DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/4/2025 and 9/9/2024 are being considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 16 recites the limitation a first shaft coupled to the end cap and extending toward the inside of the agitator along a rotary shaft of the agitator. It is unclear what is meant by the rotary shaft since the agitator is hollow. As such the claim is determined to be indefinite. When looking to the specification, the rotary shaft does not appear to have proper identification and appears to be an imaginary item referencing the axis of rotation. Maybe this is from a translation error. For examination purposes, the rotary shaft is to be interpreted as imaginary such as the longitudinal axis.
Any claim not specifically rejected above is rejected due to its dependency on a claim rejected above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (CN110179396A).
Regarding claim 1 (as best understood), Yang discloses a cleaner comprising:
a cleaning module (Item 300) configured to suck outside air; and
a main body (Item 200 and 400) configured to provide a suction force to the cleaning module,
wherein the cleaning module comprises:
a housing (Item 1) coupled to the main body and having one side including an opening (Item 130) portion configured to allow an external space and an internal space to communicate with each other;
an agitator (Item 2) inserted into the opening portion and rotatably coupled to the housing;
an end cap (Item 14) configured to cover the opening portion and separably coupled to the housing;
a first shaft (Item 5) coupled to the end cap and extending toward the inside of the agitator along a rotary shaft of the agitator; and
a first bearing (item 51) disposed at least partially inside the agitator (diametrically) and coupled to the first shaft, and
wherein the end cap is coupled to or separated from the housing together with the first shaft and the first bearing (Paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the cleaner of claim 1, wherein the cleaning module comprises a bearing holder (Item 23) disposed radially outward of the first bearing and having one side coupled to the first bearing (through item 5), and the other side coupled to the agitator, the bearing holder being configured to rotate together with the agitator.
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses the cleaner of claim 1, wherein the agitator comprises:
an agitator bar (Item 20) having therein a space and extending along the rotary shaft; and
an agitator guide (Items 22 and 23) disposed on the rotary shaft and coupled to an end of the agitator bar.
Regarding claim 10, Yang discloses the cleaner of claim 9, wherein the agitator guide has one side coupled to the agitator bar, and the other side coupled to the first bearing (best shown in Figure 11).
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses the cleaner of claim 9, wherein the cleaning module comprises a pulley (Item 44) disposed in the housing, at least partially inserted into the agitator guide, and configured to transmit power to the agitator guide.
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses a cleaner comprising:
a cleaning module (Item 300) configured to suck outside air; and
a main body (Item 200 and 400) configured to provide a suction force to the cleaning module,
wherein the cleaning module comprises:
a housing (Item 1) coupled to the main body and having one side including an opening portion (Item 130) configured to allow an external space and an internal space to communicate with each other;
an agitator (Item 2) inserted into the opening portion and rotatably coupled to the housing; and
an end cap assembly (Item 14) configured to cover at least a part of the opening portion, separably coupled to the housing, and configured to be separated together with the agitator when separated from the housing (Paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses the cleaner of claim 13, wherein the end cap assembly is at least partially inserted into the agitator (Item 5 and 1416) and supports an inner peripheral surface of the agitator.
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses the cleaner of claim 13, wherein the end cap assembly comprises a first bearing disposed inside the agitator (Item 51; diametrically inside).
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses the cleaner of claim 13, wherein the end cap assembly comprises:
an end cap (Item 14) configured to cover the opening portion and separably coupled to the housing;
a first shaft (Item 5) coupled to the end cap and extending toward the inside of the agitator along a rotary shaft of the agitator;
a first bearing (Item 51) at least partially disposed inside the agitator and coupled to the first shaft;
a bearing holder (Item 141) configured to surround at least a part of the first bearing; and
a holder cover (Item 23) configured to surround at least a part of the bearing holder and having one side coupled to the bearing holder, and the other side coupled to the agitator.
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses the cleaner of claim 16, wherein a coupling force between the holder cover and the bearing holder is higher than a coupling force between the holder cover and the agitator (pressed by spring Item 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN110179396a) in view of Kang (KR20210148607A).
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the cleaner of claim 1. Yang fails to explicitly disclose some of the dependent claims not already rejected above. For the sake of dependent claims and clarity of the combination, Kang teaches wherein the cleaning module comprises a bearing holder (Item 400) disposed radially outward of the first bearing (Item 413 or paragraph 86) and having one side coupled to the first bearing, and the other side coupled to the agitator, the bearing holder being configured to rotate together with the agitator (best shown in Figure 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang to simply substitute the bearing configuration for that as taught by Kang. Kang further discusses that suction heads need to be repaired, replaced, and cleaned, since the component are prone to malfunction . Further Kang discusses how his agitator assembly decrease the cost by being detachable and having components that are capable of easily being cleaned (Paragraphs 107 and 108).
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Kang disclose the cleaner of claim 2, wherein the bearing holder surrounds at least a part of an outer peripheral surface of the first bearing (Kang as discussed in Paragraph 86 or Item 413 is inserted into Item 410).
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Kang disclose the cleaner of claim 2, wherein the cleaning module comprises a gasket having an inner surface tightly attached to the bearing holder, and an outer surface tightly attached to the agitator (Kang Item 414).
Regarding claim 5, Yang in view of Kang disclose the cleaner of claim 2, wherein the cleaning module comprises a holder cover disposed radially outward of the bearing holder, configured to surround at least a part of the bearing holder, and having one side coupled to the bearing holder, and the other side coupled to the agitator (Kang Item 621).
Regarding claim 6, Yang in view of Kang disclose the cleaner of claim 5, wherein the holder cover comprises a stepped portion formed on an inner peripheral surface thereof and tightly attached to an end of the bearing holder (Kang Figure 14-15).
Regarding claim 8, Yang in view of Kang disclose the cleaner of claim 5, wherein the agitator comprises an agitator guide coupling protrusion protruding toward the holder cover, and
wherein the holder cover comprises an agitator guide coupling groove into which at least a part of the agitator guide coupling protrusion is inserted and caught (Kang Figure 15 shows a groove in Item 620 and connecting to 621).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN110179396A) in view of Alton (US 2008/0244852)
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses the cleaner of claim 11, wherein the cleaning module comprises:
a second shaft (Item 43) disposed in the housing and extending toward the inside of the agitator along the rotary shaft of the agitator; and
Yang fails to explicitly disclose a second bearing at least partially inserted into the pulley and configured to connect the housing and the second shaft.
Alton teaches a cleaning agitator assembly wherein a second bearing (Item 30c) at least partially inserted into the pulley (Item 47c) and configured to connect the housing and the second shaft (Item 24c Figures 11-14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang to include an additional bearing as taught by Alton. Sucha modification would ensure a balanced shaft (as discussed in Paragraph 9 of Alton).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723