DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-3, 14, 17-20, 22-23 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baek et al (2023/0062805) hereinafter D1.
Regarding claims 1 and 23. D1 teaches a target terminal comprising memory, processor, transceiver (0276-0282 -target terminal comprising, memory, program, transceiver and processor) and a positioning method, performed by a target terminal, comprising: determining target resource configuration information for a positioning reference signal (PRS) in a sidelink scenario; and performing a positioning procedure on a to-be-positioned terminal based on the target resource configuration information; the target terminal comprises one or more of the following: a source positioning terminal; or the to-be-positioned terminal (0021, 0068 – transmitting a request positioning reference signal (PRS) through the sidelink channel, receiving a response PRS related to the request PRS from a neighbor UE through the sidelink channel, receiving a measurement result related to the request PRS from the neighbor UE, and performing positioning based on the response PRS and the measurement result, wherein the positioning UE transmits resource allocation information for transmission of the response PRS related to the request PRS to the neighbor UE and receives the measurement result through the resource for V2X data transmission, figure 7, 0106-0109 – a first UE1 may be a first device and a second UE2 may be a second device, 0187 – the UE may include a mobile device, a V2X module, an IoT device, an anchor node, eNB and the like).
Regarding claims 20 and 42. D1 teaches a network device comprising memory, transceiver, processor, program and a positioning method, performed by a network side device, comprising:
transmitting third information to a target terminal, wherein the third information is configured for determining target resource configuration information for a positioning reference signal (PRS), and the target resource configuration information is configured for positioning a to-be-positioned terminal; the target terminal comprises one or more of the following: a source positioning terminal; or the to-be-positioned terminal (0021, 0068 – transmitting a request positioning reference signal (PRS) through the sidelink channel, receiving a response PRS related to the request PRS from a neighbor UE through the sidelink channel, receiving a measurement result related to the request PRS from the neighbor UE, and performing positioning based on the response PRS and the measurement result, wherein the positioning UE transmits resource allocation information for transmission of the response PRS related to the request PRS to the neighbor UE and receives the measurement result through the resource for V2X data transmission, figure 7, 0106-0109 – a first UE1 may be a first device and a second UE2 may be a second device … When UE1 is within coverage of the BS (e.g., network device comprising processor, program, memory and transceiver), the BS may indicate the resource pool to UE1. On the contrary, when UE1 is outside the coverage of the BS, another UE may indicate the resource pool to UE1, or UE1 may use a predetermined resource pool, 0117 – a resource allocation scheme for the SL signal (e.g., whether a BS (e.g., network device comprising processor, program, memory and transceiver) allocates transmission resources of an individual signal to an individual transmitting UE or whether the individual transmitting UE selects its own individual signal transmission resources in the resource pool), 0126 – the UE may be periodically provided with or allocated a resource set for a plurality of SL transmissions through a configured grant from the BS (e.g., network device comprising processor, program, memory and transceiver), 0127 – for example, the BS may allocate SL resources to the UE, 0130 - the UE may determine SL transmission resources from among SL resources preconfigured or configured by the BS/network, 0187 – the UE may include a mobile device, a V2X module, an IoT device, an anchor node, eNB and the like).
Regarding claim 2. D1 teaches wherein determining the target resource configuration information for the PRS comprises: determining the target resource configuration information based on first information; the first information comprises one or more of the following: identity (ID) information of the target terminal; OR
at least one first resource pool, wherein any first resource pool among the at least one first resource pool comprises one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information; OR first configuration indication information, wherein the first configuration indication information is configured for indicating the target resource configuration information; OR a first relationship between the ID information of the target terminal and the first candidate resource configuration information (0191 – A PRS transmitted through the PSFH-PRS resource have a unique PRS ID, and in this case, each PRS ID may have the time domain and the frequency domain of the PSFCH-PRS resource and/or mutual orthogonality in a code division multiplexing (CDM) region, 0215 – Request PRS and response PRS transmission method through group pre-mapping: N response PRS ID groups in response to one request PRS ID may be group-mapped in advance and may be defined. In addition, a response PRS ID used as a response by each UE receiving the request PRS may be determined in consideration of an ID of a UE transmitting the request PRS, an ID of a UE receiving the source ID and/or request PRS, or a destination ID).
