL data size indication. The DL data size indication may include at least one of the following information: (3-1) the DL data size; (3-2) the DL data size (or the DL data volume) is larger or smaller than a data size threshold; (3-3) a RSRP threshold (T1), where the UE can compare the UE's RSRP with the RSRP threshold; (3-4) the DL data is one-shot transmission or multiple-shot transmission.)
Regarding claim 89, Yue does not disclose:
wherein the monitoring step is performed when a SDT-time alignment timer (TAT) is running, wherein the UE needs to monitor PDCCH or paging for DL small data transmission, retransmission, system information change, or public warning indication.
However, Agiwal discloses:
wherein the monitoring step is performed when a SDT-time alignment timer (TAT) is running, wherein the UE needs to monitor PDCCH or paging for DL small data transmission, retransmission, system information change, or public warning indication. ([0321] the UE monitors PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI (i.e., C-RNTI received in successRAR) for subsequent DL/UL transmission/receptions … The UE monitors PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI in RRC_INACTIVE until SDT is terminated, i.e., expiry of timer)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yue with the teachings of Agiwal, to
include the monitoring step is performed when a SDT-time alignment timer (TAT) is running, wherein the UE needs to monitor PDCCH or paging for DL small data transmission, retransmission, system information change, or public warning indication. The motivation would have been to provide a communication method and a system for converging a fifth generation (5G) communication system for supporting higher data rates beyond a fourth generation (4G) and to monitoring control channel for small data transmission (SDT) in wireless communication system (Agiwal ¶ [0002] & [0008]).
Regarding claim 90, Yue does not disclose:
wherein the monitoring step is performed only if a random access (RA)-SDT timer is not running but a SDT-TAT is running, wherein the SDT-TAT is used to manage time alignment and is restarted upon reception of a timing advance (TA) command.
However, Agiwal discloses:
wherein the monitoring step is performed only if a random access (RA)-SDT timer is not running but a SDT-TAT is running, wherein the SDT-TAT is used to manage time alignment and is restarted upon reception of a timing advance (TA) command. ([0239] In an embodiment of the disclosure, SDT procedure is terminated if time alignment timer expires. Alternately, the UE may initiate RA procedure upon expiry of time alignment timer while SDT procedure is ongoing. [0240] UE applies the TA command and restart the time alignment timer; [0321] the UE monitors PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI (i.e., C-RNTI received in successRAR) for subsequent DL/UL transmission/receptions … The UE monitors PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI in RRC_INACTIVE until SDT is terminated, i.e., expiry of timer)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Yue with the teachings of Agiwal, to
include the monitoring step is performed only if a random access (RA)-SDT timer is not running but a SDT-TAT is running, wherein the SDT-TAT is used to manage time alignment and is restarted upon reception of a timing advance (TA) command. The motivation would have been to provide a communication method and a system for converging a fifth generation (5G) communication system for supporting higher data rates beyond a fourth generation (4G) and to monitoring control channel for small data transmission (SDT) in wireless communication system (Agiwal ¶ [0002] & [0008]).
Claims 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue et al. (US 20250168918) in view of Agiwal et al. (US 20220095409) further in view of Lim et al. (US 20240237082).
Regarding claim 75, combination of Yue and Agiwal does not disclose:
wherein the SDT configuration comprises DL/uplink (UL) common/UE-specific SDT configuration and/or random access channel (RACH) partition and resource configuration, wherein in the case where the SDT configuration comprises the RACH partition and resource configuration, the receiving the SDT configuration in the RRC signaling comprises: receiving the SDT configuration including RACH partition for SDT, wherein a preamble used in the random access-based procedure is selected from the RACH partition of the SDT configuration, and preamble partitioning is defined on a feature or feature combination basis, and a mapping between the feature or feature combination and an associated physical random access channel (PRACH) resource set has an association.
