Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3 in the reply filed on 9/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balijepalli et al. (US 2004/0166790) in view of Kuramochi et al. (US 6,077,581).
Balijepalli discloses a polishing pad obtained from a composition comprising a base resin and abrasive particles incorporated therein (abstract). The abrasive particles include silica particles (paragraph 76).
The polishing pad further comprises pores having an average pore size ranging from 5 to 500 microns (paragraph 88). In particular, the polishing pad has an average pore size of 98 microns (table 3, sample A1), giving a pore-related area of 7543 µm2, meeting the claimed requirement.
Balijepalli does not explicitly disclose abrasive particles with surface area in a range of 8.9 to 10.5 m2/g.
Kuramochi, however, discloses an abrasive shaped article being comprised at least 90% by weight of silica with a BET specific surface area of 10 to 400 m2/g and an average particle diameter of 0.001 to 0.5 µm (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the abrasive particles of Balijepalli having a specific surface area disclosed in Kuramochi motivated by the desire to provide excellent polishing performance.
As to claim 2, Balijepalli discloses the polishing pad comprising a median cell size of from 30 to 200 µm (paragraph 88).
The minimum median cell size of 30 µm has a minimum pore related area (R2π) of 706.8 µm2, meeting the claimed requirement.
The maximum median cell size of 200 µm has a maximum pore related area (R2π) of 31416 µm2, meeting the claimed requirement.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balijepalli in view of Kuramochi as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 7,169,030 to Kulp (hereinafter “Kulp”).
Neither Balijepalli nor Kuramochi discloses the base resin comprises polyethersulfone.
Kulp, however, discloses a polishing pad suitable for planarizing at least one of semiconductor, optical and magnetic substrate, comprising a polymeric matrix having a top polishing surface having asperities upon conditioning with an abrasive (abstract). The polymeric matrix comprises polyether sulfone and polyurethane (column 4, lines 15-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include polyether sulfone disclosed in Kulp in the polymeric matrix of Balijepalli/ Kuramochi, motivated by the desire to provide the polishing pad with improved heat resistance and greater dimensional stability.
Conclusion
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788