Regarding claim 3. D1 teaches wherein in case that the first information comprises the at least one first resource pool and the at least one first resource pool is one first target resource pool, determining the target resource configuration information based on the first information comprises: determining the target resource configuration information from the one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information, wherein the one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information is the one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information comprised in the first target resource pool; OR wherein in case that the first information comprises the at least one first resource pool and the at least one first resource pool comprises multiple first resource pools, determining the target resource configuration information based on the first information comprises: determining one first resource pool from the multiple first resource pools as a second target resource pool; and
determining the target resource configuration information from the one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information, wherein the one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information is the one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information comprised in the second target resource pool (0215 – Request PRS and response PRS transmission method through group pre-mapping: N response PRS ID groups in response to one request PRS ID may be group-mapped in advance and may be defined. In addition, a response PRS ID used as a response by each UE receiving the request PRS may be determined in consideration of an ID of a UE transmitting the request PRS, an ID of a UE receiving the source ID and/or request PRS, or a destination ID. For example, when (request) PRS ID0 for transmission of the request PRS and three IDs including (response_ PRS ID0, PRS ID1, and PRS ID2 for the response PRS transmitted in response to the request PRS are group-mapped in advance and are configured, three UEs receiving the request PRS may select and use any one of th PRS ID0, PRS ID1,PRSID2 and y transmit the response PRS in response to the request PRS when the request PRS ID is PRS ID0. The response PRS ID used in response to the request PRS by each UE receiving the request PRS may be determined in consideration of ID of a UE transmitting the request PRS, an ID receiving the source ID and/or the request PRS, or a destination ID).
4. (Cancelled)
10. (Cancelled)
12. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 14. D1 teaches wherein in case that the target terminal comprises the to-be-positioned terminal, the method further comprises:
transmitting the determined target resource configuration information to the source positioning terminal; OR wherein in case that the target terminal comprises the source positioning terminal, the method further comprises: transmitting the determined target resource configuration information to the to-be-positioned terminal (0021, 0068 – transmitting a request positioning reference signal (PRS) through the sidelink channel, receiving a response PRS related to the request PRS from a neighbor UE through the sidelink channel, receiving a measurement result related to the request PRS from the neighbor UE, and performing positioning based on the response PRS and the measurement result, wherein the positioning UE transmits resource allocation information for transmission of the response PRS related to the request PRS to the neighbor UE and receives the measurement result through the resource for V2X data transmission, figure 7, 0106-0109 – a first UE1 may be a first device and a second UE2 may be a second device … When UE1 is within coverage of the BS (e.g., network device comprising processor, program, memory and transceiver), the BS may indicate the resource pool to UE1. On the contrary, when UE1 is outside the coverage of the BS, another UE may indicate the resource pool to UE1, or UE1 may use a predetermined resource pool, 0117 – a resource allocation scheme for the SL signal (e.g., whether a BS (e.g., network device comprising processor, program, memory and transceiver) allocates transmission resources of an individual signal to an individual transmitting UE or whether the individual transmitting UE selects its own individual signal transmission resources in the resource pool), 0126 – the UE may be periodically provided with or allocated a resource set for a plurality of SL transmissions through a configured grant from the BS (e.g., network device comprising processor, program, memory and transceiver), 0127 – for example, the BS may allocate SL resources to the UE, 0130 - the UE may determine SL transmission resources from among SL resources preconfigured or configured by the BS/network, 0187 – the UE may include a mobile device, a V2X module, an IoT device, an anchor node, eNB and the like).
15. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 17. D1 teaches wherein in case that the target terminal comprises the source positioning terminal, performing the positioning procedure on the to-be-positioned terminal based on the target resource configuration information comprises: transmitting the PRS to the to-be-positioned terminal based on the target resource configuration information, wherein the PRS is configured for determining a positioning measurement amount, and the positioning measurement amount is configured for determining location information of the to-be-positioned terminal (abstract, 0021, 0068 – transmitting a request positioning reference signal (PRS) through the sidelink channel, receiving a response PRS related to the request PRS from a neighbor UE through the sidelink channel, receiving a measurement result related to the request PRS from the neighbor UE, and performing positioning based on the response PRS and the measurement result, wherein the positioning UE transmits resource allocation information for transmission of the response PRS related to the request PRS to the neighbor UE and receives the measurement result through the resource for V2X data transmission).
Regarding claim 18. D1 teaches wherein in case that the target terminal comprises the to-be-positioned terminal, performing the positioning procedure on the to-be-positioned terminal based on the target resource configuration information comprises: receiving the PRS transmitted from the source positioning terminal; determining a positioning measurement amount based on the PRS; and determining location information of the to-be-positioned terminal based on the positioning measurement amount (abstract, 0021, 0068 – transmitting a request positioning reference signal (PRS) through the sidelink channel, receiving a response PRS related to the request PRS from a neighbor UE through the sidelink channel, receiving a measurement result related to the request PRS from the neighbor UE, and performing positioning based on the response PRS and the measurement result, wherein the positioning UE transmits resource allocation information for transmission of the response PRS related to the request PRS to the neighbor UE and receives the measurement result through the resource for V2X data transmission).
Regarding claim 19. D1 teaches wherein in case that the target terminal comprises the to-be-positioned terminal, before determining the target resource configuration information for the PRS, the method further comprises:
transmitting positioning request information to the source positioning terminal (abstract, 0021, 0068 – transmitting a request positioning reference signal (PRS) through the sidelink channel, receiving a response PRS related to the request PRS from a neighbor UE through the sidelink channel, receiving a measurement result related to the request PRS from the neighbor UE, and performing positioning based on the response PRS and the measurement result, wherein the positioning UE transmits resource allocation information for transmission of the response PRS related to the request PRS to the neighbor UE and receives the measurement result through the resource for V2X data transmission).
Regarding claim 22. D1 teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving a positioning measurement amount transmitted from the to-be- positioned terminal; and determining location information of the to-be-positioned terminal based on the positioning measurement amount; the positioning measurement amount is determined by the to-be-positioned terminal based on the PRS transmitted from the source positioning terminal, and the PRS is determined by the source positioning terminal based on the target resource configuration information ((abstract, 0021, 0068 – transmitting a request positioning reference signal (PRS) through the sidelink channel, receiving a response PRS related to the request PRS from a neighbor UE through the sidelink channel, receiving a measurement result related to the request PRS from the neighbor UE, and performing positioning based on the response PRS and the measurement result, wherein the positioning UE transmits resource allocation information for transmission of the response PRS related to the request PRS to the neighbor UE and receives the measurement result through the resource for V2X data transmission, 0167 – wherein network side determines location/position of UE(s), 0215 – a location server/LMF and/or eNB are involved in SL positioning).
24-41. (Cancelled)
43-67. (Cancelled)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Bao et al (2024/0365278).
Regarding claim 5. D1 does not teach wherein determining the target resource configuration information from the one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information comprises: determining the target resource configuration information randomly from the one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information.
Bao teaches if the UE enters a new SL-zone, the UE may randomly select an available sequence in the SL zone as its new PRS sequence for SL-PRS transmission. In further designs, the UE may detect a PRS sequence collision associated with the transmitted SL PRS, and may then select a different PRS sequence for PRS retransmission in response to the detected PRS sequence collision (0339).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to randomly select an available SL-PRS as taught by Bao in order to reduce SL-PRS collision.
3. Claim 6, 8-9, 11, 13, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Manolakos et al (2024/0250793).
Regarding claim 6. D1 does not teach wherein in case that the first information further comprises the first configuration indication information, determining the target resource configuration information from the one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information comprises: determining the target resource configuration information from the one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information based on the first configuration indication information.
