DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on 14 July 2026 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, and 14-16 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being unpatentable over 暮林 勢人 (JP 5450021).
Regarding claim 1, 暮林 勢人 discloses a motor vehicle lock comprising:
a locking mechanism including a rotary latch (12) and a pawl (13),
a combined opening/closing drive (27) for the locking mechanism, and a drive pawl (26c) for directly engaging the locking mechanism,
wherein the combined opening/closing drive engages the drive pawl to move the drive pawl in an opening direction (image 9 of 16) for directly engaging the pawl and in an opposite closing direction for directly engaging the rotary latch (image 10 of 16 ), and
wherein the drive pawl comprises a toothed segmented wheel (26b) which is rotatable about an axis (center of 26a)
wherein the drive pawl has an extension arm such that when the drive pawl moves in the opening direction the extension arm directly engages the pawl to move the locking mechanism to an open position (image 9 of 16), and when the drive pawl moves in the opposite closing direction the extension arm directly engages the rotary latch to move the locking mechanism to a main latching position (image 10 of 16).
2-4. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 5, 暮林 勢人 discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein a toothed segment (26b) of the drive pawl and the extension arm (26d) are arranged at an angular distance from one another.
Regarding claim 6, 暮林 勢人 discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the drive pawl (26c) further comprises a pot-shaped (instead of indefinite, taken broadly as any cross section) cross section with a central axis of rotation (center of 26a).
Regarding claim 7, 暮林 勢人 discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1 further comprising a sensor (33) wherein the drive pawl has a contour for interaction with the sensor which queries (gear position detection) an angular position of the drive pawl.
Regarding claim 8, 暮林 勢人 discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 7, wherein the extension arm (26d) of the drive pawl is arranged in an unloaded state (image 11 of 16 as compared to image 16 of 16 observing gear teeth) in a parking region which engages neither on the pawl nor on the rotary latch.
Regarding claim 9, 暮林 勢人 discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 8, wherein the sensor (33) detects the parking region.
11. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 14, 暮林 勢人 discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the combined opening/closing drive (27) moving the drive pawl (26c) in the opening direction (image 9 of 16) comprises pivoting the drive pawl about an axis (center of 26a) of rotation in a first direction, and the combined opening/closing drive moving the drive pawl in the closing direction comprises pivoting the drive pawl about the axis of rotation in a second direction (image 10 of 16 ) opposite from the first direction.
Regarding claim 15, 暮林 勢人 discloses a motor vehicle lock comprising:
a locking mechanism including a rotary latch (12) and a pawl (13),
a combined opening/closing drive (27) for the locking mechanism, and
a drive pawl (26c) for directly engaging the locking mechanism,
wherein the combined opening/closing drive engages the drive pawl to move the drive pawl in an opening direction (image 9 of 16 ) for directly engaging the pawl and in an opposite closing direction (image 10 of 16) for directly engaging the rotary latch, and
wherein the drive pawl has a toothing for engagement (26b) with a gear wheel of the combined opening/closing drive
wherein the drive pawl has an extension arm such that when the drive pawl moves in the opening direction the extension arm directly engages the pawl to move the locking mechanism to an open position (image 9 of 16), and when the drive pawl moves in the opposite closing direction the extension arm directly engages the rotary latch to move the locking mechanism to a main latching position (image 10 of 16).
Regarding claim 16, 暮林 勢人 discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 15, wherein the toothing (256b) is positioned on only one peripheral segment of the drive pawl that engages with the combined opening/closing drive (image 11 of 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over 暮林 勢人 (JP 5450021).
Regarding claim 12, 暮林 勢人 discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 7, wherein the sensor is connected to the drive pawl (26).
暮林 勢人 discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims except for the contour is positioned on a truncated cylinder.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the different portions of the sensor a truncated cylinder of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 13, 暮林 勢人 as modified by Atushi discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 12, wherein the truncated cylinder defines a central axis (located on an axis, any can be deemed central) of the drive pawl.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable 暮林 勢人 (JP 5450021) in view of Garneau (US 2016/0130840).
Regarding claim 10, 暮林 勢人as modified by Garneau discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the drive pawl is a metal and/or plastics ([0078] molded part.
暮林 勢人does not disclose: drive pawl is a metal and/or plastics ([0078] molded part
Garneau teaches various components may be stamped from metal or injection molded from plastic ([0078; Garneau), for the purpose of choosing materials for cost consideration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify 暮林 勢人 with various components may be stamped from metal or injection molded from plastic, as taught by Garneau for the expected benefit of choosing materials for cost consideration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675