DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 16 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2024 and 07/30/2025 were filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 5 – 9 and 12 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hackert et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0329933 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Hackert teaches a cleaner station (Fig. 1) comprising: a housing (base station, 10) configured to define an external shape (Fig. 1) and having a space therein (Fig. 1), at least any one of a first cleaner (first cleaning device, 20) and a second cleaner (second cleaning device, 30) being coupled to the housing (10; Paragraph [0044]); a first cleaner flow path (fluidic connection, 40F) disposed in the housing (10; Fig. 1) and connected to a dust bin (collection container, 20C) of the first cleaner (20); a second cleaner flow path (fluid connection, 50F) disposed in the housing (10) and connected to a dust bin (collection container, 30C) of the second cleaner (30); a dust collecting part (container, 50G) disposed in the housing (10) and configured to capture dust in the dust bin of the first cleaner (20C) or the second cleaner (30C); a dust collecting motor (working machine, 50J) disposed in the housing (10) and configured to generate a suction force for sucking dust in the dust bin (20C; Paragraph [0126]); a flow path switching module (shut off apparatuses, 10E and 10M) configured to selectively connect the dust collecting part (50G) to the first cleaner flow path (40F) or the second cleaner flow path (50F); and a control unit (control device, 10F) disposed in the housing (10) and configured to control at least any one of the dust collecting motor (50J) and the flow path switching module (10E and 10M; Paragraph [0176]), wherein the control unit (10F) operates the flow path switching module (10E and 10M) at least one or more times before the dust collecting motor (50J) operates (Paragraph [0109]).
Regarding Claim 2, Hackert teaches the cleaner station (Fig. 1) comprising: a charging part (first electrical connection, 40E and second electrical connection, 50E) electrically connected to at least any one of the first cleaner (20C) and the second cleaner (30C; Paragraph [0109]), wherein the control unit (10F) operates the flow path switching module (10E and 10M) when an electric current flows to the charging part (40 and 50E; Paragraphs [0056] – [0058]).
Regarding Claim 5, Hackert teaches the cleaner station (Fig. 1) wherein the flow path switching module (10E and 10M) comprises: a casing (casing of modules 10E and 10M) disposed in the housing (10) and having a first cleaner flow path connection portion (portion connecting the module to the flow path) connected to the first cleaner flow path (40F), and a second cleaner flow path connection portion (portion connecting the module to the flow path) connected to the second cleaner flow path (50F); and a connection hose (hose of either 40F or 50F) disposed in the casing and having an inlet selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path (40F) connection portion and the second cleaner flow path (50F) connection portion, and wherein the control unit (10F) couples the connection hose to a cleaner flow path connection portion to which the corresponding cleaner (20C and 30C) is coupled between the first and second cleaner flow path connection portions (connection portions of 40F or 50F).
Regarding Claim 6, Hackert teaches the cleaner station (Fig. 1) wherein the control unit (10F) couples the connection hose to the first cleaner flow path (40F) connection portion when the first cleaner (20C) and the second cleaner (30C) are coupled to the housing (10) before the dust collecting motor (50J) operates (Paragraphs [0182] – [0186]).
Regarding Claim 7, Hackert teaches the cleaner station (Fig. 1) wherein the control unit (10F) couples the connection hose to the second cleaner flow path (50F) connection portion when the second cleaner (30C) is coupled to the housing before the dust collecting motor (50J) operates and when the first cleaner (20C) is coupled to the housing (10) after the dust collecting motor operates (Paragraphs [0180] – [0186]).
Regarding Claim 8, Hackert teaches the cleaner station (Fig. 1) further comprising: a coupling part disposed in the housing (10) so that the first cleaner (20C) is coupled to the coupling part (Paragraph [0205]); and a coupling sensor (sensors, 10N and 10P) disposed in the coupling part and configured to transmit a signal to the control unit (10F) when the first cleaner approaches the coupling sensor (Paragraphs [0205] – [0209]), wherein the control unit (10F) operates the flow path switching module (10E and 10M) when the control unit (10F) receives the signal from the coupling sensor (Paragraphs [0221] – [0223] and [0229] – [0230]).
Regarding Claim 9, Hackert teaches the cleaner station (Fig. 1) further comprising: a fixing unit (Paragraph [0084]) disposed in the housing (10) and configured to fix the first cleaner (20C) to the housing (10) when the first cleaner (20C) is coupled to the housing (10), wherein the control unit (10F) operates the flow path switching module (10E and 10M) before the fixing unit operates.