Manolakos teaches the first UE identifies a set of positioning UEs and performing UE-initiated SL positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process, wherein for each of at least one positioning peer UE in the set of positioning peer UEs, select a desired SL-PRS configuration to be used by the respective position peer UE, and indicating, to the respective per UE, the desired SL-PRS configuration (0007-0010) wherein determining the target resource configuration information based on one or more items (0100 and Table 1 – Comb pattern (e.g., item), enable a wideband and periodic opportunity for SL RS transmission (e.g., item), combining gains (e.g., item), and dynamic PRS and data multiplexing (e.g., item) with minimizing SL PRS collisions, 0103-0104 – request for positioning resources and allocating specific SL-PRS configurations with or without network involvement which mitigates interference during SL positioning). Performing UE-initiated sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process (figure 10, 0114) wherein selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration to be used based on a capability of the first UE (e.g, item), or capability of the positioning peer UE (e.g., item), or power budget (e.g., item). The desired SL-PRS configuration comprises a periodicity, a number of transactions, a repetition factor, a time gap between repetitions, a comb size, a bandwidth, a resource element offset, a number of symbols per slot or a scrambling identifier, a comb size, or combinations thereof (e.g., items) (0115-0118, 0121-0123, 0129).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to determine the target resource configuration from one or more items as taught by Manolakos in order to reduce SL-PRS collision, as well as enable UEs the ability to change their SL-PRS configuration thereby optimizing its own power and processing requirements.
Regarding claim 8. D1 does not teach wherein determining the target resource configuration information for the PRS comprises: determining the target resource configuration information based on second information; the second information comprises one or more of the following: the ID information of the target terminal; or at least one second resource pool, wherein any second resource pool among the at least one second resource pool comprises one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information, and any item of second candidate resource configuration information among the one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information is resource configuration information of a first part category; or a third resource pool, wherein the third resource pool comprises one or more items of third candidate resource configuration information, any item of third candidate resource configuration information among the one or more items of third candidate resource configuration information is resource configuration information of a second part category, and the second part category comprises a category different from the first part category; or third configuration indication information, wherein the third configuration indication information is configured for indicating the target resource configuration information of the first part category.
Manolakos teaches the first UE identifies a set of positioning UEs and performing UE-initiated SL positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process, wherein for each of at least one positioning peer UE in the set of positioning peer UEs, select a desired SL-PRS configuration to be used by the respective position peer UE, and indicating, to the respective per UE, the desired SL-PRS configuration (0007-0010) wherein determining the target resource configuration information based on one or more items/category (0100 and Table 1 – Comb pattern (e.g., second part category), enable a wideband (e.g. first part category) and periodic opportunity for SL RS transmission (e.g., item), combining gains (e.g., item), and dynamic PRS and data multiplexing (e.g., item) with minimizing SL PRS collisions, 0103-0104 – request for positioning resources and allocating specific SL-PRS configurations with or without network involvement which mitigates interference during SL positioning). Performing UE-initiated sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process (figure 10, 0114) wherein selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration to be used based on a capability of the first UE (e.g, item), or capability of the positioning peer UE (e.g., item), or power budget (e.g., item). The desired SL-PRS configuration comprises a periodicity, a number of transactions, a repetition factor (e.g., first pat category), a time gap between repetitions (e.g., second part category), a comb size (e.g., second part category), a bandwidth (e.g, first part category), a resource element offset, a number of symbols per slot (e.g., first part category) or a scrambling identifier, a comb size, or combinations thereof (e.g., items) (0115-0118, 0121-0123, 0129).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to determine the target resource configuration from one or more items/categories as taught by Manolakos in order to reduce SL-PRS collision, as well as enable UEs the ability to change their SL-PRS configuration thereby optimizing its own power and processing requirements.
