DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 6 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Estelle does not teach a special technical feature. This is not found persuasive, because although Applicant represents that independent claim 1 recites “determining . . . a target pressure of the material provided by the pump based on a desired speed of the conveyor utilizing a control algorithm . . .” (Remarks, p. 8), Claim 1 does not in fact recite the limitation “determining . . . a target pressure of the material provided by the pump based on a desired speed of the conveyor utilizing a control algorithm . . . .” Instead, Claim 1 recites the limitation “adjusting a pressure of the pump based on the comparing the material applied per substrate to a target value.”
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6 April 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In Claim 1, “application device configured to apply a desired amount of material” (generic placeholder: “device”; functional language: “application . . . configured to apply a desired amount of material), associated with a gun, hose, or nozzle [0035].
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 7, the phrase “pressure the material” should be written “pressure of the material.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “to account for a non-linear relationship of flow resistance of components of the material dispensing system for determining the pressure of the material and the speed of the conveyor.” The limitation is indefinite, since it is not clear what is meant by “relationship of flow resistance of components”; it is not clear whether it means that components each have a flow resistance and there is a known non-linear relationship between them or whether it means that there is a relationship between flow resistance of the set of components and some other property (e.g. pressure or conveyor speed). Examiner interprets the limitation to include a non-linear relationship among measurements of flow resistance of each component or a non-linear relationship between flow resistance of the set of components and some other property (e.g. pressure or conveyor speed). Moreover, pressure can be considered a measure of flow resistance, determined from pressure and flow rate.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “generating with the controller the control algorithm.” The limitation is indefinite as vague and insufficiently defined, since it is not clear what would be considered an algorithm which is generated with the controller, whether it means, for example, generating conditionals and paths of an algorithm or simply changing values of variables in a set algorithm. Examiner considers the limitation to include the interpretation of performing an algorithm or inputting values into an algorithm.
Claims 7-8 are rejected as depending from rejected Claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Estelle (US 2018/0117622).
Regarding Claim 1, Estelle (US’622) teaches a method for controlling material application in a material dispensing system, the method comprising: implementing a conveyor configured to convey substrates along a dispense line at a speed [0025]; implementing an application device (e.g. gun) configured to apply a desired amount of a material to each of the substrates [0020]; implementing a pump configured to deliver the material at a pressure to the application device (Abstract); implementing a controller configured to receive a desired speed of the conveyor and control a speed of the conveyor to convey the substrates along the dispense line at the desired speed [0020,0028]; determining with the controller a target pressure of the material provided by the pump to the application device to provide the desired amount of the material to each of the substrates utilizing a control algorithm [0027-0028],; measuring an amount of material applied to a plurality of substrates by a pump (Abstract); comparing the material applied per substrate to a target value (Abstract); and adjusting a pressure of the pump based on the comparing the material applied per substrate to a target value (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 10, US’622 teaches an adhesive material (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estelle (US 2018/0117622) in view of Kerzel (US 4,530,862).
Regarding Claims 2-5, US’622 does not teach a control algorithm, configured to account for a non-linear relationship between pressure and conveyor speed. Kerzel (US’862) is analogous prior art in the field of dispensing adhesives on substrates carried by a conveyor and controls for an apparatus which dispenses adhesives (col. 1, lines 7-12) and teaches a control algorithm configured to account for a non-linear relationship between pressure of the pump (also of the material) and the speed of the conveyor, since a relationship between pressure and fluid flow rate is not linear, by varying gain and offset controls to readjust pressure output by pump (Figs. 3,4; col. 3, lines 34-40; col. 7, lines 55-67; col. 9, line 42 to col. 10, line 27; col. 10, lines 28-40). Moreover, a non-linear relationship between pressure and fluid flow rate also implies a non-linear relationship of flow resistance. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of US’622 with a control algorithm configured to account for a non-linear relationship between a pressure of the material and a speed of the conveyor and also of flow resistance of components, because US’862 teaches a non-linear relationship between pressure and conveyor speed and suggests an algorithm to account for it in a process for dispensing an adhesive.
Further regarding Claim 5, US’622 teaches that the controller receives the desired speed to control the speed of the conveyor [0028]. Concerning the limitation “the controller determines the target pressure of the material provided by the pump to the application device based on the desired speed to provide the desired amount of the material to each of the substrates using a non-linear control algorithm”, see rejections of Claims 1 and 2 above.
Regarding Claim 6, US’622 teaches generating a signal from the controller to determine a required speed of adhesive material and corresponding pump pressure (i.e. material pressure), including factoring in speed of the conveyor [0028]. US’622 fails to teach generating with the controller at a plurality of line speeds. US’862 is analogous prior art in the field of dispensing adhesives on substrates carried by a conveyor and controls for an apparatus which dispenses adhesives (col. 1, lines 7-12) and suggests generating an algorithm associating a plurality of line speeds for a conveyor with an associated operational pressure of the material that provides a desired amount of the material applied to the substrates (Figs. 3-4; col. 3, lines 34-40; col. 4, lines 23-40; col. 9, line 42 to col. 10, line 40). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of US’622 by generating with the controller the control algorithm during operation of the material dispensing system at a plurality of line speeds by receiving for each of the plurality of line speeds of the conveyor an associated operational pressure of the material by the controller and/or a user interface that provides a desired amount of the material applied to the substrates, because US’862 suggests associating a plurality of line speeds with an associated operational pressure and an amount of material dispensed.
Regarding Claims 7-9, the combination of US’622 in view of US’862 fails to teach associating and storing with the controller each of the plurality of line speeds of an associated operational pressure of the material. However, calibration curves and lookup tables were conventional in the art at the time of invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process of the combination of US’622 in view of US’862 by associating and storing with the controller each of the plurality of line speeds of the conveyor and the associated operation pressure of the material through conventional look up tables and/ or calibration curves, given the teachings in US’862 that conveyor speed changes and pressure should be controlled to vary with conveyor speed (col. 2, lines 31-35; col. 9, lines 16-22).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712