However, Lim discloses:
wherein the SDT configuration comprises DL/uplink (UL) common/UE-specific SDT configuration and/or random access channel (RACH) partition and resource configuration, wherein in the case where the SDT configuration comprises the RACH partition and resource configuration, the receiving the SDT configuration in the RRC signaling comprises: receiving the SDT configuration including RACH partition for SDT, wherein a preamble used in the random access-based procedure is selected from the RACH partition of the SDT configuration ([0016] In Rel-17, further preamble partitioning is required among different features in the shared RO case and also to enable separate RO among the different features other than just for differentiating between 2-step and 4-step RACH. These require new signaling for supporting multiple PRACH partitioning (preamble and/or time frequency domains) each for a new Rel-17 features or multiple Rel-17 features (when referring to a combination of multiple features or a feature combination)), and preamble partitioning is defined on a feature or feature combination basis (TABLE-US-00003 and [0019] The feature combination possible for PRACH partitioning in Rel-17 are from the combination of the following features: [0020] Small Data TX (SDT) [0021] Slicing [0022] Early indication for Msg3 repetitions (CovEnh) [0023] Early indication for reduced capability UE (RedCap); [0174] wherein the IE includes configuration parameters for a feature associated with one or more of: [0175] an MsgA transmission; [0176] coverage enhancement (CovEnh); [0177] slicing; [0178] SDT; [0179] RedCap; and [0180] a RACH preamble.), and a mapping between the feature or feature combination and an associated physical random access channel (PRACH) resource set has an association. ([0043] Alternative 3: Using an indexing approach to link the feature combination to its corresponding PRACH configuration; [0037] Other than the existing common RACH (for 2-step and/or 4-step RACH), it is possible to have a list of separate PRACH configuration/resources where each entry can be for one or more feature combination.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Yue and Agiwal with the teachings of Lim, to include the monitoring step is performed only if a random access (RA)-SDT timer is not running but a SDT-TAT is running, wherein the SDT-TAT is used to manage time alignment and is restarted upon reception of a timing advance (TA) command. The motivation would have been to using random access channel (RACH) configuration parameters to identify multiple features and combinations of features (Lim ¶ [0002])
Claims 79, 81-88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue et al. (US 20250168918) in view of Agiwal et al. (US 20220095409) further in view of Rao et al. (US 20250151012).
Regarding claim 79, combination of Yue and Agiwal does not disclose:
wherein transmission of the DL small data is following the paging based on a configured MT-SDT period or offset.
However, Rao discloses:
wherein transmission of the DL small data is following the paging based on a configured MT-SDT period or offset. ([0280] The WTRU may be (pre) configured with different MT-SDT configurations which may be associated with different periodicity values. The WTRU may (e.g., also) be configured with different parameters associated with receiving periodic/semi-persistent data via the MT-SDT (e.g., including start/stop offset time and time duration/window). The WTRU may select/use (e.g., in this case) a suitable MT-SDT configuration for receiving the DL data within certain periodicity (e.g., possibly based on an indication received from network (e.g., a paging message))
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Yue and Agiwal with the teachings of Rao, to include transmission of the DL small data is following the paging based on a configured MT-SDT period or offset. The motivation would have been to support positioning with a Mobile Terminated Small Data Transmission (MT-SDT) in a low power operation (e.g., an INACTIVE/IDLE state/operation/mode) (Rao ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 81, combination of Yue and Agiwal does not disclose:
transmitting at least a subsequent UL or DL small data following completion of the initial transmission of the DL small data based on a SDT threshold.