Regarding claim 9. D1 does not teach wherein in case that the second information comprises the at least one second resource pool and the third resource pool, and the at least one second resource pool is one third target resource pool, determining the target resource configuration information based on second information comprises: determining the target resource configuration information of the first part category from the one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information, wherein the one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information is the one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information comprised in the third target resource pool; and determining the target resource configuration information of the second part category from the one or more items of third candidate resource configuration information; or,
wherein in case that the second information comprises the at least one second resource pool and the third resource pool, and the at least one second resource pool comprises multiple second resource pools, determining the target resource configuration information based on second information comprises: determining one of the second resource pools as a fourth target resource pool from the multiple second resource pools; determining the target resource configuration information of the first part category from the one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information, wherein the one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information is the one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information comprised in the fourth target resource pool; and determining the target resource configuration information of the second part category from the one or more items of third candidate resource configuration information.
Manolakos teaches the first UE identifies a set of positioning UEs and performing UE-initiated SL positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process, wherein for each of at least one positioning peer UE in the set of positioning peer UEs, select a desired SL-PRS configuration to be used by the respective position peer UE, and indicating, to the respective per UE, the desired SL-PRS configuration (0007-0010) wherein determining the target resource configuration information based on one or more items/category (0100 and Table 1 – Comb pattern (e.g., second part category), enable a wideband (e.g. first part category) and periodic opportunity for SL RS transmission (e.g., item), combining gains (e.g., item), and dynamic PRS and data multiplexing (e.g., item) with minimizing SL PRS collisions, 0103-0104 – request for positioning resources and allocating specific SL-PRS configurations with or without network involvement which mitigates interference during SL positioning). Performing UE-initiated sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process (figure 10, 0114) wherein selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration to be used based on a capability of the first UE (e.g, item), or capability of the positioning peer UE (e.g., item), or power budget (e.g., item). The desired SL-PRS configuration comprises a periodicity, a number of transactions, a repetition factor (e.g., first pat category), a time gap between repetitions (e.g., second part category), a comb size (e.g., second part category), a bandwidth (e.g, first part category), a resource element offset, a number of symbols per slot (e.g., first part category) or a scrambling identifier, a comb size, or combinations thereof (e.g., items) (0115-0118, 0121-0123, 0129).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to determine the target resource configuration from one or more items/categories as taught by Manolakos in order to reduce SL-PRS collision, as well as enable UEs the ability to change their SL-PRS configuration thereby optimizing its own power and processing requirements.
Regarding claim 11. D1 does not teach wherein determining the target resource configuration information of the first part category from the one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information comprises: determining the target resource configuration information of the first part category randomly from the one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information; and/or,
wherein determining the target resource configuration information of the second part category from the one or more items of third candidate resource configuration information comprises: determining the target resource configuration information of the second part category randomly from the one or more items of third candidate resource configuration information.
Manolakos teaches the first UE identifies a set of positioning UEs and performing UE-initiated SL positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process, wherein for each of at least one positioning peer UE in the set of positioning peer UEs, select a desired SL-PRS configuration to be used by the respective position peer UE, and indicating, to the respective per UE, the desired SL-PRS configuration (0007 – selecting a desired SL-PRS configuration (e.g., randomly), 0008-0010) wherein determining the target resource configuration information based on one or more items/category (0100 and Table 1 – Comb pattern (e.g., second part category), enable a wideband (e.g. first part category) and periodic opportunity for SL RS transmission (e.g., item), combining gains (e.g., item), and dynamic PRS and data multiplexing (e.g., item) with minimizing SL PRS collisions, 0103-0104 – request for positioning resources and allocating specific SL-PRS configurations with or without network involvement which mitigates interference during SL positioning). Performing UE-initiated sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process (figure 10, 0114 – selecting a desired SL-PRS configuration (e.g., randomly)) wherein selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration to be used based on a capability of the first UE (e.g, item), or capability of the positioning peer UE (e.g., item), or power budget (e.g., item). The desired SL-PRS configuration comprises a periodicity, a number of transactions, a repetition factor (e.g., first pat category), a time gap between repetitions (e.g., second part category), a comb size (e.g., second part category), a bandwidth (e.g, first part category), a resource element offset, a number of symbols per slot (e.g., first part category) or a scrambling identifier, a comb size, or combinations thereof (e.g., items) (0115 – selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration (e.g, randomly), 0116-0118, 0121-0123, 0129).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to determine the target resource configuration from one or more items/categories as taught by Manolakos in order to reduce SL-PRS collision, as well as enable UEs the ability to change their SL-PRS configuration thereby optimizing its own power and processing requirements.
