DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 3-4 and added claims 7-9 in the preliminary amendment filed on 09/09/2024.
The claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fang et al (WO 2021/102045 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Fang teaches a wireless relay device (relay node 100) comprising: a control unit (MCU) configured to estimate a direction of a transmission source of a downlink wireless signal by searching for a signal transmitted from the transmission source
(paragraph 0052; 0061; Fig. 12 disclose the estimation of the direction of a BS, i.e., a transmission source, transmitting a signal is performed by implementing a Rx beam sweeping procedure, i.e., an UL beam sweeping, that searches for the directed beam with the signal sent from the BS based on the signal strength of the receive beam belonging to the beam sweeping procedure); and a communication unit (relay node with antenna) configured to relay the downlink wireless signal to a target direction, based on the estimated direction of the transmission source (paragraph 0052; 0053; Fig. 12 disclose the RN, i.e., the relay device, relays the signal received from the BS to the user area according to a transmit beam, i.e., a target direction, and based on locking the direction of the BS estimated through a Rx beam sweeping procedure, i.e., an UL beam sweeping, that searches for the directed beam with the signal sent from the BS based on the signal strength of the receive beam belonging to the beam sweeping procedure).
With respect to claim 2, Fang teaches wherein the control unit determines the direction of the transmission source of the downlink wireless signal by using a mobile station function of an uplink beam search ( paragraph 0052; 0061; Fig. 12 disclose the estimation of the direction of a BS, i.e., a transmission source, transmitting a DL signal is performed by implementing a Rx beam sweeping procedure, i.e., an UL beam sweeping, that searches for the directed beam with the signal sent from the BS based on the signal strength of the receive beams belonging to the Rx beam sweeping procedure).
With respect to claim 3, Fang teaches a reception unit configured to receive information indicating a location or direction of the transmission source of the downlink wireless signal, wherein the control unit estimates the direction of the transmission source of the downlink wireless signal based on the received information indicating a location or direction of the transmission source of the downlink wireless signal (paragraph 0049-0052; 0061; Fig. 11-12 disclose an SSB signal, i.e., information indication, is sent from the BS to the RN, i.e., the relay device, in order to assist the RN when estimating the direction of the BS, i.e., a transmission source, by implementing a Rx beam sweeping procedure, i.e., an UL beam sweeping, that, based on the signal strength of the receive beams associated with the Rx beam sweeping procedure, searches for the directed and received beam with the SSB signal).
The limitations of claim 5 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 3 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al (WO 2021/102045 A1) in view of Abedini et al (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0235501 A1).
With respect to claim 4, Fang teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above except a transmission unit configured to transmit capability information indicating whether or not to support a function of estimating the direction of the transmission source of the downlink wireless signal.
However, Abedini teaches a transmission unit configured to transmit capability information indicating whether or not to support a function of estimating the direction of the transmission source of the downlink wireless signal (paragraph 0096 discloses the beam sweep capabilities of one or more MMW repeater in use by a gNB, the selected format of a RACH message 1, and/or a number of MMW repeaters in use by the gNB, may be indicated to the network device (e.g., a gNB) determining the two or more different RX beam sweep configurations, and the network device (e.g., a gNB) may determine the two or more different RX beam sweep configurations based at least in part on one or more of the beam sweep capabilities of one or more MMW repeater in use by a gNB, the selected format of a RACH message 1, and/or a number of MMW repeaters in use by the gNB) in order to determine the communication parameters of a signal sent through a relay network. Therefore, based on Fang in view of Abedini, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Abedini to the system of Fang in order to determine the communication parameters of a signal sent through a relay network.
The limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 4 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of claim 4 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHEIKH T NDIAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
8/21/2026