Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not directly apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-16 and 20-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160127712 A1 to Alfredsson et al. (hereinafter “Alfredsson”) (cited in the IDS filed 9/9/2024) in view of US 20080291271 A1 to Hansson et al. (“Hansson”).
Consider claim 1, Alfredsson discloses a method for monitoring an industrial plant comprising plant objects (Par. [0001]: “transmitting video to a remote user from an industrial site”; Par. [0071]: object identifiers), the method comprising the following steps:
receiving (Si) a video stream (VS) of the plant generated with the aid of a video camera device, wherein the video stream (VS) comprises a temporal sequence of two-dimensional image data (Par. [0016]-[0019]: “obtaining a three-dimensional model of the location, capturing video images of the location using a camera . . . and transferring the three-dimensional model and orientation to the device of the remote user together with a video stream comprising the captured video images”);
assigning (S2) two-dimensional image components (PT) of the video stream (VS) to plant objects (A', B', C', D') with the aid of a three-dimensional (3D) model (CAD) of the plant, in which respective object properties (XYZ) are allocated to the plant objects (A', B', C', D') (Par. [0070]-[0071]: “the control unit 38 analyses the captured images and investigates if it recognizes them with regard to a pre-existing three-dimensional model of the location and objects at this location [. . .] the real world objects, may be provided with object identifiers, such as NFC tags or bar codes. If these are read it is possible to obtain information about what types of objects they are. The type may be identified through the camera 34 detecting a visual object identifier, like a bar code”), in which respective object properties (XYZ) are allocated to the plant objects (A′, B′, C′, D′);
determining (S3) a first recording property of the image data depending on the image components (PT) assigned to one or more plant objects (C') and the respective object property (XYZ), wherein the first recording property comprises at least one of a position, an orientation and a zoom factor of the video camera device which captures the video stream (Par. [0026]-[0027]: “determine a current orientation of the camera, and [0027] transfer the three-dimensional model and orientation to the device of the remote user together with a video stream from the camera comprising the captured video images”; Par. [0070]: “determine the location of the video communication device 32 with camera 34. It is also possible to determine the orientation or pose of the camera 34. It is thus possible to determine in which direction the camera 34 is pointing”; Par. [0071]: “the real world objects, may be provided with object identifiers, such as NFC tags or bar codes”; Par. [0072]: “determining the position of the video communication device 32 at the location, step 63, i.e. the position in relation to the layout and various objects at the location”; Par. [0077]: “The three-dimensional model 3DM may more particularly be transmitted together with camera data CD in or beside the video stream VS, step 70, where the camera data may comprise the camera orientation. The camera data may also comprise the position of the camera”);
outputting (S4) the video stream (VS′) together with the determined object properties (XYZ) and recording properties (Par. [0026]-[0027] and [0077]: as discussed above).
Alfredsson fails to explicitly disclose determining a dynamic recording property based on a temporal sequence of two-dimensional image components of the video stream (VS), wherein the dynamic recording property comprises a zoom speed and camera movement.
In analogous art, Hansson discloses determining a dynamic recording property based on a temporal sequence of two-dimensional image components of the video stream (VS), wherein the dynamic recording property comprises a zoom speed and camera movement (Par. [0040]: “The surveillance system may decode the received video, and may extract and analyze motions vectors from the decoded video. The surveillance system may detect zoom from the user device, and, if zoom exists, may calculate a direction and/or magnitude of the zoom. Camera movement may be determined by the surveillance system based on the motion vectors and/or the calculated direction and/or magnitude of the zoom (if it exists)”; Par. [0080]: “Motion vectors 755 may form outwards from a center portion of reference image 745, and may be used to detect the zoom and to calculate a direction and/or a magnitude of the zoom”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Alfredsson in view of the above teachings of Hansson because both Alfredsson and Hansson pertain to the art of video surveillance, and thus one would look to the other for obvious variations or improvements to their teachings, and/or because determining recording properties such as camera movement and zoom settings has various applications in surveillance such as steering the orientation of a secondary camera (Hansson, Par. [0040]).
Consider claim 2, Alfredsson discloses wherein the industrial plant is arranged on a plant site and the position of the video camera device on the plant site is ascertained (Par. [0015]-[0018]: “the method being performed by a video communication device being placed at a location of the industrial site [. . .] comprising: obtaining a three-dimensional model of the location, [0017] capturing video images of the location using a camera, determining a current orientation of the camera”; Par. [0088]: “Different frames of the video are processed to form a map of the environment. In the forming of the map also the position of the video communication device is determined. Using this map and a current video image, the current orientation or pose of the camera is calculated”).
