Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-16, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 2020/0314122) in view of Krishnamurthy (US 2010/0095375) in further view of Hallaji (US 2021/0160281)
Regarding Claim 1,
Jones (US 2020/0314122) teaches an information processing apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; a memory in circuit communication with the processor; wherein the processor is configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to implement:
an information acquisition part configured to acquire suspicious site information;
an element extraction part configured to extract a specified element(s) from the suspicious site information (Paragraph [0055] teaches extracting suspicious strings from suspicious site information)
and a similarity determination part configured to calculate a similarity of character string between a specified domain of a URL in the specified element(s) and a specified domain of a URL of the suspicious site information, or a similarity of between all or any of the specified element(s) to determine whether or not a site related to the suspicious site information is a phishing site based on whether or not the similarity is within a predetermined numerical range (Paragraph [0033] teaches using URL string classification, determining a threshold to determine whether the site is a phishing site)(Paragraph [0055] teaches string match to identify brand mimicry, and determining to what extent the URL string includes text that looks like a brand name even if the characters do not match exactly)
Jones does not explicitly teach acquire suspicious site information from a suspicious site using content from a legitimate site
Krishnamurthy (US 2010/0095375) teaches wherein suspicious site information from a suspicious site using content from a legitimate site (Paragraph [0050-0052] and Fig. 5 teaches phishing site (i.e. suspicious site) uses content from the legitimate site)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the suspicious site of Jones to include content from a legitimate site as taught by Krishnamurthy
The motivation is for the suspicious site to deceive users (Paragraph [0052-0053] of Krishnamurthy)
Jones and Krishnamurthy do not explicitly teach complement a relative path, when the specified element includes the relative path, so that the relative path becomes the URL
Hallaji (US 2021/0160281) teaches complement a relative path, when the specified element includes the relative path, so that the relative path becomes the URL (Paragraph [0090] teaches receiving a potential phishing URL and recognizing the URI path portion)(Paragraph [0092] teaches loading the URL that complements the URI path)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jones and Krishnamurthy with the method of complementing a relative path so the path becomes the URL as taught by Hallaji and the results would be predictable (i.e. the path would become the URL)
Regarding Claim 2,
Jones, Krishnamurthy and Hallaji teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1. Jones teaches wherein the specified element(s) is a link element(s), and the similarity determination part is configured to calculate the similarity of character string between the specified domain of the URL in the specified element(s) and the specified domain of the URL in the suspicious site information to determine whether or not the site related to the suspicious site information is the phishing site, and wherein the similarity determination part comprises:
an element determination part configured to determine whether or not the URL exists in the specified element(s); and a domain similarity determination part configured to calculate, when the URL exists in the specified element(s), the similarity of character strings between the specified domain of the URL in the specified element(s) and the specified domain of the URL in the suspicious site information, to determine whether or not the site related to the suspicious site information is the phishing site depending on whether or not the similarity is within the predetermined numerical range (Paragraph [0055] teaches string match to identify brand mimicry, and determining to what extent the URL string includes text that looks like a brand name even if the characters do not match exactly).
Regarding Claim 4,
Jones, Krishnamurthy and Hallaji teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2. Jones teaches wherein the domain similarity determination part is configured to extract the specified domain of the URL in the specified element(s) and to extract the specified domain of the URL of the suspicious site information (Paragraph [0052-0053, 0056] teaches URL classification extracting domain of URL)
Regarding Claim 5,
Jones, Krishnamurthy and Hallaji teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2. Jones teaches further comprising an output part, wherein the domain similarity determination part is configured to determine that the site related to the suspicious site information is highly likely to be the phishing site when the similarity is within the predetermined numerical range (Paragraph [0052-0056] teaches determining domain similarity is likely suspicious), to output a warning indicating that the site related to the suspicious site information is highly likely to be the phishing site from the output part (Fig. 3-4, teaches an alert/warning that indicates the site is malicious).
Regarding Claim 6,
Jones, Krishnamurthy and Hallaji teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2. Jones teaches wherein the domain similarity determination part is configured to determine that the site related to the suspicious site information is not the phishing site when the similarity is not within the predetermined numerical range (Paragraph [0025] if the determination does not exceed a phish classification threshold, the URL is determined to be legitimate)
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is similar in scope to Claim 1 and is rejected for a similar rationale.
