DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendment/reconsideration filed on 06/01/2026, the amendment/reconsideration has been considered. Claims 1, 9-12 and 14 have been amended, claim 3 is canceled. Claims 1-2 and 4-15 are pending for examination as cited below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance that:
(a) Applicant argues that Lin is limited to ego vehicle localization and does not teach a centralized map or relative speed computation.
Examiner respectfully disagree because Lin discloses,
Measuring position and velocity of surrounding vehicles e.g. [0013], “measuring position and velocity, relative to the ego vehicle of one or more surrounding vehicles..”
Predicting further positions of surrounding vehicles, (Lin [0013], [0020]
Tracking multiple vehicles over time, “each measurement…can be used to determine…a geographical position of the ego vehicle and simultaneously to predict the next map position of each surrounding vehicle .”
Maintaining a data structure (state vector) containing multiple objects and updating it at each measurement interval, [0030] “the state vector may subsequently be extended such that it includes the position of one or more surrounding vehicles.” Lin further discloses, [0032], “updating each set of elements associated with the surrounding vehicle in the state vector after each measurement.” This state vector is centralized data structure containing entries for multiple objects and their motion characteristics (position, velocities). Although, Lin expresses relative motion in terms of ego vehicle coordinates, the computation of relative velocity between objects is inherent in the repeated measurement and prediction cycle.
(b) Applicant argues that Lin does not contemplate a “multi-access edge computing service.”
Examiner respectfully disagree because claim do not require any specific network architecture beyond “at least one edge computing device.” Lin explicitly shows processing to occur:
In the ego vehicle
In an external processor
Or in a cloud-based solution (Lin, [0039])
Thus, Lin teaches the flexibility required the claim.
(c ) Applicant argues that the combination is improper and relies on hindsight.
Examiner respectfully disagree because both references address dynamic object tracking and map generation. Sak computes relative speeds and generates dynamic map whereas, Lin computes relative motion of multiple vehicles and maintains a dynamic state vector updated at intervals. Therefore, both references solve real-time situational awareness problems in vehicular environment. A person skilled in the art would readily combine the references to arrive at a system that computes relative speeds between objects and maintains a centralized, periodically updated data structure under KSR v. Teleflex.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurada et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0272166 A1), hereinafter “Sak” in view of Lin et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0124422 A1), hereinafter “Lin”.
As to claim 1. Sak discloses a method performed by multi-access edge computing devices for providing relative speed data as a service in a wireless communication environment (Sak, fig.1, server 10, vehicles 20 and 30 and bicycle 50) comprising:
collecting, by at least one multi-access edge computing device situated in geographic proximity to a service spatial domain (Sak, fig.1, element-10, 20 and 30, [0023], within proximity of each other), velocity data of objects within a service spatial domain of the at least one edge computing device, by velocity data meaning time-stamped velocities, headings, locations of the respective objects (Sak, fig.4, [0043] ….the server 10 acquires …the position information, and vehicle speed information from the vehicles 20, 30 (S10) and [0033], the storage unit 12 may store …position information, vehicle speed information and date and time related to the event.),
computing, by the at least one edge computing device, relative speed data of the objects within the service spatial domain (Sak, [0030], The estimation unit 13 may estimate relative speeds between the vehicles 20, 30 and the one or the sound sources 50 based on the sound signals, the position information, and the vehicle speed information.), and integrating the computed relative speed data into a centralized data map maintained at the at least one edge computing device, the centralized data map comprising relative speed values for the objects (Sak, [0032], The generation unit 15 generates a map of a surrounding environment where the vehicles 20, 30 travel based on the sound signals, the position information, and the position of the one or more sound sources 50.), the centralized data map being structured as a data structure in which each entry represents a relative speed between a corresponding objects (Sak, [0046], The server 10 provides the position of the one or more sound sources 50, the relative speeds, and the map thereof to the vehicles 20, 30), and being updated at intervals to maintain a near real-time representation of said relative speed data (Sak, , [0047], the server 10 calculates the probability that any one of the one or more sound sources 50 approaches any one of the vehicles 20, 30 (S15). Here, when the calculated probability is equal to or larger than the threshold value (YES in S16), the slowing down control is performed on a vehicle having an approaching probability of the sound source 50 that is equal to or larger than the threshold value (S17). Thus, the process by the server 10 ends. The server 10 may repeat the above process.),
determining, by the at least one edge computing device according to at least one V2X application from the plurality of V2X applications, which relative speed data are relevant to at least one user registered as subscriber to the relative speed service (Sak, [0032], the generation unit 15 generates a map of a surrounding environment where the vehicles 20, 30 travel…the residential area EVV2 between the sound source 50 and the second vehicle 30, whereby the sound source 50 is also a vehicle [0023]: the sound source 50 is a bicycle),
providing, by the at least one edge computing device according to the at least one V2X application from the plurality of V2X applications, the determined relative speed data to the at least one user equipment according to the at least one V2X application, either periodically or on demand (Sak, fig.4, S14, [0046], the server 10 provides the position of the one or more sound sources 50, the relative speeds, and the map thereof to the vehicle 20, 30).
Sak however is silent to disclose explicitly, local relevant speed of the vehicles.