Consider claim 3, Alfredsson discloses wherein the video camera device has a video capture region which is smaller than the plant site (Par. [0098] and Fig. 10-11: projecting area PA).
Consider claim 4, Alfredsson discloses wherein the video camera device is mounted at an unknown position during the step of receiving the video stream (VS) (Par. [0088]: “Different frames of the video are processed to form a map of the environment. In the forming of the map also the position of the video communication device is determined. Using this map and a current video image, the current orientation or pose of the camera is calculated”).
Consider claim 5, Alfredsson discloses wherein the object properties (XYZ) comprise a location (Par. [0070]: “three-dimensional model of the location and objects at this location”), a size and/or dimension (Par. [0070]: “3DM of the location and the various objects” Note, therefore size/dimension is implicit), an alignment and/or orientation (Par. [0070]: “3DM of the location and the various objects”; also Par. [0072]: “the position in relation to the layout and various objects at the location” Note, therefore alignment/orientation is implicit), a list of constituents Alfredsson: Par. [0101]: object associated constituents/properties, e.g., “temperature in a tank or the voltage of a transformer”), material properties and/or surface properties of the plant object (A′, B′, C′, D′) (Alfredsson: Par. [0071]: “The type may be identified through the camera 34 detecting a visual object identifier, like a bar code”).
Consider claim 6, Alfredsson discloses the method further comprising: creating (S11) a database which assigns further functional properties and/or context data to the plant objects (A′, B′, C′, D′) (Par. [0050]: “database 20 where data relating to control and protection of the process is stored [. . .] It may also provide face plates of process control objects, which face places may comprise process control data from the database 20 regarding the process control object”; Par. [0071]: “Such a code may be used to fetch data associated with the object for instance from a database in the process control system”; Par. [0100-[0102]: “He may also select an object in the model and the selection may be transferred to the control unit 38. The control unit 38 may then fetch data about the object from a database 20. It may for instance fetch a face plate with current data of the process control object.”).
Consider claim 7, Alfredsson discloses wherein the functional properties and/or context data are updated (Par. [0100]-[0102]: “The remote user 52 may now want to obtain some more data about the process control objects that he sees in the video stream VS. He may for instance desire to obtain data of the temperature in a tank or the voltage of a transformer. In order to do this he may select an object in the video, or in the previously obtained model of the location. He may for instance detect an object identifier in the video and send the object identifier to the video communication device. He may also select an object in the model and the selection may be transferred to the control unit 38. The control unit 38 may then fetch data about the object from a database 20.” Note, therefore it is implicit that the object associated properties are updated, e.g., temperature/voltage).
Consider claim 8, Alfredsson discloses wherein the assigning (S2) further takes place depending on functional properties of the plant objects (A′, B′, C′, D′) (Par. [0071]: “The process control objects, i.e. the real world objects, may be provided with object identifiers, such as NFC tags or bar codes. If these are read it is possible to obtain information about what types of objects they are. The type may be identified through the camera 34 detecting a visual object identifier, like a bar code [. . .] Such a code may be used to fetch data associated with the object for instance from a database in the process control system”).
Consider claim 11, modified Alfredsson discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the camera movement and/or zoom speed are/is ascertained in real time (Hansson: Par. [0040]: “The surveillance system may generate camera steering data based on the determined camera movement, and may control the surveillance camera based on the camera steering data”; Par. [0088]: “As shown in FIGS. 8C and 8F, video 150 generated by user device 110 may pan to right of object 800, which may cause video 140 captured by camera 410 to pan to the right of object 820”. Note, this example shows that the parameters can be ascertained in real time).
The motivation to combine references is the same as regarding claim 1.
Consider claim 12, Alfredsson discloses wherein the video stream (VS) does not comprise information data about the recording property (Par. [0077]: “The three-dimensional model 3DM may more particularly be transmitted together with camera data CD in or beside the video stream VS”), and the recording property is ascertained exclusively by way of a comparison of the assigned two-dimensional image components (PT) and the data of the 3D model (CAD) (Par. [0070]: “After the area has been scanned, the control unit 38 analyses the captured images and investigates if it recognises them with regard to a pre-existing three-dimensional model of the location and objects at this location [. . .] These algorithms can be used to locate the features of a current frame or video image in the map of the real world and based on this the orientation of the camera 34 may be determined.”; Par. [0072]: “determining the position of the video communication device 32 at the location, step 63, i.e. the position in relation to the layout and various objects at the location. This may also involve adding the video communication device to the three-dimensional model 3DM of the location.”).