Regarding claim 13. D1 does not teach wherein in case that the second information further comprises the third configuration indication information, determining the target resource configuration information of the first part category from the one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information comprises:
determining the target resource configuration information of the first part category from the one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information based on the third configuration indication information.
Manolakos teaches the first UE identifies a set of positioning UEs and performing UE-initiated SL positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process, wherein for each of at least one positioning peer UE in the set of positioning peer UEs, select a desired SL-PRS configuration to be used by the respective position peer UE, and indicating, to the respective per UE, the desired SL-PRS configuration (0007-0010) wherein determining the target resource configuration information based on one or more items/category (0100 and Table 1 – Comb pattern (e.g., second part category), enable a wideband (e.g. first part category) and periodic opportunity for SL RS transmission (e.g., item), combining gains (e.g., item), and dynamic PRS and data multiplexing (e.g., item) with minimizing SL PRS collisions, 0103-0104 – request for positioning resources and allocating specific SL-PRS configurations with or without network involvement which mitigates interference during SL positioning). Performing UE-initiated sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process (figure 10, 0114) wherein selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration to be used based on a capability of the first UE (e.g, item), or capability of the positioning peer UE (e.g., item), or power budget (e.g., item). The desired SL-PRS configuration comprises a periodicity, a number of transactions, a repetition factor (e.g., first pat category), a time gap between repetitions (e.g., second part category), a comb size (e.g., second part category), a bandwidth (e.g, first part category), a resource element offset, a number of symbols per slot (e.g., first part category) or a scrambling identifier, a comb size, or combinations thereof (e.g., items) (0115-0118, 0121-0123, 0129).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to determine the target resource configuration from one or more items/categories as taught by Manolakos in order to reduce SL-PRS collision, as well as enable UEs the ability to change their SL-PRS configuration thereby optimizing its own power and processing requirements.
Regarding claim 16. D1 does not teach wherein in case that the target terminal comprises the to-be-positioned terminal, the method further comprises:
receiving the target resource configuration information determined by the source positioning terminal; and transmitting acknowledgement information to the source positioning terminal in case that it is determined that the target resource configuration information determined by the source positioning terminal is configured; OR determining expected target resource configuration information and transmitting the expected target resource configuration information to the source positioning terminal in case that it is determined that the target resource configuration information determined by the source positioning terminal is not used.
Manolakos teaches the target UE then starts a configuration setup phase, during which the target UE 1302 issues a configuration recommendation 1324 to each of the SL UEs and receives configuration response messages 1326, e.g., an ACK or NACK (figure 13, 0127-0128).
Manolakos teaches the first UE identifies a set of positioning UEs and performing UE-initiated SL positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process, wherein for each of at least one positioning peer UE in the set of positioning peer UEs, select a desired SL-PRS configuration to be used by the respective position peer UE, and indicating, to the respective per UE, the desired SL-PRS configuration (0007-0010) wherein determining the target resource configuration information based on one or more items/category (0100 and Table 1 – Comb pattern (e.g., second part category), enable a wideband (e.g. first part category) and periodic opportunity for SL RS transmission (e.g., item), combining gains (e.g., item), and dynamic PRS and data multiplexing (e.g., item) with minimizing SL PRS collisions, 0103-0104 – request for positioning resources and allocating specific SL-PRS configurations with or without network involvement which mitigates interference during SL positioning). Performing UE-initiated sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process (figure 10, 0114) wherein selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration to be used based on a capability of the first UE (e.g, item), or capability of the positioning peer UE (e.g., item), or power budget (e.g., item). The desired SL-PRS configuration comprises a periodicity, a number of transactions, a repetition factor (e.g., first pat category), a time gap between repetitions (e.g., second part category), a comb size (e.g., second part category), a bandwidth (e.g, first part category), a resource element offset, a number of symbols per slot (e.g., first part category) or a scrambling identifier, a comb size, or combinations thereof (e.g., items) (0115-0118, 0121-0123, 0129).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to use ACK and NACK as response messages as taught by Manolakos in order to enable the target UE and SL UEs to agree to SL PRS configurations thereby improving on SL PRS positioning accuracy.