However, Rao discloses:
transmitting at least a subsequent UL or DL small data following completion of the initial transmission of the DL small data based on a SDT threshold. ([0283] If receiving a DL SDT TB (e.g., after the reception of a DL SDT TB), the WTRU may monitor for reception of another (e.g., subsequent) DL SDT TB. A subsequent DL SDT TB may be received as a DL transmission (e.g., subsequent DL transmission) on a configured DL CG-SDT resource, an RA-SDT resource, or as a scheduled PDSCH DL assignment; [0284] In examples, the WTRU may (e.g., may conditionally) monitor for another (e.g., subsequent) DL SDT if at least one of the following is met: or the TB size of the initial DL SDT TB is less than or greater than a configured threshold.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Yue and Agiwal with the teachings of Rao, to include transmitting at least a subsequent UL or DL small data following completion of the initial transmission of the DL small data based on a SDT threshold. The motivation would have been to support positioning with a Mobile Terminated Small Data Transmission (MT-SDT) in a low power operation (e.g., an INACTIVE/IDLE state/operation/mode) (Rao ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 82, combination of Yue and Agiwal does not disclose:
wherein resource allocation of the MT-SDT is associated with a CG-SDT resource configuration.
However, Rao discloses:
wherein resource allocation of the MT-SDT is associated with a CG-SDT resource configuration. ([0274] For radio resource configurations, the WTRU may be configured with one or more RA-SDT and/or CG-SDT configurations. The WTRU may use the RA-SDT and/or CG-SDT configurations for receiving DL data (e.g., in PDSCH), if (e.g., after) an MT-SDT is activated.)
Regarding claim 83, combination of Yue and Agiwal does not disclose:
wherein the resource allocation of the MT-SDT is associated with the CG-SDT resource configuration and is configured within a CG-SDT configuration IE comprised in the SDT configuration.
However, Rao discloses:
wherein the resource allocation of the MT-SDT is associated with the CG-SDT resource configuration and is configured within a CG-SDT configuration IE comprised in the SDT configuration. ([0264] MT-SDT may refer to any procedures, configurations, and/or functionalities that may be supported by a WTRU and/or a network for DL receptions using SDT resources (e.g., RA-SDT, CG-SDT); [0274] For radio resource configurations, the WTRU may be configured with one or more RA-SDT and/or CG-SDT configurations. The WTRU may use the RA-SDT and/or CG-SDT configurations for receiving DL data (e.g., in PDSCH), if (e.g., after) an MT-SDT is activated.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Yue and Agiwal with the teachings of Rao, to include the resource allocation of the MT-SDT is associated with the CG-SDT resource configuration and is configured within a CG-SDT configuration IE comprised in the SDT configuration. The motivation would have been to support positioning with a Mobile Terminated Small Data Transmission (MT-SDT) in a low power operation (e.g., an INACTIVE/IDLE state/operation/mode) (Rao ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 84, combination of Yue and Agiwal does not disclose:
wherein MT-SDT radio resource is allocated before the assignment of CG-SDT resource.
However, Rao discloses:
wherein MT-SDT radio resource is allocated before the assignment of CG-SDT resource. ([0271] The WTRU may activate resources configured for a UL SDT (e.g., a CG-SDT resource) if receiving an indication to initiate a DL SDT procedure. In examples, the WTRU may activate a CG-SDT resource if receiving (e.g., following the reception of) a paging indication/trigger indicating a DL SDT procedure initiation; [0272] Configuration information associated with MT-SDT may be received by a WTRU using at least one of the following: radio bearer configurations; radio resource configurations;)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Yue and Agiwal with the teachings of Rao, to include MT-SDT radio resource is allocated before the assignment of CG-SDT resource. The motivation would have been to support positioning with a Mobile Terminated Small Data Transmission (MT-SDT) in a low power operation (e.g., an INACTIVE/IDLE state/operation/mode) (Rao ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 85, combination of Yue and Agiwal does not disclose:
wherein MT-SDT radio resource is allocated before the assignment of CG-SDT resource based on the CG-SDT and a configured MT-SDT period or offset.