Regarding Claims 13, 15-16,
Claims 13, 15-16 are similar in scope to Claims 1-2, 5-6 and is rejected for a similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 3,
Jones, Krishnamurthy and Hallaji teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2. Jones teaches but does not explicitly teach wherein the element determination part is configured to determine that the site related to the suspicious site information is not the phishing site when the URL does not exist in the specified element(s), or when the element extraction part does not extract the specified element(s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jones to determine a site is not a phishing site when a URL doesn’t exist and the results would be predictable (i.e. there could be no phishing URL if there is no URL)
Regarding Claim 21,
Jones, Krishnamurthy and Hallaji teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the similarity determination part is configured to determine that the suspicious site(s) is not the phishing site(s) when the similarity indicates that the specified domain of the URL in the specified element(s) and the specified domain of the URL of the suspicious site(s) itself are the same.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jones to determine a site is not phishing if the URL in the specified elements and the URL of the domain are exactly the same (i.e. if the suspicious site URL and the brand URL are exactly the same then there is no phishing)
Claim(s) 7-10, 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones and Krishnamurthy in view of Taniguchi (US 2023/0388342)
Regarding Claim 7,
Jones, Krishnamurthy and Hallaji teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1. Jones teaches, wherein the specified element(s) is any of link element(s), relative path(s) and character string(s), and the similarity determination part is configured to calculate the similarity between character string(s) and all or any of the specified elements to determine whether or not the site related to the suspicious site information is the phishing site based on whether or not the similarity is within the predetermined numerical range, and wherein the similarity determination part comprises(Paragraph [0055] teaches string match to identify brand mimicry, and determining to what extent the URL string includes text that looks like a brand name even if the characters do not match exactly):
Jones does not explicitly teach an element completion part configured to complete a relative path(s) when the specified element(s) has the relative path(s) so that the relative path(s) becomes the URL;
and an element similarity determination part configured to calculate the similarity of character strings between all or any of the predetermined elements after the completion to determine whether or not the site related to the suspicious site information is the phishing site depending on whether or not the similarity is within the predetermined numerical range.
Hallaji teaches an element completion part configured to complete a relative path(s) when the specified element(s) has the relative path(s) so that the relative path(s) becomes the URL;
and an element similarity determination part configured to calculate the similarity of character strings between all or any of the predetermined elements after the completion to determine whether or not the site related to the suspicious site information is the phishing site depending on whether or not the similarity is within the predetermined numerical range (Paragraph [0090] teaches receiving a potential phishing URL and recognizing the URI path portion)(Paragraph [0092] teaches loading the URL that complements the URI path)
Regarding Claim 8,
Jones, Krishnamurthy and Hallaji teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 7. Hallaji teaches wherein the element similarity determination part is configured to extract the specified domain of the URL in the specified element(s) (Paragraph [0072] teaches similarity component extracts specified domain)
Regarding Claim 9,
Jones, Krishnamurthy and Hallaji teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 7. Jones teaches further comprising an output part, wherein the element similarity determination part is configured to determine that the site related to the suspicious site information is highly likely to be the phishing site when the similarity is within the predetermined numerical range, and to output a warning indicating that the site related to the suspicious site information is highly likely to be the phishing site from the output part (Paragraph [0052-0056] teaches determining domain similarity is likely suspicious), (Fig. 3-4, teaches an alert/warning that indicates the site is malicious).
Regarding Claim 10,
Jones, Krishnamurthy and Hallaji teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 7. Jones teaches wherein the element similarity determination part is configured to determine that the site related to the suspicious site information is not the phishing site when the similarity is not within the predetermined numerical range (Paragraph [0025] if the determination does not exceed a phish classification threshold, the URL is determined to be legitimate)
Regarding Claim 14,
Claims 14 is similar in scope to claim 7 and is rejected for a similar rationale.
Claim(s) 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 2020/0314122) in view of Krishnamurthy (US 2010/0095375)
Regarding Claim 22,
Jones teaches an information processing apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; a memory in circuit communication with the processor; wherein the processor is configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory to implement:
an element extraction part configured to extract a specified element from the suspicious site information (Paragraph [0055] teaches extracting suspicious strings from suspicious site information);
and a similarity determination part configured to calculate a similarity of character strings between a specified domain of a URL in the specified element and a specified domain of a URL of the suspicious site itself to determine whether or not the suspicious site related to the acquired suspicious site information is a phishing site based on whether or not the similarity is within a predetermined numerical range (Paragraph [0033] teaches using URL string classification, determining a threshold to determine whether the site is a phishing site)(Paragraph [0055] teaches string match to identify brand mimicry, and determining to what extent the URL string includes text that looks like a brand name even if the characters do not match exactly)
Jones does not explicitly teach acquire suspicious site information from a suspicious site using content from a legitimate site
Krishnamurthy (US 2010/0095375) teaches wherein suspicious site information from a suspicious site using content from a legitimate site (Paragraph [0050-0052] and Fig. 5 teaches phishing site (i.e. suspicious site) uses content from the legitimate site)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the suspicious site of Jones to include content from a legitimate site as taught by Krishnamurthy
The motivation is for the suspicious site to deceive users (Paragraph [0052-0053] of Krishnamurthy)
Regarding Claim 23,
Jones and Krishnamurthy teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1. Jones teaches wherein the similarity determination part is configured to determine that the suspicious site related to the acquired suspicious site information is the phishing site when the similarity is equal to or greater than a threshold [0033] teaches using URL string classification, determining greater than a threshold to determine whether the site is a phishing site). Jones does not explicitly teach wherein the similarity is less than 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the similarity be less than 1 and the results would be predictable (i.e. similarity is less than 1)
Regarding Claim 24,
Claim 24 is similar in scope to Claim 23 and is rejected for the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 25,
Jones and Krishnamurthy teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the similarity determination part is configured to determine that the suspicious site related to the acquired suspicious site information is the phishing site when the specified domain of the URL in the specified element and the specified domain of the URL of the suspicious site itself are similar to but different from each other (Paragraph [0033] teaches using URL string classification, determining a threshold to determine whether the site is a phishing site)(Paragraph [0055] teaches string match to identify brand mimicry, and determining to what extent the URL string includes text that looks like a brand name even if the characters do not match exactly)
.
Conclusion
/HARRIS C WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439