Consider claim 13, Alfredsson discloses wherein the 3D model data comprise a position of the video camera device (Par. [0072]: “determining the position of the video communication device 32 at the location, step 63, i.e. the position in relation to the layout and various objects at the location. This may also involve adding the video communication device to the three-dimensional model 3DM of the location.”).
Consider claim 14, modified Alfredsson discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a zoom factor is ascertained depending on a plurality of temporally successive two-dimensional image data of the video camera device (Hansson: Par. [0071]: “For example, such algorithms may utilize the fact that consecutive video frames may contain a portion of the same information. Differences between video frames may be referred to as "motion vectors." Motion vectors may be used if the video is decoded in order to reconstruct movement or a delta between video frames. If a video call (e.g., video 150) is provided by user device 110 to surveillance system 120, surveillance system 120 may use motion vectors (e.g., provided by video 150) as a method for controlling one or more cameras 410 of surveillance system 120”).
The motivation to combine references is the same as regarding claim 1.
Consider claim 15, Alfredsson discloses: representing (S5) the video stream (VS) together with the object properties (XYZ) and/or recording properties with the aid of a display device (Par. [0057]: “video images are then presented for the remote user 52 via the display of his or her computer 51. This is shown in FIG. 6. FIG. 5 schematically indicates the transmission of a video stream VS, a three-dimensional model 3DM and camera data CD from the video communication device 32 to the computer 51”; Par. [0079]: “The view contains the live video stream from the camera, of which the image VI is presented. Furthermore, contextual information is provided through an overview image OI of the location, which overview image OI is obtained through visualizing the model 3DM of the location with the video communication device VCD and its orientation”; also Par. [0100]-[0102]).
Consider claim 16, Alfredsson discloses: creating (S12) the three-dimensional (3D) model of the plant, wherein object properties (XYZ) are allocated to the plant objects (Par. [0070]: “if there was no pre-existing model, step 58, a new three-dimensional model 3DM of the location and the various objects in it is created by the control unit 38”; Par. [0071]: identifying objects and fetching data/properties associated with the object for instance from a database ; also Par. [0050]: object data server 21 for storing associated object data/properties).
Consider claim 20, the computer program product is rejected based on the same rationale as the method of claim 1 and because Alfredsson further teaches machine-readable instructions which, when they are processed by one or more processor devices of a processing environment (CLD) (Par. [0053]: “In the program memory 39 there is provided software code which when being run by the processor 40 forms a control unit 38”), cause one or all method steps of the method according to claim 1 to be carried out.
Consider claim 21, the apparatus is rejected based on the same rationale as the method of claim 1 and because Alfredsson further teaches a system including a camera device (Par. [0052] and Fig. 2: camera 34), a storage device (Par. [0070]: “The pre-existing three-dimensional model may be provided in the video communication device 32. As an alternative it may be obtained or fetched from a server, such as server 21”), a processing device (Par. [0070]: control unit 38), and a display device (Par. [0057]: “display of his or her computer 51”), wherein the video camera device, the storage device, the processing device and the display device are communicatively coupled to one another (Par. [0049] and Fig. 1: “gateway 16 connected to this first data bus B1, which gateway 16 is connected to at least one wireless network WN”; Par. [0056] and Fig. 1: “a computer 51 of the remote user 52 may communicate with the video communication device 32 via the Internet.”).
The motivation to combine the references is the same as regarding claim 1.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfredsson in view of Hansson, further in view of US 11836420 B1 to Levanti et al. (“Levanti”).
Consider claim 9, modified Alfredsson discloses the method and three-dimensional model according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the three-dimensional model is a computer-aided design model of the industrial plant.
In analogous art, Levanti discloses ([Abstract]: “A 3D modeling service of a provider network may receive, from a client facility, different video streams from different cameras at the facility [. . .] The 3D modeling service may construct a 3D model of the facility based at least on the collection of image data and other data from one or more other sources (e.g., CAD files other floor plans)”).
It would have been an obvious design choice to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combined teachings of Alfredsson and Hansson further in view of the above teachings of Levanti to fill in one or more coverage gaps of a 3D model using measurements from a CAD file (Levanti: Col. 5 Ln. 14-29).
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfredsson in view of Hansson, further in view of US 20160350921 A1 to Bataller et al. (“Bataller”) (cited in the IDS filed 9/9/2024).
Consider claim 17, Alfredsson in view of Hansson discloses the method according to claim 1, and Alfredsson further discloses:
transmitting the video stream (VS) to a processing platform; transmitting the 3D model (CAD) to the processing platform; and transmitting the determined recording property from the processing platform to a display device (Par. [0057]: “video images are then presented for the remote user 52 via the display of his or her computer 51. This is shown in FIG. 6. FIG. 5 schematically indicates the transmission of a video stream VS, a three-dimensional model 3DM and camera data CD from the video communication device 32 to the computer 51 of the remote user 52”).