Regarding claim 21. D1 does not teach wherein the third information comprises one or more of the following: at least one first resource pool, wherein any first resource pool among the at least one first resource pool comprises one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information; or at least one second resource pool, wherein any second resource pool among the at least one second resource pool comprises one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information, and any item of second candidate resource configuration information among the one or more items of second candidate resource configuration information is resource configuration information of a first part category; or a third resource pool, wherein the third resource pool comprises one or more items of third candidate resource configuration information, any item of third candidate resource configuration information among the one or more items of third candidate resource configuration information is resource configuration information of a second part category, and the second part category comprises a category different from the first part category; or
first configuration indication information, wherein the first configuration indication information is configured for indicating the target resource configuration information; or
third configuration indication information, wherein the third configuration indication information is configured for indicating the target resource configuration information of the first part category; or a first relationship between identity (ID) information of the target terminal and the first candidate resource configuration information.
Manolakos teaches the first UE identifies a set of positioning UEs and performing UE-initiated SL positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process, wherein for each of at least one positioning peer UE in the set of positioning peer UEs, select a desired SL-PRS configuration to be used by the respective position peer UE, and indicating, to the respective per UE, the desired SL-PRS configuration (0007-0010) wherein determining the target resource configuration information based on one or more items/category (0100 and Table 1 – Comb pattern (e.g., second part category), enable a wideband (e.g. first part category) and periodic opportunity for SL RS transmission (e.g., item), combining gains (e.g., item), and dynamic PRS and data multiplexing (e.g., item) with minimizing SL PRS collisions, 0103-0104 – request for positioning resources and allocating specific SL-PRS configurations with or without network involvement which mitigates interference during SL positioning). Performing UE-initiated sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration process (figure 10, 0114) wherein selecting the desired SL-PRS configuration to be used based on a capability of the first UE (e.g, item), or capability of the positioning peer UE (e.g., item), or power budget (e.g., item). The desired SL-PRS configuration comprises a periodicity, a number of transactions, a repetition factor (e.g., first pat category), a time gap between repetitions (e.g., second part category), a comb size (e.g., second part category), a bandwidth (e.g, first part category), a resource element offset, a number of symbols per slot (e.g., first part category) or a scrambling identifier, a comb size, or combinations thereof (e.g., items) (0115-0118, 0121-0123, 0129).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to determine the target resource configuration from one or more items/categories as taught by Manolakos in order to reduce SL-PRS collision, as well as enable UEs the ability to change their SL-PRS configuration thereby optimizing its own power and processing requirements.
4. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Hoang et al (2024/0188153).
Regarding claim 7. D1 does not teach wherein in case that the first information further comprises the ID information of the target terminal and the first relationship, determining the target resource configuration information from the one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information comprises: determining the target resource configuration information from the one or more items of first candidate resource configuration information based on the ID information of the target terminal and the first relationship; the first relationship comprises any of the following:
an operation rule between the ID information of the target terminal and an index of the first candidate resource configuration information; or a mapping relationship between the ID information of the target terminal and an index of the first candidate resource configuration information.
Hoang teaches an operation rule between the ID information of the target terminal and an index of the first candidate resource configuration information; or a mapping relationship between the ID information of the target terminal and an index of the first candidate resource configuration information (0004, 0072, 0142, 0184 – mapping WTRU IDs and SL-PRS index).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to map WTRU IDs and SL-PRS index as taught by Hoang in order to provide for more accurate SL positioning (Hoang at 0186).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2025/0008537) Sahin et al teaches the UE (either by itself, or obtained from a network node or network entity)a resource allocation regarding SL configurations wherein the configurations include time/frequency resources, bandwidth and/or beam configurations (0056-0058, 0651).
/BARRY W TAYLOR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646