However, Rao discloses:
wherein MT-SDT radio resource is allocated before the assignment of CG-SDT resource based on the CG-SDT and a configured MT-SDT period or offset. ([0271] The WTRU may activate resources configured for a UL SDT (e.g., a CG-SDT resource) if receiving an indication to initiate a DL SDT procedure. [0274] The CG-SDT configurations may include at least parameters corresponding to IDs, start offset time slot, periodicity, payload size, etc. that may be used by WTRU if the MT-SDT is triggered.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Yue and Agiwal with the teachings of Rao, to include MT-SDT radio resource is allocated before the assignment of CG-SDT resource based on the CG-SDT and a configured MT-SDT period or offset. The motivation would have been to support positioning with a Mobile Terminated Small Data Transmission (MT-SDT) in a low power operation (e.g., an INACTIVE/IDLE state/operation/mode) (Rao ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 86, combination of Yue and Agiwal does not disclose:
wherein mobile originated (MO) data and MT data are transmitted via CG-SDT and MT-SDT procedures simultaneously.
However, Rao discloses:
wherein mobile originated (MO) data and MT data are transmitted via CG-SDT and MT-SDT procedures simultaneously. ([0265] In examples, MT-SDT may be configured along with MO-SDT, where both the MO-SDT and the MT-SDT may be configured in a WTRU at the same time (e.g., via RRCRelease) or the MT-SDT may be activated if the MO-SDT is activated.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Yue and Agiwal with the teachings of Rao, to include mobile originated (MO) data and MT data are transmitted via CG-SDT and MT-SDT procedures simultaneously. The motivation would have been to support positioning with a Mobile Terminated Small Data Transmission (MT-SDT) in a low power operation (e.g., an INACTIVE/IDLE state/operation/mode) (Rao ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 87, combination of Yue and Agiwal does not disclose:
wherein upon reception of the MT indication, the DL small data are received based on one or more SDT timers.
However, Rao discloses:
wherein upon reception of the MT indication, the DL small data are received based on one or more SDT timers. ([0282] In examples, if initiating/activating the MT-SDT for a DL reception (e.g., first DL reception), the MT-SDT may remain active for another DL reception (e.g., further DL reception), for example, until an explicit (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message) or implicit indication (e.g., WTRU moves to a new cell, TA timer expires) is received from the network indicating deactivation of the MT-SDT configuration(s))
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Yue and Agiwal with the teachings of Rao, to include upon reception of the MT indication, the DL small data are received based on one or more SDT timers. The motivation would have been to support positioning with a Mobile Terminated Small Data Transmission (MT-SDT) in a low power operation (e.g., an INACTIVE/IDLE state/operation/mode) (Rao ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 88, combination of Yue and Agiwal does not disclose:
wherein the DL small data are received based on a MT-SDT timer, and the method further comprises:
starting the MT-SDT timer to wait for initial transmission of the DL small data after the reception of the MT indication; and stopping the MT-SDT timer at completion of the reception of the DL small data.
However, Rao discloses:
wherein the DL small data are received based on a MT-SDT timer, and the method further comprises:
starting the MT-SDT timer to wait for initial transmission of the DL small data after the reception of the MT indication; ([0271] the WTRU may activate a CG-SDT resource if receiving (e.g., following the reception of) a paging indication/trigger indicating a DL SDT procedure initiation. The WTRU may start the CG-TAT if receiving a paging indication/trigger indicating a DL SDT procedure initiation.)
and stopping the MT-SDT timer at completion of the reception of the DL small data. ([0282] In examples, if initiating/activating the MT-SDT for a DL reception (e.g., first DL reception), the MT-SDT may remain active for another DL reception (e.g., further DL reception), for example, until an explicit (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message) or implicit indication (e.g., WTRU moves to a new cell, TA timer expires) is received from the network indicating deactivation of the MT-SDT configuration(s))
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of combination of Yue and Agiwal with the teachings of Rao, to include the DL small data are received based on a MT-SDT timer, and the method further comprises: starting the MT-SDT timer to wait for initial transmission of the DL small data after the reception of the MT indication; and stopping the MT-SDT timer at completion of the reception of the DL small data. The motivation would have been to support positioning with a Mobile Terminated Small Data Transmission (MT-SDT) in a low power operation (e.g., an INACTIVE/IDLE state/operation/mode) (Rao ¶ [0076]).
Conclusion
/NHU PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479