DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending for examination in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurada et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0272166 A1), hereinafter “Sak” in view of Lin et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0124422 A1), hereinafter “Lin”.
As to claim 1. Sak discloses a method performed by multi-access edge computing devices for providing relative speed data as a service in a wireless communication environment (Sak, fig.1, server 10, vehicles 20 and 30 and bicycle 50) comprising:
collecting, by at least one multi-access edge computing device, velocity data of objects within a service spatial domain of the at least one edge computing device, by velocity data meaning time-stamped velocities, headings, locations of the respective objects (Sak, fig.4, [0043] ….the server 10 acquires …the position information, and vehicle speed information from the vehicles 20, 30 (S10) and [0033], the storage unit 12 may store …position information, vehicle speed information and date and time related to the event.),
computing, by the at least one edge computing device, relative speed data of the objects within the service spatial domain, and integrating the computed relative speed data into a centralized data map (Sak, fig.4, [0045], the server 10 generates the map of the surrounding environment where the vehicle 20, 30 travel (s10 and s13)),
determining, by the at least one edge computing device according to at least one V2X application from the plurality of V2X applications, which relative speed data are relevant to at least one user registered as subscriber to the relative speed service (Sak, [0032], the generation unit 15 generates a map of a surrounding environment where the vehicles 20, 30 travel…the residential area EVV2 between the sound source 50 and the second vehicle 30, whereby the sound source 50 is also a vehicle [0023]: the sound source 50 is a bicycle),
providing, by the at least one edge computing device according to the at least one V2X application from the plurality of V2X applications, the determined relative speed data to the at least one user equipment according to the at least one V2X application, either periodically or on demand (Sak, fig.4, S14, [0046], the server 10 provides the position of the one or more sound sources 50, the relative speeds, and the map thereof to the vehicle 20, 30).
Sak however is silent to disclose explicitly, local relevant speed of the vehicles.
Li discloses a similar concept in the same field of endeavor including, a local relative speed data of a vehicle relevant to a subscriber or surroundings (Lin, [0020], that the position of one or more surrounding vehicle is/are firstly determined in a local coordinate system of the ego-vehicle (i.e. the position of each surrounding vehicle is determined in reference to the ego-vehicle). Also see [0033]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Lin” into those of “Sak” to provide a system for determining a map position of an ego-vehicle are disclosed. The method includes acquiring map data comprising a road geometry, initializing at least one dynamic landmark by measuring a position and velocity, relative to the ego-vehicle, of a surrounding vehicle, and determining a first map position of the surrounding vehicle based on this measurement and the geographical position of the ego-vehicle.
As to claim 2. Sak discloses, collecting velocity data measured directly by sensors deployed within the service spatial domain of at least one multi-access edge computing device (Sak, [0024], ENV1 and ENV2 i.e. spatial domain).
As to claim 3. Sak discloses, wherein the centralized relative speed data map is maintained in at least one edge computing device and includes continuously updated relative speed data of all the objects within the service spatial domain of the at least one edge computing device (Sak, [0008] and [0024]).
As to claim 4. Sak discloses, wherein the user is a user equipment and determining, by the at least one edge computing device according to at least one V2X application from the plurality of V2X applications, which relative speed data are relevant to at least one user registered as subscriber to the relative speed service (Sak, [0024]], comprises:
identifying which are the objects of interest for a situation, use case or scenario specified by the at least one V2X application, by analyzing respective objects locations, velocities and relative speeds in respect to each other at a given time (Sak, [0024] and [0033]).
Sak however is silent to disclose explicitly, local relevant speed of the vehicles.
Li discloses a similar concept in the same field of endeavor including, a local relative speed data of a vehicle relevant to a subscriber or surroundings (Lin, [0020], that the position of one or more surrounding vehicle is/are firstly determined in a local coordinate system of the ego-vehicle (i.e. the position of each surrounding vehicle is determined in reference to the ego-vehicle). Also see [0033]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of “Lin” into those of “Sak” to provide a system for determining a map position of an ego-vehicle are disclosed. The method includes acquiring map data comprising a road geometry, initializing at least one dynamic landmark by measuring a position and velocity, relative to the ego-vehicle, of a surrounding vehicle, and determining a first map position of the surrounding vehicle based on this measurement and the geographical position of the ego-vehicle.
As to claim 5. The combined system of Sak and Lin discloses the invention substantially as applied above including, wherein providing, by the at least one edge computing device according to the at least one V2X application from the plurality of V2X applications, the determined local relative speed data to the at least one user equipment according to the at least one V2X application (Lin, [0033]) further means making data available within a service time threshold, configurable according to the at least one V2X application and the user equipment, or on demand (Lin, [0054] and [0055], The method 100 further comprises measuring 107 a location, relative to the ego-vehicle, of each surrounding vehicle at a point in time when each surrounding vehicle is estimated to be at the second map position. Subsequently, the geographical position of the ego-vehicle is updated 108 based on the predicted second map position of each surrounding vehicle and the measured location of each surrounding vehicle.).
As to claim 6. The combined system of Sak and Lin discloses the invention substantially as applied above including, wherein providing, by the at least one edge computing device according to the at least one V2X application from the plurality of V2X applications, the determined local relative speed data to the at least one user equipment according to the at least one V2X application, further means making the determined data available in a format suitable for the user equipment according to the at least one V2X application (Lin, [0054], the relative measurement 107 is transformed from a local coordinate system of the ego-vehicle to a global coordinate system (e.g. GPS).).
As to claim 7. The combined system of Sak and Lin discloses the invention substantially as applied above including, wherein the user is a mobile user equipment-V2X application pair able to provide information regarding a planned route of the user towards a planned destination, the method further comprising receiving by at least one multi-access device the information regarding the planned route and determining which other multi-access edge computing devices are providing the service along the planned route (Lin, [0055], Thus, once the dynamic landmarks are initialized it is possible to compute the ego-vehicle's position in the map (geographical position) solely based on predicted map positions and relative measurements, at least temporarily. Naturally, new dynamic landmarks may be continuously initialized and “tracked”, and initialized dynamic landmarks may drop off during a trip due to varying conditions and changes in the surrounding environment.).
As to claim 8. The combined system of Sak and Lin discloses the invention substantially as applied above including, further comprising providing by at least one multi-access device, information to the user regarding alternative routes with continuously provided relative speed service, until the planned destination is reached (Lin, [0055], Thus, once the dynamic landmarks are initialized it is possible to compute the ego-vehicle's position in the map (geographical position) solely based on predicted map positions and relative measurements, at least temporarily. Naturally, new dynamic landmarks may be continuously initialized and “tracked”, and initialized dynamic landmarks may drop off during a trip due to varying conditions and changes in the surrounding environment.).
As to claim 9, is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 10, is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 1 and 2 above.
As to claim 11, is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 12, is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 13, The combined system of Sak and Lin discloses the invention substantially as applied above including, wherein the sensors collecting velocity data are sensors placed on infrastructure deployed within the service spatial domain, e.g., radar, camera, lidar, ultrasonic sensors, belonging to road infrastructure (Lin, [0080]).
As to claim 14, The combined system of Sak and Lin discloses the invention substantially as applied above including, wherein the sensorial means belong to vehicles moving within the service spatial domain and feeding the relative speed service, including Unmanned Aerial Vehicles or drones carrying radar, camera, lidar or ultrasonic sensors (Lin, [0005], autonomous vehicles).
As to claim 15, is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 14 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTO-892.
/Tauqir Hussain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446