Modified Alfredsson fails to disclose: wherein the processing platform is designed like a cloud service (CLD) and is configured to carry out the steps of assigning (S2) two-dimensional image components and determining (S3) the respective recording property in a computer-implemented manner in a secure processing environment (CLD).
In analogous art, Bataller discloses wherein the processing platform is designed like a cloud service (CLD) (Par. [0051]: “video analytics platform 310 may include [. . .] virtual machines (VMs) provided in a cloud computing environment”) and is configured to carry out the steps of assigning (S2) two-dimensional image components and determining (S3) the respective recording property in a computer-implemented manner in a secure processing environment (CLD) (Par. [0044]-[0045]: “the video analytics platform 210 may access one or more external databases 260 to determine characteristics of the one or more objects identified by the video analyzer component”; Par. [0071]: “FIG. 5 is a flowchart of an example process 500 for determining intrinsic and extrinsic video camera parameters.”; Par. [0077]-[0079]: “At step 508, the system calculates a tilt and focal length [. . .] At step 510, the system calculates vertical and horizontal angles of view“).
It would have been an obvious design choice to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combined teachings of Alfredsson and Hansson further in view of the above teachings of Bataller to ascertain recording properties based on image analysis to possibly improve flexibility and/or accuracy of calibration (Bataller, Par. [0024]), and to implement the video analytics platform as a cloud service for various benefits such as increased flexibility and scalability.
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfredsson in view of Hansson, further in view of US 20100315416 A1 to Pretlove et al. (“Pretlove”).
Consider claim 18, Alfredsson in view of Hansson discloses the method according to claim 1, and Alfredsson discloses the steps of:
receiving a video stream (VS), assigning (S2) two-dimensional image components (PT), determining (S3) a respective recording property and outputting (S4) the video stream using a respective 3D model (CAD) (as examined regarding claim 1).
Alfredsson fails to explicitly disclose applying the steps to each of a plurality of video streams (VS) received from different video camera devices.
In analogous art, Pretlove discloses: receiving a plurality of video streams (VS) from different video camera devices; wherein the steps of assigning (S2) two-dimensional image components (PT), box 1 with real process objects 2, 3 and a data network 5 and a control system or DCS 7. It also shows four cameras 11-14 [. . .] Image input is sent via a data network to the 3D model 4 [. . .] signals may be processed by a module of the DCS and data from the 3D model, eg viewpoints, positions and selection on the model, then matched to software control objects in the control system and data associated with those objects held by the DCS 7”).
It would have been an obvious design choice to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of modified Alfredsson further in view of the multiple cameras of Pretlove to enable the remote operator to receive images of video and a 3D model from a selected viewpoint (Pretlove: Par. [0017]-[0018]).
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfredsson in view of Hansson, Pretlove and Bataller.
Consider claim 19, Alfredsson in view of Hansson and Pretlove discloses the method according to claim 18, but fails to explicitly disclose optionally forwarding one of the plurality of video streams to a processing platform, wherein the processing platform is a cloud service (CLD) and is configured to carry out the steps of assigning (S2) two-dimensional image components and determining (S3) the respective recording property in a computer-implemented manner in a secure processing environment.
In analogous art, Bataller discloses: optionally forwarding one of the plurality of video streams to a processing platform, wherein the processing platform is a cloud service (CLD) and is configured to carry out the steps of assigning (S2) two-dimensional image components and determining (S3) the respective recording property in a computer-implemented manner in a secure processing environment (Par. [0051]: “video analytics platform 310 may include [. . .] virtual machines (VMs) provided in a cloud computing environment”; Par. [0044]-[0045]: “the video analytics platform 210 may access one or more external databases 260 to determine characteristics of the one or more objects identified by the video analyzer component”; Par. [0071]: “FIG. 5 is a flowchart of an example process 500 for determining intrinsic and extrinsic video camera parameters.”; Par. [0077]-[0079]: “At step 508, the system calculates a tilt and focal length [. . .] At step 510, the system calculates vertical and horizontal angles of view“).
It would have been an obvious design choice to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combined teachings of modified Alfredsson further in view of the above teachings of Bataller to ascertain recording properties based on image analysis to possibly improve flexibility and/or accuracy of calibration (Bataller, Par. [0024]), and to implement the video analytics platform as a cloud service for various benefits such as increased flexibility and scalability.
Conclusion
STEPHEN R. SMITH
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484