Li discloses a similar concept in the same field of endeavor including, a local relative speed data of a vehicle relevant to a subscriber or surroundings (Lin, [0020], that the position of one or more surrounding vehicle is/are firstly determined in a local coordinate system of the ego-vehicle (i.e. the position of each surrounding vehicle is determined in reference to the ego-vehicle). Also see [0033]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Lin” into those of “Sak” to provide a system for determining a map position of an ego-vehicle are disclosed. The method includes acquiring map data comprising a road geometry, initializing at least one dynamic landmark by measuring a position and velocity, relative to the ego-vehicle, of a surrounding vehicle, and determining a first map position of the surrounding vehicle based on this measurement and the geographical position of the ego-vehicle.
As to claim 2. Sak discloses, collecting velocity data measured directly by sensors deployed within the service spatial domain of at least one multi-access edge computing device (Sak, [0024], ENV1 and ENV2 i.e. spatial domain).
As to claim 4. Sak discloses, wherein the user is a user equipment and determining, by the at least one edge computing device according to at least one V2X application from the plurality of V2X applications, which relative speed data are relevant to at least one user registered as subscriber to the relative speed service (Sak, [0024]], comprises:
identifying which are the objects of interest for a situation, use case or scenario specified by the at least one V2X application, by analyzing respective objects locations, velocities and relative speeds in respect to each other at a given time (Sak, [0024] and [0033]).
Sak however is silent to disclose explicitly, local relevant speed of the vehicles.
Li discloses a similar concept in the same field of endeavor including, a local relative speed data of a vehicle relevant to a subscriber or surroundings (Lin, [0020], that the position of one or more surrounding vehicle is/are firstly determined in a local coordinate system of the ego-vehicle (i.e. the position of each surrounding vehicle is determined in reference to the ego-vehicle). Also see [0033]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Lin” into those of “Sak” to provide a system for determining a map position of an ego-vehicle are disclosed. The method includes acquiring map data comprising a road geometry, initializing at least one dynamic landmark by measuring a position and velocity, relative to the ego-vehicle, of a surrounding vehicle, and determining a first map position of the surrounding vehicle based on this measurement and the geographical position of the ego-vehicle.
As to claim 5. The combined system of Sak and Lin discloses the invention substantially as applied above including, wherein providing, by the at least one edge computing device according to the at least one V2X application from the plurality of V2X applications, the determined local relative speed data to the at least one user equipment according to the at least one V2X application (Lin, [0033]) further means making data available within a service time threshold, configurable according to the at least one V2X application and the user equipment, or on demand (Lin, [0054] and [0055], The method 100 further comprises measuring 107 a location, relative to the ego-vehicle, of each surrounding vehicle at a point in time when each surrounding vehicle is estimated to be at the second map position. Subsequently, the geographical position of the ego-vehicle is updated 108 based on the predicted second map position of each surrounding vehicle and the measured location of each surrounding vehicle.).
As to claim 6. The combined system of Sak and Lin discloses the invention substantially as applied above including, wherein providing, by the at least one edge computing device according to the at least one V2X application from the plurality of V2X applications, the determined local relative speed data to the at least one user equipment according to the at least one V2X application, further means making the determined data available in a format suitable for the user equipment according to the at least one V2X application (Lin, [0054], the relative measurement 107 is transformed from a local coordinate system of the ego-vehicle to a global coordinate system (e.g. GPS).).
As to claim 7. The combined system of Sak and Lin discloses the invention substantially as applied above including, wherein the user is a mobile user equipment-V2X application pair able to provide information regarding a planned route of the user towards a planned destination, the method further comprising receiving by at least one multi-access device the information regarding the planned route and determining which other multi-access edge computing devices are providing the service along the planned route (Lin, [0055], Thus, once the dynamic landmarks are initialized it is possible to compute the ego-vehicle's position in the map (geographical position) solely based on predicted map positions and relative measurements, at least temporarily. Naturally, new dynamic landmarks may be continuously initialized and “tracked”, and initialized dynamic landmarks may drop off during a trip due to varying conditions and changes in the surrounding environment.).
As to claim 8. The combined system of Sak and Lin discloses the invention substantially as applied above including, further comprising providing by at least one multi-access device, information to the user regarding alternative routes with continuously provided relative speed service, until the planned destination is reached (Lin, [0055], Thus, once the dynamic landmarks are initialized it is possible to compute the ego-vehicle's position in the map (geographical position) solely based on predicted map positions and relative measurements, at least temporarily. Naturally, new dynamic landmarks may be continuously initialized and “tracked”, and initialized dynamic landmarks may drop off during a trip due to varying conditions and changes in the surrounding environment.).
As to claim 9, is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 10, is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 1 and 2 above.
As to claim 11, is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 12, is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 13, The combined system of Sak and Lin discloses the invention substantially as applied above including, wherein the sensors collecting velocity data are sensors placed on infrastructure deployed within the service spatial domain, e.g., radar, camera, lidar, ultrasonic sensors, belonging to road infrastructure (Lin, [0080]).
As to claim 14, The combined system of Sak and Lin discloses the invention substantially as applied above including, wherein the sensorial means belong to vehicles moving within the service spatial domain and feeding the relative speed service, including Unmanned Aerial Vehicles or drones carrying radar, camera, lidar or ultrasonic sensors (Lin, [0005], autonomous vehicles).
As to claim 15, is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 14 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Tauqir Hussain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449