Regarding Independent Claim 12, Hackert teaches a method of controlling a cleaner station (Fig. 1), the method comprising: a coupling checking step of checking whether at least any one of a first cleaner (20) and a second cleaner (30) is coupled to a housing (Paragraph [0223]); a flow path connecting step of selectively connecting a dust collecting part (50G) to a first cleaner flow path (40F) or a second cleaner flow path (50F) by operating a flow path switching module (10E and 10M) disposed between the dust collecting part (50G) configured to capture dust (Paragraph [0093), the first cleaner flow path (40F) connected to a dust bin (20C) of the first cleaner (20), and the second cleaner flow path (50F) connected to a dust bin (30C) of the second cleaner (30); and a dust collecting step of collecting dust in the dust bin into the dust collecting part by operating a dust collecting motor (50J) disposed in the housing (10; Paragraphs [0182] – [0186]).
Regarding Claim 13, Hackert teaches the method wherein the coupling checking step comprises determining that at least any one of the first cleaner (20) and the second cleaner (30) is coupled to the housing (10) when an electric current flows to at least any one of the first cleaner (20) and the second cleaner (30) in the housing (10; Paragraph [0044] and [0071]).
Regarding Claim 14, Hackert teaches the method wherein the flow path connecting step comprises connecting the dust collecting part (50G) to the cleaner flow path to which the corresponding cleaner is coupled between the first (40F) and second (50F) cleaner flow paths (Paragraphs [0079] – [0081] and [0090] – [0093]).
Regarding Claim 15, Hackert teaches the method wherein the flow path connecting step comprises connecting the dust collecting part (50G) to the first cleaner flow path (40F) when the first cleaner (20) and the second cleaner (30) are coupled to the housing (10) in the coupling checking step (Paragraph [0105]).
Regarding Claim 16, Hackert teaches the method wherein the dust collecting part (50G) is connected to the second cleaner flow path (50F) when the second cleaner (30) is coupled to the housing (10) in the coupling checking step and the first cleaner (20) is coupled to the housing (10) after the dust collecting step is initiated (Paragraphs [0106] – [0108]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0329933 A1) in view of Jeong (KR20220006981 A).
Regarding Claim 10, Hackert teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, as discussed above.
Hackert does not explicitly teach: a cover opening unit disposed in the housing and configured to open a discharge cover of the dust bin of the first cleaner, wherein the control unit operates the flow path switching module before the cover opening unit operates.
Jeong, however, teaches a cover opening unit (cover opening unit, 150; Fig. 13) disposed in the housing (100) and configured to open a discharge cover of the dust bin of the first cleaner (Paragraph [0284]), wherein the control unit (control unit, 400) operates the flow path switching module (switching valve, 183) before the cover opening unit (150) operates (Paragraph [0460]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Hackert to further include a cover opening unit disposed in the housing and configured to open a discharge cover of the dust bin of the first cleaner, wherein the control unit operates the flow path switching module before the cover opening unit operates, as taught by Jeong, to provide a station a smooth, controlled opening and closing action, allowing technicians to easily reach internal components for inspection, cleaning, or repair, thus allowing for reduced time and effort needed for maintenance tasks.
Regarding Claim 11, Hackert teaches the cleaner station of claim 1, as discussed above.
Hackert does not explicitly teach a door unit disposed in the housing and configured to open or close the first cleaner flow path, wherein the control unit operates the flow path switching module before the door unit operates.
Jeong, however, teaches a door unit (door unit, 140) disposed in the housing (100; Paragraph [0262]) and configured to open or close the first cleaner flow path (Paragraph [0262]), wherein the control unit (400) operates the flow path switching module (182) before the door unit (140) operates (Paragraph [0426]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Hackert to further include a door unit disposed in the housing and configured to open or close the first cleaner flow path, wherein the control unit operates the flow path switching module before the door unit operates, as taught by Jeong, to provide a station a smooth, controlled opening and closing action, allowing technicians to easily reach internal components for inspection, cleaning, or repair, thus allowing for reduced time and effort needed for maintenance tasks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Hackert et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0329933 A1) in view of Jeong (KR20220006981 A) teach the cleaner station, the references alone or in combination fail to teach, suggest or make obvious the flow path switching module comprises: a casing disposed in the housing and having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose disposed in the casing and having an inlet selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; and a position sensor disposed in the casing and configured to detect a position of the connection hose and transmit a signal to the control unit, and wherein the control unit stops an operation of the flow path switching module when the control unit receives the signal from the position sensor, as required by claim 3.
Claim 4 is further objected as being dependent on objected claim 3.
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: U. S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0346183 A1 to Choi teaches docking station, which includes a cover opening and closing device for automatically opening and closing a dust container cover, and a cleaning device is provided. The cleaning device includes a cleaner which includes a dust container for collecting foreign substances, a dust container cover rotatably coupled to the dust container so as to open and close the dust container, and a button provided to open the dust container, a docking station to which the cleaner is coupled, and which charges the cleaner coupled thereto, and a cover opening and closing device which opens the dust container cover by pressing the button and closes the dust container cover by pressing the dust container cover.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723